Backgrounder: Negotiations with the Williams Treaties First Nations toward a Negotiated Resolution of the Alderville Litigation

Choose a Topic

Overview

The Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario and the seven Williams Treaties First Nations are working together toward a negotiated settlement of the Alderville litigation. The seven First Nations are: Alderville First Nation, Beausoleil First Nation, Chippewas of Georgina Island, Chippewas of Rama, Curve Lake First Nation, Hiawatha First Nation and Mississaugas of Scugog Island.

Looking back: Historic treaties and the Alderville litigation

The seven First Nations are signatories to various 18th and 19th century treaties that covered lands in different parts of south central Ontario. After these pre-Confederation treatiesFootnote 1 were signed, the First Nations maintained that they continued to have an interest in other lands in central Ontario, known as their northern hunting grounds. These lands had not yet been addressed through treaty and were increasingly being subject to encroachment. To address these outstanding issues, new treaties (called the Williams Treaties) were signed between the seven First Nations and the Crown in 1923.

More than 90 years later, questions remain about the making, terms, interpretation and implementation of the Williams Treaties. In 1992, the seven First Nations filed litigation to seek a resolution of this longstanding dispute. The case, known as the Alderville litigation, went to trial in 2012.

In their litigation, the First Nations allege that the Crown breached its duties to them in the making and implementation of the Williams Treaties. In particular, the First Nations allege that they were not fairly compensated for their lands and should have received additional reserve lands at the time of treaty.

Harvesting rights are another key issue raised in the Alderville litigation. The First Nations maintain that the pre-Confederation treaties they signed with the Crown protected harvesting rights and that those rights were not affected by the Williams Treaties and continue to exist.

A new beginning: Moving into negotiations

In early 2016, Canada, Ontario and the seven First Nations began substantive exploratory discussions to see if they could find the common ground to negotiate a settlement of the Alderville litigation outside of the courts. A negotiated resolution achieved through co-operation and dialogue is preferable to litigation.

In February 2017, the parties agreed to a process to begin formal negotiations toward a negotiated settlement of the Alderville litigation and the court case was adjourned on March 27, 2017 on joint consent of the parties. Canada and Ontario have also recognized pre-existing treaty harvesting rights of the Williams Treaties First Nations' members to hunt, trap, fish and gather for food, social and ceremonial purposes in certain areas of pre-Confederation Treaties No. 5, 16, 18, 20 and 27-27 ¼. These treaty harvesting rights are constitutionally protected.

While this is an important first step, negotiations are just getting underway and much remains to be done before a final settlement can be reached. This will include joint work to ensure an effective implementation of treaty harvesting rights as well as consultation with other Indigenous groups.

Harvesting rights: Then and now

In October 2012, based on evidence obtained and prepared for the trial, Canada and Ontario recognized on an interim basis, the treaty harvesting rights of the Williams Treaties First Nations in Treaty No. 20. Canada and Ontario have now formally recognized these rights, not only within Treaty No. 20, but also within certain areas covered by pre-Confederation Treaties No. 5, 16, 18 and 27-27 ¼.

The parties will work together at the negotiating table to coordinate the implementation of the First Nations' treaty harvesting rights. These rights are subject to provincial and federal laws necessary for conservation, public health and public safety. Ensuring the long-term sustainability of natural resources for future generations are key priorities for all parties going forward. 

Land-related settlements: A general overview

Negotiated settlements in Ontario can involve both financial compensation and the transfer of Crown lands to be set aside as reserve lands for First Nations. 

When Crown land is being considered as part of a negotiated settlement, a consultation process is conducted on the proposed Crown land to be transferred. This has included consultation with neighbouring Indigenous groups, municipalities, individuals, groups and members of the public whose interests may be affected. 

No one will lose their private property in this process and access to private property is protected. Any private property land transaction is on a willing-seller/willing-buyer basis.

Looking Ahead: Toward a negotiated settlement

At this early stage in the process, it is too soon to speculate about what a future settlement might look like. Once the key elements have been agreed upon, negotiators for all parties will work together to develop a draft Settlement Agreement. 

Members of the seven Williams Treaties First Nations will have the opportunity to vote on the proposed final agreement. Canada and Ontario will also have to conclude their own internal approvals processes. The settlement agreement will not be final until it is signed by all parties. 

Canada, Ontario and the Williams Treaties First Nations are committed to working together in a spirit of partnership and collaboration to find a just and shared solution that respects the rights of Indigenous peoples and all Canadians. The recognition of the First Nations' constitutionally protected treaty harvesting rights to hunt, fish, trap and gather in certain pre-Confederation treaty areas for food, social and ceremonial purposes addresses a longstanding dispute between the parties. This is an important first step toward renewed relationships and reconciliation with the First Nations for the benefit of everyone.

Date modified:

Document d’information : Négociations avec les Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams concernant un règlement négocié du litige Alderville

Choisir un sujet

Aperçu

Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de l'Ontario et les sept Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams collaborent pour négocier un règlement concernant le litige Alderville. Les sept Premières Nations sont les suivantes : Première Nation d'Alderville, Première Nation de Beausoleil, Première Nation des Chippewas de l'île Georgina, Première Nation des Chippewas de Rama, Première Nation de Curve Lake, Première Nation de Hiawatha et Première Nation des Mississaugas de Scugog Island.

Un retour en arrière : les traités historiques et le litige Alderville

Les sept Premières Nations sont signataires de divers traités conclus aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles qui visaient des terres dans différentes régions du centre-sud de l'Ontario. Après la signature de ces traités conclus avant la ConfédérationNote de bas de page 1, les Premières Nations ont soutenu qu'elles possédaient toujours des droits sur d'autres terres dans le centre de l'Ontario, qui étaient leur territoire de chasse dans le Nord. Ces terres, sur lesquelles on empiétait de plus en plus, n'avaient pas encore été prises en compte dans le cadre de traités. Pour régler ces problèmes, sept Premières Nations et la Couronne ont signé de nouveaux traités (les Traités Williams) en 1923.

Plus de 90 ans plus tard, des questions subsistent au sujet de la rédaction, des conditions, de l'interprétation et de la mise en œuvre des Traités Williams. En 1992, les sept Premières Nations ont entamé des procédures judiciaires pour régler ce conflit de longue date. L'affaire, connue sous le nom de litige Alderville, a été portée devant les tribunaux en 2012.

Dans leur litige, les Premières Nations soutiennent que la Couronne n'a pas respecté ses obligations envers elles quant à la rédaction et à la mise en œuvre des Traités Williams. Plus précisément, les Premières Nations font valoir qu'elles n'ont pas reçu une indemnisation juste pour leurs terres et qu'elles auraient dû obtenir des terres de réserve additionnelles à la conclusion des traités.

Les droits de récolte sont un autre point qui a été soulevé dans le litige Alderville. Les Premières Nations soutiennent que les divers traités qu'elles ont conclus avec la Couronne avant la Confédération protégeaient les droits de récolte, que ces droits n'ont pas été touchés par les Traités Williams et qu'ils existent toujours aujourd'hui.

Une nouvelle ère : début des négociations

Au début de 2016, le Canada, l'Ontario et les sept Premières Nations ont entamé des discussions exploratoires de fond afin de déterminer s'ils pouvaient trouver le terrain d'entente nécessaire pour négocier un règlement à l'amiable du litige Alderville. Un règlement négocié conclu grâce à la coopération et au dialogue est préférable à un litige.

En février 2017, les parties ont convenu d'entamer des négociations officielles pour négocier le règlement du litige Alderville, et l'affaire devant les tribunaux a été ajournée le 27 mars 2017 avec l'accord des parties. De plus, le Canada et l'Ontario ont reconnu les droits issus de traités préexistants des Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams, à savoir les droits de chasse, de piégeage, de pêche et de récolte à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles dans certains secteurs visés par les Traités nos 5, 16, 18, 20 et 27-27 ¼, conclus avant la Confédération. Ces droits de récolte issus des traités sont protégés par la Constitution.

Bien que les négociations soient une première étape importante, elles n'en sont qu'à leur début, et il reste beaucoup à faire avant de parvenir à un règlement définitif. Entre autres, les parties travailleront ensemble pour s'assurer que les droits de récolte sont mis en œuvre efficacement et que d'autres groupes autochtones sont consultés.

Droits de récolte : hier et aujourd’hui

En octobre 2012, à la lumière des preuves préparées en vue du procès et de celles obtenues pendant celui-ci, le Canada et l'Ontario ont reconnu provisoirement les droits de récolte des Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams dans le Traité no 20. Le Canada et l'Ontario reconnaissent maintenant officiellement ces droits, non seulement pour le Traité no 20, mais aussi dans certains secteurs visés par les Traités nos 5, 16, 18 et 27-27 ¼, conclus avant la Confédération.

Les parties collaboreront à la table de négociation pour coordonner la mise en œuvre des droits de récolte issus de traités des Premières Nations. Ces droits sont assujettis aux lois provinciales et fédérales concernant la conservation, la santé publique et la sécurité publique. Assurer la viabilité à long terme des ressources naturelles pour les générations à venir sera une priorité pour toutes les parties au cours des prochaines étapes.

Règlements relatifs aux terres : vue d’ensemble

Les règlements négociés en Ontario peuvent comporter une indemnité financière ainsi que le transfert de terres de la Couronne afin qu'elles soient mises de côté en vue de constituer une réserve à l'usage de Premières Nations.

Lorsque des terres de la Couronne sont examinées en vue d'être intégrées à un règlement négocié, un processus de consultation est mis en place pour ce qui est des terres de la Couronne qu'on propose de transférer. Par le passé, ces consultations ont inclus des consultations auprès des groupes autochtones voisins, des municipalités, des particuliers et des groupes ou des membres du public dont les intérêts pourraient être touchés.

Aucune propriété privée ne sera retirée à quiconque dans le cadre de ce processus. De même, les accès à la propriété privée sont protégés. Les terres privées sont acquises selon le principe de vente de gré à gré.

Penser à l’avenir : vers un règlement négocié

À cette étape initiale du processus, il est trop tôt pour spéculer sur la forme que prendra le règlement. Une fois qu'on a convenu des principaux éléments, les négociateurs de toutes les parties travailleront ensemble pour ébaucher un accord de règlement.

Les membres des sept Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams auront la possibilité de voter au sujet de l'entente définitive proposée. Le Canada et l'Ontario devront aussi terminer leurs propres processus d'approbation internes. L'accord de règlement ne sera définitif que lorsqu'il aura été signé par toutes les parties.

Le Canada, l'Ontario et les Premières Nations visées par les Traités Williams sont déterminés à travailler ensemble dans un esprit de partenariat et de collaboration afin de trouver une solution juste et commune qui respecte les droits des Autochtones et de tous les Canadiens. La reconnaissance des droits de récolte issus de traités des Premières Nations, protégés par la Constitution, pour chasser, piéger, pêcher et récolter à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles dans certaines régions visées par les traités conclus avant la Confédération aborde un conflit de longue date entre les parties. Il s'agit d'une première étape importante vers le renouvellement des relations et la réconciliation avec les Premières Nations, dont tous pourront bénéficier.

Date de modification :