True North Treasure Initiative Video

Download: MP4 format (49 Mb)

Transcript: True North Treasure Initiative, a Strategic Partnerships Initiative of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Ricky Fontaine

The Labrador Trough is a huge stretch of land in the form of a crescent, starting near the town of Fermont and running toward Kuujjuak through the town of Schefferville. Iron ore deposits are everywhere. Ricky Fontaine, Innu of Uashat Mak Mani Utenam and Director General of the community. The True North Treasure Initiative is a program for trying to find common ground between the private sector, the public sector and the communities. This means trying to find a way to build community capacity so that benefits can be drawn from the opportunities afforded by the natural resources sector.

Coco Calderhead

My name is Coco Calderhead. I am in charge of community affairs for Tata Steel Minerals Canada. Even before coming here, the mining company signs Impact and Benefit Agreements. These agreements aim to maximize returns and spin-off for Aboriginal communities.

Chief Réal McKenzie

When something this big hits you, you're not ready for anything, to train your people, set up businesses, do all the things that need to be done to deal with these contracts. Mega-contracts! We're talking about $150 million, $200 million in contracts here. Chief Réal McKenzie of the community of Matimekosh-Lac-John. For those who don't know Matimekosh-Lac-John, it's Schefferville. Tata Steel, it's... Development, oil, transportation … it's big.

Coco Calderhead

The True North Treasure Initiative allows us to elaborate and discuss immediate needs, and there is an understanding of both sides and a dialogue that is very positive and constructive.

Guillaume Vincent

When a mining company sets up shop near a community, it can mean a thousand jobs, jobs for people who need to eat, clothe themselves, get around, so for a community it's a very important lever. My name is Guillaume Vincent, and I am Director General of the CDEM, the Corporation de développement économique montagnaise. What we have done with the True North Treasure Initiative in recent years has been mainly infrastructure projects, projects like, for example, the hotel here in Uashat, the convenience store in Matimekosh-Lac-John, a train simulator at the CEGEP here.

Pierre Bastien

Aboriginal economic development is largely a matter of opportunity. So here we had an opportunity, then the Initiative said: let's invest in this opportunity to improve the lot of the communities. My name is Pierre Bastien, Director General of the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Economic Development Commission. We know that a mining company is like a village once established. It will need cleaners, restaurateurs, transportation… all sorts of things. It becomes like a small village, and then we need people, as far as possible local, to do these jobs. We have therefore developed a consultation process in the communities to find out what kinds of businesses exist, and we have inventoried them. The inventory runs to 1,100 enterprises listed in the communities.

Coco Calderhead

We are holding on to this information, this inventory, and in our supply chain we will ensure that the information on these companies is made available to people who want to bid on contracts.

Ralph Cleary

We met with the director of human resources of Tata Steel, and obviously his first question was: "Listen, we are ready to hire First Nations people, but we need to know what kind of labour is available, what kind of training and work experience they have." My name is Ralph Cleary. I am an Innu from Mashteuiatsh. I am Director General of the First Nations Human Resources Development Commission of Quebec. The True North Treasure Initiative's contribution is keenly felt by our organization. This Initiative has allowed us to develop labour profiles and new partnerships. Labour profiles are inventories of the resources within communities in terms of jobs and training.

Coco Calderhead

And the True North Treasure Initiative is a key partner for us, a major partner for developing programs and trainings and for better preparing people for the work they have to do.

Chief Réal McKenzie

It's the future we are talking about. When we see young people training like that to find jobs, it augurs well for their future.

Ricky Fontaine

And this is what the Initiative strives to do. It means finding synergies among all the initiatives that may be running on the North Shore and the Labrador Trough and making sure that as many people as possible benefit.

Date modified:

Vidéo de l'Initiative Trésor du Nord

Téléchargement : MP4 format (49 Mo)

Transcription : Initiative Trésor du Nord, une initiative de partenariats stratégiques d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Ricky Fontaine

La fosse du Labrador, c'est un vaste territoire en forme de croissant, qui part près de la ville de Fermont, qui se dirige vers Kujjuak, en passant par la ville de Schefferville. C'est un endroit où le minerai de fer est omniprésent. Ricky Fontaine, innu de Uashat Mak Mani Utenam, et directeur général de la communauté. Alors l'initiative Trésor du Nord à l'origine c'est un programme qui a permis d'essayer de faire en sorte qu'on trouve un commun dénominateur au secteur privé et au secteur public et aux communautés. C'est-à-dire qu'on a essayé de trouver une façon de développer la capacité au niveau des communautés pour pouvoir bénéficier des opportunités qui se présentaient dans le secteur des ressources naturelles.

Coco Calderhead

Mon nom, c'est Coco Calderhead. Je suis responsable pour les affaires communautaires pour Tata Steel Minerals Canada. Avant même qu'on s'installe ici, la minière signe des ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages. Ces ententes visent à maximiser les bénéfices, les retombées pour les communautés autochtones.

Chef Réal McKenzie

Parce que la vague elle arrive sur toi, t'es pas prêt dans rien, à former tes gens, à créer des entreprises, à faire tout ce qu'il y a à faire pour faire face à ces contrats-là. Des méga contrats, on parle de 150, 200 millions de contrats là-dedans. Chef Réal McKenzie de la communauté de Matimekosh-Lac-John. Pour ceux et celles qui ne connaissent pas Matimekosh-Lac-John, c'est Schefferville. Tata Steel c'est ça. L'exploitation, le pétrole, les transports de… c'est gros.

Coco Calderhead

L'Initiative Trésor du Nord nous permet d'élaborer, d'échanger assez directement sur les besoins immédiats et y a une compréhension des deux côtés et un dialogue qui est très positif et constructeur.

Guillaume Vincent

Le fait qu'une minière puisse s'installer près d'une communauté, ça peut être mille employés. Des gens qui ont besoin de manger, qui ont besoin de linge, qui ont besoin de transport donc pour une communauté, c'est un levier très important. Mon nom est Guillaume Vincent, je suis directeur général de la CDEM, la corporation de développement économique montagnaise. Ce qu'on a fait avec l'ITN au cours des dernières années principalement c'est des projets d'infrastructures, c'est des projets comme par exemple l'hôtel ici à Uashat, le dépanneur à Matimekosh-Lac-John, un simulateur de train qui est au CEGEP ici.

Pierre Bastien

Le développement économique autochtone se fait beaucoup par opportunité. Donc là il y avait une opportunité puis l'Initiative s'est dit on va investir dans ça pour améliorer le sort des communautés dans cette opportunité-là. Je me nomme Pierre Bastien, directeur général de la commission de développement économique des Premières Nation du Québec et du Labrador. On sait qu'une minière c'est comme un village quand elle s'installe. Donc elle a besoin de concierges, elle a besoin de restaurateurs, de transports… qu'importe. C'est que ça devient comme un petit village et là on a besoin de gens autant que possible locaux pour le faire. Donc on a développé un processus de consultation dans les communautés à savoir quels types d'entreprises qui existent, et on a fait le répertoire. On parle de 1100 entreprises répertoriées dans les communautés.

Coco Calderhead

Nous on garde cette information, le répertoire, et dans notre chaine d'approvisionnement on doit s'assurer que l'information sur ces compagnies est diffusée aux gens qui veulent soumissionner sur des contrats.

Ralph Cleary

On avait rencontré le directeur des ressources humaines de Tata Steel et puis évidemment leur premier questionnement ça a été de dire : «  Bon écoutez on est prêt à embaucher de la clientèle Premières Nations mais on a besoin de savoir quelle genre de clientèle est disponible puis quels genres de formation ils ont aussi et d'expérience de travail. » Je m'appelle Ralph Cleary. Je suis un innu de Mashtueiash. Je suis directeur général pour la commission de développement des ressources humaines des Premières Nations du Québec. La contribution de l'Initiative Trésor du Nord pour notre organisation elle est très palpable. Cette Initiative là nous a permis de développer des profils de main d'œuvre, des nouveaux partenariats. Les profils de main-d'œuvre sont un inventaire des ressources à l'intérieur des communautés en termes d'emplois et de formation.

Coco Calderhead

Et l'Initiative Trésor du Nord pour nous c'est un partenaire clé, un partenaire important pour pouvoir développer des programmes, des formations et mieux préparer le monde pour le travail qu'ils ont à faire.

Chef Réal McKenzie

C'est d'avenir qu'on parle ici. Quand on voit des jeunes se former comme ça pour trouver des emplois, c'est pour assurer leur avenir.

Ricky Fontaine

Et c'est ça que l'Initiative essaie de faire. C'est trouver des synergies à l'intérieur de toutes les initiatives qui peuvent y avoir sur la Côte-Nord et dans la fosse du Labrador et en faire bénéficier le plus de monde possible.

Date de modification :