Prohibition Order

Canada is proposing to "Prohibit the issuance of interests under a law of the Legislature in Certain Tracts of territorial lands in the Northwest Territories (Central and Eastern Portions of the South Slave Region), pursuant to paragraph 56(b) of the Northwest Territories Act."

Map identifying the lands under the proposed Prohibition Order:

This map identifies the areas in the Northwest Territories where the Government of Canada has proposed prohibiting the issuance of interests, including surface and subsurface prohibitions as well as surface only prohibition.
 

Following is a proposed list of exceptions that may be attached to the proposed Prohibition Order;

Lands Prohibited from Disposal

  1. The tracts of territorial lands set out in the attached illustrative maps (appropriate scale mapping will be provided under separate cover), including the surface and subsurface rights to the lands, are prohibited from disposal.

Exceptions

Disposition of substances or materials

  1. Section 1 does not apply to the disposition of substances or materials under the Quarrying Regulations, N.W.T. Reg. 017-2014.

Existing interests

  1. Section 1 does not apply to:
    1. the staking of a mineral claim by the holder of a prospecting permit that was granted under the Mining Regulations, N.W.T. Reg. 015-2014, before the day on which this Order comes into force;
    2. the recording of a mineral claim that is referred to in paragraph (a) or its staking in accordance with the Mining Regulations, N.W.T. Reg. 015-2014, before the day on which this Order comes into force;
    3. the granting of a lease under the Mining Regulations, N.W.T. Reg. 015-2014, to a person with a recorded claim, if the lease covers an area in the recorded claim;
    4. the issuance of a significant discovery licence under the Petroleum Resources Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c. 15, to a holder of an exploration licence that was issued before the day on which this Order comes into force, if the significant discovery licence covers an area that is subject to the exploration licence;
    5. the issuance of a production licence under the Petroleum Resources Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c. 15, to a holder of a significant discovery licence that is referred to in paragraph (d), if the production licence covers an area that is subject to the significant discovery licence;
    6. the issuance of a production licence under the Petroleum Resources Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c. 15, to a holder of an exploration licence or a significant discovery licence that was issued before the day on which this Order comes into force, if the production licence covers an area that is subject to the exploration licence or the significant discovery licence;
    7. the issuance of a surface lease under the Northwest Territories Lands Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c. 13, to a holder of a recorded claim under the Mining Regulations, N.W.T. Reg. 015-2014, or of an interest under the Petroleum Resources Act, S.N.W.T. 2014, c. 15, if the surface lease is required to allow the holder to exercise rights under the claim or interest; or
    8. the renewal of an interest.

Existing interests

  1. All existing interests will be unaffected, including renewal options.

If you would like more information regarding the proposed Prohibition Order or the lands that are being proposed, please contact 1-800-567-9604, or one of the following:

Janet Pound at 867-669-2752 or Janet.Pound@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca
Clarissa Richardson at 867-669-2753 or Clarissa.Richardson@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Ordonnance d’interdiction

Le Canada propose « d’interdire l’octroi de droits en vertu d’une loi de la législature dans certaines parcelles de terres territoriales dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest (centrale et parties de l’est de la région de South Slave), en vertu de l’alinéa 56 b de la Loi sur les territoires du Nord-Ouest. »

Carte identifiant les terres en vertu de l’ordonnance d’interdiction proposée :

Cette carte indique les zones dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest où le gouvernement du Canada a proposé d’interdire l’octroi de droits, cela comprend les interdictions visant la surface et le sous-sol, et les interdictions visant la surface seulement.
 

Voici une liste d’exceptions qui peuvent être rattachées à l’ordonnance d’interdiction proposée;

Les terres interdites inaliénables

  1. Les étendues de terres territoriales énoncées dans la carte illustrée ci-jointe (cartographie à l’échelle appropriée sera remise sous pli séparé), y compris les droits de surface et du sous-sol sur les terres, sont interdits de vente.

Exceptions

Aliénation des matières ou matériaux

  1. L’article 1 ne s’applique pas à l’aliénation des matières ou matériaux prévue par le Règlement sur l’exploitation de carrières, Règl. des T.N.-O. 017-2014.

Intérêts existants

  1. L’article 1 ne s’applique pas à/au :
    1. jalonnement d’un claim minier par le titulaire d’un permis de prospection livré en vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière, Règl. des T.N.-O. 015-2014, avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent décret;
    2. l’enregistrement d’un claim minier visé à l’alinéa a) ou son jalonnement conformément au Règlement sur l’exploitation minière, Règl. des T.N.-O. 015-2014 avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent décret;
    3. l’octroi, en vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière, Règl. des T.N.-O. 015-2014, d’un bail au détenteur d’un claim enregistré, si le bail vise un périmètre situé à l’intérieur du claim;
    4. l’octroi, en vertu de la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, L.T.N.-O. 2014, ch. 15, d’une attestation de découverte importante au titulaire d’un permis de prospection livré avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent décret, si le périmètre visé par l’attestation est également visé par le permis;
    5. l’octroi, en vertu de la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, L.T.N.-O. 2014, ch. 15, d’une licence de production au titulaire de l’attestation de découverte importante visé à l’alinéa d), si le périmètre visé par la licence est également visé par l’attestation;
    6. l’octroi, en vertu de la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, L.T.N.-O. 2014, ch. 15, d’une licence de production au titulaire d’un permis de prospection ou d’une attestation de découverte importante livré avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent décret, si le périmètre visé par la licence de production est également visé par le permis ou par l’attestation;
    7. l’octroi, en vertu de la Loi sur les terres des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, L.T.N.-O. 2014, ch. 13, d’un bail pour la surface au détenteur d’un claim enregistré visé par le Règlement sur l’exploitation minière, Règl. des T.N.-O. 015-2014, ou au titulaire d’un titre visé par la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, L.T.N.-O 2014, ch. 15, si ce bail est exigé pour l’exercice des droits qui sont conférés par le claim ou par le titre;
    8. le renouvellement d’un droit.

Droits existants

  1. Aucun droit existant n’est modifié, y compris les options de renouvellement.

Pour plus d’informations au sujet de l’ordonnance d’interdiction proposée ou les terres qui sont proposées, veuillez communiquer au 1-800-567-9604 ou avec :

Sylvain Ouellet, par téléphone (819-994-7521) ou par courriel (Sylvain.Ouellet@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca).

Date de modification :