Call for proposals: First Nations education community-level discussions

As part of First Nations education transformation, the Government of Canada is providing up to $3.1 million to coordinate and support parent and community-level discussions on First Nations kindergarten to grade 12 education.

On this page

About this call

This call for proposals to support community-level discussions is part of First Nations education transformation. It is funded through Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)'s New Paths for Education program.

This funding will provide opportunities for First Nations organizations and First Nations not represented by an organization to identify how the Government of Canada can best support their efforts to improve the education outcomes of First Nations students. The voices of First Nations are essential in determining a way forward for kindergarten to grade 12 education systems on reserve.

Funding is limited to eligible activities outlined under the Parental and Community Engagement section of the New Paths for Education – National Program Guidelines 2016-2017.

Eligible community-level discussion activities may include:

Eligible expenses may include:

Priority will be given to proposals that:

This call for proposals does not replace the annual 2016-2017 New Paths for Education call for proposals. Once available, information about the annual call for proposals will be posted on INAC's Call for proposals page.

Funding recipients will be asked to share discussion results that could shape the next steps in the engagement process, and any recommendations on how the Government of Canada can work together with First Nations to shape the future vision of First Nations education.

Who can apply?

The Government of Canada, Yukon First Nations and the Government of Yukon are continuing to work through the joint memorandum of understanding that outlines our shared commitment to help improve First Nations student outcomes within the public education system. Under the Education Partnership Program, INAC has provided funding to the Council of Yukon First Nations to support this important work in 2016-2017.

Deadlines

The deadline to submit proposals was midnight Eastern Time (ET) on November 25, 2016.

The deadline for final report submission is midnight Eastern Time (ET) on May 15, 2017.

How to apply?

Contact your INAC regional office. Education officers will provide a proposal template and directions for filling it out, and are available to provide further guidance.

Date modified:

Appel de propositions : Discussions communautaires sur l’éducation des Premières Nations

Dans le cadre de la transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations, le gouvernement du Canada investit 3,1 millions de dollars afin de coordonner et de favoriser la tenue de discussions avec les parents et les collectivités au sujet de l'éducation de la maternelle à la 12e année.

Sur cette page :

À propos de cet appel de propositions

Cet appel de propositions visant à favoriser la tenue de discussions à l'échelle communautaire s'inscrit dans la transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations. Il est financé par le programme Nouveaux sentiers pour l'éducation d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Les fonds permettront aux organisations des Premières Nations ainsi qu'aux Premières Nations qui ne sont pas représentées par une organisation de définir comment le gouvernement du Canada peut le mieux les appuyer pour améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves. L'opinion des Premières Nations est essentielle afin de déterminer comment orienter les systèmes d'éducation de la maternelle à la 12e année dans les réserves.

Le financement doit être consacré aux activités admissibles décrites dans la section sur l'implication des parents et de la collectivité des Lignes directrices nationales 2016-2017 du programme Nouveaux sentiers pour l'éducation.

Les activités de discussion admissibles à l'échelle communautaire comprennent les suivantes :

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent ce qui suit :

La préférence sera accordée aux propositions qui :

Cet appel de propositions ne remplace pas l'appel de propositions annuel lancé dans le cadre du programme Nouveaux sentiers pour l'éducation – 2016-2017. Les renseignements sur l'appel de propositions annuel seront publiés sur la page des appels de propositions d'AANC dès qu'ils seront connus

Les bénéficiaires de financement devront diffuser les résultats des discussions qui pourraient aider à définir les prochaines étapes du processus de mobilisation et les recommandations sur la manière dont le gouvernement du Canada peut collaborer avec les Premières Nations afin d'orienter la vision future de l'éducation des Premières Nations.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Le gouvernement du Canada, les Premières Nations du Yukon et le gouvernement du Yukon continuent de collaborer par l’entremise d’un protocole d’entente qui précise notre engagement commun à contribuer à l’amélioration des résultats des élèves des Premières Nations à l’intérieur d’un système d’éducation public. Dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats en éducation, AANC a accordé du financement au Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon pour l’aider à réaliser ces importants travaux en 2016-2017.

Dates limites

La date limite pour la soumission des propositions était le 25 novembre 2016 à minuit, heure de l'Est (HE).

La date limite pour la soumission du rapport final est le 15 mai 2017 à minuit, heure de l’Est (HE).

Comment présenter une demande?

Communiquez avec votre bureau régional d'AANC. Les agents responsables de l'éducation fourniront un modèle de proposition et les directives pour le remplir. Ils sont également en mesure de vous guider.

Date de modification :