Improving First Nations schools on reserve

Since September 2016, as many as 1,970 students have started school in one of six new schools in First Nations communities.

Through Budget 2016, the Government of Canada is investing $969.4 million over five years in First Nation education infrastructure, for the construction, repair and maintenance of First Nations school facilities. This will continue to create quality learning environments and promote better educational outcomes for First Nation students living on reserves.

Choose a school

Winneway community comes together to celebrate new school

The new Amo Ososwan School in Winneway Quebec opened on January 13, 2017 and provides more than 130 students from pre-kindergarten to grade 11 with a unique learning environment. It has 14 classrooms, a library, a cafeteria, a home economics room, science and computer labs, and a gym with bleachers and a retractable stage. It was built using a glue-laminated lumber technology and has a distinctive beehive-shape. The school integrates elements of Algonquin culture; in fact its name is an Algonquin word meaning 'hive'. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) provided $9.8 million, including $6.7 million from Budget 2016, for the design and construction of the school.

Wasaho Cree Nation School: An investment in long-term educational success

The Fort Severn First Nations in Ontario celebrated the grand opening of Wasaho Cree Nation elementary school on October 3, 2016. Spanning a total of 1,891 square metres, the facility educates over 100 students from kindergarten to grade 8. The Government of Canada invested over $43.5 million for the new elementary schools in Fort Severn and Poplar Hill.

O'Chiese First Nation celebrates new school on reserve

On September 19, 2016, the O'Chiese First Nation community in Alberta celebrated the inauguration of the newly constructed Ne Sah Soh Is Koh Dahn School. The school accommodates up to 375 students from kindergarten to grade 12 and features a library, cafeteria, gymnasium and administrative spaces. The Government of Canada has invested $10 million to support the construction of the new Ne Sah Soh Is Koh Dahn School, and an additional $8.8 million to bring utilities to the school site.

Chief Crowfoot School reveals newly renovated learning facilities

On September 7, 2016, Chief Crowfoot School opened its doors to over 300 preschool to grade 6 students from Siksika Nation. The school includes 14 classrooms, administrative offices, a gym, library, culture and multipurpose room, and a computer lab. INAC contributed $10.9 million towards the design and construction of this $21.3 million cost-shared project with the Siksika Nation.

Kwakiutl First Nation celebrate new Wagalus School

The Kwakiutl First Nation community in British Columbia celebrated the opening of Wagalus School on September 7, 2016. The new facility features four classrooms, a gymnasium, auditorium, and preschool area. It accommodates up to 86 First Nation students from kindergarten to grade 7. In total, the Kwakiutl First Nation invested $2.6 million and the Government of Canada $9.2 million to support the new Wagalus School.

Poplar Hill First Nation community cuts the ribbon to Ahgwahbuush Memorial School

The Ahgwahbuush Memorial School in Ontario celebrated its grand opening on November 10, 2016. The 2,309 square metre facility accommodates over 170 kindergarten to grade 9 Poplar Hill First Nation students. The school provides the youth of Poplar Hill First Nation with access to quality education facilities for current and future generations.

Date modified:

Amélioration des écoles des Premières Nations dans les réserves

Depuis septembre 2016, pas moins de 1 970 élèves ont amorcé leur année scolaire dans l'une des six nouvelles écoles des collectivités des Premières Nations.

Comme prévu dans le Budget de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada investit 969,4 millions de dollars sur cinq ans dans les infrastructures scolaires des Premières Nations pour la construction, la réparation et l'entretien des établissements scolaires des Premières Nations. Cet investissement continuera de créer des milieux d'apprentissage de qualité et de favoriser de meilleurs résultats scolaires pour les élèves des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves.

Choisir une école :

La collectivité de Winneway se rassemble afin d'inaugurer la nouvelle école

La nouvelle école Amo Ososwan à Winneway (Québec) a ouvert ses portes le 13 janvier 2017 et offre un milieu d'apprentissage unique à plus de 130 élèves de la prématernelle à la 11e année. Elle possède 14 salles de classe, une bibliothèque, une cafétéria, une classe d'économie familiale, des laboratoires de sciences et d'informatique ainsi qu'un gymnase avec estrades pouvant éventuellement accueillir une scène rétractable. L'école a été construite à l'aide de la technologie de bois lamellé-collé, qui lui donne son architecture particulière, en forme de ruche d'abeille. L'école intègre des éléments de la culture algonquine; d'ailleurs son nom algonquin Amo Ososwan, signifie « ruche ». Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) a versé 9,8 millions de dollars, dont 6,7 millions proviennent du Budget de 2016, pour la conception et la construction de l'école.

École de la nation crie Wasaho : un investissement dans la réussite scolaire à long terme

Le 3 octobre 2016, les Premières Nations de Fort Severn, en Ontario, ont célébré l'inauguration de l'école de la Nation crie de Wasaho. D'une superficie de 1 891 mètres carrés, l'établissement instruira plus de 100 élèves, de la maternelle à la 8e année. Le gouvernement du Canada a investi plus de 43,5 millions de dollars pour la construction de nouvelles écoles primaires à Fort Severn et à Poplar Hill.

La Première Nation d'O'Chiese inaugure une nouvelle école dans la réserve

Le 19 septembre 2016, la Première Nation d'O'Chiese, en Alberta, a célébré l'inauguration de la nouvelle école Ne Sah Soh Is Koh Dahn. L'école peut accueillir jusqu'à 375 élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, et possède une bibliothèque, une cafétéria, un gymnase et des locaux administratifs. Le gouvernement du Canada a investi 10 millions de dollars afin d'appuyer la construction de la nouvelle école Ne Sah Soh Is Koh Dahn, et 8,8 millions de dollars supplémentaires afin de lier le site aux services publics.

L'école Chief Crowfoot inaugure les installations d'apprentissage nouvellement rénovées

Le 7 septembre 2016, l'école Chief Crowfoot a ouvert ses portes à plus de 300 élèves, de la maternelle à la 6e année, de la Nation de Siksika. La nouvelle école compte 14 salles de classe, des locaux administratifs, un gymnase, une bibliothèque, une salle culturelle multifonctionnelle et un laboratoire informatique. Le Ministère a versé 10,9 millions de dollars pour la conception et la construction de ce projet à coûts partagés d'une valeur de 21,3 millions de dollars.

La Première Nation des Kwakiutl célèbre l'ouverture de la nouvelle école Wagalus

Le 7 septembre 2016, la Première Nation des Kwakiutl, en Colombie-Britannique, a célébré l'ouverture de l'école Wagalus. Le nouvel établissement compte quatre salles de classe, un gymnase, un auditorium ainsi qu'un espace consacré à la prématernelle. Elle peut accueillir jusqu'à 86 élèves, de la maternelle à la 7e année. Au bout du compte, la Première Nation des Kwakiutl et le gouvernement du Canada ont respectivement investi 2,6 millions de dollars et 9,2 millions de dollars pour la nouvelle école Wagalus.

La Première Nation de Poplar Hill inaugure l'école Ahgwahbuush Memorial

L'école Ahgwahbuush Memorial, en Ontario, a été inaugurée le 10 novembre 2016. L'installation de 2 309 mètres carrés peut accueillir plus de 175 élèves de la Première Nation de Poplar Hill, de la maternelle à la 9e année. L'école offre aux jeunes de la Première Nation de Poplar Hill l'accès à des installations scolaires de qualité, maintenant et pour les générations à venir.

Date de modification :