Audit of the Implementation of Modern Treaty Obligations - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2014

PDF Version (34 Kb, 2 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2014

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Audit of the Implementation of Modern Treaty Obligations
Approval Date: 20-09-2013
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government (TAG) Sector should work with the oversight bodies to ensure that the roles and responsibilities for the proactive monitoring of federal obligations are formally defined for the three (3) decision-making bodies and embedded in the appropriate Terms of Reference/mandates and meeting agendas.  Additionally, reporting requirements should be established to ensure that AANDC provides these oversight bodies with obligation status-related information required to monitor the status of implementation and ensure that obligations are being implemented on a timely basis.

Agreed.

TAG, Implementation Branch (IB) will propose the development of monitoring and accountability tools, such as an annual letter from the DM to his DM colleagues that will ensure OGD's are aware of the status of their obligations.

The Department will also propose to OGDs other mechanisms on the establishment of a focal point to ensure obligations are being met by other government departments.

Q2 2014-15

Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

An approach to improving modern treaty implementation is under development and will be brought forward for approval in Winter, 2014-15.

AES:  Ongoing

2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector should ensure that a structured business process is defined for the update of the Treaty Obligation Management System (TOMS) on a regular basis (i.e. quarterly) by obligation owners with follow-up, as necessary. The caucuses and Federal Steering Committee should be provided status-related information from TOMS to proactively monitor the status of implementation.

Agreed.

TAG, Implementation Branch will continuously improve and implement a business plan that is currently in place, incorporating business process elements within it.

IB meets regularly with OGDs to review their agreements and information in TOMSs to ensure there is agreement on obligations assigned to each OGD.

Q2  2014-15

Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

Although data validations and system upgrades are ongoing, departments are now being provided access to TOMS in order to provide feedback on the system and how to better support their needs. Final upgrades to the system will be completed within two years.

AES:  Recommend to close. Closed.

3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector should work with the OGDs to develop formal Terms of Reference/mandates for the regional caucuses that set out their purpose, membership, roles and responsibilities, frequency of meetings and required activities/documentation.

Agreed.

TAG will develop terms of reference and share with FSC.

Q1 2014-15

Status: Completed – see attached

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

They were developed with the input of OGD's and shared with FSC as part of the overall Implementation Management Framework.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.

4. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector should ensure that orientation material is developed for Regional Caucus, Federal Caucus and Federal Steering Committee members so that all members have a consistent understanding of the purpose and role of the committee/caucus, the role of the oversight body in the overall Federal Framework and their individual responsibilities as a member to ensure effective operation of the oversight body.

Agreed.

TAG will fully roll out Collaboration and GCPedia tools and websites and provide regular updates to FSC and Federal Caucus and OGDs as requested/required

Q3 2014-15

Status: Ongoing and to be completed by end of Q4

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

Per recommendation #3, the terms of reference have already been shared for the various committees and will be re-posted on the collaboration website for reference by Caucus members. Recommend closing.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.

 
 
Date modified:

Vérification des obligations relatives aux traités modernes - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2014

Format PDF (22 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2014

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Vérification des obligations relatives aux traités modernes
Date d'approbation : 20-09-2013
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone (STGA) devrait, de concert avec les organes de surveillance, veiller à ce que les rôles et responsabilités de surveillance proactive des obligations fédérales soient officiellement définis pour les trois organes décisionnels et qu'ils soient incorporés à leurs attributions/mandats et inscrits comme points de discussion à l'ordre du jour de leurs réunions. En outre, il faudrait établir des exigences de rapport pour qu'AADNC communique à ces organes de surveillance l'information dont ils ont besoin pour surveiller la mise en œuvre des obligations et pour en assurer leur exécution en temps voulu.

Accepté.

Le STGA, à la Direction générale de la mise en œuvre (DGMO), proposera l'élaboration d'outils de surveillance et de reddition de comptes, par exemple  une lettre annuelle du SM à ses collègues SM pour veiller à ce que les autres ministères soient au courant de leurs obligations.

Le Ministère proposera également aux autres ministères d'autres mécanismes pour assurer la création d'un point central permettant de garantir le respect des obligations par les autres ministères.

T2, 2014-15

État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

Une approche visant à améliorer la mise en œuvre de traités modernes est en voie d'élaboration et elle sera présentée pour être approuvée au cours de l'hiver 2014-2015.

SVE : En cours.

2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone devrait voir à ce que soit défini un processus d'affaires structuré pour la mise à jour régulière (chaque trimestre) du Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités (SSODT) par les détenteurs des obligations, avec un suivi au besoin. Les caucus et le Comité directeur fédéral devraient recevoir du SSODT l'information nécessaire pour surveiller de façon proactive l'état de mise en œuvre des obligations.

Accepté.

Le STGA, Direction général de la mise en œuvre, continuera d'améliorer et de mettre en œuvre le plan d'activité en place et d'y intégrer des éléments relatifs au processus d'activités.

La DGMO rencontre régulièrement les autres ministères pour examiner leurs ententes et les renseignements contenus dans le SSODT afin de veiller au respect des obligations de chaque ministère.

T2, 2014-15

État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :
Des validations de données et des mises à niveau des systèmes sont en cours, mais on donne maintenant aux ministères l'accès au Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités (SSODT) pour fournir des commentaires sur le système et la façon de mieux répondre à leurs besoins. Des mises à niveau définitives seront apportées au système au cours d'une période de deux ans.

SVE : La recommandation sera classée. Classée.

3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone devrait collaborer avec les autres ministères fédéraux pour établir, à l'intention des caucus régionaux, des attributions et mandats officiels indiquant leur but, leur composition, leurs rôles et responsabilités, la fréquence de leurs réunions et les activités et documents nécessaires.

Accepté.

Le STGA élaborera des modalités et les communiquera au CDF.

T1, 2014-2015

État : Terminé - voir ci-joint.

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

Elles ont été élaborées au moyen des données provenant des autres ministères et communiquées au CDF aux termes du cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.  Classée.

4. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone devrait voir à la préparation de documents d'orientation destinés aux membres des caucus régionaux, du caucus fédéral et du Comité directeur fédéral, afin que tous aient une compréhension commune du but et du rôle du comité et des caucus, du rôle de leur organe de surveillance dans le cadre fédéral et de leurs responsabilités individuelles comme membres, de façon à assurer un fonctionnement efficace des organes de surveillance.

Accepté.

TGA déploiera complètement les outils et sites Web de Collaboration et de GCPedia et fournira des mises à jour régulières au CDF et aux caucus fédéraux, de même qu'aux autres ministères sur demande ou au besoin.

T3, 2014-2015

État : En cours et achèvement prévu d'ici la fin du 4e trimestre.

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

Conformément à la recommandation no 3, le mandat a déjà été diffusé à l'intention des divers comités et il sera affiché de nouveau sur le site Collaboration aux fins de consultation par les membres du caucus. Recommander la fermeture.

SVE : La recommandation sera classée. Classée.

 
 
Date de modification :