Audit of Delegation of Authorities, Organization Design and Classification - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (25 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2014

Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch

Audit of Delegation of Authorities, Organization Design and Classification
Approval Date: 27/06/14
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Director General of Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch (HRWSB) should ensure that risk levels for staffing and classification activities requiring Workforce Management Board (WMB) approval are reviewed and updated periodically and given that the WMB is now a permanent governance structure within AANDC, articulate how the mandate of WMB relates to the Sub-Delegation Instrument Delegation of Authority for Human Resources. The risk levels are reviewed periodically to adjust according to the level of change management and evolution of practices in the department. Given that WMB is now a permanent fixture of the Department, the Sub-Delegation instrument will be reviewed to ensure alignment. In the interim, a reference to WMB will be added to the instrument. Q1, 2014/2015

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Risk Levels for staffing activities requiring WMB approval have been reviewed in June 2014 (many actions have been moved to Risk Level 1 (low risk)).

The Sub-Delegation instrument has been adjusted and signed by the Deputy Minister (Colleen Swords) on July 23, 2014. Reference to WMB can be found on page 8 and 40.

AES: Completed. Recommend to Close. Closed.

2. The Director General of Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch should ensure that process expectations, including those used in organizational design, are clear, formally documented, and communicated to the appropriate individuals to ensure consistency in operational practices and to reduce the amount of data entry errors. In addition, appropriate and timely financial and non-financial status reporting on requested classification actions should be communicated to all interested parties, beyond just the HR community (i.e. to clients of the HR services).

As part of the HR Service Centres' review, process, procedures and responsibilities will be looked at to ensure they are clear. 

Communication with clients will be enhanced to reflect not only process expectations from an AANDC perspective, but also to ensure continuous alignment with Common HR Business Process which is a government-wide initiative effective as of April 1, 2014.

Q1, 2014/2015 and ongoing

Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2014:

The report containing analysis, recommendations and options was shared with RDG's by e-mail sent on December 15, 2014 for their review. A conference call was scheduled for January 29, 2015 to get RDG's impressions in line with the suggested recommendations and options.

HRWSB members will be briefed on the results and recommendations in Q4 of 2014/15.

AES: Ongoing.

3. The Director General of Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch should ensure that operational practices are adequately documented and communicated and adequate controls are in place to improve the accuracy and consistency in file management practices among HR Service Centres. Check list will be developed and continuous feedback will be provided to HR advisors and managers during processes, and following quality assurance reviews. Ongoing

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

All regional Classification resources have been transferred to the Classifications CoE. Standardized operational processes, to improve the accuracy and consistency in file management practices across the country, are being developed and implemented. This will include working in close collaboration with corporate staffing.

AES: Completed. Recommend to close. Closed.

4. The Director General of Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch should ensure the quality assurance approach includes a more efficient risk-based sampling approach, and improve the effectiveness of the QA process through supervisory review of testing results, establish a process for follow up on identified issues, and update work descriptions for those conducting quality assurance activities. As part of the Branch reorganisation, the Quality Assurance services are under review. Adjustments to QA methodology and job descriptions will be done as a result of this review as required. Q1 & Q2, 2014/2015

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

The classification monitoring function has been transferred to the Classification CoE. As a result, the monitoring approach and techniques are under review. In essence, the CoE will keep performing regular monitoring exercises to ensure classification activities are performed according to procedures and policies. Monitoring activities includes random sampling of classification files, evaluations, checklists, work descriptions, etc. The information collected will serve in making recommendations to be communicated to the Classification team.

AES: Completed. Recommend to close. Closed.

5. The Director General of Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch should ensure there is a certified HR Classification Advisor in each region, provide organizational design and classification training to requisite employees, and obtain client (i.e. functional managers) feedback on the implementation of generic work descriptions to assess potential implementation challenges.

All HR service Centres have Classification advisors. As part of its reorganization, the Branch is putting in place a Centre of Expertise in Classification. The regional Classification advisors, while located in the Services Centres, will report to the Centre of Expertise. Training plans for classification advisors will be reviewed and adjusted as required.

Q1, 2014/2015

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Part of the HR reorganization was to centralize the classification function in the NCR and create a center of expertise (CoE) which is responsible to provide classification services nationally, corporate functions, grievances and monitoring. The center of expertise team now includes all AANDC classification staff. The transfer of the positions will be completed over the month of September. When all employees are transferred within the CoE, all training plans will be reviewed by the Manager and adapted accordingly to the CoE needs.

Part of the mandate of the Classification CoE is the implementation of generic work description. This is a priority and the CoE will track any progress made.

Tracking will be done through PeopleSoft. Once a month, CoE will track any reviewed positions using a generic work description and update the chart. Any feedback provided by functional managers will be analysed and actions will be taken when necessary.

AES: Completed. Recommend to Close. Closed.

Feedback on implementation of generic work description will be sought from functional managers as part of regular processes. Ongoing
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la délégation des pouvoirs, de la conception organisationnelle et de la classification - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2014

Format PDF (27 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2014

Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail

Vérification de la délégation des pouvoirs, de la conception organisationnelle et de la classification
Date d'approbation : 27-06-2014
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Le directeur général de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail (DGSRHMT) devrait veiller à ce que les niveaux de risque des activités de dotation et de classification qui requièrent l'approbation du Conseil de gestion de l'effectif (CGE) soient passés en revue et mis à jour régulièrement et, puisque le CGE est maintenant une structure de gouvernance permanente au sein d'AADNC, il faut préciser de quelle façon le mandat du CGE a trait à l'instrument de subdélégation « Délégation des pouvoirs en ressources humaines ». Les niveaux de risque sont évalués périodiquement afin de les ajuster en fonction du niveau de gestion du changement et de l'évolution des pratiques du Ministère. Le CGE étant maintenant une entité permanente du Ministère, on s'assurera que l'instrument de subdélégation est conforme. Entre-temps, on ajoutera à l'instrument un renvoi au CGE. T1, 2014-2015

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

Les niveaux de risque pour les activités de dotation nécessitant l'approbation du CGE ont été examinés en juin 2014 (plusieurs mesures sont passés au niveau de risque 1, soit faible).

L'instrument de sous-délégation a été ajusté et signé par la sous-ministre (Colleen Swords) le 23 juillet 2014. On trouve une référence au CGE aux pages 8 et 40.

SVE : Terminé. Fermeture recommandée. Classée.
2. Le directeur général de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail devrait s'assurer que les attentes quant aux processus, notamment ceux qui sont utilisés pour la conception organisationnelle, sont claires, documentées officiellement et communiquées aux personnes concernées, afin de garantir la cohérence des pratiques opérationnelles et de réduire le nombre d'erreurs dans la saisie des données. De plus, des rapports adéquats sur la situation financière et non financière doivent être produits sur les mesures de classification demandées et communiqués en temps opportun à toutes les parties intéressées, et non seulement au groupe des RH (à savoir les clients des services de RH).

Dans le cadre de l'examen des centres de services des RH, les processus, les procédures et les responsabilités seront examinés afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont clairs.  

Les communications avec les clients seront améliorées afin de répondre non seulement aux attentes par rapport aux processus du point de vue d'AADNC, mais également à des besoins de conformité continue à l'égard du Processus opérationnel commun des ressources humaines, une initiative pangouvernementale entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2014.

T1, 2014-2015 et par la suite

État :En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 décembre 2014 :

Le rapport, qui contient des analyses, des recommandations et des options, a été transmis aux directeurs généraux régionaux (DGR) par courriel le 15 décembre 2014, aux fins d'examen. Une conférence téléphonique a été prévue le 29 janvier 2015, afin de recueillir les commentaires des DGR au sujet des recommandations et des options proposées.

Les membres de la Direction générale des services des ressources humaines et du milieu de travail (DGSRHMT) seront informés des résultats et des recommandations au 4e trimestre de 2014-2015.

SVE : En cours
3. Le directeur général de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail devrait veiller à ce que les pratiques opérationnelles soient documentées et communiquées adéquatement et que des contrôles efficaces soient en place afin d'améliorer l'exactitude et la cohérence des méthodes de gestion des dossiers dans les centres de services des RH. Des listes de vérification seront élaborées et des commentaires continus seront fournis aux conseillers en RH et aux gestionnaires au cours des processus et à la suite des vérifications de l'assurance de la qualité. Permanent

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2014 :

Tout le personnel régional affecté à la classification a été transféré au centre d'expertise en classification. Des processus opérationnels normalisés visant à améliorer l'exactitude et la cohérence des pratiques de gestion des dossiers sont en cours d'élaboration et de mise en œuvre. Ils comprennent notamment le fait de collaborer étroitement avec les services de dotation ministérielle.

SVE : Terminé. Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Classée.

4. Le directeur général de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail devrait s'assurer que la méthode d'assurance de la qualité comprend une approche plus efficace d'échantillonnage des risques, améliorer l'efficacité du processus d'assurance de la qualité à l'aide d'un examen de supervision des résultats des tests, établir un processus de suivi des questions cernées et mettre à jour les descriptions de travail des personnes qui exécutent les activités d'assurance de la qualité. Dans le cadre de la réorganisation de la Direction générale, les services d'assurance de la qualité font l'objet d'un examen. À la suite de celui-ci, des modifications seront apportées au besoin à la méthode d'assurance de la qualité et aux descriptions de travail. T1 et T2, 2014-2015

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2014 :

La fonction de surveillance de la classification a été transférée au centre d'expertise. Par conséquent, l'approche et les techniques de surveillance font l'objet d'un examen. Essentiellement, le centre d'expertise procédera régulièrement à des exercices de surveillance pour s'assurer que les activités en matière de classification sont effectuées conformément aux procédures et aux politiques. La surveillance des activités comprend l'échantillonnage aléatoire des dossiers de classification, des évaluations, des listes de vérification, des descriptions de tâches, etc. Les renseignements recueillis permettront de formuler des recommandations à l'équipe de la classification.

SVE : Terminé. Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Classée.

5. Le directeur général de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail devrait faire en sorte qu'il y ait un conseiller en classification des RH agréé dans chaque région, offrir une formation sur la conception organisationnelle et la classification aux employés qui en ont besoin et recueillir les commentaires des clients (autrement dit les gestionnaires fonctionnels) sur la mise en œuvre de descriptions de travail génériques, afin d'évaluer les éventuels problèmes de mise en œuvre.

Tous les centres de services des RH sont dotés de conseillers en classification. Dans le contexte de la réorganisation, la Direction générale met en place un centre d'expertise en classification. Les conseillers en classification des régions relèveront du centre d'expertise même s'ils font partie des centres de services. Les plans de formation des conseillers en classification feront l'objet d'un examen et seront modifiés au besoin.

T1, 2014-2015

Situation : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

Une partie de la réorganisation des RH consistait à centraliser la fonction de classification dans la RCN et à créer un centre d'expertise responsable des services de classification à l'échelle nationale, des fonctions ministérielles, des griefs et de la surveillance. L'équipe du centre d'expertise comprend à présent tout le personnel affecté à la classification à AADNC. Le transfert des postes sera terminé au cours du mois de septembre. Lorsque tous les employés seront transférés au centre d'expertise, tous les plans de formation seront examinés par le gestionnaire et adaptés aux besoins du centre d'expertise.

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le centre d'expertise en classification doit mettre en place des descriptions de tâches génériques. C'est une priorité et le centre d'expertise fera un suivi des progrès.

Le suivi sera fait au moyen de PeopleSoft. Une fois par mois, le centre d'expertise fera le suivi des postes évalués au moyen d'une description de tâches générique et mettra à jour l'organigramme. Toutes les rétroactions fournies par les gestionnaires fonctionnels seront analysées et des mesures seront prises au besoin.

SVE : Terminé.Fermeture recommandée. Classée.

Les gestionnaires fonctionnels seront appelés à formuler des commentaires sur les descriptions de travail génériques dans le cadre des processus habituels. Permanent
 
 
Date de modification :