First Nation Adapt Program Funding Guidelines 2017-2018

Purpose

The following text outlines the First Nation Adapt program's eligibility guidelines for 2017-2018. Please submit project descriptions directly to FN Adapt at the contact information below. For more information, please feel free to contact the program at adaptation@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Program overview

First Nation Adapt program supports community projects that develop and build the capacity of First Nations on reserve to address climate change impacts on their communities.  We know that climate change is already having and will continue to have impacts on communities across Canada with significant implications for infrastructure and community well-being. First Nations communities are particularly vulnerable due to their location and close ties to the land. As such, the central goal of the program is to improve community resiliency to climate change.

Program objectives

First Nation Adapt is focusing efforts on four key priority areas due to the frequency and magnitude of these impacts on First Nation communities across Canada.

These priority areas include:

First Nation Adapt supports many different types of activities or studies depending on specific community requirements.  Generally the first step is to improve understanding of how climate change may be impacting community infrastructure or emergency management by conducting a vulnerability assessment. This assessment is the most common type of study and involves identifying and quantifying community vulnerabilities to climate change related impacts. Subsequent to learning about community vulnerability, the next step is adaptation planning to prioritize options and to develop adaptation recommendations in order to lessen current or potential climate impacts. What can follow is a cost-benefit analysis of various adaptation options which can provide information on the financial consequences of inaction in comparison to different adaptive measures.

In summary, all projects need to be community-driven, build capacity, and incorporate Traditional Knowledge in all its stages. Projects must also show a clear link to infrastructure or emergency management because of the profound impacts that failures of these systems have on community well-being.

Figure 1 – First Nation Adapt - Project Process
Text description of Figure 1

This figure describes the collaborative and cyclic process of climate change adaptation planning in First Nation communities. Four key stages represent the planning cycle:

Getting started

  • Obtain chief and council support (Band Council Resolution)
  • Set up community planning team
  • Evaluate climate change threats
  • Submit project description

Vulnerability assessment

  • Identify and quantify climate change impacts
  • Evaluate vulnerability
  • Evaluate adaptive capacity

Adaptation planning

  • Prioritize impacts (based on vulnerability)
  • Develop adaptation strategies and options

Cost benefit analysis

  • Recommendations of adaptation options based on their costs and benefits.

Available funding

Communities experiencing these impacts are encouraged to submit a project description for funding consideration as early as possible to take full advantage of funding opportunities. Priority will be given to communities experiencing repeated and severe climate impacts related to coastal impacts, flooding, forest fires and failures of winter roads. The amount of funding available for 2017-2018 is $3.0  million. There is no deadline to apply. Applications will be reviewed on an ongoing basis until all available funding is allocated. The average yearly cost of a project is between $80,000-$160,000 depending on the scope and nature of the project. Multi-year projects will be supported where appropriate. If you anticipate your activities covering more than one year, please identify them in your project description with a proposed budget and work plan for all of the years.  

Who can apply?

Community involvement is essential for successful climate change adaptation planning in First Nation communities; therefore, the program requires a Band Council Resolution.  Communities can work with external partners, such as academic institutions and non-governmental organizations that communities have identified as bringing value to their project and list them as partners in the project description.

Project examples

These are some examples of activities that can be incorporated into a project.  This is not a complete list and communities are encouraged to identify project activities that respond to their needs.

Project description guidelines

Please ensure your project description (2-3 pages) contains the following content areas.

  1. Title page
    Include project title, community(s) involved in the project with contact information.
  2. Description of community concerns
    Describe your community's climate change concerns and issues. In your description, be sure to include how your community's public buildings, services, facilities, and roads appear to be at risk to climate impacts, e.g., flooding, forest fires, etc. and how this affects the community.  It is most important to specifically indicate what your project will accomplish in terms of improving community resiliency to climate impacts.
  3. Proponent eligibility
    Describe how you are eligible for funding (First Nation community, band or tribal council, Indigenous organization, etc.)
  4. Adaptation project type
    Outline what type of adaptation project is being undertaken. Valid project types include vulnerability assessment, adaptation planning and cost-benefit analysis.
  5. Climate impact priority area
    Clearly state how your project will address impacts to community infrastructure or emergency management from one or more of the following climate impact areas: inland flooding, forest fires, sea level rise and coastal flooding, or winter road failures.
  6. Proposed methodology and outcome of the project
    The methodology demonstrates how the proponent will address the goals of the project by outlining clear steps in achieving the project results.
  7. Community agreement
    The project description includes a signed Band Council Resolution.
  8. Budget and work plan
    First Nation Adapt will provide assistance by supplying the required costing form and work plan templates. For now, please describe in general terms your cost estimate.

How to apply

Please submit a project description to: adaptation@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca. First Nation Adapt will be pleased to support communities in developing their project descriptions and identifying potential partners.

Definitions

Adaptive capacity:  The ability of a system [human or natural] to adjust to climate change (including climate variability and extremes) to moderate potential damages, to take advantage of opportunities, or to cope with the consequences.

Coastal erosion: The process by which coastlines are degraded through the actions of currents and waves. Projects that address coastal erosion should consider the changes in the physical landscape and how this impacts the community through impacts on infrastructure and/or emergency management.

Emergency management: The process through which communities reduce the impacts of extreme weather events and cope with emergency situations in all stages of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

Infrastructure: A physical structural element needed for the operation of a community. Such items include but are not limited to: community buildings (schools, community centers, band offices, etc.), bridges, roads, housing, sewage systems, waste water facilities, etc.

Forest fire: An uncontrolled fire in an area of combustible vegetation that occurs in the country side or rural areas. Projects that address forest fires should consider the impacts of climate change on community infrastructure and/or management.

Sea-Level rise: An increase of the ocean's water levels with respect to the land due to climate change. Projects that address sea-level rise should consider the impacts of climate change on community infrastructure and/or emergency management.

Vulnerability: The degree to which a system is unable to cope with the adverse effects of climate change, including climate variability and extremes.Projects should focus on identifying the hazards and risks of vulnerability to climate change and how it impacts the community.

Winter roads: Temporary transportation routes carved out of snow and ice that facilitate the movement to and from communities without permanent roads. Projects that address winter roads should focus on identifying the impacts of climate change on winter road infrastructure and how it affects community livelihood.

Date modified:

Adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations : Lignes directrices 2017-2018

Objet

Ce document présente les lignes directrices au sujet de l'admissibilité au programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations pour 2017-2018. Veuillez présenter vos descriptions de projet directement à l'adresse de courriel du programme indiquée ci-dessous. Pour plus de renseignements, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec les responsables du programme à l'adresse suivante : adaptation@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Aperçu du programme

Le programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations appui des projets communautaires qui établissent et renforcent la capacité des Premières Nations dans les réserves à composer avec les effets des changements climatiques dans leur collectivité. Nous savons que les changements climatiques ont et continueront d'avoir des effets sur les collectivités de tout le Canada et qu'ils nuisent considérablement à l'infrastructure et au bien-être de ces dernières. Les collectivités des Premières Nations y sont particulièrement vulnérables en raison de leur emplacement et des liens étroits qu'ils ont avec la nature. Par conséquent, le principal but du programme est d'améliorer la résistance des collectivités aux changements climatiques.

Objectifs du programme

Le programme d‘adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations porte sur quatre grandes priorités qui reflètent les effets fréquents et de grande ampleur avec lesquels les collectivités des Premières Nations partout au Canada doivent composer.
Ces priorités comprennent :

Le programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations appuie différents types d'activités et d'études selon les besoins précis des collectivités. En général, la première étape consiste à mieux connaître la façon dont les changements climatiques peuvent nuire à l'infrastructure ou à la gestion des urgences au sein de la collectivité, et pour ce faire, on procède à une évaluation de la vulnérabilité. Cette évaluation est le type d'étude le plus courant et consiste à définir et à quantifier les vulnérabilités de la collectivité aux effets des changements climatiques. Lorsque l'on connaît les vulnérabilités de la collectivité, l'étape suivante consiste à planifier les mesures d'adaptation pour établir l'ordre de priorité des options et recommander des mesures d'adaptation qui atténueront les effets actuels ou potentiels des changements climatiques. Ensuite, on peut procéder à une analyse coûts-avantages des différentes mesures d'adaptation, ce qui peut fournir de l'information sur les conséquences financières de l'inaction en comparaison avec les différentes mesures d'adaptation.

En résumé, il doit s'agir dans tous les cas de projets communautaires qui permettent de renforcer les capacités de la collectivité et qui incorporent les connaissances traditionnelles à chacune de leurs étapes. Les projets doivent également être clairement liés à l'infrastructure ou à la gestion des urgences, car les problèmes à ces égards entraînent de sérieuses conséquences pour le bien-être des collectivité

Figure 1 – Adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations - Processus des projets
Description longue de la figure 1

L’image illustre le processus collaboratif et cyclique de la planification de l’adaptation aux changements climatiques dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Quatre éléments fondamentaux représentent les différentes étapes du processus de planification :

Démarrage

  • Obtenir l’appui du chef et du conseil (résolution de conseil de bande)
  • Former l’équipe de planification communautaire
  • Évaluer les menaces des changements climatiques
  • Soumettre une description de projet

Évaluation de la vulnérabilité

  • Définir et quantifier les effets des changements climatiques
  • Évaluer la vulnérabilité
  • Évaluer la capacité d’adaptation

Planification de l’adaptation

  • Établir l’ordre de priorité des effets (selon la vulnérabilité)
  • Élaborer des options et des stratégies d’adaptation

Analyse coûts-avantages

  • Recommander des options de mesure d’adaptation en fonction des coûts et des avantages.

Financement disponible

Les collectivités qui subissent ces effets sont invitées à présenter une description de projet en vue de l'octroi d'un financement dès que possible afin de profiter pleinement des possibilités de financement. La priorité sera accordée aux collectivités qui subissent les effets graves et répétés des changements climatiques qui concernent les effets sur les côtes, les inondations, les incendies de forêt ainsi que les ruptures de route d'hiver. 3 millions de dollars est disponible. Il n'y a pas de date limite pour présenter une demande. Les demandes seront examinées de façon continue jusqu'à ce que tout le financement disponible ait été alloué. Le coût annuel moyen des projets est de 80 000 $ à 160 000 $ selon leur portée et leur nature. Les projets pluriannuels seront financés lorsqu'il sera pertinent de le faire. Si vous prévoyez que vos activités s'étaleront sur plus d'une année, veuillez l'indiquer dans votre description de projet en proposant un budget et un plan de travail pour toutes les années visées.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

La participation de la collectivité est essentielle à la réussite de la planification des mesures d'adaptation aux changements climatiques dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Ainsi, le programme exige une résolution du conseil de bande. Les collectivités peuvent travailler en concert avec des partenaires externes tel que des académiques ou des organismes non-gouvernementales qui amènent une valeur ajoutée à leurs projets.  Ces partenaires doivent être identifiés dans la description du projet.

Exemples de projet

Voici des exemples d'activités qui peuvent être intégrées à un projet. Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive, et les collectivités sont invitées à définir des activités qui répondent à leurs besoins.

Lignes directrices pour la description de projet

Veuillez vous assurer que votre description de projet (2 à 3 pages) contient ce qui suit.

  1. Page titre
    Inscrire le titre du projet, le nom de la(des) collectivité(s) qui participe(nt) au projet et les coordonnées.
  2. Description des préoccupations de la collectivité  
    Décrivez les problèmes et les préoccupations de votre collectivité en lien avec les changements climatiques. Assurez-vous de décrire en quoi les édifices publics, les services, les installations et les routes de votre collectivité semblent être à risque de subir les effets des changements climatiques (inondations, incendies de forêt, etc.) et d'expliquer en quoi cela entraîne des conséquences néfastes pour la collectivité. Il est impératif d'indiquer précisément ce que votre projet permettra d'accomplir pour que votre collectivité soit en mesure de mieux résister aux effets des changements climatiques.
  3. Admissibilité du promoteur
    Décrivez pourquoi vous êtes admissible au financement (collectivité des Premières Nations, conseil tribal ou conseil de bande, organisations autochtones, etc.)
  4. Type de projet d'adaptation
    Expliquez le type de projet d'adaptation que vous réaliserez. Les types de projet valides comprennent les évaluations de la vulnérabilité, la planification de mesures d'adaptation et les analyses coûts-avantages.
  5. Effets prioritaires des changements climatiques 
    Décrivez clairement comment votre projet atténuera les effets sur l'infrastructure ou la gestion des urgences au sein de votre collectivité qui sont causés par l'un ou plus d'un des effets prioritaires suivants : inondations des terres intérieures, incendies de forêt, hausse du niveau de la mer et inondation des côtes, rupture de route d'hiver.
  6. Méthode proposée et résultat du projet
    La méthode indique comment le promoteur atteindra les objectifs du projet, et les étapes qui permettront d'atteindre les résultats du projet y sont clairement expliquées.
  7. Accord de la collectivité
    La description de projet doit comprendre une résolution du conseil de bande signée.
  8. Budget et plan de travail
    Les responsables du programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations pourront vous aider en vous fournissant le formulaire d'établissement des coûts et le modèle de plan de travail requis. Pour l'instant, veuillez décrire de façon générale votre estimation de coûts.

Comment présenter une demande

Veuillez envoyer votre description de projet à l'adresse suivante : adaptation@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca. Les responsables du programme seront heureux d'aider les collectivités à rédiger leur description de projet et à identifier des partenaires potentiels.

Définitions

Capacité d'adaptation : Capacité des systèmes (humains ou naturels) de s'adapter aux changements climatiques (notamment aux conditions météorologiques variables et extrêmes) afin d'atténuer les dommages éventuels, de tirer parti des possibilités offertes et de composer avec les conséquences.

Érosion des côtes : Processus de dégradation des côtes causé par l'action des courants et des vagues. Les projets qui portent sur l'érosion des côtes devraient permettre d'étudier le changement du paysage physique et les conséquences que cela entraîne pour la collectivité en raison des effets sur l'infrastructure et/ou la gestion des urgences. 

Gestion des urgences : Processus selon lequel les collectivités atténuent les effets des conditions météorologiques extrêmes et composent avec les situations d'urgence à chacune des étapes de la gestion des urgences : atténuation, préparation, intervention et rétablissement.

Infrastructure : Élément structural physique requis pour assurer le fonctionnement de la collectivité. Par exemple, il peut s'agir d'édifices (écoles, centres communautaires, bureaux du conseil de bande), de ponts, de routes, de logements, d'égouts, d'installations de traitement des eaux usées, etc.

Incendie de forêt : Incendie non maîtrisé dans une zone de végétation combustible qui se déclare en campagne ou dans une région rurale. Les projets qui portent sur les incendies de forêt devraient permettre d'étudier les effets que les changements climatiques entraînent sur l'infrastructure et/ou la gestion des urgences au sein de la collectivité.

Augmentation du niveau de la mer : Augmentation du niveau des océans par rapport aux côtes en raison des changements climatiques. Les projets qui portent sur l'augmentation du niveau de la mer devraient permettre d'étudier les effets que les changements climatiques entraînent sur l'infrastructure et/ou la gestion des urgences au sein de la collectivité.

Vulnérabilité : Degré auquel un système est incapable de composer avec les effets néfastes des changements climatiques, notamment des conditions météorologiques variables et extrêmes. Les projets devraient mettre l'accent sur la définition des dangers et des risques de vulnérabilité aux changements climatiques ainsi que la définition des conséquences que cela entraîne pour la collectivité. 

Route d'hiver : Route temporaire aménagée dans la neige et la glace pour permettre les déplacements entre les collectivités en l'absence de route permanente. Les projets qui portent sur les routes d'hiver devraient mettre l'accent sur la définition des effets des changements climatiques sur l'infrastructure des routes d'hiver ainsi que la définition des conséquences sur les moyens de subsistance de la collectivité.

Date de modification :