Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 3 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2014

Regional Operations

Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the draft EMA Program Performance Measurement Strategy is finalized and that the final version is in alignment with approved program objectives and authorities. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister should also ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. A PMS for EMAP is currently being drafted and will align with program objectives and authorities. 2013-2014 Q2

Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

A performance measurement strategy for EMAP was approved in April 2014 and a monitoring and reporting regime has been implemented and will continue to be carried out on an annual basis moving forward. 

AES:  Recommend closure. Closed.

Once the PMS is finalized, EMD will ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. 2014-2015 and ongoing
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that a risk-based all-hazards approach to the EMA Program, in accordance with the Emergency Management Act, is adopted.

Sector Operations (SO) will conduct medium- and long-term all-hazards risk assessments for First Nations and use the results to inform AANDC's emergency management program activities. This will involve steps such as:

  • consultation with relevant partners;
  • completing the risk assessments; and
  • incorporating the results into strategic decision making. 

Completing risk assessment: 2014-2015

Incorporating results into decision making:
2015-2016

Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

AANDC has adopted a risk-based, all-hazards approach to EMAP. In November 2014, AANDC received Treasury Board approval and a stable source of funding to support a new, comprehensive approach to First Nation emergency management. This comprehensive and risk-based approach includes $40 million over 5 years to invest in structural mitigation activities; $19.1 million in ongoing A-base funding to invest in enhanced bilateral emergency management arrangements between AANDC and the provinces and territories as well as in preparedness and non-structural mitigation activities; and $29.33 million in new ongoing A-base funding to reimburse eligible response and recovery costs. This funding has allowed EMAP to adopt a more proactive and risk-based approach to supporting First Nation emergency management.

AES: Recommend closure. Closed.

3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the EMA Authority and supporting guidelines are reviewed and updated to promote a consistent understanding of eligible projects and expenditures. To ensure effective emergency management activities across AANDC regional offices, the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that standardized processes are developed and implemented so that expectations, objectives and priorities are clear with respect to emergency management plans, procedures for response activities, and after-action reports as well as the approval of emergency expenditures and the scrutiny of invoices. EMD will address these issues through reviewing EMAP terms and conditions and updating them where necessary.

Review EMAP terms and conditions:
2013-2014 Q3

Status: Underway (Change in Approach)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

Ministerial approval of EMAP's revised terms and conditions will be sought in 2014-2015 (Q4). 

AANDC's regional emergency management plans will be reviewed and updated by 2015-2016 (Q4).

AANDC has initiated bilateral negotiations with all provinces and territories with on reserve First Nations with the goal of having agreements signed by March 31, 2015. In some instances negotiations may extend into the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

AES:  Ongoing.

EMAP will also review AANDC's regional emergency management plans and update them where necessary. Regional emergency management plans: 2013-2014 Q4
EMD, in conjunction with regional offices, will negotiate bilateral arrangements with the provinces which will include approaches to emergency management plans, response activities, after action reports as well as spending and accountability provisions.

Negotiation of  bilateral arrangements:
2014-2015

 
 
Date modified:

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2014

Format PDF (26 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences
Date d'approbation : 04-26-2013
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à faire parachever l'ébauche de la stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) et à harmoniser la version définitive avec les objectifs et autorisations approuvés du programme. Il devrait également mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d'élaboration de rapports. La stratégie de mesure du rendement du PAGU est en cours de rédaction; elle intègrera les objectifs et les autorisations du programme. T2 2013-2014

État : Demande de fermeture du dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

Une stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) a été approuvée en avril 2014, et un régime de surveillance et de rapport a été mis en œuvre, et il continuera d'être appliqué sur une base annuelle à l'avenir.

SVE : Recommandation de fermer le dossier. Classée.

Une fois que cette stratégie sera définitive, la Direction de la gestion des urgences (DGU) veillera à mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d'élaboration de rapports. À partir de 2014-2015
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à l'adoption d'une approche tous risques en ce qui concerne le PAGU, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences.

Les Opérations du secteur effectueront des évaluations tous risques à moyen et à long terme pour les Premières Nations et en intégreront les résultats aux activités du PAGU d'AADNC. Elles prendront notamment les mesures suivantes :

  • consulter les partenaires concernés;
  • terminer l'évaluation des risques;
  • intégrer les résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions stratégiques.
 

Évaluation des risques : 2014-2015

Intégration des résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions :
2015-2016

État : Demande de fermeture du dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

AADNC a adopté une approche tous risques, axée sur le risque, pour le PAGU. En novembre 2014, AADNC a reçu l'autorisation du Conseil du Trésor et une source de financement stable pour soutenir une nouvelle approche globale en ce qui concerne la gestion des urgences des Premières Nations. Cette approche globale et axée sur le risque comprend 40 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à investir dans des activités d'atténuation structurelle; 19,1 millions de dollars en financement continu provenant des services votés, à investir dans des ententes bilatérales améliorées de gestion des urgences entre AADNC et les provinces et les territoires, et dans des activités de préparation et d'atténuation non structurelle; et 29,33 millions de dollars en nouveau financement continu provenant des services votés pour rembourser les coûts d'intervention et de rétablissement admissibles. Ce financement a permis au PAGU d'adopter une approche plus proactive et axée sur le risque pour soutenir la gestion des urgences des Premières Nations.

SVE : Recommandation de fermer le dossier. Classée.

3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait s'assurer que les autorisations et des lignes directrices du PAGU sont revues et mises à jour afin de favoriser une interprétation uniforme des projets et des dépenses admissibles. Dans le but d'assurer l'efficacité des activités de gestion des urgences dans l'ensemble des bureaux régionaux d'AADNC, le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait en outre veiller à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de processus normalisés qui établissent clairement les attentes, les objectifs et les priorités en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, de déroulement des activités d'intervention et de rapports après activités, ainsi que les processus d'approbation des dépenses liées aux urgences et d'examen détaillé des factures.

La DGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les conditions du PAGU.

Revue des conditions du PAGU
T3 2013-2014

État : En cours (changement de l'approche)

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

L'approbation ministérielle des modalités et conditions du PAGU sera sollicitée en 2014-2015 (4e trimestre).

Les plans régionaux de gestion des urgences d'AADNC seront revus et mis à jour d'ici 2015-2016 (4e trimestre).

AADNC a amorcé des négociations bilatérales avec toutes les provinces et les territoires, et les Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves, pour que des ententes soient signées d'ici le 31 mars 2015. Dans certains cas, les négociations pourraient se prolonger en 2015-2016.

SVE : En cours

L'équipe du PAGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les plans de gestion des urgences des régions d'AADNC.

Plans régionaux de gestion des urgences : T4 2013-2014

La DGU et les régions négocieront avec les provinces des ententes bilatérales qui préciseront leur approche en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, d'activités d'intervention, de rapports après activités, de dépenses et de reddition de comptes.

Négociation des ententes bilatérales
2014-2015

 
 
Date de modification :