Evaluation of the Implementation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Quebec and Prince Edward Island for the First Nations Child and Family Services Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 4 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of December 31, 2014

ESDPP

Evaluation of the Implementation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Quebec and Prince Edward Island for the First Nations Child and Family Services Program
Approval Date: 2014-02-05
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Headquarters ensure that the expected outcomes and performance measures for the EPFA are clearly distinguished and articulated in the Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy.

1a. Headquarters will develop an annex to the AANDC Social Development Performance Measurement (PM) Strategy at the sub-program level (2.2.4) for Child and Family Services. This annex will clearly articulate details, expectations, expected results and indicators associated with the sub-program's activities, including the EPFA.

1b. Headquarters will return to the EPMRC in April 2014 to seek approval for the sub-program PM Strategy Annex (to be appended to an amended version of the program's PM Strategy) and to table its annual update on the Social Development PM Strategy.

April 2014

Status: Completed - Closed

Update As of 30/06/2014

  1. SPPB completed a condensed version of the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy, which includes program-specific annexes. Annex E is specific to the FNCFS sub-program, and provides information on early results, secondary data sources and updates to indicators, which includes EPFA.
  2. SPPB provided its annual update on the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy to the Evaluation Performance Measurement and Review Committee April 25, 2014. The condensed version of the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy was presented and approved. This product will be updated annually and posted to the internet in August 2014.

AES: Recommend to close- Fully implemented. Closed.

2. Regional staff and Headquarters improve the monitoring and reporting of the EPFA by:

  1. providing guidance and monitoring of the agencies' implementation of a results-based management approach that integrates planning, resources, activities and performance measurements to improve decision making, transparency, and accountability.
  2. ensuring that prevention activities are reported based on the expected outcomes for the EPFA, and that expenditures on prevention activities are tracked and reported.
  1. Recognizing all partners' respective roles and responsibilities, the Department will articulate its views in an accountability framework to clarify roles and responsibilities of tripartite partners including expectations for AANDC funding recipients. As well, AANDC Program officials will continue to work with provincial counterparts on issues of accountability, compliance, oversight and monitoring of on reserve FNCFS agencies as provinces are primarily responsible for the delivery of child and family services regardless of residency.
  2. AANDC will ensure that all expected outcomes for EPFA are reported and expenditures tracked following the launch of Phase 2 of the CFS IMS April 1 2014. Indicators will be analyzed per region, and per agency. This will provide a detailed analysis of investments provided under EPFA and resulting outcomes.
Fall 2015

Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:

As of 31/12/2014:
Quebec: HQ and region continue to work together to understand and analyze the impacts of Bill 24, including participating in tripartite working meetings (December 11, 2014) to address specific issues and identify next steps to ensure ongoing progress.

2a. Temporary and permanent regional human resources were identified and started focussed work on analysing the financial impacts and other potential impacts of Bill 24.

Further discussions took place about rolling out compliance reviews in 2015-2016 using nationally consistent FNCFS tools and criteria.

2b. The development phase of the FNCFS Information Management System is completed. The maintenance phase is now providing data as planned. Program requests this portion of the recommendation be closed.

PEI: 2a and 2b: Program requests that the portion of these recommendations that relates to PEI be closed given that that the recommendation has been addressed in that province.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented. 

3. Headquarters assess the costing models on a regular basis and revise as appropriate to ensure that they are not outdated.

AANDC will participate in tripartite meetings with provinces and agencies on EPFA implementation, which will include reviewing the costing associated with EPFA. AANDC HQ will also continue to liaise with Regions through monthly conference calls and regular meetings to review financial pressures that may arise during EPFA implementation. These meetings and discussions will allow HQ to determine whether pressures can be addressed and forecast future costing, while also allowing HQ and Regions to develop possible mitigation strategies for arising issues.

March 31, 2015

Status: Request to close

QC:
Update/Rationale:

As of 31/12/2014: 
QC: The historical EPFA funding formula has been reviewed and clarified for subsequent financial administration improvements and better tracking of funding pressures given multiple changes taking place in the province of Quebec and impacting FNCFS.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented. 

PEI:
Update/Rationale:

PEI: Funding formula was reviewed and clarified in PEI. Late in 2014, AANDC met with the Province and MCPEI. AANDC continues to work with MCPEI and the Province to discuss CFS-related issues. A meeting with the health committee of the Policy and Planning Forum of PEI is being planned to discuss coordination of health and CFS programming in the area of mental health. Program requests that the portion of this recommendation relating to PEI be closed given that that the recommendation has been addressed.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented. 
4. Facilitate the creation of a mentoring network among the FNCFS agencies in order to increase their capacity by providing opportunities for sharing experiences and practical knowledge. AANDC will continue to provide funding for regional tripartite table meetings. AANDC will encourage partners to make use of regional tripartite meetings to encourage networking and sharing experiences and practical knowledge amongst agency representatives. AANDC will also promote other existing networks such as social media that maybe used for this purpose. Use of resources will focus on building agency networks in the regions necessary to positively impact the health and well-being of the child, youth and guardian population, aligned with their respective priorities as identified in their business plans. Fall 2014

Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:

As of 31/12/2014: 
AANDC continues to engage with FNCFS agencies to validate which types of networks are useful to them. A tripartite committee was created as well as three sub-committees. Each committee and sub-committee meets on a monthly basis. The next meeting is planned for January 2015.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented. 

 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l’approche améliorée axée sur la prévention au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour le programme des Services à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2014

Format PDF (45 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 décembre 2014

SPPEDS

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l’approche améliorée axée sur la prévention au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour le programme des Services à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations
Date d'approbation : le 5 février 2014
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Nous recommandons que l'administration centrale s'assure que les résultats escomptés et les mesures de rendement pour l'AAAP sont bien formulés et peuvent être facilement différenciés dans la Stratégie de mesure du rendement - Développement social.

1a) L'administration centrale inclura une annexe à la Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) - Développement social d'AADNC au niveau du sous-programme (2.2.4) pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille. Cette annexe précisera clairement les détails, les attentes, les résultats escomptés et les indicateurs associés aux activités du sous-programme, y compris l'AAAP.

1b) En avril 2014, l'administration centrale retournera devant le CEMRE pour faire approuver cette annexe (qui sera jointe à la version modifiée de la SMR du sous-programme) et pour déposer son compte rendu annuel sur la SMR liée au développement social.

Avril 2014

État : Terminée – fermée

Mise à jour au 30 juin 2014

  1. La Direction générale de la politique sociale et des programmes (DGPSP) a mis au point une version abrégée de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011, qui comprend des annexes propres aux programmes. L'annexe E concerne directement le sous-programme des SEFPN et fournit des renseignements sur les résultats préliminaires, les sources de données secondaires et les indicateurs mis à jour, ce qui comprend l'AAAP.
  2. Le 25 avril 2014, la DGPSP a présenté au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen son compte rendu annuel sur l'état de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011. La version abrégée de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011 a été présentée et approuvée. Ce document sera mis à jour chaque année et affiché sur Internet en août 2014.

SVE : Recommandation de fermer le dossier - pleinement mis en œuvre.  Fermée.

2. Nous recommandons que le personnel des régions et de l'administration centrale améliore ses activités de surveillance et de compte rendu de l'AAAP :

  1. En fournissant des conseils, de l'encadrement et de la surveillance quant à la mise en application par les organismes d'une approche de gestion axée sur les résultats, qui intègre la planification, l'affectation des ressources, les activités et les mesures de rendement, en vue d'améliorer la prise de décisions, la transparence et la reddition de comptes;
  2. En s'assurant que les activités de prévention sont signalées en fonction des résultats escomptés pour l'AAAP et que les dépenses liées à la prévention sont suivies et comptabilisées.
  1. En tenant compte des rôles et des responsabilités propres à chaque partenaire, le Ministère se prononcera à ce sujet par la diffusion d'un cadre de responsabilités dans lequel seront précisés les rôles et responsabilités des trois parties, y compris les attentes à l'égard des bénéficiaires du financement d'AADNC; faisant en sorte que les responsables des programmes continuent de travailler avec leurs collègues provinciaux à des questions telles que la reddition de comptes, la conformité, le contrôle et la surveillance des organismes de SEFPN dans les réserves puisque ce sont les provinces qui sont principalement responsables de fournir les services à l'enfance et à la famille quel que soit le lieu de résidence;
  2. AADNC veillera à ce que tous les résultats escomptés pour l'AAAP soient communiqués et à ce que les dépenses soient suivies dès que la phase 2 du SGI pour les SEF aura été lancée le 1er avril 2014. On analysera les indicateurs par région et par organisme afin d'obtenir une analyse détaillée des investissements fournis dans le cadre de l'AAAP et des résultats de ceux-ci.
Automne 2015

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/justification :

En date du 31 décembre 2014 :
Québec : L'administration centrale et la région continuent à travailler de concert pour comprendre et analyser les répercussions du projet de loi 24, notamment en participant à des séances de travail tripartites (11 décembre 2014) afin d'aborder des enjeux précis et déterminer les prochaines étapes pour assurer un progrès continu. 

2a. Des ressources humaines régionales temporaires et permanentes ont été ciblées et ont entrepris un travail précis portant sur l'analyse des répercussions financières et d'autres répercussions potentielles du projet de loi 24.

D'autres discussions ont eu lieu à propos de la mise en place d'examens de conformité en 2015-2016 au moyen d'outils et de critères des SEFPN uniformes à l'échelle nationale.

2b. La phase d'élaboration du Système de gestion de l'information sur les SEFPN est terminée. La phase de maintien fournit maintenant des données, comme prévu. Le programme demande à ce que ce volet de la recommandation soit fermé.

Î.-P.-É. : 2a et 2b : Le programme demande à ce que le volet des recommandations lié à l'Î.-P.-É. soit fermé, étant donné que la province a donné suite à cette recommandation.

SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre terminée 

3. Nous recommandons que l'administration centrale évalue périodiquement les modèles d'établissement des coûts et les modifie, le cas échéant, afin de s'assurer qu'ils répondent toujours aux besoins. AADNC participera à des rencontres tripartites avec les provinces et les organismes, pour discuter de la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP, y compris l'examen du modèle d'établissement des coûts qui lui est associé. L'administration centrale d'AADNC continuera également d'assurer la liaison avec les régions par le biais de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de réunions périodiques afin d'examiner les contraintes financières que pourrait entraîner la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP. Ces réunions et ces échanges permettront à l'administration centrale de se pencher sur ces contraintes et déterminer s'il est possible de les prévoir; ils donneront également l'occasion à l'administration centrale et aux régions d'élaborer des stratégies possibles d'atténuation lorsque des enjeux de ce genre font surface. 31 mars 2015

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Québec :
Mise à jour/justification :

En date du 31 décembre 2014 :
Québec : La formule de financement établie en vertu de la AAAP a été revue et précisée pour améliorer l'administration des finances et faire un meilleur suivi des contraintes de financement compte tenu des nombreux changements qui s'opèrent au Québec et qui ont une incidence sur les SEFPN.

SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre terminée

Î.-P.-É. :
Mise à jour/justification :

Î.-P.-É. : La formule de financement a été revue et précisée à l'Î.-P.-É. À la fin de 2014, AADNC a rencontré la province et la MCPEI. AADNC continue à travailler avec la MCPEI et la province pour discuter des enjeux associés aux SEF. Une réunion avec le comité de la santé chargé du Forum sur les politiques et la planification de l'Î.-P.-É. est prévue afin de discuter de la coordination des programmes de santé et des SEF dans le domaine de la santé mentale. Le programme demande à ce que le volet des recommandations lié à l'Î.-P.-É. soit fermé, étant donné que la province a donné suite à cette recommandation.

SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre terminée 
4. Nous recommandons de favoriser la création d'un réseau de mentorat parmi les organismes de SEFPN afin d'accroître leur capacité, en leur donnant l'occasion de partager des expériences et d'acquérir des connaissances pratiques. AADNC continuera de financer les réunions des tables tripartites régionales. AADNC invitera ses partenaires à profiter des réunions tripartites régionales pour faire du réseautage et partager des expériences et des connaissances pratiques avec les représentants des organismes. Le Ministère fera également connaître d'autres réseaux existants, tels que les médias sociaux qui peuvent servir à cette fin. Les ressources seront principalement utilisées pour établir des réseaux entre les organismes dans les régions, ce qui s'impose pour pouvoir influer positivement sur la santé et le bien-être des enfants, des jeunes et de ceux qui s'en occupent, en fonction de leurs priorités respectives indiquées dans leurs plans d'activités. Automne 2014

État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/justification :

En date du 31 décembre 2014 : 
AADNC continue de s'engager auprès des organismes de SEFPN afin de valider les types de réseaux qui leur sont utiles. Un comité tripartite ainsi que trois sous-comités ont été créés. Chaque comité et sous-comité se réunit chaque mois. La prochaine réunion est prévue en janvier 2015.

SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre terminée 

 
 
Date de modification :