Blueprint 2020 report: December 2016

Message from the Deputy Ministers

The Blueprint 2020 vision is one of a world-class Public Service equipped to serve Canada and Canadians now and into the future. The Government is committed to a public service that meets the needs and expectations of Canadians across the country. At Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), meeting the needs of today and tomorrow means working with Indigenous people on reconciliation and building relationships based on the recognition of rights, respect, and cooperation and partnership.

A successful journey toward reconciliation is one where Indigenous teachings, culture, traditions and practices are embraced in the spirit of their contribution to the Canadian fabric. It is where governments, civil society, educational institutions, corporations, and non-Indigenous Canadians work in partnership with Indigenous people, forging new ways of achieving better results and a stronger country.

Pursuing this goal has us focusing our efforts on transforming operational practices to advance new and innovative initiatives, as well as working closely with partners and stakeholders, while continuing to carry out our day-to-day operations. This means we are not only doing things differently, we are doing things we've never done before. For example, we are working in partnership with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis to find better ways to achieve self-determination and co-develop policy. These initiatives, and others like them, are opening the door to a new kind of Canada where the Government and the public service are working in partnership with those they serve.

Part of INAC's renewal involves focusing on the people within the Department and the supports they need to undertake these innovative approaches. We are building capacity, including a special focus on Indigenous recruitment, in order to have a workforce that is culturally sensitive and representative of the Canadian population. To this end, we have a number of exciting and innovative recruitment efforts underway, in collaboration with the Public Service Commission and other departments.

An important aspect of supporting our employees is recognizing the importance of workplace well-being and promoting a healthy work environment; one where people have the opportunity they need to thrive and where they feel safe and supported in seeking help to address issues that affect their well-being. In this respect, work is well underway at INAC to develop a Mental Health and Workplace Well-being Strategy that takes into account Indigenous principles of respect and wellness. We're engaging employees through focus groups and an online survey on the existing challenges and finding ways to overcome them and create a healthier workplace.

INAC employees are on a new path, one where the principle of reconciliation has infused our work with a deeper sense of purpose. As we continue to work every day to build better relationships and find new ways of working, we are creating stronger communities and promoting economic growth. While acknowledging the mistakes of the past, we are building a better Canada.

"No relationship is more important to me and to Canada than the one with Indigenous Peoples. It is time for a renewed relationship."
Prime Minister's mandate letter to Minister Bennett

Respectful workplaces

This year, we are working towards the development of our workplace well-being and mental health strategy, which will be informed by the suggestions of our employees and endorsement of our leadership.

Recruitment and onboarding

The Indigenous population in Canada is the fastest growing segment of the population, which represents an important opportunity for government departments to increase their efforts to attract and hire Indigenous employees.

Other actions to renew the public service

At INAC, in the context of reconciliation, we are bringing more people around the table to develop innovative ways of working together to reach the best possible outcomes for all.

Blueprint 2020 video

At INAC, meeting the needs of today and tomorrow means working with Indigenous people on reconciliation and building relationships based on the recognition of rights, respect, and cooperation and partnership.

Social media

We have increased our followers in the last two years by well over 35,000 people. Our messages are reaching three times more people than they were just two years ago!

Date modified:

Rapport sur Objectif 2020 : décembre 2016

Message des sous-ministres

Objectif 2020 a pour vision une fonction publique de classe mondiale, outillée pour servir le Canada et les Canadiens d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à offrir un service public qui répond aux besoins et aux attentes des Canadiens de tout le pays. À Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), pour répondre aux besoins présents et à venir, il importe de travailler avec les Autochtones à la réconciliation et à l'établissement d'une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Sur le chemin d'une réconciliation fructueuse, il faudra inclure les enseignements, la culture, les traditions et les pratiques autochtones en valorisant leur contribution au tissu social canadien. Sur cette voie, les gouvernements, la société civile, les établissements d'enseignement, les compagnies et les Canadiens non autochtones travaillent en partenariat avec les Autochtones à trouver de nouvelles façons d'améliorer les résultats et de renforcer le pays.

Vers l'atteinte de ce but, nous axons nos efforts sur la transformation des pratiques opérationnelles pour mettre en œuvre des initiatives novatrices ainsi que sur la collaboration étroite avec les partenaires et intervenants, tout en continuant à mener nos activités courantes. C'est donc dire que non seulement nous faisons les choses différemment, mais que nous faisons des choses jamais faites auparavant. Par exemple, nous travaillons en partenariat avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis afin d'améliorer la façon de parvenir à l'autonomie gouvernementale et d'élaborer conjointement des politiques. De telles initiatives, et d'autres similaires, ouvrent la voie à un nouveau Canada où le gouvernement et la fonction publique travaillent en partenariat avec les citoyens qu'ils servent.

Une bonne partie du processus de renouvellement à AANC consiste à se concentrer sur les gens du Ministère et le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour entreprendre ces approches novatrices. Nous renforçons notre capacité, notamment en misant sur le recrutement d'Autochtones afin de créer un effectif représentatif de la population canadienne qui tient compte des différences culturelles. Pour ce faire, nous avons pris des mesures de dotation dynamiques et novatrices, en collaboration avec la Commission de la fonction publique et d'autres ministères.

Au cœur du soutien offert à nos employés sont la valorisation du mieux-être en milieu de travail et la promotion d'un environnement de travail sain, où les gens peuvent s'épanouir et se sentent à l'aise de demander de l'aide pour aborder des questions qui influent sur leur bien-être. À cet égard, les travaux vont bon train à AANC en vue de la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie sur le mieux-être et la santé mentale en milieu de travail qui tient compte des principes autochtones de respect et de bien-être. Nous mobilisons les employés, et ce, par l'entremise de groupes de discussions et d'un sondage en ligne sur les enjeux actuels et les moyens de les surmonter pour créer un milieu de travail plus sain.

Les employés d'AANC se sont engagés sur une nouvelle voie, où le principe de réconciliation donne une profonde raison d'être à leur travail. Tandis que nous continuons, chaque jour, à nous efforcer d'améliorer nos relations et de trouver de nouvelles façons de faire, nous contribuons à renforcer les collectivités et à promouvoir la croissance économique. Tout en reconnaissant les erreurs du passé, nous bâtissons un Canada meilleur.

« Aucune relation n'est plus importante pour moi et pour le Canada que la relation avec les peuples autochtones. Il est temps de renouveler la relation... »
Extrait de la lettre de mandat qu’a adressée le premier ministre à la ministre Bennett

Milieux de travail respectueux

Cette année, nous travaillons à l’élaboration d’une stratégie sur le mieux-être et la santé mentale en milieu de travail, qui s’inspirera des suggestions de nos employés et aura l’appui de la direction.

Recrutement et intégration

Les Autochtones forment le segment de la population qui croît le plus rapidement. Les ministères devraient donc accroître leurs efforts en vue d’attirer et d’embaucher des employés autochtones.

Autres mesures pour renouveler la fonction publique

À AANC, dans le contexte de la réconciliation, un nombre accru de personnes s’emploient à trouver des façons novatrices de travailler en partenariat afin d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats possible pour tous.

Vidéo Objectif 2020

À AANC, pour répondre aux besoins présents et à venir, il importe de travailler avec les Autochtones à la réconciliation et à l’établissement d’une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Médias sociaux

Le nombre de personnes qui suivent le Ministère a augmenté de plus de 35 000 personnes au cours des deux dernières années. Nos messages atteignent plus du triple de personnes qu’il y a deux ans!

Date de modification :