Tripartite Education of Understanding with the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, Ontario and Canada

 Memorandum of Understanding
(Hereinafter referred to as the "MOU")

Between:

Association of Iroquois & Allied Indians
As represented by the Grand Chief of Chief's Council
(Hereinafter referred to as "AIAI")

-and-

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada
As represented by the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs
(Hereinafter referred to as "Canada")

-and-

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario
As represented by the Minister of Education, Ontario
(Hereinafter referred to as "Ontario")

(Collectively "the Parties")

Vision

As partners in education, this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) commits the Parties to build on the current success of First Nation students of participating member communities throughout their life journey now and for future generations.

Introduction

AIAI is a non-profit organization, incorporated under the laws of the Province of Ontario, with its head office located on the Oneida Nation of the Thames First Nation in the Province of Ontario.

For the purposes of this MOU, the following First Nation communities are represented by AIAI:

Batchewana First Nation
Caldwell First Nation
Delaware Nation at Moraviantown
Oneida Nation of the Thames
Wahta Mohawks

Preamble

Whereas AIAI asserts the inherent right to educate our people, as granted by the Creator and reflected by the original spirit and intent of the Treaties and support First Nation jurisdiction;

Whereas AIAI agrees to work together with the Parties to affirm and implement First Nation culturally appropriate education standards based on community needs and expectations;

Whereas the Treaty and Aboriginal Rights of First Nation people are recognized and affirmed in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, and the Treaties are a fundamental part of the relationship between First Nations, Canada and Ontario;

Whereas the Parties recognize the authority and autonomy of individual First Nation communities as represented by AIAI;

Whereas the Parties will work collaboratively and be guided by cultural sensitivity and awareness, acknowledging that many different First Nations have varied practices and histories that inform who they are today and how they will grow into the future;

Whereas the Parties believe in the importance of preserving, supporting, and revitalizing the languages of First Nation people and recognize the variation of language from First Nation to First Nation and the diversity of First Nations;

Whereas the Parties agree to work together to support First Nation students in achieving holistic success and their full learning potential so that students  may have the opportunity to acquire the skills needed to enter the labour market and be full participants in a strong First Nation community  and the Canadian economy;

Whereasthe Parties have agreed to initially pursue their joint activities under the Education Partnerships Program as established by Indigenous & Northern Affairs Canada (INAC); and,

Whereas the Parties commit to work collaboratively, collegially, and as expeditiously as possible toward improving educational outcomes for First Nation students from First Nation communities represented by AIAI.

Therefore the Parties set out their understanding as follows:

Guiding principles

  1. The Parties will act toward each other in good faith and with respect.  This MOU will be interpreted and implemented in a manner that will support the holistic development of First Nations students and promote culturally appropriate processes that reflect unique First Nation communities' perspectives.

Objectives

  1. The primary objective of this MOU is to form an education partnership among the Parties for the purposes of improving the holistic development and learning outcomes of K-12 First Nation students. 
  2. The work undertaken pursuant to this MOU will enhance:
    • educational outcomes of students in participating First Nation communities;
    • existing education resources and professional capacity;
    • collaboration of knowledge and practices; and
    • awareness of Indigenous knowledge and learning ways

Priorities

General articles

Partnership Management

  1. A Working Group will be established to further the objectives and priorities as set out in this MOU. The Working Group will be comprised of representatives of the Parties.
    1. The purpose of the Working Group will be to oversee the activities agreed upon in the Joint Action Plan.  As such, this Working Group will be responsible for the following:
      1. Developing the Joint Action Plan
      2. Reviewing, evaluating and recommending future direction of the Joint Action Plan;
      3. Updating the Joint Action Plan as necessary;
      4. Addressing education issues and making recommendations when requested by the Parties and with the agreement of the Working Group; and
      5. Any other responsibilities as agreed upon by the Parties which are consistent with the Vision and Objectives of this MOU.
    2. The Working Group will meet quarterly, or as needed, to review progress, and to report as required to the leadership or senior officials of each Party on progress and challenges in addressing the priority areas.

Implementation, Assessment and Evaluation

  1. AIAI will have the primary responsibility for the administration and implementation of the Joint Action Plan. The Parties will have the shared responsibility for monitoring, evaluating and meeting the requirements as set out in the Joint Action Plan.
  2. The Parties agree that any information shared between the Parties shall be done so in a manner that is consistent with all applicable, federal, provincial and municipal access to information and privacy legislation.
  3. Where required by law, AIAI shall obtain student, parent, or guardian consents, as applicable, for the collection of, or sharing of, students' personal information. All parties agree that they will make reasonable efforts to minimize the need for the use of any personal information in undertaking any activity pursuant to this MOU. Canada and Ontario agree to provide AIAI with information that may assist and inform education program enhancement and development as deemed appropriate by the Parties. The Parties acknowledge that Ontario and school boards are bound by applicable access to information and privacy legislation.
  4. AIAI agrees to enter into data sharing and communication protocols with First Nation communities.  

Amendments

  1. This MOU may be amended with the mutual agreement of the Parties.  

Participation

  1. AIAI will provide to Canada and Ontario copies of Band Council Resolutions from First Nation communities that wish to participate in activities that result from this MOU.
  2. During the term of this MOU should other First Nation communities wish to be represented by AIAI in the MOU, it shall do so by submitting a Band Council Resolution to AIAI. Once approved by AIAI, a copy of the Band Council Resolution shall be provided to Ontario and Canada.   
  3. During the term of the MOU should a First Nation community wish to withdraw their support for representation by AIAI in the MOU, it shall do so by submitting a Band Council Resolution to AIAI which will in turn provide this to Ontario and Canada.

Scope

  1. 14. This MOU is a statement of intent by the Parties and is not legally binding. It is not intended to define, create, recognize, deny, or amend any of the rights of the Parties nor to require AIAI, Ontario, or Canada to act in a manner inconsistent with any applicable laws and regulations.
  2. This MOU is not intended to alter or amend any existing jurisdictional responsibilities with respect to First Nation education nor to impact in any way existing agreements that are in place with respect to First Nation education.
  3. Nothing in this MOU will be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada recognized and affirmed by section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Term

  1. This MOU shall be in effect once representatives of the Parties have signed it and shall remain in force for five (5) years unless terminated by any Party upon sixty (60) days written notice provided to each of the other Parties, or unless extended by mutual agreement of the Parties.

Signature page

SIGNED on behalf of the Association of Iroquois & Allied Indians, as represented by the Grand Chief

 

_________________________________
Mr. Gord Peters
Grand Chief

Date: _________________________________

 
 

SIGNED on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

 

_________________________________
The Honourable Carolyn Bennett
Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

Date: _________________________________

 
 

SIGNED on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario, as represented by the Minister of Education

 

_________________________________
The  Honourable Mitzie Hunter
Minister of Education

Date: _________________________________

Date modified:

Protocole d'entente tripartite en éducation avec l'Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, l'Ontario et le Canada

Protocole d'entente

Entre :

Association des Iroquois et des Indiens alliés
Représentée par le grand chef du conseil des chefs
(ci-après l'AIIA)

et

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada
Représentée par la Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord
(ci-après le Canada)

et

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario
Représentée par le ministre de l'Éducation de l'Ontario
(ci-après l'Ontario)

(collectivement désignés par « les parties »)

Vision

À titre de partenaires en education dans le cadre du présent protocole, les parties conviennent de faire fond sur les réussites des élèves des Premières Nations résidant dans les collectivités membres tout au long de leur cheminement et au profit des générations futures

Introduction

L'AIIA est une organisation sans but lucratif constituée en société morale en vertu des lois de l'Ontario. Son siège social  est situé dans la Nation des Oneidas de la Première Nation de la Thames, en Ontario.

Aux fins du présent protocole d'entente, l'AIIA représente les collectivités suivantes :

Première Nation de Batchewana
Première Nation de Caldwell
Nation de Delaware de Moraviantown
Nation des Oneidas de la Thames
Mohawks de Wahta

Préambule

Attendu que l'AIIA revendique le droit inhérent de gérer l'éducation de ses membres, tel qu'accordé par le Créateur, conformément à l'esprit et à l'intention des traités et dans le respect des compétences des Premières Nations;

Attendu que l'AIIA accepte de collaborer avec les parties pour établir et mettre en œuvre des normes éducatives adaptées à la culture des Premières Nations et axées sur les besoins et les attentes des collectivités;

Attendu que les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Premières Nations sont reconnus et confirmés à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et que les traités sont un élément fondamental de la relation entre les Premières Nations, le Canada et l'Ontario;

Attendu que les parties reconnaissent l'autorité et l'autonomie de chacune des collectivités des Premières Nations représentées par l'AIIA;

Attendu que les parties travailleront en collaboration et feront preuve de sensibilité à l'égard de la culture, reconnaissant ainsi que les nombreuses Premières Nations possèdent des pratiques et des histoires différentes, lesquelles façonnent qui elles sont aujourd'hui et ce qu'elles sont appelées à devenir;

Attendu que les parties croient en l'importance de protéger, de renforcer et de redynamiser les langues des Premières Nations et de reconnaître la variation linguistique d'une Première Nation à l'autre et la diversité des Premières Nations;

Attendu que les parties conviennent de collaborer pour appuyer la réussite globale des élèves des Premières Nations et aider ces derniers à concrétiser leur plein potentiel afin qu'ils aient la possibilité d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour intégrer le marché du travail et contribuer pleinement au dynamisme des collectivités des Premières Nations ainsi qu'à l'économie canadienne;

Attendu que les parties ont convenu de poursuivre leurs initiatives communes aux termes du Programme des partenariats en éducation créé par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC);

Attendu que les parties s'engagent à travailler en collaboration, dans une atmosphère conviviale, et le plus rapidement possible en vue d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves des Premières Nations provenant des collectivités représentées par l'AIIA.

Par conséquent, les parties conviennent ce qui suit :

Principes directeurs

  1. Les parties feront preuve de bonne foi et de respect dans leurs interactions. Le présent protocole d'entente sera interprété et mis en œuvre d'une manière qui appuie le développement global des élèves des Premières Nations et qui fait la promotion de processus adaptés à la culture qui tiennent compte des perspectives propres à chaque collectivité des Premières Nations.

Objectifs

  1. Le principal objectif de ce protocole d'entente est de former un partenariat entre les parties afin d'améliorer le développement global et les résultats scolaires des élèves des Premières Nations de la maternelle à la 12e année.
  2. Les travaux entrepris aux termes du présent protocole d'entente amélioreront :
    • les résultats scolaires des élèves provenant des collectivités des Premières Nations participantes;
    • les ressources éducatives existantes et la capacité professionnelle;
    • les connaissances et les pratiques exemplaires;
    • la sensibilisation au savoir autochtone et aux méthodes d'apprentissage des Premières Nations.

Priorités

Dispositions générales

Gestion en partenariat

  1. Un groupe de travail sera mis sur pied afin de donner suite aux objectifs et aux priorités détaillées dans le présent protocole d'entente. Ce groupe de travail sera composé de représentants des parties.
    1. Le groupe de travail aura pour mandat de superviser les activités convenues dans le plan d'action conjoint. Il aura donc les responsabilités suivantes :
      1. Élaborer un plan d'action conjoint;
      2. Réviser, évaluer et recommander des orientations pour le plan d'action conjoint;
      3. Au besoin, mettre à jour le plan d'action conjoint;
      4. Se pencher sur les questions relatives à l'éducation et formuler des recommandations à la demande des parties et avec l'approbation du groupe de travail;
      5. Avec l'accord des parties, assumer toute autre responsabilité cohérente avec la vision et les objectifs du présent protocole d'entente.
    2. Le groupe de travail se réunira tous les trimestres, ou selon les besoins, afin de faire le point et de rendre des comptes sur les progrès et les difficultés aux dirigeants ou aux hauts fonctionnaires de chacune des parties.

Mise en œuvre et évaluation

  1. L'AIIA aura la responsabilité de gérer et de mettre en œuvre le plan d'action conjoint. Les parties auront une responsabilité partagée en ce qui a trait au suivi et à l'évaluation du plan d'action ainsi qu'au respect des exigences qui y figurent.
  2. Les parties conviennent que tout échange d'information entre les parties doit avoir lieu d'une manière qui respecte toutes les lois fédérales, provinciales et municipales sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels applicables aux renseignements à communiquer.
  3. Là où la loi l'exige, l'AIIA obtiendra le consentement des élèves, des parents ou des tuteurs, selon le cas, pour recueillir ou communiquer les renseignements personnels des élèves. Les parties conviennent de déployer des efforts raisonnables afin de réduire au minimum l'utilisation de renseignements personnels dans le cadre des activités entreprises aux termes du présent protocole d'entente. Le Canada et l'Ontario acceptent de fournir à l'AIIA l'information nécessaire pour l'aider à améliorer le programme ou à en créer un nouveau lorsqu'il convient de la faire. Les parties conviennent que l'Ontario et les conseils scolaires doivent respecter les lois sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements applicables.
  4. L'AIIA accepte de conclure des protocoles sur l'échange de données et les communications avec les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Modification

  1. Le présent protocole d'entente pourra être modifié si toutes les parties y consentent.

Participation

  1. L'AIIA remettra au Canada et à l'Ontario une copie des résolutions du conseil de bande des collectivités qui désirent participer aux activités découlant du présent protocole d'entente.
  2. Pour toute la durée du protocole d'entente, une collectivité des Premières Nations qui souhaite être représentée par l'AIIA devra soumettre une résolution du conseil de bande à cette organisation. Après avoir approuvé la résolution, l'AIIA en remettra une copie à l'Ontario et au Canada.
  3. Pour toute la durée du protocole d'entente, une collectivité des Premières Nations qui ne désire plus être représentée par l'AIIA au titre de la présente initiative doit présenter une résolution du conseil de bande à l'AIIA, qui en remettra une copie à l'Ontario et au Canada.

Portée

  1. Le présent protocole d'entente se veut un énoncé de l'intention des parties et n'est pas exécutoire. Il ne vise pas à définir, à créer, à reconnaître, à nier ou à modifier les droits des parties ni à exiger que l'AIIA, l'Ontario ou le Canada agissent de manière conforme aux lois et aux règlements applicables.
  2. Le protocole d'entente ne vise pas à modifier les compétences en matière d'éducation des Premières Nations et ne prévoit pas la modification des ententes en vigueur dans ce domaine.
  3. Aucun élément du présent protocole d'entente n'abroge les droits ancestraux et issus de traités tels que reconnus à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 ou n'y déroge.

Durée du protocole d'entente

  1. Le protocole d'entente entrera en vigueur une fois que toutes les parties y auront apposé leur signature et sera valide pour cinq ans, à moins qu'une des parties y mette fin en donnant aux autres parties un préavis écrit de 60 jours ou que les parties conviennent d'en prolonger la durée.

Signatures

SIGNÉ au nom de l'Association des Iroquois et des Indiens alliés représentée par le grand chef

 

_________________________________
Mr. Gord Peters
Grand chef

Date : _________________________________

 
 

SIGNÉ au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada représentée par la ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien

 

_________________________________
L'honorable Carolyn Bennett
Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord

Date : _________________________________

 
 

SIGNÉ au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario représentée par la ministre de l'Éducation

 

_________________________________
Mitzie Hunter
Ministre de l'Éducation

Date : _________________________________

Date de modification :