Plain Text Description of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration)

For information purposes

Below is the annotated legislative language for information purposes to respond to the Superior Court of Quebec in its August 3, 2015 decision, Descheneaux et al., v. Canada (Attorney General).

1 (1) Paragraph 6‍(1)‍(a) of the Indian Act is replaced by the following:

(a) that person was registered or entitled to be registered immediately before April 17, 1985;

Proposes to re-enact paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Indian Act which provides that individuals who were registered or entitled to be registered before the coming into force of Bill C-31 on April 17, 1985, continue to be registered or continue to be entitled to be registered after that date.

(2) Paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c) of the Act is replaced by the following:

(c) the name of that person was omitted or deleted from the Indian Register, or from a band list before September 4, 1951, under subparagraph 12‍(1)‍(a)‍(iv), paragraph 12‍(1)‍(b) or subsection 12‍(2) or under subparagraph 12‍(1)‍(a)‍(iii) pursuant to an order made under subsection 109‍(2), as each provision read immediately before April 17, 1985, or under any former provision of this Act relating to the same subject matter as any of those provisions;

Proposes to re-enact paragraph 6(1)(c) of the Indian Act which provides that the reinstatement of those individuals whose names were omitted or deleted from the Indian Register, or a Band List prior to April 17, 1985. Provides eligibility for Indian Status to:

(c.01) that person meets the following conditions:
(i) the name of one of their parents was, as a result of that parent's mother's marriage, omitted or deleted from the Indian Register on or after September 4, 1951 under subparagraph 12‍(1)‍(a)‍(iii) pursuant to an order made under subsection 109‍(2), as each provision read immediately before April 17, 1985, or under any former provision of this act relating to the same subject matter as either of those provisions,
(ii) their other parent is not entitled to be registered or, if that other parent is no longer living, was not at the time of death entitled to be registered or was not an Indian at that time if the death occurred before September 4, 1951, and
(iii) they were born before April 17, 1985, whether or not their parents were married to each other at the time of the birth, or they were born after April 16, 1985 and their parents were married to each other at any time before April 17, 1985;

(c.01) proposes to deal with the differential treatment of minor children compared to their adult or married siblings who were born of Indian parents, or of an Indian mother, but lost entitlement to Indian status because their mother married a non-Indian after their birth, and between September 4, 1951 and April 16, 1985.

(3) Subsection 6(1) of the Act is amended by adding the following after paragraph (c.1):

(c.2) that person meets the following conditions:
(i) one of their parents is entitled to be registered under paragraph (c.1) or, if that parent is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death or would have been so entitled on the day on which that paragraph came into force, had he or she not died, and
(ii) they were born before April 17, 1985, whether or not their parents were married to each other at the time of the birth, or they were born after April 16, 1985 and their parents were married to each other at any time before April 17, 1985;

(c.2) proposes to deal with the "cousins" issue identified by the Court in its decision Descheneaux et al., v. Canada (Attorney General) by correcting the differential treatment in the acquisition and transmission of "Indian status" that arises among first cousins of the same family depending on the sex of their Indian grandparent, where the grandparent married a non-Indian prior to April 17, 1985.

(c.3) that person meets the following conditions:
(i) they were born female during the period beginning on September 4, 1951 and ending on April 16, 1985 and their parents were not married to each other at the time of the birth,
(ii) their father is entitled to be registered or, if he is no longer living, was at the time of death entitled to be registered, and
(iii) their mother was not at the time of that person's birth entitled to be registered;

(c.3) proposes to deal with the "siblings" issue identified by the Court in its decision Descheneaux et al., v. Canada (Attorney General) by correcting the differential treatment in the ability to transmit "Indian status" between male and female children whose parents were not married to each other at the time of birth. It proposes to provide entitlement under subsection 6(1) to individuals born female and out of wedlock of an Indian father and of a non-Indian mother. Transgendered males who were born female will be assured of their ability to be eligible for registration under subsection 6(1).

(c.4) that person meets the following conditions:
(i) one of their parents is entitled to be registered under paragraph (c.2) or (c.3) or, if that parent is no longer living, was at the time of death so entitled or would have been so entitled on the day on which that paragraph came into force, had he or she not died,
(ii) their other parent is not entitled to be registered or, if that other parent is no longer living, was not at the time of death entitled to be registered or was not an Indian at that time if the death occurred before September 4, 1951, and
(iii) they were born before April 17, 1985, whether or not their parents were married to each other at the time of the birth, or they were born after April 16, 1985 and their parents were married to each other at any time before April 17, 1985;

(c.4) flowing from the Court’s decision Descheneaux et al., v. Canada (Attorney General), proposes to provide for registration entitlement under subsection 6(1) for grandchildren and great-grandchildren of individuals affected by either the "cousins" issue or the "siblings" issue.

(4) Paragraph 6(1)(f) of the Act is replaced by the following:

(f) both parents of that person are entitled to be registered under this section or, if the parents are no longer living, were so entitled at the time of death.

Proposes to re-enact paragraph 6(1)(f) of the Indian Act to make eligible for registration an individual whose both parents are entitled to be registered, deemed entitled to be registered or are registered.

(5) Subsection 6(2) of the Act is replaced by the following:

Persons entitled to be registered

(2) Subject to section 7, a person is entitled to be registered if one of their parents is entitled to be registered under subsection (1) or, if that parent is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death.

Proposes to re-enact sub-section 6(2) of the Indian Act to make eligible for registration an individual with one parent who is entitled to be registered, deemed entitled to be registered or is registered.

Clarification

(2.1) A person who is entitled to be registered under both paragraph (1)‍(f) and any other paragraph of subsection (1) is considered to be entitled to be registered under that other paragraph only, and a person who is entitled to be registered under both subsection (2) and any paragraph of subsection (1) is considered to be entitled to be registered under that paragraph only.

Proposes to provide clarity where there are dual entitlements to registration. In order to give full effect to the proposed amendments, it is important to ensure that those entitled to be registered under 6(1)(c.1) are registered under this paragraph as their descendants could benefit from the new proposed registration provisions 6(1)(c.2) and (c.4) instead of only registering under 6(1)(f) or subsection 6(2).

(6) Subsection 6‍(3) of the Act is amended by striking out "and" at the end of paragraph (b), by adding "and" at the end of paragraph (c) and by adding the following after paragraph (c):

(d) a person described in paragraph (1)‍(c.01), (c.2), (c.3) or (c.4) and who was no longer living on the day on which that paragraph came into force is deemed to be entitled to be registered under that paragraph.

If a person is deemed entitled to be registered under paragraphs 6(1)(c.01), (c.2), (c.3) or (c.4) but is no longer living on the date of the coming into force of Bill S-3, that person is deemed entitled to registration. This would ensure that the children of individuals who would have been entitled under the new amendments had they not been deceased are entitled as if their ascendants were living and entitled to be registered under the new amendments.

2 (1) Subsection 11‍(3) of the Act is amended by striking out "and" at the end of paragraph (a) and by adding the following after that paragraph:

(a.1) a person who would have been entitled to be registered under any of paragraphs 6‍(1)‍(c.01) to (c.4), had they been living on the day on which that paragraph came into force, and who would otherwise have been entitled, on that day, to have their name entered in a Band List, is deemed to be entitled to have their name so entered; and

If a person is deemed entitled to registration under paragraphs 6(1)(c.01), 6(1)(c.1), 6(1)(c.2), 6(1)(c.3) or 6(1)(c.4) but deceased before the coming into force of the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act (Bill C-3) or before the date of the coming into force of Bill S-3, the person would be deemed to be entitled to have his or her name entered on the Band list maintained in the Department. This would ensure that children of individuals deceased, but newly entitled under these new provisions, also are entitled to have their name entered into the same Band list their parents would have been entitled to.

(2) Subsection 11‍(3.1) of the Act is replaced by the following:

Additional membership rule — paragraphs 6‍(1)‍(c.01) to (c.4)

(3.1) A person is entitled to have their name entered in a Band List that is maintained in the Department for a band if
(a) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.01) and one of their parents ceased to be a member of that band by reason of the circumstances set out in subparagraph 6‍(1)‍(c.01)‍(i);
(b) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.1) and their mother ceased to be a member of that band by reason of the circumstances set out in subparagraph 6‍(1)‍(c.1)‍(i);
(c) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.2) and one of their parents is entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.1) and to have his or her name entered in the Band List or, if that parent is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death or would have been so entitled on the day on which paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.1) came into force, had he or she not died;
(d) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.3) and their father is entitled to have his name entered in the Band List or, if their father is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death;
(e) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.4) and one of their parents is entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.2) and to have his or her name entered in the Band List or, if that parent is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death or would have been so entitled on the day on which paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.2) came into force, had he or she not died; or
(f) they are entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.4) and their mother is entitled to be registered under paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.3) and to have her name entered in the Band List, or, if the mother is no longer living, was so entitled at the time of death or would have been so entitled on the day on which paragraph 6‍(1)‍(c.3) came into force, had she not died.

Proposes to give the additional effect that for individuals newly entitled to registration under 6(1)(c.01), 6(1)(c.2), 6(1)(c.3) or 6(1)(c.4), they are entitled to have their names entered on the Band List maintained by the Department if they meet the requirements of the amended subsection 6 (3.1).

Transitional Provisions

Definition of declaration

3 (1) In sections 4 to 7 and 9, declaration means the declaration made on August 3, 2015 by the Superior Court of Quebec in Descheneaux v. Canada (Attorney General), 2015 QCCS 3555, that paragraphs 6(1)(a), (c) and (f) and subsection 6(2) of the Indian Act are inoperative.

Same meaning

(2) Words and expressions used in sections 4 to 8 have the same meaning as in the Indian Act.

Application

4 Sections 5 to 7 apply if the suspension of the declaration expires before the day on which the order fixing the day on which this Act comes into force is made.

Registration continued

5 For greater certainty, subject to any deletions made by the Registrar under subsection 5(3) of the Indian Act, any person who was, immediately before the suspension of the declaration expires, registered and entitled to be registered under paragraph 6(1)(a), (c) or (f) or subsection 6(2) of that Act continues to be registered.

Registration entitlements recognized

6 For greater certainty, subject to any deletions made by the Registrar under subsection 5(3) of the Indian Act, for the purposes of paragraph 6(1)(f) and subsection 6(2) of that Act, the Registrar must, in respect of the period beginning on the day after the day on which the suspension of the declaration expires and ending on the day on which the order fixing the day on which this Act comes into force is made, recognize any entitlements to be registered that existed under paragraph 6(1)(a), (c) or (f) or subsection 6(2) of the Indian Act immediately before the suspension of the declaration expires.

Membership continued

7 For greater certainty, any person whose name appeared immediately before the expiry of the suspension of the declaration on a Band List maintained in the Department is not deprived of the right to have their name entered on that Band List by reason only of the declaration.

Clauses 3 to 7 propose to apply only if the declaration of invalidity ("declaration") made on August 3, 2015 by the Superior Court of Quebec in Descheneaux takes effect on or before the day on which the order fixing the day on which Bill S3 comes into force is made. The declaration of invalidity would take effect if at the end of the suspension of the court’s order these amendments are not in force.

These clauses propose to ensure that any person who, immediately before the suspension of the declaration expires, is registered and entitled to be registered under paragraphs 6(1)(a), (c) and (f) and subsection 6(2) continues to be registered.

They also propose to authorize the Registrar to recognize any entitlement to be registered that existed before the suspension of the declaration expires under paragraphs 6(1)(a), (c) and (f) and subsection 6(2) for the purpose of determining entitlement under paragraph 6(1)(f) and subsection 6(2) of the Indian Act.

The provisions further propose to ensure that a person whose name appears on a Band list maintained in the Department immediately before the suspension of the declaration expires is not deprived of the right to have their name appear on that Band list by reason only of the expiration of the declaration.

Related Provision

No liability

8 For greater certainty, no person or body has a right to claim or receive any compensation, damages or indemnity from Her Majesty in right of Canada, any employee or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada, or a council of a band, for anything done or omitted to be done in good faith in the exercise of their powers or the performance of their duties, only because
(a) a person was not registered, or did not have their name entered in a Band List, immediately before the day on which this Act comes into force; and
(b) one of the person's parents is entitled to be registered under paragraph 6(1)(c.01), (c.2), (c.3) or (c.4) of the Indian Act.

Proposes to stipulate that no claim for compensation lies against the Crown, her employees or band councils for anything done in the performance of their duties because a person whose parent is entitled to registration under new paragraphs 6(1)(c.01), (c.2), (c.3) or (c.4) was not registered or included on a band list before the coming into force. That is, no person newly entitled to registration as of the coming into force of the legislation would be able to claim damages because they were not registered immediately prior to that date.

Coming into Force

Order in council

9 This Act comes into force, or is deemed to have come into force, on a day to be fixed by order of the Governor in Council, but that day must be the day on which the suspension of the declaration expires.

Should Bill S-3 not be enacted by the expiration of the Superior Court of Quebec’s suspended declaration of invalidity on February 3, 2017, allows the Governor in Council to bring the legislation into force retroactively, effective February 2, 2017.

Date modified:

La description en langage simple du projet de loi S-3, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les Indiens (élimination des iniquités fondées sur le sexe en matière d’inscription)

Pour information

À titre d’information, plus bas se trouve le langage législatif annoté en réponse à la Cour supérieure du Québec dans la décision Descheneaux et al. c. Canada (Procureur général) du 3 août 2015.

1 (1) L’alinéa 6(1)a) de la Loi sur les Indiens est remplacé par ce qui suit :

(a) elle était inscrite ou avait le droit de l’être le 16 avril 1985;

Cette disposition propose d’édicter de nouveau l’alinéa 6(1)a) de la Loi sur les Indiens, qui prévoit que les personnes qui étaient inscrites ou avaient le droit de l’être avant l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C 31 le 17 avril 1985 demeurent inscrites ou ont toujours le droit de l’être après cette date.

(2) L’alinéa 6(1)c) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :

(c) son nom a été omis ou retranché du registre des Indiens ou, avant le 4 septembre 1951, d’une liste de bande, en vertu du sous-alinéa 12(1)a)(iv), de l’alinéa 12(1)b) ou du paragraphe 12(2) ou en vertu du sous-alinéa 12(1)a)(iii) conformément à une ordonnance prise en vertu du paragraphe 109(2), dans leur version antérieure au 17 avril 1985, ou en vertu de toute disposition antérieure de la présente loi portant sur le même sujet que celui de l’une de ces dispositions;

Cette disposition propose d’édicter de nouveau l’alinéa 6(1)c) de la Loi sur les Indiens, qui prévoit la réintégration des personnes dont le nom a été omis ou retranché du registre des Indiens ou d’une liste de bande avant le 17 avril 1985. Il prévoit que les personnes suivantes peuvent bénéficier du statut d’Indien :

(c.01) elle remplit les conditions suivantes :
(i) le nom de l’un de ses parents a été, en raison du mariage de la mère de celui-ci, omis ou retranché du registre des Indiens le 4 septembre 1951 ou après cette date en vertu du sous-alinéa 12(1)a)(iii) conformément à une ordonnance prise en vertu du paragraphe 109(2), dans leur version antérieure au 17 avril 1985, ou en vertu de toute disposition antérieure de la présente loi portant sur le même sujet que celui de l’une de ces dispositions,
(ii) son autre parent n’a pas le droit d’être inscrit ou, s’il est décédé, soit n’avait pas ce droit à la date de son décès, soit n’était pas un Indien à cette date dans le cas d’un décès survenu avant le 4 septembre 1951,
(iii) elle est née soit avant le 17 avril 1985, que ses parents aient été ou non mariés l’un à l’autre au moment de sa naissance, soit après le 16 avril 1985, si ses parents se sont mariés l’un à l’autre à n’importe quel moment avant le 17 avril 1985;

L’alinéa c.01) propose de régler le traitement défavorable réservé aux enfants mineurs, par rapport à leurs frères ou sœurs adultes ou mariés, qui sont nés de parents indiens ou d’une mère indienne, mais qui ont perdu leur droit au statut d’Indien parce que leur mère s’est mariée à un non Indien après leur naissance, entre le 4 septembre 1951 et le 16 avril 1985.

(3) Le paragraphe 6(1) de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, après l’alinéa c.1), de ce qui suit :

(c.2) elle remplit les conditions suivantes :
(i) l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu de l’alinéa c.1) ou, s’il est décédé, avait ce droit à la date de son décès ou aurait eu ce droit à la date d’entrée en vigueur de cet alinéa n’eût été son décès,
(ii) elle est née soit avant le 17 avril 1985, que ses parents aient été ou non mariés l’un à l’autre au moment de sa naissance, soit après le 16 avril 1985, si ses parents se sont mariés l’un à l’autre à n’importe quel moment avant le 17 avril 1985;

L’alinéa c.2) propose de régler la question des « cousins » soulevée par la Cour dans la décision Descheneaux et al. c. Canada (Procureur général) en corrigeant la différence de traitement dans l’acquisition et la transmission du « statut d’Indien » qui survient parmi les premiers cousins de la même famille selon le sexe de leur grand parent indien lorsque le grand parent s’est marié à un non-Indien avant le 17 avril 1985.

(c.3) elle remplit les conditions suivantes :
(i) elle est une personne née de sexe féminin pendant la période commençant le 4 septembre 1951 et se terminant le 16 avril 1985, et ses parents n’étaient pas mariés l’un à l’autre au moment de sa naissance,
(ii) son père a le droit d’être inscrit ou, s’il est décédé, avait ce droit à la date de son décès,
(iii) sa mère n’avait pas le droit d’être inscrite au moment de sa naissance;

(c.3) L’alinéa c.3) propose de régler la question des « frères et sœurs » soulevée par la Cour dans la décision Descheneaux et al. c. Canada (Procureur général), en corrigeant la différence de traitement dans la capacité de transmettre le « statut d’Indien » entre les enfants de sexe masculin et les enfants de sexe féminin dont les parents n’étaient pas mariés l’un à l’autre au moment de leur naissance. Il propose d’accorder le droit à l’inscription en vertu du paragraphe 6(1) aux individus nés femmes et qui sont nés hors mariage d’un père indien et d’une mère non indienne. Les hommes transgenres qui sont nés des femmes seront assurés de leur capacité à être admissible à l'enregistrement en vertu du paragraphe 6(1).

(c.4) elle remplit les conditions suivantes :
(i) l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu des alinéas c.2) ou c.3) ou, s’il est décédé, avait ce droit à la date de son décès ou aurait eu ce droit à la date d’entrée en vigueur de cet alinéa n’eût été son décès,
(ii) son autre parent n’a pas le droit d’être inscrit ou, s’il est décédé, soit n’avait pas ce droit à la date de son décès, soit n’était pas un Indien à cette date dans le cas d’un décès survenu avant le 4 septembre 1951,
(iii) elle est née soit avant le 17 avril 1985, que ses parents aient été ou non mariés l’un à l’autre au moment de sa naissance, soit après le 16 avril 1985, si ses parents se sont mariés l’un à l’autre à n’importe quel moment avant le 17 avril 1985;

L’alinéa c.4), qui découle de la décision Descheneaux et al. c. Canada (Procureur général), propose d’accorder le droit à l’inscription en vertu du paragraphe 6(1) aux petits enfants et aux arrières petits enfants de personnes touchées par la question des « cousins » ou par la question des « frères et sœurs ».

(4) L’alinéa 6(1)f) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :

(f) ses parents ont tous deux le droit d’être inscrits en vertu du présent article ou, s’ils sont décédés, avaient ce droit à la date de leur décès.

Cette disposition propose d’édicter de nouveau l’alinéa 6(1)f) de la Loi sur les Indiens pour permettre à la personne dont les deux parents ont droit à l’inscription, sont réputés avoir droit à l’inscription ou sont inscrits d’avoir elle aussi droit à l’inscription.

(5) Le paragraphe 6(2) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :

Personnes ayant droit à l’inscription

(2) Sous réserve de l’article 7, une personne a le droit d’être inscrite si l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu du paragraphe (1) ou, s’il est décédé, avait ce droit à la date de son décès.

Cette disposition propose d’édicter de nouveau le paragraphe 6(2) de la Loi sur les Indiens, pour rendre éligible à l’inscription la personne dont un parent a droit à l’inscription, est réputé avoir droit à l’inscription ou est inscrit.

Précision

(2.1) La personne qui a le droit d’être inscrite à la fois en vertu de l’alinéa (1)f) et d’un autre alinéa du paragraphe (1) est considérée avoir le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de cet autre alinéa seulement et celle qui a le droit d’être inscrite à la fois en vertu du paragraphe (2) et d’un alinéa du paragraphe (1) est considérée avoir le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de cet alinéa seulement.

Le présent paragraphe propose d’apporter des éclaircissements lorsqu’il y a double admissibilité à l’inscription. Pour pouvoir donner plein effet aux modifications proposées, il est important de s’assurer que les personnes qui ont droit à l’inscription en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.1) soient inscrites en vertu de cet alinéa puisque leurs descendants pourraient bénéficier des nouvelles dispositions en matière d’inscription, soit les alinéas 6(1)(c.2) et (c.4), au lieu d’être inscrites uniquement en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)f) ou du paragraphe 6(2).

(6) Le paragraphe 6(3) de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, après l’alinéa c), de ce qui suit :

(d) a la personne visée à l’un des alinéas (1)c.01), c.2), c.3) ou c.4) et qui est décédée avant la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’alinéa en cause est réputée avoir le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de celui-ci.

Si une personne est réputée avoir le droit d’être inscrite en vertu des alinéas 6(1)c.01), c.2), c.3) ou c.4), mais est décédée avant l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-3, cette personne est réputée avoir droit à l’inscription. Ainsi, les enfants des personnes qui auraient eu droit à l’inscription en vertu des nouvelles modifications n’eût été leur décès ont le droit d’être inscrits comme si leurs ascendants étaient vivants et avaient le droit d’être inscrits en vertu des nouvelles modifications.

2 (1) Le paragraphe 11(3) de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, après l’alinéa a), de ce qui suit :

(a.1) la personne qui, n’eût été son décès, aurait eu le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’un des alinéas 6(1)c.01) à c.4) à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’alinéa en cause et qui aurait eu, à cette date, le droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande est réputée avoir droit à ce que son nom y soit consigné;

Si une personne est réputée avoir droit à l’inscription en vertu des alinéas 6(1)c.01), 6(1)c.1), 6(1)c.2), 6(1)c.3) ou 6(1)c.4), mais est décédée avant l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’équité entre les sexes relativement à l’inscription au registre des Indiens (projet de loi C-3) ou avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-3, la personne serait réputée avoir droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande tenue au ministère. Ainsi, les enfants de personnes décédées, mais ayant désormais acquis le droit à l’inscription en vertu de ces nouvelles dispositions, ont également droit à ce que leur nom soit consigné dans la même liste de bande que celle dans laquelle leurs parents auraient eu droit de consigner leur nom.

(2) Le paragraphe 11(3.1) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :

Règle d’appartenance supplémentaire — alinéas 6(1)c.01) à c.4)

(3.1) Toute personne a droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans une liste de bande tenue pour celle-ci au ministère dans l’un ou l’autre des cas suivants :
(a) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.01) et l’un de ses parents a cessé d’être un membre de la bande en raison des circonstances prévues au sous-alinéa 6(1)c.01)(i);
(b) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.1) et sa mère a cessé d’être un membre de la bande en raison des circonstances prévues au sous-alinéa 6(1)c.1)(i);
(c) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.2), l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu de l’alinéa 6)(1)c.1) et a droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande ou, s’il est décédé, il avait ces droits à la date de son décès, ou il aurait eu ces droits à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’alinéa 6(1)c.1) n’eût été son décès;
(d) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.3) et son père a droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande ou, s’il est décédé, avait ce droit à la date de son décès;
(e) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.4), l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu de l’alinéa 6)(1)c.2) et a droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande ou, s’il est décédé, il avait ces droits à la date de son décès, ou il aurait eu ces droits à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’alinéa 6(1)c.2) n’eût été son décès;r
(f) elle a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)c.4), sa mère a le droit d’être inscrite en vertu de l’alinéa 6)(1)c.3) et a droit à ce que son nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande ou, si elle est décédée, elle avait ces droits à la date de son décès, ou elle aurait eu ces droits à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’alinéa 6(1)c.3) n’eût été son décès.

Cette disposition propose de permettre aux personnes ayant désormais acquis le droit à l’inscription en vertu des alinéas 6(1)c.01), 6(1)c.2), 6(1)c.3) ou 6(1)c.4) d’avoir en plus le droit à ce que leur nom soit consigné dans la liste de bande tenue au ministère si elles répondent aux exigences du paragraphe 6(3.1) modifié.

Dispositions transitoires

Définition de declaration

3 (1) Aux articles 4 à 7 et 9, déclaration s’entend de la déclaration d’inopérabilité relative aux alinéas 6(1)a), c) et f) et au paragraphe 6(2) de la Loi sur les Indiens rendue le 3 août 2015 par la Cour supérieure du Québec dans l’affaire Descheneaux c. Canada (Procureur général), 2015 QCCS 3555.

Terminologie

(2) Les termes des articles 4 à 8 s’entendent au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Application

4 Les articles 5 à 7 s’appliquent si l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration survient avant la date de la prise du décret prévoyant l’entrée en vigueur de la présente loi.

Inscription maintenue

5 Il est entendu que, sous réserve de tout retranchement effectué par le registraire en vertu du paragraphe 5(3) de la Loi sur les Indiens, toute personne qui, à l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration, était inscrite et avait le droit de l’être en vertu des alinéas 6(1)a), c) ou f) ou du paragraphe 6(2) de cette loi demeure inscrite.

Droit à l’inscription reconnu

6 Il est entendu que, sous réserve de tout retranchement effectué par le registraire en vertu du paragraphe 5(3) de la Loi sur les Indiens, pour l’application de l’alinéa 6(1)f) et du paragraphe 6(2) de cette loi — et pour la période commençant le lendemain de la date d’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration et se terminant à la date de la prise du décret prévoyant l’entrée en vigueur de la présente loi — le registraire est tenu de reconnaître tout droit d’être inscrit qui existait, en vertu des alinéas 6(1)a), c) ou f) ou du paragraphe 6(2) de cette loi, à l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration.

Appartenance maintenue

7 Il est entendu que la déclaration à elle seule ne peut priver quiconque dont le nom apparaît, à l’expiration de celle-ci, sur la liste de bande tenue au ministère du droit à ce que son nom y soit consigné.

Les articles 3 à 7 s’appliqueront seulement si la déclaration d’inopérabilité (la « déclaration ») prononcée le 3 août 2015 par la Cour supérieure du Québec dans la décision Descheneaux prend effet avant la date de la prise du décret prévoyant l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-3. La déclaration d’inopérabilité prendra effet si, à l’expiration de la suspension de l’ordonnance de la Cour, les présentes modifications ne sont pas en vigueur.

Ces dispositions proposent de veiller à ce que toute personne qui, à l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration, était inscrite et avait le droit de l’être en vertu des alinéas 6(1)a), c) et f) et du paragraphe 6(2) demeure inscrite.

Elles proposent également d’autoriser le registraire à reconnaître tout droit à l’inscription qui existait en vertu des alinéas 6(1)a), c) et f) et du paragraphe 6(2) avant l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration afin de statuer sur le droit à l’inscription en vertu de l’alinéa 6(1)f) et du paragraphe 6(2) de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Ces dispositions proposent également de veiller à ce que toute personne dont le nom apparaît, à l’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration, sur une liste de bande tenue au ministère ne soit pas privée du droit à ce que son nom apparaisse sur cette liste de bande uniquement en raison de l’expiration de la déclaration.

Disposition connexe

Absence de responsabilité

8 Il est entendu qu’aucune personne ni aucun organisme ne peut réclamer ou recevoir une compensation, des dommages-intérêts ou une indemnité de l’État, de ses préposés ou mandataires ou d’un conseil de bande en ce qui concerne les faits — actes ou omissions — accomplis de bonne foi dans l’exercice de leurs attributions, du seul fait qu’une personne n’était pas inscrite
(a) ou que le nom d’une personne n’était pas consigné dans une liste de bande
(b) à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la présente loi et que l’un de ses parents a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu des alinéas 6(1)c.01), c.2), c.3) ou c.4) de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Cette disposition propose qu’aucune demande d’indemnité ne peut être intentée contre l’État, ses employés ou un conseil de bande pour tout acte accompli dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions du seul fait qu’une personne dont le parent a le droit d’être inscrit en vertu des nouveaux alinéas 6(1)c.01), c.2), c.3) ou c.4) n’était pas inscrite ou que son nom n’était pas consigné dans une liste de bande à la date d’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi. Cela signifie qu’aucune personne qui acquiert le droit à l’inscription à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi ne pourrait réclamer des dommages intérêts parce qu’elle n’était pas inscrite avant cette date.

Entrée en vigueur

Décret

9 La présente loi entre en vigueur ou est réputée être entrée en vigueur à la date fixée par décret, laquelle doit correspondre à la date d’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration.

Si le projet de loi S-3 n’est pas adopté à la date d’expiration de la suspension de la déclaration d’inopérabilité de la Cour supérieure du Québec le 3 février 2017, le gouverneur en conseil sera autorisé à mettre la loi en vigueur de façon rétroactive, effective le 2 février 2017.

Date de modification :