Professional and Institutional Development Program: Program Guidelines

Table of contents

Introduction

Strong governance forms the foundation of a community. When capacity is developed a community can enhance and grow to suit its needs. The Professional and Institutional Development Program seeks to develop the capacity of First Nations and Inuit communities to perform core functions of government by funding governance-related projects at the community and institutional levels. It is a plan-based contribution program (please see 'Eligible Projects’ for the ten core functions of government).

These Guidelines provide information on eligibility, assessment, approval, and reporting requirements. Each Region has an independent budget for the Professional and Institutional Development Program, for use in funding projects that will benefit the governance capacity of First Nations and Inuit communities in that Region.

In order to better inform the Department of your organization’s priorities applications will continue to be based on the initiatives and projects contained in a recipient’s plan. A plan-based approach will allow the Department to focus on the highest priorities identified by First Nations, Inuit and Tribal Councils, in their plans; and reduce the need for multiple, detailed funding proposals.

Eligible Projects

Effective governance will be advanced by projects that develop governance capacity in any of the following ten core functions of government:

  1. Leadership
  2. Membership
  3. Law-Making
  4. Community Involvement
  5. External Relations
  6. Planning and Risk Management
  7. Financial Management
  8. Human Resources Management
  9. Information Management / Information Technology
  10. Basic Administration

Please see attached, Annex A, for a more comprehensive list of eligible projects, activities, expenditures, and restrictions on approvals.

Treasury Board Authority for "Contributions to supply public services in Indian Government Support and to build strong governance, administrative and accountability systems" is the Authority used for Professional and Institutional Development Program funding, and can be found on the Department’s Website.

Eligibility - Who can apply

Eligible Beneficiaries

In order to be eligible for funding, plans, or proposals if required, must benefit the governance capacity of one or more:

  • First Nations and/or
  • Tribal councils, and/or
  • Inuit communities.

Plans or proposals will not be approved if they aim to build the capacity of organizations that manage service-delivery grant or contribution programs, such as Education Authorities or Child and Family Services Agencies. Additionally, plans or proposals targeting the governance capacity of Provincial / Territorial Organizations are not eligible for Professional and Institutional Development Program funding.

Eligible Recipients

Recipients of Professional and Institutional Development Program funding can be any organization that has had an eligible plan or proposal approved by a Professional and Institutional Development Program committee.

Application Phase

Plans or proposals should originate from the First Nation or Inuit organization that will manage the contribution funding

Plans

The format of the capacity development plan is the decision of each community. It should provide at minimum, adequate information to allow for consideration of a community’s governance initiative, governance objective, governance activity costs, and performance measurement.

Plans must include a governance component, examples include:

  • Governance capacity development plans
  • Management Action Plans (formerly Remedial Management Plans).
  • Strategic Plans
  • Comprehensive Community Plans

The associated plan need not be complicated, or as extensive as a comprehensive community plan. You may already have a plan in place that can be used for the purposes of the Professional and Institutional Development Program. If you do not already have a capacity development plan in place you may wish to use the Governance Capacity Planning Tool that is available on the Department's website.

Assessment phase

The assessment process for evaluating plans or proposals ensures that all plans or proposals are evaluated objectively by Regional Professional and Institutional Development Program Assessment committees against the Terms and Conditions of the program, community needs, risk, and availability of funds. Plans and proposals are assessed, recommended and approved on the following criteria:

All plans or proposals are to

  • either:
    1. list an applicant that is the sole beneficiary, or
    2. list any specific beneficiaries and demonstrate that they have given the applicant a mandate to manage the proposed activities on their behalf;
  • demonstrate that the applicant has, and can continue to maintain, the financial management controls and practices required to manage the proposed activities;
  • provide a description of the project objective(s), activities, outputs and expected outcome(s), including the criteria for measurement of success;
  • provide a budget proposal outlining the activities and costs, accompanied with a cash flow projection based on the budget proposal;
  • declare any and all prospective sources of funding, such as contributions from other government departments or agencies, or funds which the recipient and/or beneficiaries will contribute towards the proposed activities; and
  • in the case of third party delivery, such as when the applicant proposes to hire another organization to deliver some of the proposed activities, provide a description of the arrangement which indicates the respective roles, responsibilities and accountabilities of each party to the arrangement.

Notice to Applicants

Non-personal information collected in your plan may be shared with internal partners and other Government Departments to increase joint community-focused capacity investments and leverage partnerships. In the event that the plan contains personal information, the personal information will be administered in accordance with the Privacy Act

Approval phase

Following the assessment and approval of your plan or proposal, applicants will be notified in writing of the Department's decision. Should any of the proposed activities be approved by the committee, the originator of the plan or proposal will receive a Project Approval Letter. This letter will detail the activities that can be funded, along with any reporting requirements specific to those activities. The originator of the plan or proposal, and the Department can then enter into a funding arrangement, or agree to an amendment to an existing arrangement.

Reporting phase

Annual Report

Each recipient must prepare and submit a Report on Activities and Expenditures providing a summary of activities, outcomes, and financial details. Any additional supporting documentation and deliverables detailed in the Project Approval Letter are to be submitted with the report. Supporting documentation may include (but are not limited to) proofs of purchase, invoices, and training certificates.

Recipients will not be eligible for further Professional and Institutional Development Program funding while annual reports are overdue. If a complete report is not submitted within a reasonable period of time, the recipient will be subject to a recovery of funds up to the full value of the contribution.

In many cases, projects fund the creation of a tangible product, such as codes, policies, chart of accounts, templates, frameworks, constitutions, training materials and additional plans. In order to ensure that deliverables are available as a shareable resource, funding arrangements contain standard text which allows the Department to share these documents publicly.

Annex A:  Eligible Projects, Activities, Expenditures, and Restrictions on Approvals

Eligible Projects

Examples of Eligible Projects:
  • Purchase of Software and/or Hardware that will be used for the general financial administration of the First Nation.
  • A comprehensive review of Governance, involving several or all programs, producing a short or long term strategic plan for a First Nation
  • Training in areas such as Financial Management, or Human Resources Management for Band Managers, Chief and Council, and/or Band Office staff.
Examples of Ineligible Projects:
  • Purchase of Software and/or Hardware that is required for an individual Program's administration (eg: Social Program software).
  • A review of an individual  program, producing a document for use in the management of that program (eg: a Housing Plan or Land Management Code).
  • Training for staff on software explicitly concerned with a program's operations (eg: training Child and Family Services staff on new CFS software).
  • Capacity development activities already listed in a tribal council's approved work plan that is to be undertaken with Tribal Council Funding.

Eligible Activities

Proposed activities are eligible for funding when they will develop the governance capacity of one or more of the Functions of Government.

Function of Government Examples of Eligible ActivitiesFootnote 1 Examples of Ineligible Activities
Leadership: Leadership selection codes, Custom election codes, Orientation of Chiefs and Councillors, Policies on Roles and Responsibilities of Elected/Appointed Election costs, Regular meetings of Chief and Council, Band Council Resolution costs
Membership: Membership Codes Membership Clerk salary
Law-Making: Bylaw policies Litigation costs
Community Involvement: Community Consultation Codes, Appeals and Dispute Resolution Codes Meetings on regular community business
External Relations: Policies or Codes on conducting business with other governments or the private sector Travel costs for regular meetings with other governments
Planning and Risk Management: Training in Strategic Planning Housing Plans, Land Use Plans
Financial Management: Financial Codes, Financial Systems training and upgrades Audit costs
Human Resources Management: Human Resources Codes, Developing Standardized Job Descriptions and Salary ranges, Labour Relations training and policies Recruitment costs and/or salaries of employees
Information Management / Information Technology: Information Security Policies, Upgrades of Band Office Information Technology Internet Service Provider fees
Basic Administration: Administrative Training for Office Staff, Administration Codes Operating costs that would still occur without project funding

Eligible Expenditures

Expenditures listed in plans or proposals are only valid where they are in support of an eligible activity, and when they fall under one or more of the following categories:

  • Tuition and training fees
  • Salaries and wages
  • Travel, transportation and accommodation
  • Telecommunications
  • Other communications
  • Office rent and overhead
  • Office supplies and printing
  • Professional services
  • Community information initiatives
  • Systems design, implementation and maintenance
  • Hardware and software needed to support data collection, analysis and reporting

Requests for additional funding for general "administration" costs of a project (e.g.: 10% of the project cost) are not valid. The costs of administering Professional and Institutional Development Program projects should be built into the proposed expenditures, rather than in addition to them.

The Professional and Institutional Development Program can only be used to reimburse costs that were submitted as part of a proposal before the expenses were incurred.

Restrictions on Approvals

Project funding only: The Professional and Institutional Development Program does not provide core operational funding.  Recipients are advised that Professional and Institutional Development Program funding should not be relied upon as a source of ongoing revenue.

Repetition and extension of projects: The Professional and Institutional Development Program may not fund identical projects year over year with the same beneficiary. Repetition of a project is allowed if the beneficiaries are different, such as when an organization repeats a training project for new beneficiaries that have not yet attended the training.

Recipients and beneficiaries should not interpret Professional and Institutional Development Program funding for current year's activities as a guarantee that INAC will fund related activities planned for upcoming fiscal years.

Recipients under Default Management: Recipients in Default Management are encouraged to apply for Professional and Institutional Development Program funding, for use in governance capacity projects that will help them to complete their Management Action Plan. Professional and Institutional Development Program funds may not be used to support the core costs of Co-Managers or Third Party Managers.

Duplication: The Professional and Institutional Development Program is designed to be implemented flexibly, but it is not designed to duplicate activities funded by other programs or to supplement funding in other program areas. Activities that provide training, resources, and/or services for a specific Departmental  program are not eligible for funding. Activities that impact several or all programs indirectly, by building the beneficiary's governance capacity in one or more of the ten functions of government, would be eligible for funding.

Existing Governance Resources: When resources are available, which are similar to a proposed project activity, Professional and Institutional Development Program funding will not cover the full costs of developing a new product. In these cases, Professional and Institutional Development Program funds can fund related costs such as planning, engaging, customizing existing products to the unique needs of the beneficiary, ratification, and implementation.

Date modified:

Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel : Lignes directrices du programme 2017-2018

Table des matières

Présentation

Les présentes lignes directrices du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel (PDPI) d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) visent, par le truchement d'initiatives locales, régionales et nationales, à aider les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations à accroître leurs capacités en matière d'exercice des pouvoirs.

Le PDPI est un programme de contribution axé sur des plans qui finance les principaux projets de renforcement de la capacité de gouvernance (veuillez consulter « Projets admissibles » pour les dix fonctions essentielles du gouvernement). Chacune des régions d'AANC a un budget indépendant pour le PDPI, dont elle se sert pour financer des projets qui amélioreront la capacité d'exercice des pouvoirs des collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations se trouvant dans cette région.

Pour l'exercice 2017-2018, afin d'être mieux informé des priorités de votre organisation, le Ministère fondera la demande de financement de renforcement des capacités sur les initiatives et les projets figurant dans le propre plan de renforcement des capacités du bénéficiaire; par conséquent, afin d'avoir accès au financement, les projets devront être indiqués clairement dans le plan de renforcement des capacités.

Objectif du programme

Financer des projets de gouvernance à l’échelle communautaire et institutionnelle afin d’améliorer la capacité des collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations d’exécuter les fonctions essentielles d’un gouvernement.

Projets admissibles

La bonne gouvernance communautaire sera appuyée au moyen de projets qui renforcent la capacité de gouvernance dans l'une ou l'autre des dix fonctions essentielles suivantes :

  1. Leadership
  2. Appartenance
  3. Compétence législative
  4. Participation communautaire
  5. Relations externes
  6. Planification et gestion du risque
  7. Gestion financière
  8. Gestion des ressources humaines
  9. Gestion de l’information / technologie de l’information
  10. Administration de base

L'annexe A, ci-jointe, présente la liste plus exhaustive des projets, des activités et des dépenses admissibles, ainsi que des restrictions relatives aux approbations.

L'autorisation du Conseil du Trésor « Contributions servant à la prestation de services publics dans le domaine du soutien aux gouvernements indiens et à l'établissement de systèmes solides de gouvernance, d'administration et de responsabilisation » est l'autorisation utilisée pour verser le financement du PDPI, se trouve sur le site Web d'AANC.

Admissibilité - qui peut présenter une demande?

Bénéficiaires admissibles

Pour être admissibles au financement, les plans ou propositions, si nécessaire, doivent améliorer la capacité de gouvernance d'au moins un des groupes suivants :

  • Premières Nations;
  • conseils tribaux;
  • collectivités inuites.

Les plans ou propositions visant à renforcer les capacités des organisations, comme les autorités compétentes en matière d'éducation ou les organismes de services à l'enfance et à la famille, qui gèrent des programmes de subventions et de contributions pour la prestation de services ne seront pas approuvés. De plus, les plans ou propositions ciblant la capacité d'exercice des pouvoirs d'organismes provinciaux/territoriaux ne sont pas admissibles au financement du PDPI.

Bénéficiaires admissibles

Toute organisation dont un plan ou une proposition recevable a été approuvé par un comité du PDPI peut recevoir une contribution.

Phase de la demande

Les plans ou les propositions doivent être présentés par l'organisation qui gérera les fonds versés sous forme de contribution.

Plans de développement de la capacité

Bien que sa forme soit laissée à la discrétion de chaque collectivité, le plan de développement des capacités doit tout de même présenter au minimum assez d’information pour permettre l’étude d’une initiative de gouvernance, d’un objectif de gouvernance, du coût d’une activité de gouvernance et de la mesure du rendement.

En voici des exemples, mais tous doivent comporter un volet de gouvernance :

  • plan de développement des capacités de gouvernance;
  • plan d'action de la direction (auparavant plan de redressement).
  • plans stratégiques;
  • plans communautaires globaux.

Un plan de développement des capacités ne doit pas nécessairement être complexe ni être aussi exhaustif qu'un plan communautaire global. En fait, vous disposez peut-être déjà d'un plan qui peut servir à présenter une demande de financement au titre du PDPI. Si tel n'est pas le cas, vous pourriez envisager d'utiliser l'Outil de planification de la capacité de gouvernance accessible sur le site Web d'AANC. Le gabarit de demande du plan de développement des capacités présente un format interactif qui peut être rempli en ligne puis imprimé pour votre soumission.

Phase d'évaluation

Le processus d'évaluation fondé sur des critères, utilisé pour évaluer les plans ou propositions, fait en sorte que tous les plans ou propositions de projet soient évalués de façon objective par les comités du PDPI en fonction des modalités du Programme, des besoins des collectivités, du risque et de la disponibilité du financement. Les plans et propositions sont évalués, recommandés et approuvés selon les critères suivants :

Tous les plans ou propositions doivent :

Avis aux demandeurs

Conformément à l'objectif que le Ministère s'est fixé de soutenir le cadre de développement des communautés et de renforcement des capacités, il est possible que l'on communique des renseignements non personnels obtenus dans votre plan à des partenaires internes et à d'autres ministères (comme Santé Canada) afin de bonifier les investissements dans la capacité axés sur les collectivités et stimuler les partenariats.

Si le plan comprend des renseignements personnels, ceux-ci seront administrés conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Phase d'approbation

À la suite de l’évaluation et de l’approbation du plan ou de la proposition, les demandeurs sont avisés par écrit de la décision d’AANC. Lorsqu’une activité proposée est approuvée par un comité, l’auteur de la proposition ou du plan reçoit une lettre d’approbation de projet. La lettre détaillera les activités qui peuvent être financées ainsi que les exigences en matière de rapports connexes. L’auteur du plan ou de la proposition et le Ministère concluront une entente de financement ou conviendront des changements à apporter à une entente en vigueur.

Phase de rapport

Rapport annuel

Chaque bénéficiaire doit préparer et soumettre un rapport sur les activités et les dépenses dressant un sommaire des activités, des résultats et des détails financiers. Tous les documents additionnels à l'appui, ainsi que tous les résultats attendus détaillés dans la lettre d'approbation de projet, doivent accompagner le rapport. Les documents à l'appui peuvent être, notamment, des preuves d'achat, des factures et des certificats de formation.

Les bénéficiaires ne peuvent pas recevoir de financement supplémentaire du PDPI lorsque leur rapport annuel est en retard. Si un rapport complet n'est pas présenté dans un délai raisonnable, les fonds versés au bénéficiaire font l'objet d'un recouvrement pouvant aller jusqu'à la pleine valeur de la contribution.

Dans de nombreux cas, les projets financent la création de produits concrets, comme des codes, des politiques, des plans comptables, des gabarits, des cadres, des constitutions, des documents de formation et des plans. Pour que les produits livrables deviennent une ressource commune, les ententes de financement renferment des dispositions standard permettant au Ministère de diffuser publiquement ces documents. Les conditions relatives aux droits d'auteur et à la propriété intellectuelle visent à permettre la réalisation d'économies d'échelle en rendant tous les produits livrables accessibles aux futurs demandeurs. Il s'agit de fournir aux bénéficiaires, qui pourront les examiner et les adapter à leurs propres besoins, une base de connaissances toujours d'actualité sur les ressources en renforcement de la capacité de gouvernance.

Annexe A : Projets, activités et dépenses admissibles, et restrictions relatives aux approbations

Projets admissibles

Exemples de projets admissibles :

  • Achat de logiciels ou de matériel qui sera utilisé pour l'administration financière générale de la Première Nation.
  • Un examen complet de la gouvernance, portant sur plusieurs programmes ou sur la totalité des programmes et produisant un plan stratégique à court ou à long terme pour une Première Nation.
  • De la formation en gestion financière ou en gestion des ressources humaines pour le conseil, le chef et les gestionnaires de bande, ou pour le personnel du bureau de la bande.

Exemples de projets non admissibles :

  • Achat de logiciels ou de matériel nécessaire à l'administration d'un seul programme (logiciel de programme social, par exemple).
  • Examen d'un programme produisant un document qui servira à la gestion de ce programme (p. ex. un plan de logement ou un code de gestion des terres).
  • De la formation pour le personnel sur des logiciels portant essentiellement sur les activités d'un programme (p. ex. de la formation pour le personnel des services à l'enfance et à la famille [SEF] sur de nouveaux logiciels de SEF).
  • Activités de renforcement des capacités figurant déjà sur la liste du plan de travail approuvé d'un conseil tribal qui sera réalisé au moyen du Financement des conseils tribaux.

Activités admissibles Note de bas de page 1

Les activités proposées peuvent recevoir du financement si elles améliorent la capacité d'exercer les pouvoirs relatifs à au moins une des fonctions du gouvernement.

Fonction du gouvernement Exemples d’activités de développement de la capacité de gouvernance admissibles Note de bas de page 1 Exemples d'activités non admissibles
Leadership Codes de sélection des dirigeants, codes électoraux coutumiers, orientation des chefs et des conseillers, politiques sur les rôles et les responsabilités des élus/personnes nommées Coûts d’une élection, réunions régulières du chef et du conseil, coûts des résolutions du conseil de bande
Appartenance Codes d’appartenance Salaire du commis aux effectifs
Compétence législative Politiques sur les règlements Frais de litige
Participation communautaire Codes de consultation de la collectivité, codes pour les appels et la résolution des différends Réunions pour les affaires ordinaires de la collectivité
Relations externes Politiques ou codes sur la façon de faire affaire avec d'autres gouvernements ou avec le secteur privé Frais de déplacement pour les réunions régulières avec d'autres gouvernements
Planification et gestion du risque Formation en planification stratégique Plans de logement, plans d'utilisation des terres
Gestion financière Codes financiers, formation et mise à niveau relatives aux systèmes financiers Coûts d’une vérification
Gestion des ressources humaines Codes de ressources humaines, élaboration d'échelles salariales et de descriptions de travail normalisées, politiques et formation en relations de travail Coûts du recrutement et salaires des employés
Gestion de l’information et de la technologie de l’information Politiques relatives à la sécurité de l'information, mise à niveau de la technologie de l'information du bureau de la bande Coût des services Internet
Administration de base Formation pour le personnel de bureau, codes administratifs Frais d'exploitation qui existeraient même sans le financement du projet

Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses mentionnées dans les plans ou propositions ne sont valables que si elles appuient une activité admissible et qu’elles correspondent à une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :

  • Frais de scolarité et de formation
  • Salaires et traitements
  • Voyages, transport et hébergement
  • Télécommunications
  • Autres communications
  • Loyer de bureau et frais généraux
  • Fournitures de bureau et impression
  • Services professionnels
  • Initiatives d’information communautaire
  • Conception, mise en œuvre et entretien de systèmes
  • Matériel et logiciels nécessaires au soutien de la collecte, de l’analyse et de la déclaration des données

Les demandes de fonds supplémentaires pour les frais d’« administration » générale d’un projet (10 % du coût du projet, par exemple) ne sont pas valides. Le coût de l’administration des projets du PDPI doit être intégré aux dépenses proposées plutôt que de s’y ajouter.

Le PDPI peut seulement servir au remboursement des frais qui étaient soumis dans une proposition avant que les dépenses soient engagées.

Restrictions relatives aux approbations

Financement de projet seulement : Le PDPI n’offre pas de fonds opérationnels de base. On informe les bénéficiaires que le financement du PDPI ne doit pas être perçu comme une source de revenus permanente.

Répétition et prolongation de projets : Le PDPI ne peut pas financer de projets identiques ayant le même bénéficiaire d’une année à l’autre. Un projet peut être repris si les bénéficiaires sont différents, comme lorsqu’une organisation répète un projet de formation pour de nouveaux bénéficiaires qui n’ont pas encore suivi cette formation.

Les destinataires et bénéficiaires ne doivent pas considérer le financement consenti par le PDPI pour les activités de l’année en cours comme une garantie qu’AANC financera les activités connexes prévues pour les exercices suivants.

Bénéficiaires visés par la gestion des défauts de conformité : Les bénéficiaires visés par la gestion des défauts de conformité sont invités à présenter une demande de financement au titre du PDPI aux fins de la réalisation des projets de renforcement des capacités de gouvernance, qui les aideront à achever leur plan d’action de la gestion. Les fonds du PDPI ne peuvent servir à régler le coût de la cogestion ou des séquestres-administrateurs.

Double emploi : Le PDPI est conçu de manière à être mis en œuvre avec souplesse, mais il est aussi conçu de telle façon que ses activités ne fassent pas double emploi avec celles que financent d’autres programmes et qu’il ne complète pas le financement dans d’autres domaines de programme. Les activités visant à fournir de la formation, des ressources ou des services à un programme précis d’AANC ne sont pas admissibles au financement. Les activités qui ont indirectement des incidences sur plusieurs programmes ou sur la totalité des programmes, parce qu’elles renforcent la capacité de gouvernance du bénéficiaire en ce qui concerne au moins une des dix fonctions du gouvernement, sont admissibles au financement.

Ressources existantes de gouvernance : Lorsqu’il existe des ressources similaires à une activité proposée dans le cadre d’un projet, le PDPI ne finance pas la totalité du coût de l’élaboration d’un nouveau produit. Dans les cas de ce genre, le PDPI pourra financer les coûts associés à la planification, à la participation, à l’adaptation de produits existants aux besoins particuliers du bénéficiaire, à la ratification et à la mise en œuvre.

L'administration centrale d'AANC a réuni des exemples des nombreux produits et gabarits généralement créés grâce aux fonds du PDPI.

Date de modification :