About the thesaurus

About the Thesaurus

Welcome to the Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Subject Thesaurus (IST), which was developed to make retrieval of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) information more efficient.  A subject thesaurus is a list of subject keywords that can be used to index or classify documents that are about a particular topic. These subject keywords can then be used by search engines to provide relevant results pertaining to a particular subject. The IST includes relationships between keywords and phrases such as broader terms, narrower terms, preferred terms, non-preferred terms or related terms. The purpose of these relationships is to help indexers/classifiers to find the best subject keywords to describe the "aboutness" of documents. Also, these relationships can help searchers by providing preferred and related subject terms to use in a search.

The IST is a bilingual thesaurus of subject terms describing the work of INAC. It includes more than 2800 terms in English and more that 2900 terms in French, including almost 1300 preferred terms in each language. The IST conforms to internationally accepted standards and conventions for thesaurus construction (i.e. Guidelines for the construction, format and management of monolingual controlled vocabularies (ANSI/NISO Z39.19-2005), Guidelines for the establishment and development of monolingual thesauri (ISO 2788-1986) and the Guidelines for the establishment and development of multilingual thesauri (ISO 5964-1985)).

Scope and purpose

The IST covers specific subject areas identified during a review of manuals, policies, publications and other information resources from various departmental organizations.  As a result of this review, terms were extracted to be used for subject classification in various INAC information systems such as INAC's Internet and Intranet sites.

The following types of concepts have not been included in the IST: geographical names, titles (e.g. program names), proper names (e.g. companies) and acronyms, except where they are in common usage. These concepts were not included for a variety reasons. Some terms may change frequently over time and prove difficult to maintain. Some terms fall outside the scope of this thesaurus because they are not "subject-related" but more "context-related". Some terms are better suited in a separate metadata field because the authoritative source already exists within the department (for example, First Nation names, geographic locations, program names).

The IST is primarily intended for content managers, librarians, indexers and metadata specialists at INAC who must select controlled subject terms to index INAC information resources for metadata requirements. The main function is to standardize the form and meaning of subject terms, which will ensure that a particular concept or subject will always be represented in the same way in INAC metadata resources.

Language

In the IST, French and English have equal weight, neither being the dominant or "source" language.  The French and English versions are parallel except for non-preferred terms where the same number of synonyms may not be needed in both languages. Exact equivalence is mandatory only for preferred terms. Preferred terms in French are in the masculine form.

Structure

The IST is arranged in a standard format in which equivalence (USE; USE FOR), hierarchical (Broader Term; Narrower Term) and associative (Related Term) relationships among terms are clearly displayed and identified by standardized relationship indicators. A thesaurus also contains synonyms, or "lead-in" (non-preferred) terms that may be used as a point of entry by searchers or indexers, instead of the designated preferred subject terms. These terms "lead" users to the "preferred" term that is consistently used for describing or indexing information resources on a subject or concept. The IST also includes inter-language equivalence relationships (English and French equivalents) for the preferred terms.

The terms are also classified according to broad subject categories that are used in the Government of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus.

In the IST, the English terms conform to Canadian spelling rules. English terms normally appear in the plural form, except for abstract concepts or entities that cannot be counted. In contrast, the French terms generally appear in the singular form as is the linguistic convention.

All terms appear in direct rather than inverted order as they would in natural speech (e.g. "Harvesting rights" not "Rights, harvesting").

Sample term entry from the IST:

Historic treaties

FRENCH:

Traité historique

Subject Category:

History and Archaeology

Used For:

Numbered treaties

Peace and friendship treaties

Pre-confederation treaties

Broader Term:

Treaties

Related Term:

Historical documents

History

 

Maintenance and updates

The INAC Subject Thesaurus is managed and updated by the Departmental Library, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.

Indexing guidelines

Indexers using the Thesaurus should apply the following rules of indexing to ensure consistency of subject access to information resources. For more information on how to index Government of Canada information resources in accordance with the Treasury Board of Canada standards, please consult the Government of Canada Metadata Implementation Guidelines for Web Resource Discovery. This resource describes indexing for web resources. However, much of the information can be applied to indexing other types of information resources.

The INAC Subject Thesaurus is mainly a post-coordinated controlled vocabulary, although there are some concepts that are pre-coordinated. A pre-coordinated vocabulary is one in which a complex concept has been created in the thesaurus as a compound term at the time of thesaurus development. A post-coordinated vocabulary mainly consists of single concepts which are combined. For example, consider the preferred term "Youth employment". In a post-coordinated situation, this concept could be indexed or searched by two single terms; "Youth" and "Employment". However, in a pre-coordinated situation, an organization may find it necessary to have the concept expressed as one term; "Youth employment".

When using the Thesaurus, indexers should keep the following in mind:

Specific vs. General

Avoid using general terms such as "Rights", if a specific term is more appropriate. For example, if the document is about treaty rights, use the preferred term "Treaty rights" instead of "Rights". However, if the document is about rights in general, it may not be appropriate to include specific terms. The indexer must assess the weight attached to a concept within a document; if a concept is not fully developed or only mentioned casually, indexing at a more general level is justified.

As a general rule, a document should not be indexed with both broader and narrower terms from a same hierarchical string. However, it would be necessary, for example, to index a resource about rights in general, which also included a substantial section on treaty rights using both "Rights" and "Treaty rights" as preferred terms.

Use as many subject descriptors as needed to fully describe the contents of a document

Several preferred terms are often necessary to fully express the subject of a document. For example, an indexed document about the Government of Canada helping First Nations in the provision of safe, clean, and reliable drinking water will be represented by the following set of preferred terms:

Water use, Water supply, Water, Water quality, Drinking water, Standards, Aboriginal people

As far as possible, every essential concept dealt with in a document should be represented by a preferred term.

Make use of the semantic structure of the Thesaurus

Consult the list of broader terms, narrower terms, related terms and scope notes attached to each subject term chosen as an index term. These relationships clarify the meaning of a term, and they suggest other index terms that may be useful.

Consistency

Use the form of the preferred terms as presented in the IST when using them in the "Subject" metadata element of any information system or database.

As a general rule, only the first letter of an indexing term is capitalized. Conventions are also followed in the IST regarding the use of singular and plural forms. In English, count nouns (which are subject to the question "how many?") are generally in the plural form, while non-count nouns (which are subject to the question "how much?"), as well as abstract concepts, are in the singular form. In French, most terms are in the singular form.

Indexing language

Documents in English must be indexed with the English version of the Thesaurus and documents in French with the French version. Bilingual documents should be indexed in both languages.

Changes and additions

If you would like to obtain a copy of a detailed list of changes and additions, please contact Rachel Clarke.  Rachel.Clarke@canada.ca

Contact information

If you have comments, suggestions for additions or modifications, or would like to discuss the contents of the INAC Subject Thesaurus, please send an email to: Rachel Clarke Rachel.Clarke@canada.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date modified:

À propos du Thésaurus

À propos du Thésaurus

Bienvenue au Thésaurus des sujets d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (TSA) qui a été mis au point pour rendre plus efficace l'extraction de données d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC). Un thésaurus des sujets est une liste de mots‑clés sujets qui peut servir à indexer ou à classer des documents concernant un sujet particulier. Ces mots‑clés sujets peuvent ensuite être utilisés par des moteurs de recherche pour obtenir des résultats pertinents sur un sujet donné. Le TSA comporte des liens entre certains mots‑clés et expressions comme des termes génériques, des termes spécifiques, des descripteurs, des non‑descripteurs ou des termes associés. Ces liens visent à aider les indexeurs ou les classificateurs à trouver les mots‑clés sujets les plus pertinents pour décrire la « matière » des documents. Ils peuvent également être utiles aux chercheurs en proposant des descripteurs et des termes associés pour préciser une recherche.

Le TSA est un thésaurus bilingue de termes qui décrivent le travail d'AANC. Il compte plus de 2 800 termes en anglais et plus de 2 900 termes en français, dont près de 1 300 descripteurs dans chaque langue. En outre, il est conforme aux normes et aux conventions internationalement reconnues pour la construction de thésaurus (Guidelines for the construction, format and management of monolingual controlled vocabularies [ANSI / NISO Z39.19-2005], Principes directeurs pour l'établissement et le développement de thésaurus monolingues [ISO 2788:1986] et Principes directeurs pour l'établissement et le développement de thésaurus multilingues [ISO 5964:1985]).

Contenu et objet

Le TSA porte sur des domaines précis déterminés lors d'un examen de manuels, de politiques, de publications et d'autres ressources d'information provenant de divers organismes du Ministère. À la suite de cet examen, certains termes ont été extraits pour servir à la classification par sujets dans divers systèmes d'information d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, comme des sites internet et intranet d'AANC.

Les concepts suivants n'ont pas été ajoutés au TSA : les noms géographiques, les titres (p. ex. noms de programmes), les noms propres (p. ex. noms d'entreprises) et les acronymes, sauf s'ils sont d'usage courant. Ils ne font pas partie du thésaurus pour diverses raisons. Certains termes peuvent changer fréquemment au fil du temps et être difficiles à conserver. D'autres termes ne relèvent pas du domaine couvert par le thésaurus parce qu'ils ne concernent pas le « sujet » traité et sont davantage liés au « contexte ». Certains termes sont plus adaptés à un champ de métadonnées distinct, parce qu'une source faisant autorité existe déjà au sein du Ministère (p. ex. noms de Premières nations, lieux géographiques, noms de programmes).

Le TSA est principalement destiné aux gestionnaires de contenu, aux bibliothécaires, aux indexeurs et aux spécialistes des métadonnées à AANC, qui doivent choisir des termes de sujets normalisés répondant aux besoins en matière de métadonnées pour indexer les ressources d'information d'AANC. La fonction principale du thésaurus est de normaliser la forme et le sens des termes de sujets pour qu'un concept ou un sujet soit toujours représenté de la même manière dans les ressources de métadonnées d'AANC.

Langue

Dans le TSA, le français et l'anglais ont la même importance : aucune d'entre elles ne domine ou ne constitue la langue « source ». Les versions française et anglaise sont parallèles, sauf dans le cas des non‑descripteurs où il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir le même nombre de synonymes dans les deux langues. Il faut une équivalence exacte seulement pour les descripteurs. Ceux‑ci sont toujours au masculin en français.

Structure

Le TSA est organisé selon un format normalisé où les relations équivalentes (EMPLOYER, EMPLOYÉ POUR), hiérarchiques (terme générique, terme spécifique) et associatives (terme associé) entre les termes sont clairement présentées et déterminées par des indicateurs de liens normalisés. Un thésaurus contient aussi des synonymes ou des termes « d'introduction » (non‑descripteurs) que les chercheurs ou les indexeurs peuvent utiliser comme points d'entrée, au lieu des descripteurs désignés. Ces termes « orientent » les utilisateurs vers le « descripteur » qui est régulièrement utilisé pour décrire ou indexer des ressources d'information sur un sujet ou un concept particulier. Le TSA compte également des relations d'équivalences interlinguistiques (équivalences en anglais et en français) pour les descripteurs.

Les termes sont également classés en fonction de catégories sémantiques générales qui sont utilisées dans le Thésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada.

Dans le TSA, les termes en anglais respectent l'orthographe en vigueur au Canada. Ils sont le plus souvent au pluriel, sauf les concepts abstraits ou les entités qu'on ne peut pas compter. En revanche, la plupart des termes en français sont au singulier par convention linguistique.

Tous les termes sont présentés dans un ordre direct, au lieu d'être inversés, comme dans un discours naturel (p. ex. « droits de récolte », au lieu de « récolte, droits »).

Exemple d'un enregistrement tiré du TSA:

Traités historique

ANGLAIS:

Historic treaties

Catégorie sémantique :

Histoire et archéologie

Employé pour :

Traité numéroté

Traité de paix et d'amitié

Traité antérieur à la Confédération

Terme générique :

Traité

Terme associé :

Document historique

Histoire

 

Maintenance et mise à jour

Le Thésaurus des sujets d'AANC est géré et mis à jour par la Bibliothèque ministérielle, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada.

Directives d'indexation

Les indexeurs qui utilisent le Thésaurus devraient suivre les règles d'indexation suivantes pour assurer l'uniformité de l'accès par sujet aux ressources d'information. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon d'indexer les ressources d'information du gouvernement du Canada conformément aux normes du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices relatives à la mise en place des métadonnées pour la découverte de ressources Web du gouvernement du Canada. Ces lignes directrices présentent l'indexation de ressources Web. Cependant, la plupart des renseignements fournis peuvent s'appliquer à l'indexation d'autres types de ressources d'information.

Le Thésaurus des sujets d'AANC est essentiellement un outil de vocabulaire contrôlé postcoordonné, bien que certains concepts soient précoordonnés. Un vocabulaire précoordonné consiste en des concepts complexes qui ont été créés comme des termes composés dans le thésaurus au moment du développement de celui‑ci. Un vocabulaire postcoordonné est principalement formé d'une combinaison de concepts unitaires. Prenons par exemple le terme « emploi des jeunes ». Dans le cas d'une postcoordination, ce concept pourrait être indexé ou recherché à l'aide de deux termes comme « jeunes » et « emploi ». Toutefois, dans le cas d'une précoordination, un organisme peut trouver nécessaire de présenter le concept comme une expression (p. ex. « emploi des jeunes »).

Les indexeurs qui utilisent le Thésaurus doivent garder présent à l'esprit les points suivants :

Spécifique c. général

Il faut éviter d'utiliser des termes génériques comme « droits » lorsqu'un terme spécifique est plus approprié. Par exemple, dans le cas d'un document qui porte sur les droits issus de traités, on utilisera le descripteur « droits issus de traités », au lieu de « droits ». Cependant, si le document traite du droit en général, l'ajout de termes spécifiques ne sera probablement pas pertinent. L'indexeur doit évaluer l'importance attachée à un concept dans un document; dans le cas d'un concept qui n'est pas complètement développé ou qui n'est mentionné qu'en passant, une indexation plus générale est justifiée.

En règle générale, un document ne devrait pas être indexé avec des termes génériques et spécifiques appartenant à la même chaîne hiérarchique. Toutefois, l'utilisation des descripteurs « droits » et « droits issus des traités » serait nécessaire, par exemple, pour indexer une ressource relative aux droits en général, mais qui comprend également une section importante sur les droits issus de traités.

Emploi d'un nombre suffisant de descripteurs de sujets pour décrire de manière exhaustive le contenu d'un document

Plusieurs descripteurs sont souvent nécessaires pour traduire de manière exhaustive le sujet d'un document. Par exemple, un document indexé portant sur l'aide apportée par le gouvernement du Canada aux Premières Nations en matière d'approvisionnement en eau potable sécuritaire, propre et fiable sera représenté par la série suivante de descripteurs :

Utilisation des eaux, Approvisionnement en eau, Eau, Qualité de l'eau, Eau potable, Norme, Autochtones

Dans la mesure du possible, chaque notion essentielle traitée dans un document devrait être représentée par un descripteur.

Utilisation de la structure sémantique du Thésaurus

Il faut consulter la liste de termes génériques, spécifiques et associés et les notes explicatives jointes à chaque terme de sujet choisi comme terme d'indexation. Les relations entre les termes permettent d'en clarifier le sens et proposent d'autres termes d'indexation pouvant être utiles.

Cohérence

Lorsqu'on utilise des descripteurs dans l'élément de métadonnées « sujet » de systèmes ou de bases de données d'information, il faut les entrer tels qu'ils sont présentés dans le TSA.

En règle générale, seule la première lettre d'un terme d'indexation prend la majuscule. Des conventions sont également observées dans le TSA quant à l'utilisation du singulier et du pluriel des termes. En anglais, les noms dénombrables (qui peuvent être soumis à la question « combien? ») sont généralement au pluriel, alors que ceux qui sont non dénombrables (qui peuvent être soumis à la question « combien? »), de même que les concepts abstraits, sont au singulier. En français, la plupart des termes sont au singulier.

Langue d'indexation

Les documents en anglais doivent être indexés à l'aide de la version anglaise du Thésaurus : les documents en français doivent l'être au moyen de la version française. Les documents bilingues devraient être indexés dans les deux langues.

Changements et ajouts 

Pour obtenir une copie de la liste détaillée des changements et des ajouts, veuillez communiquer avec Rachel Clarke. Rachel.Clarke@canada.ca

Personne‑ressource

Si vous avez des commentaires à formuler, des ajouts ou des modifications à proposer, ou si vous souhaitez discuter du contenu du Thésaurus des sujets d'AANC, veuillez communiquer par courriel avec Rachel Clarke, à Rachel.Clarke@canada.ca

 

Date de modification :