Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

General information

Lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Federal partner organizations: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada; Environment and Climate Change Canada; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency; Health Canada

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date of the horizontal initiative: June 17, 2010

End date of the horizontal initiative: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date) in dollars: $85,500,000 over five years (ongoing), plus an additional $61,000,000 over five years (2014-2019) for the West Coast Energy Initiative — Total Grants and Contributions and Operations and Maintenance

Total federal planned spending to date (dollars): Currently there are 16 multi-year Initiatives under administration by INAC and a number of other government departments, each with different start and completion dates. Each year, the budgets for both SPI General ($14.45 million), and West Coast Energy infrastructure developments (budget varies by fiscal year), are fully committed.

Total federal actual spending to date (dollars): Strategic Partnerships Initiative: $14,450,000 annually; West Coast Energy: $40.3 million spent over the first three-years of the initiative (2014–2017).

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Governance structures: Central to the governance structure of SPI is the Director General Investment Committee (DGIC). The DGIC includes membership from all SPI member departments with a core voting membership to make final funding decisions on initiatives seeking funding. The DGIC validates and prioritizes opportunities, taking a whole-of-government approach to investments under the program. It also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative, and ensures that they work together with Indigenous groups to advance these opportunities. The DGIC completes a review of detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program.

Contact information

Results information

Description of the horizontal initiative: With a focus on community economic readiness, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative supports Indigenous participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on the emerging opportunities in the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, and tourism.

A key component of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Indigenous economic development opportunities. The program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Indigenous communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Indigenous peoples take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

SPI also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal partners, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Indigenous individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Indigenous communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

West Coast Energy: In June 2014, a coordinated government response was launched with the objective of building Indigenous support for energy projects. Part of the response included the expansion of the Strategic Partnerships Initiative, which will provide the Government of Canada with the resources needed to enhance Indigenous participation in West Coast Energy infrastructure development.

Funding is being used in four priority areas to help build Indigenous support for energy projects. These include:

Ring of Fire: Since 2010, the federal government has pursued a coordinated, whole-of-government approach to support the development of the Ring of Fire, a mineral rich region in Northern Ontario. Early investments focused on helping First Nations in the region prepare for mining development. With the economic downturn in the minerals sector and persistent socio-economic challenges facing First Nations communities, the strategic focus has shifted to addressing the underlying pre-conditions to economic development, namely individual and community wellbeing. Federal departments and the Province of Ontario are working collaboratively with Matawa First Nations and NGO partners in areas such as comprehensive community planning, strengthening financial management and governance, and client-centered case management. SPI investments are also supporting the Community Wellbeing Pilot Project with 3 remote Matawa First Nations. The Pilot is implementing a place-based, whole-of-government partnership approach with First Nations to address critical needs and priorities, funded through a Single Window using the horizontal mechanisms under SPI.

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation: The Evaluation of the Strategic Partnerships Initiative is planned to be completed in fiscal year 2017–2018. NRCan will be leading the evaluation.

Shared outcome of federal partners: SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engages in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI, where appropriate, can use a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Indigenous participation in economic opportunities. This process allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Performance indicators: Value of federal and non-federal investments leveraged under the community readiness phase of the Strategic Partnership Initiative.

Targets: 1:1.5 leveraging over three years (For every $1 Strategic Partnership Initiative investment an additional $1.50 is leveraged from other sources including private and other public sectors) by March 31, 2017.

Data source and frequency of monitoring and reporting: Quarterly Reporting is provided by the lead department, including financial and project-specific information on each initiative. Annual reporting includes year-end financial reporting, a Project Summary Report, and an Annual Progress Report related to the activities, deliverables and outcomes achieved is also provided.

Expected outcome or result of non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Planning information

Planning highlights: SPI is a federal horizontal initiative designed to further the objectives of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development by ensuring:

Planning summary
Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2017–2018 Planned spending (dollars) 2017–2018 Expected results 2017–2018 Performance indicators 2017–2018 Targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada — Strategic Outcome: Full participation of First Nations, Metis, Non-Status Indians and Inuit individuals and communities in the economy — Program 3.3 Strategic Partnerships — Government priorities: Not applicable
Strategic Partnership Initiative $85,500,000 over five years (ongoing), plus an additional $61,000,000 over five years (2014–2019) for the West Coast Energy Initiative $14,450,000 (SPI)
$17,250,000 (West Coast Energy)
Regional economic opportunities and large resource development projects impacting Indigenous communities are pursued in partnership with public and private sectors Value of federal and non-federal investments leveraged under the community readiness phase of the Strategic Partnership Initiative 1:1.5 leveraging over three years (For every $1 Strategic Partnership Initiative investment an additional $1.50 is leveraged from other sources including private and other public sectors) by March 31, 2017
Total for all federal organizations $146,500,000 $31,700,000  
Date modified:

Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Renseignements généraux

Ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et Développement social Canada; Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, incluant FedNor; Ressources naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada; Environnement et Changement climatique Canada; Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale; Santé Canada.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : 17 juin 2010

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) : 85 500 000 dollars sur cinq ans (en cours), plus 61 000 000 dollars supplémentaires sur cinq ans (2014-2019) pour l'initiative sur l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest — Total des subventions et des contributions et fonctionnement et entretien.

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour (en dollars) : AANC et plusieurs autres ministères fédéraux administrent actuellement 16 initiatives pluriannuelles, chacune ayant une date de commencement et une date d'achèvement différente. Chaque année, les budgets pour l'IPS générale (14,45 millions $) et les projets de développement de l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest (le budget varie selon l'exercice) sont entièrement engagés.

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour (en dollars) : Initiative de partenariats stratégiques : 14 450 000 dollars chaque année; infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest : 40,3 millions $ dépensés dans les trois premières années de l'initiative (2014-2017).

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux constitue un élément essentiel de la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS. Le Comité réunit des représentants de tous les ministères membres de l'IPS et compte un noyau de membres votants en vue de prendre les décisions définitives quant aux initiatives qui bénéficieront d'un financement. Le Comité valide et classe en ordre de priorité les possibilités; pour ce faire, il adopte une démarche pangouvernementale en matière d'investissement dans le cadre du programme. Il répertorie également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent de concert avec les groupes autochtones en vue de faire progresser ces possibilités. Le Comité examine les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource

Renseignements sur les résultats

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est axée sur l'état de préparation sur le plan économique et vise à soutenir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie; pour ce faire, l'IPS accorde une place importante aux nouvelles possibilités dans les secteurs de l'exploitation des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le programme soutient également d'autres possibilités clés en matière de développement économique dans des domaines comme la construction navale et le tourisme.

Volet important du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Le programme permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les peuples autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels et émergents de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes auxquelles les programmes existants ne pourraient répondre.

L'IPS contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les partenaires non fédérales, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribuent à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Énergie de la côte Ouest : En juin 2014, le gouvernement a lancé une réponse coordonnée dans le but de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones relatif aux projets énergétiques. La réponse comprenait notamment l'expansion de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, qui fournira au gouvernement du Canada les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer la participation des Autochtones au développement de l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest.

Le financement est utilisé dans quatre secteurs prioritaires afin de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones aux projets énergétiques. Ceux-ci comprennent :

Cercle de feu : Depuis 2010, le gouvernement fédéral mise sur une approche pangouvernementale coordonnée à l'appui du développement du Cercle de feu, une région riche en minéraux dans le nord de l'Ontario. Les premiers investissements visaient à aider les Premières Nations de la région à se préparer à l'exploitation minière. En raison du ralentissement économique dans le secteur minier et des difficultés socioéconomiques persistantes des collectivités des Premières Nations, l'orientation stratégique a été modifiée pour aborder les conditions préalables sous-jacentes au développement économique, nommément le bien-être individuel et communautaire. Les ministères fédéraux et la province de l'Ontario travaillent en collaboration avec les Premières Nations de Matawa et des ONG partenaires dans des domaines comme la planification communautaire globale, le renforcement de la gestion financière et de la gouvernance, et la gestion de cas axée sur les clients. Les investissements effectués dans le cadre de l'IPS appuient également le projet pilote sur le bien-être communautaire avec trois collectivités éloignées des Premières Nations de Matawa. Le projet pilote prend appui sur une approche axée sur des partenariats pangouvernementaux, adaptée au lieu où elle est mise en œuvre, avec les Premières Nations afin de répondre aux besoins et aux priorités cruciales. Elle est financée par un système à guichet unique en utilisant les mécanismes horizontaux de l'IPS.

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation : L'évaluation de l'initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques devrait être achevée au cours de l'exercice 2017-2018. RNCan dirigera l'évaluation.

Résultats partagés des partenaires fédéraux : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale en matière d'investissements fédéraux, ce qui permet de s'assurer que ces investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et qu'ils sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux placé pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS fait appel à une approche fondée sur un guichet unique (partage en matière de demande, de surveillance et de production de rapports) en ce qui a trait aux investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies, et elle comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités économiques. Ce processus permet de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, en vue d'appuyer une initiative.

Indicateurs de rendement : Valeur des investissements provenant du gouvernement fédéral et d'autres sources obtenus à l'étape de la préparation des collectivités en vertu de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques.

Cibles : Rendement de 1:1,5 sur trois ans (pour chaque dollar investi par l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, un montant de 1,50 $ est obtenu d'autres sources, y compris le secteur privé et les autres sources du secteur public) d'ici le 31 mars 2017.

Source de données et fréquence de la surveillance et de la production de rapports : La production des rapports trimestriels est assurée par le ministère responsable, et ceux-ci comprennent de l'information sur la situation financière et sur des projets précis de chaque initiative. Les rapports annuels comprennent les rapports financiers de fin d'année, un rapport sommaire de projet et un rapport d'étape annuel sur les activités, les livrables ou les résultats atteints.

Résultats attendus des partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification

Faits saillants de la planification : L'IPS est une initiative horizontale fédérale visant à faire progresser la réalisation des objectifs du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, en veillant à ce que :

Sommaire de la planification
Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2017-2018 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2017-2018 Indicateurs de rendement en 2017-2018 Cibles pour 2016-2017
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada — Résultat stratégique : Participation entière des personnes et des collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Indiens non inscrits et des Inuits à l'économie — Programme 3.3 Partenariats stratégiques — Priorités du gouvernement : sans objet
Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques 85 500 000 dollars sur cinq ans (en cours), plus 61 000 000 dollars supplémentaires sur cinq ans (2014-2019) pour l'initiative sur l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest 14 450 000 (IPS)
17 250 000 (Énergie de la côte Ouest)
Des possibilités économiques régionales et les grands projets de ressources touchant les collectivités autochtones sont développées en partenariat avec le secteur privé et le secteur public Valeur des investissements provenant du gouvernement fédéral et d'autres sources obtenus à l'étape de la préparation des collectivités en vertu de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques Rendement de 1:1,5 sur trois ans (pour chaque dollar investi par l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, un montant de 1,50 $ est obtenu d'autres sources, y compris le secteur privé et les autres sources du secteur public) d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Total de l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 146 500 000 $ 31 700 000 $  
Date de modification :