Nutrition North Canada

General information

Lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Federal partner organizations: Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)Footnote 1

Start date of the horizontal initiative: April 1, 2011

End date of the horizontal initiative: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date) in dollars: $417,414,103 over six years

Total federal planned spending to date (dollars): $417,414,103

Total federal actual spending to date (dollars): $342,890,778

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Governance structures: The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed to a three-year term.

Contact information

Results information

Description of the horizontal initiative: The objective of the Nutrition North Canada Program is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable than it otherwise would be to residents of eligible isolated northern communities without year-round surface (road, rail or marine) access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The Nutrition North Canada Program — National Manual governs the terms of the funding agreements with INAC's subsidy recipients.

Given that there are a number of factors that influence healthy eating patterns other than food cost, Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada complement the Nutrition North Canada retail subsidy by providing funding to support culturally appropriate retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives. These initiatives aim to increase knowledge of healthy eating and develop skills for the selection and preparation of healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods. Funding flows to communities via contribution agreements with Indigenous communities and organizations, and/or territorial governments.

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation: The evaluation of Nutrition North Canada is planned to be completed in fiscal 2017–2018. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada will be leading the evaluation in partnership with Health Canada.

Shared outcome of federal partners: The ultimate outcome of the Program is to strengthen the nutritional choices and overall health of isolated northern communities through the food subsidy delivered by INAC and the targeted nutrition education initiatives delivered by Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Performance indicators:
Performance indicator-1: Percentage of population reporting their health is excellent or very good (Health Canada)
Performance indicator-2: Quantity of subsidized foods (kg) per capita by each category (INAC)

Targets:
Target-1: At least 45% of adults report that their health is excellent or very good by March 31, 2017 (Health Canada)
Target-2: Stable or increasing from the 2011 baseline year (INAC)

Data source and frequency of monitoring and reporting:
Data source-1: Regional Health Survey, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, and Canadian Community Health Survey;
Frequency-1: Regional Health Survey: every five years, Aboriginal Peoples Survey: every five years, and Canadian Community Health Survey: every two years.
Data source-2: Nutrition North Canada (NNC) Database;
Frequency-2: Annually (INAC)

Expected outcome or result of non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Planning information

Planning highlights: In 2017–2018, INAC will help to alleviate the high cost of food in the North by making perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities through the provision of the Nutrition North Canada food subsidy. The Department has revised community eligibility criteria to expand the NNC program to include all northern communities without year-round rail, road or marine access. In total, 121 communities are now eligible for receipt of the full range of program benefits. In addition, the Program funds nutrition education activities in remote northern communities eligible for a retail subsidy to increase knowledge of healthy eating and to develop skills to choose and prepare healthy foods.

In keeping with the Government’s commitment to open dialogue, INAC has completed its NNC Engagement Process, which included the conduct of community visits, stakeholder interviews, written submissions, and online surveys. Through this feedback, in 2017–2018 the Department will work with NNC partners to collaboratively develop policy options to inform program updates and to develop strategies to support long-term program sustainability.

In 2017–2018, Health Canada will support full implementation of Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives to the 33 First Nations communities that were newly added in 2016–2017 as well as support stakeholder engagement on updates to Nutrition North Canada program.

In 2017–2018, PHAC will fund projects that support residents in eligible communities to increase their knowledge of healthy eating, preparation of healthy food, and access to retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives.

Nutrition North Canada faces a number of risks that must be managed in order to achieve expected outcomes. Key risks to the program include concerns that the current budget allocation may not be sufficient for future program demands; there could be an increased demand by additional northern communities to opt into the Program; the Program will continue to be seen by the public and media as the solution to food insecurity in the North; and, the public perception that the retailers are not passing along the subsidy to the consumers.

In response to these concerns, the Program has developed a risk assessment strategy that outlines key mitigation activities that are integrated into program management and administration, and will be further explored as part of the upcoming development of policy options.

Planning summary
Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2017–2018 Planned spending (dollars) 2017–2018 Expected results 2017–2018 Performance indicators 2017–2018 Targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada — Strategic Outcome: Self-reliance, prosperity and well-being for the people and communities of the North — Program 4.1 Northern Governance and People and sub program 4.1.2 Nutrition North — Government priorities: Work with the Minister of Health to update and expand the Nutrition North Program, in consultation with northern communities.
Nutrition North $398,165,905 (2011–2012 to 2016–2017) $89,072,123 Affordability of perishable, nutritious food in eligible communities is strengthened. (PAA 4.1) Annual trend of the Revised Northern Food Basket At or below the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index (CPI) basket for food by March 31, 2017
Residents in eligible communities have access to nutritious perishable food at a subsidized rate. (PAA 4.1.2) Percentage of compliance/audit reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers 100% by March 31, 2017
Percentage implementation of the new requirement for major northern retailers to show subsidy saving at the till receipt 100% by March 31, 2017
Annual percentage variation in the quantity of subsidized items shipped by air 3 to 5% by March 31, 2017
Health Canada — Strategic Outcome: First Nations and Inuit communities and individuals receive health services and benefits that are responsive to their needs so as to improve their health status — Program 3.1: First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care and sub-sub-program 3.1.1.3 First Nations and Inuit Healthy Living — Government priorities: N/A
Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives $14,500,000 (2011–2012 to 2015–2016)
$21,766,000 (2016–2017 to 2020–2021) and $4,363,200 ongoing
$4,343,200 Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills and are choosing and preparing healthy foods. Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities. Target for knowledge and skills will be established after first data collection in 2016–2017.
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community based nutrition education initiatives Number of communities promoting nutrition education activities 100% of funding recipients
Number and types of activities (by target population groups, venues) Funding recipients provide activities to 2 or more target populations (e.g. women, seniors, children, and youth) in 2 or more venues (e.g. grocery stores, schools, on the land) by March 31, 2017.
Public Health Agency of Canada — Strategic Outcome: Protecting Canadians and empowering them to improve their health — Program 1.2 Health Promotion and Disease Prevention and sub-sub-program 1.2.2.1 Healthy Child Development — Government priorities: N/A
Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives $405,000 in 2016–2017 and 2017–2018, $395,000 in 2018–2019, $385,000 in 2019–2020 and ongoing $405,000 Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills and are choosing and preparing healthy foods Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities Target to be established after first year of data collection in 2017–2018
Number of participants by type of nutrition education activity
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community based nutrition education initiatives Number of communities promoting nutrition education activities
Number and types of activities (by target population groups, venues)
Community workers are trained to deliver retail and community based nutrition education activities in eligible communities Percentage of funding recipients with trained NNC community workers to deliver programming
Total for all federal organizations $417,414,103 $93,820,323  
Date modified:

Nutrition Nord Canada

Renseignements généraux

Ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Santé Canada et Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC)Note de bas de page 1

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) : 417 414 103 $ sur six ans

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour (en dollars) : 417 414 103 $

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour (en dollars) : 342 890 778 $

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Structures de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada donne aux résidents du Nord une possibilité directe de s'exprimer au sujet du programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada afin de contribuer à l'orientation et aux activités du programme et de veiller à ce que les résidents du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier, et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource

Renseignements sur les résultats

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'objectif du programme Nutrition Nord Canada est de veiller à ce que les résidents des collectivités nordiques isolées privées d'une route, d'un chemin de fer ou d'un service maritime praticables toute l'année aient un meilleur accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs à un prix plus abordable.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord doivent profiter de ces subventions puisqu'elles permettent de réduire en conséquence le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme Nutrition Nord Canada régira les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention d'AANC.

Sachant que le coût des aliments n'est pas le seul facteur qui influe sur l'adoption de saines habitudes alimentaires, Santé Canada et l'Agence de la Santé publique du Canada, en complément de la contribution destinée à la vente au détail de Nutrition Nord Canada, offre du financement visant à soutenir des initiatives d'éducation culturellement adaptées en matière de nutrition qui s'adressent aux détaillants et aux collectivités. Ces initiatives ont pour but de sensibiliser la population aux saines habitudes alimentaires et de lui offrir les outils nécessaires pour choisir et préparer les aliments sains achetés en magasin et les aliments traditionnels ou locaux. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation : L'évaluation de Nutrition Nord Canada devrait être achevée en 2017-2018 : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada dirigera l'évaluation en partenariat avec Santé Canada.

Résultats partagés des partenaires fédéraux : Le résultat ultime du programme est de renforcer les choix nutritifs et la santé globale des collectivités isolées du Nord par l'entremise d'une subvention des aliments accordée par AANC et des initiatives ciblées d'éducation en matière de nutrition menées par Santé Canada et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Indicateurs de rendement :
Indicateur de rendement-1 : Pourcentage de la population qui qualifie son état de santé d'excellent à très bon (Santé Canada)
Indicateur de rendement-2 : Quantité d'aliments subventionnés (kg) par personne par catégorie (AANC)

Cibles :
Cible-1 : Au moins 45 % des adultes qualifieront leur état de santé d'excellent ou de très bon d'ici le 31 mars 2017 (Santé Canada)
Cible-2 : Stable ou augmentation par rapport à l'année de référence 2011 (AANC)

Source de données et fréquence de la surveillance et de la production de rapports :
Source de données-1 : Enquête régionale sur la santé, Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones et Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes;
Fréquence-1 : Enquête régionale sur la santé : tous les cinq ans, Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones : tous les cinq ans et Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes : tous les deux ans.
Source de données-2 : Base de données de Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC);
Fréquence-2 : chaque année (AANC)

Résultats attendus des partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification

Faits saillants de la planification : En 2017-2018, AANC contribuera à alléger le coût élevé des aliments dans le nord en rendant les aliments nutritifs et périssables plus facilement accessibles et plus abordables pour les membres des collectivités nordiques isolées en versant des subventions pour des aliments dans le cadre du programme Nutrition Nord Canada. Le Ministère a révisé les critères d'admissibilité des collectivités afin d'élargir le programme pour qu'il inclue l'ensemble des collectivités nordiques qui ne sont pas desservies par un accès ferroviaire, routier ou maritime à longueur d'année. Au total, 121 collectivités sont maintenant admissibles à recevoir la gamme complète des avantages versés dans le cadre de ce programme. En outre, le programme finance les activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition dans les collectivités nordiques éloignées admissibles à une subvention destinée aux commerces de détail afin d'enrichir leurs connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et de développer la capacité de choisir et préparer des aliments sains.

Respectant l'engagement du gouvernement de favoriser un dialogue ouvert, AANC a achevé son processus de mobilisation relatif à NNC, lequel comprenait des visites dans les collectivités, des entrevues avec des intervenants, des observations écrites et des enquêtes en ligne. Grâce à la rétroaction obtenue, en 2017-2018, le Ministère collabora avec les partenaires de NNC pour définir les options stratégiques pour la mise à jour du programme et élaborer des stratégies pour soutenir la durabilité à long terme du programme.

En 2017-2018, Santé Canada appuiera la mise en œuvre complète des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada dans les 33 collectivités des Premières Nations qui ont été ajoutées en 2016-2017, en plus de faciliter le processus de mobilisation des intervenants pour mettre à jour le programme Nutrition Nord Canada.

En 2017-2018, l'ASPC financera les projets qui aident les résidents des collectivités admissibles à enrichir leurs connaissances sur l'alimentation saine, la préparation d'aliments sains et l'accès à des initiatives d'information sur la nutrition destinées aux collectivités et aux détaillants.

Nutrition Nord Canada s'expose à de nombreux risques qu'il doit gérer pour obtenir les résultats escomptés. Les principaux risques pour le programme comprennent les suivants : risque que l'allocation budgétaire actuelle ne suffise pas à répondre aux demandes futures; risque que l'ajout de collectivités nordiques au programme augmente la demande; risque que le programme continue d'être perçu par la population et les médias comme une solution à l'insécurité alimentaire dans le Nord et risque que persiste la perception du public selon laquelle les détaillants ne refilent pas la subvention aux consommateurs.

En réponse à ces préoccupations, le programme a élaboré une stratégie d'évaluation des risques qui décrit les principales mesures d'atténuation qui sont intégrées à la gestion et l'administration du programme et qui seront examinées de plus près dans le cadre du prochain exercice de définition des options stratégiques.

Sommaire de la planification
Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2017-2018 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2017-2018 Indicateurs de rendement en 2017-2018 Cibles pour 2016-2017
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada — Résultat stratégique : Autonomie, prospérité et bien-être des gens et des collectivités du Nord — Programme 4.1 Gouvernance et gens du Nord et sous-programme 4.1.2 Nutrition Nord — Priorités du gouvernement : Collaboration avec le ministre de la Santé pour mettre à jour et élargir le programme Nutrition Nord en consultation avec les collectivités nordiques.
Nutrition Nord 398 165 905 $ (2011-2012 à 2016-2017) 89 072 123 $ L'accès à des aliments nutritifs et périssables dans les collectivités admissibles est renforcé. (AAP 4.1) Tendance annuelle du prix du Panier de provisions nordique révisé Équivalente ou en deçà de la tendance annuelle (augmentation ou réduction) de l'Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) du panier des provisions alimentaires d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs à un taux subventionné. (AAP 4.1.2) Pourcentage des rapports de conformité ou de vérification démontrant que les contributions ont été entièrement transmises aux consommateurs 100 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Pourcentage de mise en œuvre des nouvelles réglementations visant les détaillants du Nord démontrant des économies sur les reçus de vente résultant des subventions 100 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Pourcentage annuel de variation de la quantité d'articles subventionnés expédiés par avion 3 à 5 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Santé Canada — Résultat stratégique : Les collectivités des Premières Nations et des Inuits bénéficient de services de santé et de prestations qui répondent à leurs besoins de sorte à améliorer leur état de santé — Programme 3.1 : Soins de santé primaires aux membres des Premières Nations et aux Inuits et sous-sous-programme 3.1.1.3 Modes de vie sains pour les Inuits et les Premières Nations — Priorités du gouvernement : sans objet
Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 14 500 000 $ (2011-2012 à 2015-2016)
21 766 000 $ (2016-2017 à 2020-2021) et 4 363 200 $ en cours
4 343 200 $ Les résidents des collectivités admissibles connaissent les bonnes habitudes alimentaires et choisissent et préparent des aliments sains. Pourcentage de bénéficiaires qui indiquent avoir acquis des connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et des compétences chez les résidents des collectivités admissibles. La cible pour les connaissances et les compétences sera établie après la première collecte de données en 2016-2017.
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès aux projets d'éducation nutritionnelle communautaires. Nombre de collectivités facilitant les activités d'éducation nutritionnelle 100 % des bénéficiaires de fonds
Nombre et types d'activités (par groupe cible, lieux) Les bénéficiaires de fonds offrent des activités à deux ou plusieurs populations cibles (p. ex., femmes, aînés, enfants et jeunes) dans deux ou plusieurs sites (p. ex., épiceries, écoles, en plein air) d'ici le 31 mars 2017.
Agence de santé publique du Canada — Résultat stratégique : Protéger les Canadiens et les aider à améliorer leur santé — Programme 1.2 Promotion de la santé et prévention des maladies et sous-sous-programme 1.2.2.1 Développement sain durant l'enfance — Priorités du gouvernement : sans objet
Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 405 000 $ en 2016-2017 et 2017-2018, 395 000 $ en 2018-2019, 385 000 $ en 2019-2020 et en cours 405 000 $ Les résidents des collectivités admissibles connaissent les bonnes habitudes alimentaires et choisissent et préparent des aliments sains. Pourcentage de bénéficiaires qui indiquent avoir acquis des connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et des compétences chez les résidents des collectivités admissibles La cible sera établie après la première collecte de données en 2017-2018
Nombre de participants par type d'activité d'éducation nutritionnelle
Les résidants des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des initiatives d'éducation en nutrition à l'intention des détaillants et des collectivités Nombre de collectivités faisant la promotion d'activités d'éducation en nutrition
Nombre et types d'activités (par groupes cibles de la population, endroits)
Des travailleurs communautaires qualifiés offrent dans les collectivités admissibles des activités d'éducation en nutrition à l'intention des détaillants et de la collectivité Pourcentage de bénéficiaires de financement pouvant compter sur des travailleurs communautaires qualifiés de NNC pour offrir des activités d'éducation
Total de l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 417 414 130 $ 93 820 323 $  
Date de modification :