National Directive on the Administration of Shelter Allowance to Income Assistance Clients on-Reserve

Purpose

The purpose of this national directive is to provide clarification and direction on the administration of Shelter Allowance to Income Assistance clients on-reserve.

As a program of last resort, the on-reserve Income Assistance program provides Shelter Allowances as a basic needs benefit to eligible individuals and families to cover such costs as fuel, hydro, utilities, maintenance costs, and loan payments under certain conditions. The Shelter Allowance component of the basic needs benefit is not a housing program. It is meant only to help contribute to the cost of certain living expenses, as outlined above, for Income Assistance clients ordinarily resident on-reserve.

This directive affirms that Shelter Allowance benefits on-reserve are to be aligned with provincial and territorial rates and eligibility so that on-reserve residents in need receive social assistance in a manner consistent with persons living under comparable conditions in areas adjacent to reserves. This directive also provides clarification regarding the conditions under which Shelter Allowance may be paid to Income Assistance clients on-reserve.

While it is correct that provinces do not require a universal rental regime by that name, landlord-tenant boards and accompanying legislation exist to help ensure that:

Effective Date

This directive came into effect in September 2016 and will remain in effect until such time as it is cancelled or replaced by either a new directive or by a new national Income Assistance policy.

Scope

This directive provides further clarity on the program Terms and Conditions for the Income Assistance Program to provide income support to on-reserve residents, as well as the 1990 Interim Policy on Housing Loans and Shelter Allowance in conjunction with other applicable INAC policies and procedures for managing transfer payments, applicable provincial/territorial legislation, and any other INAC approved documentation. It will also formalize recommendations made in the 1997 draft Shelter Allowance policy.

This directive does not apply to the administration of Shelter Allowance for communities participating in the Ontario Works program in the province of Ontario.

This directive does not apply to the administration of Shelter Allowance for communities in the province of Quebec where "shelter" funding is an automatic built-in component of a client's monthly lump-sum benefit.

Application and Implementation

This directive is to be applied nationally in all First Nation communities where Shelter Allowance is paid as part of the Income Assistance Program.

First Nations will be responsible for the implementation of this directive.

Definitions

Income Assistance Program: The Income Assistance Program provides funding to assist eligible individuals and families who are ordinarily resident on-reserve to help with the cost of basic needs, special needs and employment and pre-employment measures. This program is designed to increase self-reliance, to improve life skills and to promote greater attachment to the workforce. The Income Assistance Program is a needs-based program of last resort which should only be accessed when all other measures for income have been exhausted.

Income Assistance Eligibility: Income Assistance applicants must demonstrate their eligibility for funding and must meet all of the qualifying requirements of their province or territory of residence. This must include an assessment of financial need which covers their employability, family composition and age, and financial resources available to their household.

Ordinarily Resident on-Reserve: For Income Assistance, an individual who is "ordinarily resident on-reserve" means that an individual client:

For Income Assistance, "reserve" is as defined in the Indian Act; includes the Yukon Territory; and excludes lands which have been designated for commercial purposes (for First Nations operating under the Indian Act) or leased for commercial purposes (for First Nations operating under the First Nations Land Management Act).

Basic needs: Basic needs are the component of the Income Assistance Program which provides funding to clients to assist with the cost of food, clothing and shelter (rent/mortgage and utilities) costs.

Shelter Allowance: A component of basic needs, this allowable expense is to assist with the cost of shelter (rent/mortgage and utilities) of an Income Assistance client ordinarily resident on-reserve under the conditions that have been outlined in this directive.

Provincial/Territorial Alignment: The principle that on-reserve residents who qualify for Income Assistance, receive Shelter Allowance payments to help cover the cost of rent/mortgage payments and utilities. This extends to rates and eligibility as outlined by provincial and territorial governments as well as the range of services and other allowances which are provided by provinces and territories for Income Assistance clients off-reserve.

Universal/Community wide Rental Regime: A universal or community wide rental regime lays out the rights and the responsibilities of the parties to a rental agreement, including terms and rental rates, that are consistent with the residential tenancy statutes in that province or territory. For it to be considered fully implemented, a rental regime must be applied to all band-owned homes on-reserve regardless of tenancy. The rental regime may be incorporated as part of the First Nations' housing policy through band by-laws.

A community rental regime policy must apply to all residents, including private land holders. The policy must describe the collection, terms and conditions as to which rent collections are made, and the amount of rent for the fiscal year. The collection of rent on homes that have mortgages paid and are occupied by individuals and families receiving Income Assistance must also be included in the policy. This supports the principle of fairness and transparency. Rents must be universally collected on all band-owned housing and the inventory of all houses privately owned must be identified.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Insured Loans secured by a Ministerial Loan Guarantee (formerly known as Section 10 Loans): Income Assistance Program may assist Band Councils or First Nation members living on-reserve in accessing financing for the construction, purchase and/or renovation of single-family homes or multiple residential rental properties. The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation provides loan insurance to the Approved Lender (banks, Aboriginal Capital Corporations, credit unions, etc.) to make loans on residential homes or projects located on-reserve.

On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program (Section 95 homes): This program assists First Nations in the construction, purchase and rehabilitation, and administration of suitable, adequate and affordable rental housing on-reserve. The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation delivers the program and may provide direct loans for First Nations to construct, purchase and rehabilitate projects. These loans, for up to 100 per cent of the total eligible capital cost of a project, are insured under the National Housing Act and are guaranteed by the Minister of INAC.

Interpretation

Shelter Allowance – rent or mortgage payments

Amounts payable for Shelter Allowance shall be equivalent to the rates of the reference province or territory. INAC's contribution will be adjusted to reflect the provision of related federal or provincial/territorial benefits to avoid funding duplication. Shelter Allowance may be payable in the following circumstances:

  1. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Section 95 program while there is an outstanding loan balance as long as:
    1. The house is constructed solely with government funds;
    2. Rent must customarily be collected for the house, whether or not it is occupied by a income assistance recipient; and,
    3. The amount of rent must be reasonable in terms of family needs, size, the condition of the housing, and prevailing community rental practices.
  2. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Insured Loans secured by a Ministerial Loan Guarantee (formerly known as Section 10 Loans) to First Nations for social housing when there is an outstanding loan balance.
  3. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Insured Loans secured by a Ministerial Loan Guarantee (formerly known as Section 10 Loans) to individuals where, for circumstances beyond the individual's control, they have become eligible for Income Assistance.
  4. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program loans.
  5. Rents paid on privately owned homes (supported by a Certificate of Possession or Location Ticket) to an absentee landlord.
  6. Rents paid on First Nation owned homes (including Section 95 homes) where universal/community-wide rental regimes have been fully implemented. Rent must be collected for these homes whether or not they are occupied by Income Assistance recipients. This applies both to homes where there is an outstanding mortgage and to homes where there is no longer a mortgage in place on the property.

A client is deemed eligible to receive reimbursement for shelter/rental expenses payments based on the criteria outlined above. Shelter Allowance should be paid directly to the client where possible to not limit the housing choices of Income Assistance clients as it does not fall within the purview of the Income Assistance Program to specify what type of home an Income Assistance client may occupy. Only in exceptional circumstances where it is clear that a client does not have the ability to meet their monthly obligations should Shelter Allowance benefits be held back and paid by the band on behalf of the client.

In cases where the recipient shares accommodations with an individual who is not eligible for Income Assistance or who cannot be included for the purposes of benefit calculations, shelter benefit amounts should be prorated based on actual costs to the Income Assistance client specifically. Shelter benefits are not to be paid for an ineligible person living in the same home as an Income Assistance client at any time.

Actual costs for rent may be allowed depending on rates and eligibility in the recipient's province or territory of residence however they may not at any time exceed maximum shelter/rental rates allowable for Income Assistance clients in said province or territory.

The current rent/mortgage subsidies provided on-reserve by INAC are not intended to cover the full cost of constructing a new house nor of renovating/rehabilitating/upgrading an existing one. Under current policy the resources necessary to complete this type of work are required to be identified and obtained from other sources.

Shelter Allowance – utilities

Shelter Allowance may be allocated to eligible Income Assistance clients to contribute to the cost of utilities in accordance with provincial rates and eligibility. INAC's contribution will be adjusted to reflect the provision of related federal or provincial/territorial benefits to avoid funding duplication. Utility costs may include expenses such as water, sanitation services, land line home phone service, hydro, heating fuel (such as oil or wood), and natural gas. The responsibility to make the required monthly payments for utility bills should be that of the client and not of the Band. To that end, Shelter Allowance funds allocated for utilities should be paid to the client by the program administrator along with the clients’ regular Income Assistance payment and must not be held back by the band unless a client has demonstrated that he or she is unable to meet these monthly financial obligations without the assistance of the Income Assistance administrator for his or her community.

In cases where the recipient shares utilities with an individual who is not eligible for Income Assistance or who cannot be included for the purposes of benefit calculations, utility benefit amounts will be prorated based on actual costs to the Income Assistance client specifically. Utility benefits may not be paid for an ineligible person living in the same home as an Income Assistance client at any time. 

Actual costs for utilities may be allowed depending on rates and eligibility in the recipient's province or territory of residence however they may not at any time exceed maximum shelter rates allowable for Income Assistance clients in said province or territory.

Shelter Allowance funds may not be used to make payments on loans for upgrades or modifications to a home related to the utilities as they are meant only to help cover the actual utility costs incurred by the Income Assistance client living in that home in alignment with provincial or territorial rates and eligibility. Under current policy the resources necessary to complete this type of work are required to be identified and obtained from other sources.

Reporting and Compliance

In accordance with the record keeping requirements set out in the Funding Agreement, Administrators are required to keep information that is collected from all applicants, whether or not they are eligible for services, including:

Administrators must collect and keep information that supports the eligibility of the expenditures and the management of an applicant's and a client's circumstances. This information must be accessible during a program compliance review.

The types of information that are used to assess and confirm the needs and eligibility of an individual and related expenditure include:

Date modified:

Directive nationale sur l’administration de l’allocation-logement pour les clients de l’aide au revenu dans les réserves

Objectif

Cette directive nationale vise à fournir des éclaircissements et des lignes directrices sur l'administration de l'allocation-logement pour les clients de l'aide au revenu (AR) dans les réserves.

À titre de programme de dernier recours, le programme d’AR dans les réserves fournit des allocations de logement pour satisfaire les besoins de base des personnes et des familles admissibles afin de couvrir les coûts tels que le carburant, l’électricité, les services publics, les coûts d’entretien ainsi que les paiements de prêt sous certaines conditions. L’élément d’allocation de logement de la prestation de base n’est pas un programme de logement. Il vise uniquement à aider à payer le coût de certaines dépenses de base, comme souligné ci-dessus, pour les clients de l’AR qui résident normalement dans les réserves.

Cette directive affirme que les prestations d’allocation de logement dans les réserves doivent être alignées avec les tarifs provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi qu’avec les critères d’admissibilité afin que les résidents des réserves dans le besoin reçoivent une assistance sociale qui est équivalente à celle que reçoivent les personnes vivant dans des conditions comparables dans les régions adjacentes aux réserves. Cette directive donne également des éclaircissements sur les conditions régissant le paiement de l’allocation de logement aux clients de l’AR dans les réserves.

Il est exact que les provinces n’exigent pas de « régime locatif universel » à l’extérieur des réserves, mais les commissions de la location immobilière ainsi que les lois connexes visent à voir à ce :

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente directive entrera en vigueur aussitôt qu'elle sera diffusée à l'interne et à l'externe en septembre 2016, et elle demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit annulée ou remplacée par une nouvelle directive ou une nouvelle politique nationale d'aide au revenu.

Portée

Cette directive comprend d'autres éclaircissements sur les modalités du Programme d'aide au revenu – Subventions et contributions pour les programmes d'aide au revenu et l'aide à la vie autonome et de contributions pour le réinvestissement de la Prestation nationale pour enfants ainsi que la politique intérimaire de 1990 sur les prêts au logement et l'allocation-logement, de concert avec d'autres procédures et politiques d'AANC applicables pour la gestion des paiements de transfert, les législations provinciales/territoriales applicables ainsi que tous les autres documents d'AANC approuvés. Elle permettra également d'officialiser des recommandations faites dans l'ébauche de la politique sur l'allocation-logement de 1997.

Cette directive ne s'applique pas à l'administration l'allocation-logement pour les collectivités participant au programme Ontario au travail de la province de l'Ontario.

Cette directive ne s'applique pas à l'administration de l'allocation-logement pour les collectivités de la province de Québec, à l'intérieur de laquelle du financement de « logement » est un élément intégré automatiquement dans le paiement forfaitaire mensuel de la prestation au client.

Application et mise en œuvre

Cette directive doit être mise en application à l'échelle nationale dans toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations où l'allocation-logement est payée dans le cadre du programme d'AR.

Les Premières Nations seront responsables de la mise en œuvre de cette directive.

Définitions

Programme d'aide au revenu : Le Programme d'aide au revenu fournit des fonds pour aider les personnes et les familles admissibles, qui résident normalement dans les réserves, à payer les coûts de subsistance de base, des besoins spéciaux et des mesures à l'emploi et préalables à l'emploi. Ce programme est destiné à accroître l'autonomie, à améliorer les connaissances de base et à favoriser une meilleure intégration au marché du travail. Le programme d'AR est un programme de dernier recours axé sur les besoins qui ne devrait être utilisé que lorsque toutes les autres mesures d'aide au revenu sont épuisées.

Admissibilité au programme d'AR : Les personnes présentant une demande au programme d'AR doivent faire la preuve qu'elles sont admissibles au financement et doivent respecter toutes les autres exigences pour se qualifier à l'intérieur de leur province ou territoire de résidence. Cela doit comprendre une évaluation des besoins financiers, ce qui couvre leur employabilité, la composition de la famille et l'âge des membres ainsi que les ressources financières à la disposition du foyer.

Personne résidant normalement dans une réserve : Dans le cadre du programme d'AR, une personne qui « réside ordinairement dans une réserve » signifie un client :

Pour le programme d'AR, une « réserve » est définie dans la Loi sur les Indiens; qui comprend le territoire du Yukon et qui exclut les terres ayant été désignées à des fins commerciales (pour les Premières Nations régies par la Loi sur les Indiens) ou louées à des fins commerciales (pour les Premières Nations régies par la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations).

Besoins de base : La composante « besoins de base » du programme d'AR sert à aider les clients à payer les coûts de la nourriture, des vêtements et du logement (loyer, hypothèque et services publics).

Allocation-logement : Un volet des besoins de base, cette dépense permise sert à aider à payer le coût du logement (loyer/hypothèque et services publics) d'un client de l'AR vivant ordinairement dans la réserve selon les conditions qui ont été énoncées dans la présente directive.

Alignement provincial/territorial : Le principe est que les résidents dans les réserves qui se qualifient à l'AR reçoivent des prestations d'allocation-logement pour les aider à couvrir le coût des paiements pour le loyer/hypothèque et les services publics. Cela s'étend aux tarifs et aux critères d'admissibilité soulignés par les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu'à la plage de services et aux autres allocations fournies par les provinces et les territoires pour les clients de l'AR ne vivant pas dans les réserves.

Régime de location à l'échelle de la collectivité/universel : Un régime de location à l'échelle de la collectivité ou universel établit les droits et les responsabilités des parties d'une entente de location (bail), notamment les modalités et les tarifs de location, qui cadrent avec les statuts de location résidentielle en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire. Pour considérer le régime de location entièrement mis en œuvre, il doit être appliqué à toutes les maisons appartenant à la bande dans la réserve, peu importe l'occupation. Le régime de location peut être intégré dans une politique de logement d'une Première Nation au moyen d'un règlement administratif de bande.

Une politique communautaire sur le régime de location doit s'appliquer à tous les résidents, y compris les propriétaires fonciers privés. Elle doit décrire la perception des loyers, les modalités de cette perception et le montant des loyers pendant l'exercice financier. Elle doit inclure également la perception de loyers des maisons dont l'hypothèque est payée et qui sont occupées par des personnes ou des familles touchant l'aide au revenu, conformément aux principes d'équité et de transparence. Les loyers doivent être universellement perçus pour l'ensemble des logements appartenant à la bande, et il faut dresser l'inventaire de toutes les maisons privées.

Prêts assurés de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) assortis d'une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle (anciennement appelés prêts de l'article 10) : Le Programme d'aide au revenu peut aider les conseils de bande ou les membres des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves à obtenir du financement pour la construction, l'achat ou la rénovation de maisons individuelles ou de logements locatifs collectifs. La SCHL offre de l'assurance-prêt aux prêteurs agréés (banques, sociétés de financement des Autochtones, coopératives d'épargne et de crédit, etc.) qui consentent des prêts pour les projets ou logements résidentiels situés dans des réserves.

Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves (habitations relevant de l'article 95) : Ce programme aide les Premières Nations à construire, acheter, remettre en état et administrer des logements locatifs de taille et de qualité convenables, à prix abordable. La SCHL administre le programme et peut verser des prêts directs aux Premières Nations pour la construction, l'achat et la remise en état des logements. Ces prêts, qui peuvent atteindre le montant total des coûts d'immobilisations admissibles d'un projet, sont assurés en vertu de la Loi nationale sur l'habitation et garantis par le ministre d'AANC.

Interprétation

Programme allocation-logement – paiements de loyer ou d'hypothèque

Les montants payables au titre de l'allocation-logement doivent être équivalents aux taux en vigueur dans la province ou le territoire de référence. La contribution d'AANC sera rajustée pour tenir compte des prestations fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales connexes fournies afin d'éviter le chevauchement du financement. Des paiements d'allocation-logement peuvent être faits dans les situations suivantes :

  1. programme de l’article 95 de la SCHL lorsqu’il y a un solde impayé du prêt si :
    1. la maison a été construite exclusivement avec des fonds gouvernementaux;
    2. un loyer est habituellement perçu pour la maison, qu'elle soit occupée par un bénéficiaire de l'aide sociale ou non;
    3. le loyer doit être raisonnable compte tenu des besoins et de la taille des ménages, des conditions d'habitation et des pratiques locatives qui prédominent dans la collectivité.
  2. prêts assurés de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement assortis d'une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle (anciennement appelés prêts de l'article 10) aux Premières Nations pour les logements sociaux lorsqu'il y a un solde impayé du prêt;
  3. prêts assurés de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement assortis d'une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle (anciennement appelés prêts de l'article 10) aux personnes qui, pour des raisons hors de leur contrôle, sont devenues admissibles à l'aide sociale;
  4. prêts du Programme d'aide à la remise en état des logements (PAREL) de la SCHL;
  5. loyers payés pour une résidence privée (certification de possession ou billet de location à l'appui) à un propriétaire absent;
  6. loyers payés pour une maison appartenant à une Première Nation (y compris une maison relevant de l'article 95) lorsque des régimes universels/communautaires de location ont été pleinement mis en œuvre. Le loyer doit être perçu pour ces maisons, qu'elles soient occupées par un bénéficiaire de l'aide au revenu ou non. Cela s'applique aussi bien aux maisons assorties d'une hypothèque impayée qu'à celles sans hypothèque en vigueur.

On considère qu'un client est admissible à un remboursement pour les dépenses liées au logement/à la location selon les critères ci-dessus. L'allocation-logement doit être payée directement au client si possible afin de ne pas limiter les choix de logement des clients de l'aide au revenu, puisque le Programme d'aide au revenu ne vise pas à préciser quel type de logement ils peuvent occuper. Ce n'est que dans des situations extraordinaires, lorsqu'il est évident qu'un client n'a pas la capacité de satisfaire à ses obligations mensuelles, que l'allocation-logement doit être retenue et payée par la bande au nom du client.

Lorsque le bénéficiaire partage son logement avec une personne qui n'est pas admissible à l'aide au revenu ou ne peut pas être incluse aux fins du calcul des prestations, le montant de l'allocation-logement doit être établi au prorata selon le coût réel pour le client de l'aide au revenu. L'allocation-logement ne peut être versée en aucun temps à une personne non admissible vivant dans la même maison qu'une personne recevant de l'aide au revenu.

Le coût réel de location peut être admissible en fonction des taux et de l'admissibilité dans la province ou le territoire où habite le bénéficiaire; cependant, en aucun temps il ne peut pas dépasser le taux maximum de logement/de location admissible aux clients de l'aide au revenu dans la province ou le territoire en question.

L'objet des subventions locataires ou hypothécaires actuelles fournies dans les réserves par AANC n'est pas de couvrir le coût total de la construction d'une nouvelle maison ou de la rénovation, de la remise en état ou de l'amélioration d'une maison existante. Aux termes de la politique actuelle, les ressources nécessaires pour ce type de travail doivent être établies et obtenues auprès d'autres sources de financement.

Allocation de logement – Services publics

Une allocation de logement peut être versée aux clients de l’aide au revenu admissibles afin de contribuer aux coûts des services publics, conformément aux taux et aux critères d’admissibilité fixés par la province. La contribution d’AANC sera rajustée afin de tenir compte des avantages fournis par le gouvernement fédéral, provincial ou territorial et d’éviter le dédoublement du financement. Le coût des services publics peut comprendre les dépenses associées à l’approvisionnement en eau, au service d’hygiène publique, au service de téléphone filaire résidentiel, à l’électricité, à l’huile de chauffage (comme l’huile ou le bois) et au gaz naturel. C’est au client et non à la bande qu’il incombe d’effectuer le paiement mensuel des factures de services publics. À cette fin, l’administrateur de programme devrait verser les fonds d’allocation-logement fournis pour les services publics au client lors du paiement de la prestation d’aide au revenu. Ces fonds ne doivent pas être retenus par la bande à moins qu’un client ait démontré son incapacité à remplir ces obligations financières mensuelles sans l’assistance de l’administrateur de l’aide au revenu de sa collectivité.

Dans les cas où le bénéficiaire partage les services publics avec une personne qui n’est pas admissible à l’aide au revenu ou ne peut être comprise aux fins du calcul des prestations, le montant de presta tions relatives aux services publics sera établi au prorata, en fonction des coûts réels qu’assume le client de l’aide au revenu. Les prestations relatives aux services publics ne peuvent en aucun temps être versées pour une personne non admissible habitant le même logement qu’un client de l’aide au revenu.

Le coût réel des services publics peut être admissible selon le taux de prestations et les critères d’admissibilité fixés par la province ou le territoire de résidence d’un bénéficiaire. Cependant, ce coût ne peut en aucun temps dépasser les taux maximums d’aide au logement admissible pour les clients de l’aide au revenu dans cette province ou ce territoire.

Les fonds d’allocation-logement ne peuvent servir au remboursement d’un prêt contracté pour rénover ou modifier une habitation en lien avec les services publics, étant donné que ces fonds sont destinés uniquement à couvrir le coût réel des services publics engagé par le client de l’aide au revenu qui vit dans cette habitation, conformément aux taux de prestations financières et aux critères d’admissibilité fixés par la province ou le territoire. En vertu de la politique en vigueur, les ressources nécessaires à la réalisation de ce type de travaux doivent être déterminées et obtenues d’autres sources de financement.

Production de rapports et conformité

Conformément aux exigences relatives à la tenue des dossiers énoncées dans l'entente de financement, les administrateurs sont tenus de conserver les renseignements recueillis auprès de tous les demandeurs, qu'ils soient admissibles ou non aux services, y compris :

L'administrateur doit recueillir et conserver les renseignements qui appuient l'admissibilité des dépenses ainsi que la gestion de la situation d'un demandeur et d'un client. Ces renseignements doivent être accessibles pendant l'examen de la conformité du programme.

Les types de renseignements servant à évaluer et confirmer les besoins ainsi que l'admissibilité d'une personne et de ses dépenses comprennent :

Date de modification :