Audit of Additions to Reserve Process - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2014

PDF Version (33 Kb, 6 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2014

Lands and Economic Development, Regional Operations

Audit of Additions to Reserve Process
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Regional Operations (RO) should formalize and update regional governance practices and work with the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development (LED) to develop a practice to share leading practices, establish common ATR processing steps and milestones, and report on the ATR process at a national level.

Governance structures have been implemented for all ATR streamlining efforts and include the formalization of process, documents and templates. Governance structures have been developed with clearly outlined roles and responsibilities for land submissions that cover HQ, Regions, Corporate Secretariat, Regional Support Centres, CFO, LED and RO. Training for regional offices on ATR streamlining was completed on December 1, 2012. Regular reporting and monitoring occur through monthly calls with all LED directors and managers and the NATS system is used as a means for reporting on ATR submissions.  Training and guidelines will be provided to all regions during 2013-14 for the roll out of the new ATR policy.

Regional Service Centres will share best practices. Regional LED Directors will be asked by RDGs (through EPMs and other tools) to provide regular updates on reporting and monitoring on ATRs, especially major program changes.

RO and LED will seek feedback from regions that are in the midst of implementing lands streamlining changes.

June 2013
(ATR Policy)

 
 
 

March 2014
(regional training on new ATR policy)

Status:  Completed- Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013

A Roles and Responsibilities document defining governance structures involving HQ, Regions, the Deputy Minister's Office, Corporate Secretariat, Regional Support Centres, CFO, LED and RO was approved by the Associate Deputy Minister in Q2.

On February 26-28, 2014, a national ATR training and implementation workshop was held with all regions to discuss the new ATR policy, duty to consult guidelines and the policy's implementation. Draft transition guidelines, supporting documents and templates were developed and shared with regions to support implementation.

The implementation of the new ATR submission process and regional expectations was shared at the ARDG Forum and at the National Directors meeting in Ottawa in Q2.  The National ATR tracking system (NATS) has been updated and includes only active files, and new reports have been created to better support regional tracking. Monitoring (e.g. at monthly LED Regional Director's calls) and quarterly reporting of completed ATRs (i.e. posted on AANDC website) has been regular and ongoing.  Additionally, planning and reporting commitments have been identified in the LED/RO Corporate Business Plans for 2014-15.

As part of the ongoing work to improve ATR implementation and seek feedback from regions, monthly calls are held with regional managers to identify and resolve issues.

AES: Implementation complete. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

2. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should continue updating the Lands Manual to better identify procedural steps. Revisions to Chapter 10 of the Land management manual are currently underway.  This will include consultation with RDGs.

Sept 2013

Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2013:

Recommendations to revise the additions to reserve (ATR) policy (Chapter 10 of the Land Management Manual) were finalized in collaboration with the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) through the Joint Working Group. A revision of the ATR policy was completed and approved by the Deputy Minister and the Minister for posting online for the public comment period, which ended Oct. 31/13.  Ongoing review or maintenance of the policy and any further revisions will be undertaken as part of regular operational business.

RDG's were consulted in April of 2013 as part of Strategic Policy Committee and are briefed regularly as part of the LED Directors meetings.

AES: Implemented. Recommend to be Closed. Closed.

3. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should review performance measures for continued relevance to allow for more useful performance reporting across all Regions and support Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations in establishing clear priorities for processing ATRs, including identifying possible risks to the achievement of those priorities Performance measures will be reviewed by LED and RO to ensure relevance.  A process for establishing clear priorities will be addressed in the new ATR policy. As required, LED officials will continue to work with RO Senior Management to identify obstacles, solutions and priorities March 2014

Status: Completed – Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013

Performance measures were reviewed based on an analysis of ATR data, and new indicators and targets were identified in the Performance Measurement Framework.  Additionally, a new Performance Measurement Strategy (3.2.3) was developed with new performance measures, which were approved by the Evaluation Committee in March 2014.  As requested by the Committee, performance measures include examining economic value of ATRs.

A process to identify ATR priorities and targets has been established and linked with a newly established annual regional resource allocation processes.  In February 2014, each region identified their ATR priorities and targets for 2014-15.

Ongoing LED-RO monitoring of obstacles, solutions and priorities will use existing mechanisms, including: monthly calls with regional managers to identify and resolve issues; monthly LED/ RO Directors Calls; and, monthly LED-RO ADM Bilats as required.

AES: Implementation Complete. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
4. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should work with the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations to clarify the role of the Department of Justice, communicate the national service standard expectations to regional staff, and develop practices to increase the efficiency of DOJ's participation in the ATR process DOJ will comply with existing service standards to ensure that they are being implemented and that any impediments are identified and dealt with in a timely manner. If service standards are not being met on a broad basis, LED, PSD, DOJ and RO will discuss and clearly identify the time delays and examine solutions and make recommendations as required. To ensure national consistency, LED and RO in consultation with DOJ, will develop a checklist that clarifies the role of DOJ and identifies specific issues that may require legal review. Sept 2013

Status: Completed - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

DOJ has worked in partnership with AANDC regions to effectively meet service requirements related to ATR.  No impediments have been noted, although regular meetings have been established to monitor on an ongoing basis. 

While DOJ had initially contemplated developing a checklist to clarify their role, they have determined that national precedents or templates would serve as a more effective tool to increase DOJ efficiency, clarify their role and identify issues requiring legal review.  As part of the Legal Advisory Efficiencies project, DOJ has developed a number of precedents in areas where DOJ plays a role within the ATR process, including precedents for the Initiating Band Council Resolution; Order-in-Council/ Ministerial Order; DOJ Approval letter; Amending Order; and, Utility Agreements.  These national precedents are now being used by AANDC.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

5. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations should work with the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Developmentto review alignment of staffing level requirements and capacity to the volume of activity and priorities. ADM LED and DG's as needed to work with SADM RO and RDGs to identify opportunities for improved resource alignment. March 2014

Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

The results from the Regional Footprint were shared with Regional Directors General. This includes information on trends, regional variations, metrics on transactional volume and FTE composition across a number of key lands, environment and economic development business lines. The information is intended to serve as a resource to contribute to strategic planning and consideration of emerging trends, priority-setting and alignment of resources and responsibilities of regional officers.

Engagement with regions on the findings and their application to better improving resource alignment will continue as part of ongoing business.

AES: Implementation complete. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

6. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should clarify user needs and revise the National ATR Tracking System (NATS) application to provide ATR file management support based on clearly defined processing milestones, data fields, and reporting requirements. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should also delay First Nation's access to NATS until the issues surrounding data completeness and accuracy are addressed. The need for additional enhancements will be examined. RO and LED will assess the timing and feasibility of opening NATS to First Nations. ADM LED will seek ongoing SADM RO input on NATS enhancements. Sept 2013

Status: Completed - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

More than 100 system enhancements were analysed and 30 priority enhancements were identified.  Also a business analyst examined requirements to develop NATS file management capacity.

Given the data completeness and accuracy concerns identified in the audit, select NATS data fields were confirmed accurate in June-July 2013 and public view functionality is under development. 

This work was completed with the ongoing collaboration of regional Lands Directors and officers.

As part of the Lands Directorate's ongoing work to enhance AANDC land administration and additions to reserve activities, an analysis of all lands systems is underway. This work will include NATS and where appropriate further NATS enhancements will be pursued. This work will be done in collaboration with regional Lands officers.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be Closed. Closed.

 
 
Date modified:

Vérification du processus d’ajout aux réserves - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2014

Format PDF (37 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2014

Terres et développement économique, Opérations régionales

Vérification du processus d’ajout aux réserves
Date d'approbation : 26-04-2013
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal (SMAP) des Opérations régionales (OR) devrait officialiser et mettre à jour les pratiques de gouvernance des bureaux régionaux et travailler avec la sous-ministre adjointe (SMA) de Terres et développement économique (TDE) à l'élaboration d'une méthode de mise en commun des pratiques exemplaires, à l'établissement des étapes courantes et des jalons du traitement des ajouts aux réserves (AR), et à la préparation d'un rapport sur le processus d'AR à l'échelle nationale.

Des structures de gouvernance ont été mises en place pour l'ensemble des mesures visant à rationaliser le processus d'AR, y compris l'officialisation du processus, des documents et des modèles. Ces structures sont assorties d'une définition claire des rôles et responsabilités à l'égard des demandes foncières touchant l'administration centrale, les bureaux régionaux, le Secrétariat du Ministère, les centres de soutien régionaux, le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances, TDE et les OR. La formation des employés des bureaux régionaux sur la rationalisation du processus d'AR a pris fin le 1er décembre 2012. Les comptes rendus et les contrôles réguliers ont lieu dans le cadre des téléconférences mensuelles avec l'ensemble des directeurs et gestionnaires de TDE. De plus, le Système national de suivi des ajouts aux réserves (SNSAR) est utilisé pour l'établissement de rapports sur les demandes d'AR. Au cours de l'exercice 2013­2014, tous les bureaux régionaux recevront une formation et des lignes directrices sur la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle Politique.

Les Centres de services régionaux mettront en commun les pratiques exemplaires. Les directeurs généraux régionaux demanderont aux directeurs régionaux de TDE (au moyen des formulaires de gestion du rendement de l'employé et d'autres outils) de faire le point régulièrement sur la reddition de comptes et la surveillance relatives aux AR, plus précisément lorsque des changements importants seront apportés au programme.

Le personnel des OR et de TDE tentera d'obtenir la rétroaction des bureaux régionaux qui sont en train d'appliquer les changements visant à rationaliser les opérations foncières.

juin 2013 (Politique sur les ajouts aux réserves)

 
 
 

mars 2014
(formation des bureaux régionaux sur la nouvelle politique)

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2013

Un document sur les rôles et les responsabilités définissant les structures de gouvernance de l'AC, des régions, du cabinet du sous-ministre, du secrétariat de l'organisation, des centres de soutien régionaux, du DPF, du STDE et d'OR a été approuvé par le sous-ministre adjoint principal au T2.

Du 26 au 28 février 2014, une formation nationale sur le processus d'ajout aux réserves et sur la mise en œuvre a eu lieu dans l'ensemble des régions pour discuter de la nouvelle politique sur les ajouts aux réserves, les lignes directrices sur l'obligation légale de consulter et la mise en œuvre de la politique. Une ébauche des lignes directrices sur la transition, des documents à l'appui et des gabarits ont aussi été élaborés et distribués dans les régions pour faciliter la mise en œuvre.

La mise en œuvre du nouveau processus de demande d'ajouts aux réserves et les attentes des régions ont été communiquées lors du forum des DGRA et à la réunion des directeurs nationaux à Ottawa au T2. Le système national de suivi des ajouts aux réserves (SNSAR) a été mis à jour et comprend uniquement les dossiers actifs, et de nouveaux rapports ont été créés pour favoriser le suivi régional. Les rapports de surveillance (p.ex., lors des appels mensuels des directeurs régionaux du STDE) et les comptes-rendus trimestriels des ajouts aux réserves (publiés dans le site Web d'AADNC) ont été produits de façon continue et régulière. En outre, les engagements en matière de planification et d'établissement de rapports ont été indiqués dans les plans d'activités organisationnelles du STDE/d'OR pour 2014-2015.

Dans le cadre des travaux continus visant à appuyer la mise en œuvre du processus d'ajouts aux réserves et à solliciter la rétroaction des régions, des appels mensuels aux gestionnaires régionaux permettent de cerner les problèmes et de les régler.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est terminée. La recommandation doit être classée. Classée.

2. La SMA de TDE devrait continuer à mettre à jour le Guide de la gestion des terres de manière à mieux définir les étapes du processus. Le chapitre 10 du Guide de la gestion des terres fait actuellement l'objet d'une révision. Des consultations avec les DGR sont prévues.

Septembre 2013

État : Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/Justification :
30 septembre 2013

Les recommandations en vue de réviser la Politique sur les AR (chapitre 10 du Guide de la gestion des terres) ont été mises au point en collaboration avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN), par l'entremise du groupe de travail mixte. La Politique a été révisée et approuvée par le sous-ministre et le ministre en vue de son affichage en ligne pour la période d'observations du public, qui s'est terminée le 31 octobre 2013. L'examen, la tenue à jour et toute révision ultérieure de la Politique seront effectués dans le cadre du processus opérationnel courant.

Les directeurs généraux régionaux ont été consultés en avril 2013, lors d'une réunion du Comité des politiques stratégiques. Ils reçoivent régulièrement des comptes rendus dans le cadre des réunions des directeurs de TDE.

SVE : La mise à jour est achevée. Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Classée.

3. La SMA de TDE devrait examiner les mesures de rendement sur le plan de la pertinence continue pour accroître l'utilité des rapports sur le rendement dans les régions. Elle doit aussi appuyer le SMAP du Secteur des opérations régionales en établissant des priorités claires quant au traitement des ajouts aux réserves, notamment en cernant les risques possibles liés à la réalisation de ces priorités. TDE et les OR examineront les mesures de rendement afin d'en évaluer la pertinence. La nouvelle Politique sur les AR présentera un processus d'établissement de priorités claires. Au besoin, des représentants de TDE continueront de travailler avec la haute direction des OR pour cerner les obstacles, les solutions et les priorités. mars 2014

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2013

Les mesures du rendement ont été examinées à la lumière d'une analyse des données sur le processus d'AR, et de nouveaux indicateurs et de nouvelles cibles ont été précisées dans le Cadre de mesures du rendement. En outre, une nouvelle stratégie (3.2.3) a été élaborée à l'aide de nouvelles mesures du rendement qui ont été approuvées par le Comité d'évaluation en mars 2014. À la demande du Comité, les mesures du rendement comprennent un examen de la valeur économique des AR.

Un processus permettant de cerner les priorités et les cibles au chapitre des AR a été établi et lié aux nouveaux processus annuels d'attribution des ressources à l'échelle régionale. En février 2014, chaque région a cerné ses priorités et ses cibles pour 2014-2015.

La surveillance continue effectuée par le STDE-OR des obstacles, des solutions et des priorités aura recours aux mécanismes existants, notamment : les appels mensuels aux gestionnaires régionaux pour cerner et régler les problèmes, les appels mensuels des directeurs du STDE/d'OR et les réunions bilatérales mensuelles des SMA du STDE-OR, au besoin.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est terminée. La recommandation doit être classée. Classée.

4. La SMA de TDE devrait collaborer avec le SMAP du Secteur des opérations régionales pour préciser le rôle du ministère de la Justice (MJ), communiquer les attentes à l'égard des normes de service nationales au personnel régional et élaborer des pratiques visant à accroître l'efficacité de la participation du MJ au processus d'AR. Le MJ surveillera les normes de service existantes afin de s'assurer qu'elles sont mises en œuvre et que tout obstacle est cerné et éliminé rapidement. Si les normes de service ne sont pas respectées à grande échelle, TDE, Politiques et orientation stratégique, le MJ et les OR discuteront ensemble pour fixer des délais précis, examiner des solutions et formuler des recommandations au besoin. Afin d'assurer l'uniformité à l'échelle nationale, TDE et les OR, en collaboration avec le MJ, dresseront une liste de vérification précisant le rôle du MJ et énonçant des questions précises qui pourraient devoir faire l'objet d'un examen juridique. septembre 2013

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

Le MJ a œuvré en partenariat avec les régions d'AADNC en vue de satisfaire avec efficacité aux exigences relatives aux AR. Aucun obstacle n'a été noté; néanmoins, des rencontres régulières ont été établies pour réaliser une surveillance permanente.

Le MJ avait songé tout d'abord à préparer une liste de contrôle pour préciser son rôle, mais il a décidé que des précédents ou modèles nationaux se révéleraient plus efficaces pour améliorer son efficacité, clarifier son rôle et cerner les questions qui exigent un examen juridique. Dans le cadre du projet de gains d'efficacité des consultations juridiques, le MJ a établi des précédents sur des questions où il intervient dans le processus d'AR, y compris pour la résolution initiale du conseil de bande; le décret ou l'arrêté du ministre; la lettre d'approbation du MJ; l'ordonnance modificatrice; les accords sur les services publics. AADNC se sert désormais de ces précédents nationaux.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Classée.

5. Le SMAP des OR devrait vérifier, en collaboration avec la SMA de TDE, si la capacité et les exigences en matière de niveau de dotation cadrent avec le volume d'activités et les priorités. La SMA de TDE et les directeurs généraux, au besoin, collaboreront avec le SMAP des OR et les directeurs généraux régionaux pour cerner des possibilités d'accroître l'harmonisation des ressources. mars 2014

État : Demande de fermeture du dossier (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

Les résultats de l'empreinte régionale ont été communiqués aux directeurs généraux régionaux. Ils comprenaient de l'information sur les tendances, les écarts régionaux, des mesures sur le volume de transactions et la composition des ETP dans un certain nombre de secteurs d'activité clés touchant les terres, l'environnement et le développement économique. L'information a pour but de servir de ressource pour contribuer à la planification stratégique et à l'examen de tendances émergentes, à l'établissement de priorités et à l'harmonisation des ressources et des responsabilités des agents régionaux.

L'engagement auprès des régions au sujet des constatations et de leur demande visant une meilleure amélioration de l'harmonisation des ressources se poursuivra dans le cadre des activités courantes.

SVE : La mise en œuvre est terminée. La recommandation sera classée. Classée.

6. La SMA de TDE devrait préciser les besoins des utilisateurs et examiner la demande du Système national de suivi des ajouts aux réserves (SNSAR) afin d'offrir un soutien en matière de gestion de dossiers d'AR fondé sur les principales étapes de traitement, les champs de données et les exigences en matière de rapports clairement définis. La SMA de TDE devrait également reporter l'accès des Premières Nations au SNSAR jusqu'à ce que les problèmes d'intégralité et d'exactitude des données soient réglés. La nécessité d'apporter des améliorations supplémentaires sera évaluée. Les OR et TDE détermineront le moment et la faisabilité de donner aux Premières Nations un accès au SNSAR. La SMA de TDE demandera au SMAP des OR de lui fournir une rétroaction continue concernant les améliorations du SNSAR. septembre 2013

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

Plus de 100 améliorations du système ont été analysées et 30 améliorations prioritaires ont été cernées. De plus, un analyste des opérations a étudié les exigences pour développer les capacités de gestion des dossiers du SNSAR.

Au vu des problèmes d'intégralité et d'exactitude des données mis au jour par la vérification, l'exactitude de zones de données choisies du SNSAR a été confirmée en juin-juillet 2013, et une fonction de visionnement public est en cours de création.

Ce travail a été réalisé avec la collaboration constante des directeurs et agents régionaux des Terres.

Une analyse de tous les systèmes fonciers est en cours, dans le cadre des constants efforts de la Direction des terres pour améliorer les activités d'administration foncière et d'ajouts aux réserves d'AADNC. Ce travail comprendra le SNSAR; s'il y a lieu, on recherchera d'autres améliorations du SNSAR. Ce travail sera réalisé en collaboration avec les agents régionaux des Terres.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée.
 
 
Date de modification :