Remediating Faro Mine in the Yukon

Learn about efforts to remediate this mine.

On this page:

What's new?

What is the Faro Mine?

Faro Mine

Faro Mine was once the largest open pit lead-zinc mine in the world. Today, it is the site of one of the most complex abandoned mine remediation projects in Canada.

It is located in south-central Yukon, near the town of Faro, on the Traditional Territory of three Kaska Nations including Ross River Dena Council, Liard First Nation, Kaska Dena Council, and upstream from Selkirk First Nation. The Faro Mine site is located across 25 sq. km – an area that is roughly the size of the City of Victoria in British Columbia.

Processing the valuable minerals at the mine left behind 70 million tonnes of tailings and 320 million tonnes of waste rock, which have the potential to leach heavy metals and acid into the surrounding land and water.

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that the clean-up of Faro Mine will leave a more positive legacy for the environment, local people and the local economy.

Who is responsible for Faro Mine?

Faro Mine

In 1998, after 30 years of mining, when the last owner declared bankruptcy, the Government of Canada stepped in to fund the work required to keep the site safe. Today, through a joint project team, the governments of Canada and Yukon are working to provide regular care and maintenance while a plan is developed to remediate the mine. In 2016, the Kaska Faro Secretariat was formed and represents Kaska involvement in the project.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is leading the final design phase of the remediation plan. The Government of Yukon's Department of Energy, Mines and Resources is leading the ongoing care and maintenance of the mine site. All funding for these activities is provided through the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan.

The clean-up plan

In 2009, after many years of research, extensive professional review and consultation, a remediation approach was selected.

Key features selected for the remediation of the site include:

In partnership with the Kaska First Nation, Selkirk First Nation and other affected and interested groups, the Faro Mine Remediation Project team established five critical objectives for the remediation plan:

  1. protect human health and safety
  2. protect and, to the extent practicable, restore the environment including land, air, water, fish and wildlife
  3. return the mine site to an acceptable state of use that reflects pre-mining land use where practicable
  4. maximize local and Yukon socio-economic benefits
  5. manage long-term site risk in a cost-effective manner

Timeline

Learn about key dates in the remediation project through this infographic.

What's next?

Remediation experts are working on a detailed remediation plan – including engineering designs. Once complete, it will to be submitted to the Yukon Environmental and Socio-Economic Assessment Board and the Yukon Water Board for assessment and regulatory review.

Higher risks identified in the plan will be addressed even before the full remediation plan is completed to maintain environmental standards. This work includes addressing the elevated zinc levels in the North Fork of Rose Creek and upgrading the intermediate dam to bring it up to present day standards.

Once the regulatory, environmental and socio-economic assessments are approved and the project receives final approval, the major construction phase will begin. It is expected to take about 15 years to complete, followed by 20 to 25 years of testing, monitoring and making any needed improvements to the site.

Some areas of the Faro Mine site will always remain under active management and monitoring.

Consultation and engagement

Faro Mine is located in the Traditional Territory of the Kaska Nation and is upstream from the Traditional Territory of Selkirk First Nation.

A key aspect of the Faro Mine Remediation Project has been ongoing consultation and engagement with the Kaska, Selkirk First Nation, the town of Faro and other interested parties. The project team is keeping these groups informed and involved.

Through an on-going and respectful nation-to-nation dialogue, the Faro Mine Remediation Project will continue as a partnership with local First Nations. There is a commitment to provide jobs for local First Nations and other Yukoners ranging from specialized services to general labour.

In partnership with the Government of Canada and the Government of Yukon, the Kaska Faro Secretariat was established in 2016 to represent Ross River Dena Council and Liard First Nation interests in the Faro Mine Remediation Project. The secretariat will coordinate Kaska participation in the planning process and further enable the Kaska to be an effective and contributing partner in all phases of the project.

Contracting and jobs

Most of the design work for the Faro Mine Remediation Project will be tendered and awarded through buyandsell.gc.ca. You can find requests for proposals or tenders by using the key words "Faro Mine" in the search field.

For construction work on the project, visit the Government of Yukon's website.

Contact us

Faro Mine Remediation Project
25 Eddy Street, 10th floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H4
Email: faromine@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

L’assainissement de la mine Faro au Yukon

Apprenez-en davantage au sujet des mesures prises pour assainir cette mine.

Sur cette page :

Quoi de neuf?

Qu'est-ce que la mine Faro?

Faro Mine

La mine Faro a été l'une des plus grandes mines de plomb et de zinc à ciel ouvert du monde. Aujourd'hui, c'est le site de l'un des projets d'assainissement de mines abandonnées parmi les plus complexes au Canada.

Le site se trouve au centre-sud du Yukon, près de la ville de Faro, sur le territoire traditionnel de la Nation Kaska (le Conseil des Dénés de Ross River, la Première Nation de Liard, le Conseil des Dénés de Kaska) et en amont de la Première Nation de Selkirk. Il occupe une superficie de 25 km carrés, soit environ la taille de la ville de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.

Le traitement des minéraux précieux à la mine a produit 70 millions de tonnes de résidus et 320 millions de tonnes de déchets de roche, qui pourraient lixivier des métaux lourds et de l'acide dans les terrains et les eaux environnants.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à faire en sorte que le nettoyage de la mine Faro laisse un nouvel héritage plus positif pour l'environnement, la population environnante et l'économie locale.

Qui est responsable de la mine Faro?

Faro Mine

En 1998, après 30 ans d'activités minières, lorsque les propriétaires ont déclaré faillite, le gouvernement du Canada a entrepris de financer les travaux requis pour assurer la sécurité du site.

Aujourd'hui, dans le cadre d'un projet conjoint, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Yukon collaborent pour assurer l'entretien et le suivi réguliers du site pendant l'élaboration d'un plan d'assainissement. En 2016, le Secrétariat Kaska Faro a été mis sur pied pour assurer la participation des Kaska au projet.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) dirige l'étape de la conception finale du plan d'assainissement. Pour sa part, le ministère de l'Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources du Yukon dirige l'entretien et le suivi continus du site. La totalité du financement de ces activités est fournie aux termes du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

Le plan d’assainissement

En 2009, après des années de recherche, un examen professionnel exhaustif et des consultations, une approche a été choisie pour l'assainissement.

Voici les principales caractéristiques du plan d'assainissement du site :

En partenariat avec la Première Nation Kaska, la Première Nation de Selkirk, et d'autres groupes concernés et intéressés, l'équipe du projet d'assainissement de la mine Faro a établi pour le plan d'assainissement cinq objectifs essentiels :

  1. protéger la santé et la sécurité des personnes;
  2. protéger et, dans la mesure du possible, restaurer l'environnement, ce qui comprend les terres, l'air, l'eau, les poissons et les espèces sauvages;
  3. dans la mesure du possible, remettre le site minier en état d'être utilisé comme il l'était avant l'aménagement de la mine;
  4. optimiser les avantages socioéconomiques pour les collectivités locales et le Yukon;
  5. gérer le risque à long terme de façon rentable.

Échéancier

Découvrez les dates clés dans le projet d’assainissement avec cette infographie.

Les prochaines étapes

Les spécialistes de l'assainissement travaillent à un plan d'assainissement détaillé – y compris à des devis techniques. Une fois terminé, le plan sera soumis à l'examen réglementaire et l'évaluation de l'Office d'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon et de l'Office des eaux du Yukon (site Web non disponible en français).

Les risques les plus élevés qui auront été identifiés dans le plan seront pris en compte avant l'exécution totale du plan d'assainissement afin de respecter les normes environnementales. Ces travaux consistent notamment à s'attaquer aux niveaux élevés de zinc dans la fourche nord du ruisseau Rose et à améliorer le barrage intermédiaire afin qu'il respecte les normes actuelles.

Lorsque les évaluations réglementaires, environnementales et socioéconomiques seront terminées et que le projet sera approuvé définitivement, la principale étape de la construction pourra commencer. On prévoit qu'elle aura une durée de 15 ans; par la suite, pendant une période de 20 à 25 ans, des tests et une surveillance seront réalisés, et des améliorations seront apportées au besoin.

Certaines zones du site de la mine Faro devront toujours faire l'objet d'une gestion et d'une surveillance actives.

Consultation et mobilisation

La mine de Faro est située dans le territoire traditionnel de la Nation Kaska, en amont du territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation de Selkirk.

Un aspect clé du projet d'assainissement réside dans la consultation et la mobilisation constantes des Premières Nations Kaska et de Selkirk, de la Ville de Faro et d'autres parties prenantes. L'équipe de projet s'assure que ces groupes demeurent informés des efforts et qu'ils y contribuent.

Dans le cadre d'un dialogue continu et respectueux de nation à nation, le projet d'assainissement de la mine Faro se poursuivra en partenariat avec les Premières Nations locales. Il y a un engagement à fournir des emplois aux membres des Premières Nations locales et à d'autres résidants du Nord, qu'il s'agisse d'emplois dans des services spécialisés ou d'emplois non qualifiés.

En partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Yukon, le Secrétariat Kaska Faro a été créé en 2016 pour représenter les intérêts du Conseil des Dénés de Ross River et la Première Nation de Liard dans le projet d'assainissement de la mine Faro. Le Secrétariat coordonnera la participation de la Nation Kaska au processus de planification et lui permettra d'être un partenaire efficace et important à toutes les étapes du projet.

Marchés et emplois

La plupart des marchés pour la conception technique de la mine Faro feront l'objet d'appels d'offres et seront attribués par l'entremise du site Achatsetventes.gc.ca. Vous pourrez effectuer des recherches sur les demandes de propositions et les appels d'offres en utilisant les mots-clés « mine Faro » dans le champ de recherche.

En ce qui concerne les emplois associés à la construction de ce projet, visitez le site Web du gouvernement du Yukon (site Web non disponible en français).

Communiquez avec nous

Projet d'assainissement de la mine Faro
25, rue Eddy, 10e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H4
Courriel : faromine@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :