Consultations on Offshore Arctic Oil and Gas Exploration

Current status:

A one-year consultation period began in April 2017.

Why

On December 20, 2016, the Prime Minister of Canada issued the U.S.-Canada Joint Statement on Climate, Energy, and Arctic Leadership that announced actions Canada will take to ensure a strong, sustainable and viable Arctic economy, including a science-based approach to oil and gas exploration. The Government of Canada declared the Arctic offshore indefinitely off limits to new exploration licences, a decision that will be reviewed every five years based on current climate change and science findings, and announced that there would be consultations with stakeholders.

Who

Current oil and gas exploration licence holders, northern governments and Indigenous organizations.

What

The goals of these consultations are:

The consultations will take into account the work done by the Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister's Special Representative, Mr. Rowland Harrison, and his Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs and the Minister of Natural Resources will return to cabinet within one year to report on the results of the consultations and advise on appropriate next steps.

Date modified:

Consultations sur l’exploration pétrolière et gazière dans les zones extracôtières de l’Arctique

État actuel :

Une période de consultation d'un an a commencé en avril 2017.

Pourquoi?

Le 20 décembre 2016, le premier ministre du Canada a émis une Déclaration conjointe du Canada et des États-Unis sur le climat, l'énergie et le rôle de leadership dans l'Arctique afin d'annoncer les mesures que le Canada prendra pour assurer une économie solide, durable et viable dans l'Arctique, y compris une approche scientifique à l'exploration pétrolière et gazière. Le gouvernement du Canada a déclaré que les zones extracôtières de l'Arctique sont hors limite indéfiniment pour les nouvelles licences d'exploration, une décision qui sera examinée aux cinq ans selon le changement climatique actuel et les constatations scientifiques. Le gouvernement a également annoncé qu'il y aurait des consultations avec les intervenants.

Qui?

Les détenteurs actuels de licence d'exploration pétrolière et gazière, les gouvernements du Nord, les organisations autochtones.

Quoi?

Voici les objectifs de ces consultations :

Les consultations tiendront compte du travail réalisé par le représentant spécial de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, M. Rowland Harrison, et son Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

La ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord et le ministre des Ressources naturelles retourneront au Cabinet dans moins d'un an pour rendre compte des résultats des consultations et offrir des conseils sur les prochaines mesures appropriées à prendre.

Date de modification :