Status Report on transformational and major Crown projects

Project name: Canadian High Arctic Research Station

Description

In the 2007 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada emphasized that there are both new opportunities and new challenges in the North, and indicated it would bring forward an integrated Northern Strategy focused on strengthening Canada's sovereignty, protecting environmental heritage, promoting economic and social development, and improving and devolving governance. The Government also promised to "build a world-class Arctic research station that will be on the cutting edge of Arctic issues, including environmental science and resource development. This station will be built by Canadians, in Canada's Arctic, and it will be there to serve the world." In August 2010, it was announced that Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, would be the location for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS).

Architectural design, construction, equipment, and furniture for CHARS, as well as the implementation of the science and technology program are estimated at a value of approximately $250 million up to and including 2017–2018.

INAC is responsible for delivering on the architectural design, construction, equipment, and furniture for the station at an estimated total cost of $204.8 million. The remaining $46.2 million for implementation of the science and technology program was initially administered by INAC and is now administered by Polar Knowledge Canada. After construction is complete in 2018, $26.5 million per year will support the station's ongoing operations by Polar Knowledge Canada, which will be headquartered in Cambridge Bay.

CHARS is expected to be operational by the summer of 2017 to coincide with Canada's 150th anniversary.

Project outcomes

  • The objective of this project is to provide researchers with access to a world-class arctic science and technology platform in the Canadian North by establishing the Canadian High Arctic Research Station. Performance indicators will be developed as part of the business case to confirm this objective has been reached.
  • Beneficiaries of this project include scientists, Northerners and all Canadians.

Industrial benefits

  • Design and construction of the research station will provide jobs in the Kitikmeot region of Nunavut, across the North, and in specialized sectors in southern Canada.
  • Canada's consultation and procurement obligations as specified in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act are being respected in the implementation of the CHARS initiative.
  • Inuit Benefit Plans have been used as the key mechanism to deliver on NLCA obligations in procurement related to CHARS, including on the construction project, equipment procurement, and leased housing. This approach includes implementation of an Inuit Human Resources Plan that identifies targets for Inuit labour force participation, an Inuit Skills Development Plan for on-the-job training, and an Inuit Business Plan which provides for contracts to be awarded to Inuit-owned firms. Based on actual demonstrated values to February 2016, $52.8 million has been contributed to the Inuit Benefits Plan for the construction project.

Sponsoring department

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Contracting authority

Public Services and Procurement Canada

Participating departments

Not Applicable

Prime contractor

EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.

Major subcontractors

Subcontracting managed by the EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)

Project phase

Design: Budget 2010 provided $18 million over four years for the design of CHARS. EVOQ architects (previously known as Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architects) and NFOE et associés architectes, operating as a joint venture, were awarded the design consultant contract through a competitive and transparent bidding process. The design phase of CHARS began in 2011–2012 and was completed in 2014–2015 following the receipt of the 100% design.

Construction: The construction of CHARS began on schedule in summer 2014. The construction manager (EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.) mobilized labour, delivered equipment to the site, and secured material and long lead-time items (such as structural steel) during the 2014 construction season. Construction started on the Field and Maintenance Building and the Triplex Accommodation Buildings at this time, and interior work began on the Triplex Accommodation Buildings. Material brought on sealift in fall 2014 allowed construction on the Main Research Building (the largest and most complex of the buildings on the CHARS campus) to begin in spring 2015. In September 2015, the foundation for the Main Research Building was completed and the structural steel was erected.

In November 2015, the two Triplex accommodation buildings were completed and are now in use by Polar Knowledge Canada. Interior work in the Field and Maintenance Building is progressing and is scheduled for substantial completion in November 2016. Closing in the Main Research Building is complete and interior finishing work is ongoing. The campus is expected to be operational in the summer of 2017, with commissioning complete by March 2018.

Major milestones Date
Creation of a Canadian High Arctic Research Station announced Speech from the Throne 2007
CHARS feasibility: $2 million over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS design: $18 million over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility study released on Science.gc.ca September 2011
Request for proposal (RFP) for design consultant tendered September 2011
RFP for design consultant closed November 2011
Design consultant proposals evaluated — Phase 1 December 2011
Seek decisions on construction funding Winter 2012
Design consultant proposals evaluated — Phase 2 February 2012
Design consultant contract announced August 2012
RFP for construction management services tendered November 2012
RFP for construction management services closed December 2012
RFP for construction management services evaluated January 2013
Site announced consultation with Cambridge Bay residents February 2013
Construction management contract for advisory services awarded June 2013
Construction management contract for constructor services awarded May 2014
Begin site preparation June 2014
Begin construction August 2014
Complete design development January 2015
Complete land acquisition in Cambridge Bay March 2015
Complete Triplex Accommodation Buildings November 2015
Complete Field and Maintenance Building November 2016
Campus operational by 150th anniversary of Confederation Summer 2017 (anticipated)
Commissioning complete 2018

Progress report and explanation of variances

  • Architectural design, construction, equipment, and furniture for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station, as well as the implementation of the science and technology program are estimated at a value of approximately $250 million up to and including 2017–2018.
  • The CHARS Major Crown Project is on scope and scheduled to be operational by summer of 2017.
Date modified:

Rapport d’étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l’État

Nom du projet : Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique

Description

Dans le discours du Trône de 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a souligné que le Nord présente de nouvelles possibilités et de nouveaux défis, et a indiqué qu'il élaborerait une Stratégie pour le Nord intégrée axée sur le renforcement de la souveraineté du Canada, la protection du patrimoine environnemental, la promotion du développement social et économique, ainsi que sur l'amélioration et le transfert de la gouvernance. Le gouvernement a également promis de « construire une station de recherche de calibre mondial qui se maintiendra à la fine pointe de la technologie sur les questions arctiques, comme les sciences de l'environnement et le développement des ressources. Cette station, bâtie par des Canadiens dans l'Arctique canadien, servira le monde entier ». En août 2010, il a été annoncé que la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SCREA) serait établie à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut.

On estime que les coûts liés à la conception, à la construction, à l'équipement et au mobilier de la SCREA, de même qu'à la mise en œuvre du Programme de science et technologie s'élèvent environ à 250 millions $ jusqu'à 2017-2018, inclusivement.

AANC est responsable de la conception, de la construction, de l'équipement et du mobilier de la Station dont le coût total est estimé à 204,8 millions $. L'enveloppe restante de 46,2 millions $ pour la mise en œuvre du Programme de science et technologie était administrée au départ par AANC et elle est maintenant administrée par Savoir polaire Canada. Une fois que les travaux de construction auront été achevés en 2018, un financement de 26,5 millions $ par année appuiera les activités continues de Savoir polaire Canada dont le siège social sera établi à Cambridge Bay.

La SCREA devrait être fonctionnelle d'ici l'été 2017, ce qui coïncidera avec le 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Résultats du projet

  • Ce projet a pour but de fournir aux chercheurs un accès à une plateforme scientifique et technologique de calibre mondial sur l'Arctique, dans le Nord canadien, grâce à la mise sur pied de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique. Des indicateurs de rendement seront élaborés dans le cadre de l'analyse de rentabilisation en vue de confirmer que cet objectif a été atteint.
  • Ce projet profitera aux scientifiques, aux gens du Nord, ainsi qu'à tous les Canadiens.

Retombées industrielles

  • La conception et la construction de la station de recherche seront une source d'emploi dans la région de Kitikmeot au Nunavut, dans le Nord et dans des secteurs spécialisés dans le sud du Canada.
  • Les obligations du Canada en matière de consultation et d'approvisionnement énoncées dans la Loi concernant l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut sont respectées lors de la mise en œuvre de l'initiative SCREA.
  • Le Plan des avantages pour les Inuit a été utilisé en tant que mécanisme principal pour l'exécution des obligations de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut en matière d'approvisionnement pour la SCREA, y compris pour la construction des bâtiments, l'achat d'équipement et la location des logements. Cette approche comprend la mise en place d'un plan inuit des ressources humaines qui définit les cibles de participation des Inuits à la main-d'œuvre, un plan de perfectionnement des compétences des Inuits pour la formation en cours d'emploi, et un plan d'activités qui prévoit l'attribution de contrats à des entreprises détenues par des Inuits. En se fondant sur les valeurs réelles avérées de février 2016, 52,8 millions $ ont été versés dans le Plan des avantages pour les Inuit pour le projet de construction.

Ministère parrain

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Autorité contractante

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Ministères participants

Sans objet

Entrepreneur principal

EllisDon Corporation en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.

Sous-traitants principaux

La sous-traitance est gérée par EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada).

Phase du projet

Conception : Le Budget de 2010 a fourni 18 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour la conception de la SCREA. EVOQ architectes (anciennement Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes) de même que NFOE et associés architectes, fonctionnant comme une coentreprise, ont obtenu le contrat de conception dans le cadre d'un processus de soumission concurrentiel et transparent. La phase de conception de la SCREA a commencé en 2011-2012 et s'est terminée en 2014-2015 à la suite de la réception de l'ensemble des plans de conception.

Construction : La construction de la SCREA a commencé selon l'échéancier prévu à l'été 2014. Le directeur des travaux (EllisDon Corporation en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.) a mobilisé la main-d'œuvre, livré l'équipement sur le site, et obtenu les matériaux et les articles exigeant de longs délais de livraison (comme les structures d'acier) pendant la saison de construction de 2014. La construction a commencé par le bâtiment de recherches sur le terrain et d'entretien et les triplex, et les travaux intérieurs ont commencé dans les triplex. Les matériaux apportés par transport maritime à l'automne 2014 ont permis d'entamer la construction du bâtiment de recherche principal (le plus grand et le plus complexe des bâtiments sur le site de la SCREA) au printemps 2015. En septembre 2015, les fondations du bâtiment principal de recherche étaient terminées et la structure d'acier érigée.

En novembre 2015, les deux triplex ont été achevés et sont maintenant utilisés par Savoir polaire Canada. Les travaux intérieurs dans le bâtiment de recherche sur le terrain progressent et devraient être achevés en grande partie en novembre 2016. La fermeture du bâtiment principal de recherche est terminée et les travaux de finition intérieure sont en cours. Le campus devrait être fonctionnel à l'été 2017 et la mise en service devrait être achevée d'ici mars 2018.

Jalons importants Date
Annonce de la création de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique Discours du Trône de 2007
Faisabilité de la SCREA : 2 millions $ sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SCREA : 18 millions $ sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Annonce de l'emplacement à Cambridge Bay par le premier ministre Août 2010
Annonce du mandat de la SCREA par le ministre Décembre 2010
Publication de l'étude de faisabilité sur Science.gc.ca Septembre 2011
Lancement de la demande de proposition pour les services de consultants en conception Septembre 2011
Clôture de la demande de proposition pour les services de consultants en conception Novembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception — Phase 1 Décembre 2011
Obtention des décisions concernant le financement de la construction Hiver 2012
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception — Phase 2 Février 2012
Annonce de l'attribution du marché pour les services de consultants en conception Août 2012
Lancement de la demande de proposition pour les services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Clôture de la demande de proposition pour les services de gestion de la construction Décembre 2012
Évaluation de la demande de proposition pour les services de gestion de la construction Janvier 2013
Annonce de consultations auprès des résidents de Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services consultatifs d'un gestionnaire de la construction Juin 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services de gestion de la construction Mai 2014
Début de la préparation du site Juin 2014
Début de la construction Août 2014
Conception terminée Janvier 2015
Achèvement de l'acquisition de terrains à Cambridge Bay Mars 2015
Achèvement des triplex Novembre 2015
Achèvement du bâtiment de recherche sur le terrain et d'entretien Novembre 2016
Campus fonctionnel à la date du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération Été 2017 (anticipé)
Achèvement de la mise en service 2018

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

  • Les coûts liés à la conception, à la construction, à l'équipement et au mobilier de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique ainsi que la mise en du Programme de science et technologie sont estimés environ à 250 millions $ jusqu'à 2017-2018, inclusivement.
  • Le grand projet de la SCREA respecte la portée voulue et devrait être fonctionnel d'ici l'été 2017.
Date de modification :