Agreement to Support the School Attendance and Academic Success of Innu Youth

Concluded between:

Institut Tshakapesh, represented by Julie Basile, Chair

and

the Government of Quebec, represented by
the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports,
Minister responsible for Native Affairs,
and Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and
the Canadian Francophonie

and

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by
the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

Hereinafter, the "Parties"

Table of contents

Preamble

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh, is a corporation duly constituted under the Canada Corporations Act, (R.S.C., 1970, c. C-35) on May 16, 1978;

WHEREAS the member Innu communities of lnstitut Tshakapesh are First Nations, which were, among others, recognized by resolution of the National Assembly on March 20, 1985;

WHEREAS the Government of Canada supports, within the framework of Canada's Constitution and laws, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, as set out in its Statement of Support of November 12, 2010;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh, the Government of Quebec and the Government of Canada wish to cooperate to encourage the school attendance and academic success of students from Innu communities served by Tshakapesh, for both students who attend school in the communities and those who go to school outside the communities;

WHEREAS Tshakapesh is a regional organization representing Innu communities from Quebec's North Shore;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh is mandated by the following band councils of member Innu communities of the Institute to represent them in the context of the federal government's Education Partnership Program;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh demonstrates the required expertise through its structure, financial health, reputation and ongoing support for primary and secondary education in the schools of its member communities;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh has started developing quantitative success indicators in the context of the federal government's First Nation Student Success Program (FNSSP) and this data will be directly applicable to activities that will result from this Agreement;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh, Ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur (MEES) and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) wish to implement concrete measures and measurable indicators to encourage the academic success of Innu students;

WHEREAS this partnership calls upon the cooperation of staff from Innu schools, as well as from lnstitut Tshakapesh, MEES and DIAND;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh offers a fairly complete range of services for the schools of its member communities including its role in engagement, guidance, support, evaluation and accountability to its partners; by providing instructional support educators, by supporting all special education programs, and by contributing to the implementation of Quebec's educational renewal.

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh has been planning, managing and implementing, for more than thirty (30) years, various federal programs, in compliance with the required standards, while ensuring that projects presented by the schools meet the academic success objectives for Innu youth, and encourage the active participation of parents.

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh is promoting Innu language and culture.

WHEREAS the Regional Management Table, which is comprised of lnstitut Tshakapesh managers and the school administrations from all member community schools, has developed diversified service models adapted to various environments, has established regional committees to standardize learning assessment practices, and has developed effective accountability mechanisms;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh is implementing the Strategic Plan (2015-2020) that was developed through a consultation process and approved by the General Assembly of Tshakapesh;

WHEREAS lnstitut Tshakapesh senior management, together with three (3) service divisions (education, language and culture, finance), assumes responsibility for the application of the personnel management policy, the delivery of various DIAND programs and services, the financial management workbook, and the various financial arrangements involving different federal and provincial departments, a number of universities and First Nations organizations;

WHEREAS DIAND accepts the responsibility to fund educational services for preschool (kindergarten), elementary and secondary levels for registered First Nations students ordinarily resident on reserve, and to provide financial assistance, within DIAND budgetary limits, for eligible students under the criteria established in the Post-Secondary Education sub-program;

WHEREAS Quebec's jurisdiction in education is enacted by MEES, through its mission and activities as well as through the provincial school system;

The parties agree to the following:

1. Subject of the agreement

This Agreement is intended to improve collaboration between lnstitut Tshakapesh, the DIAND and the MEES with the objectives of improving school attendance and academic success of Innu students from lnstitut Tshakapesh member communities and the goal of preserving, promoting and transmitting Innu culture and language through the education system. This agreement also seeks, to establish a framework for collaboration, that will focus on the priority areas and strategic activities to achieve this goal. It is a declaration of intent by the Parties and creates no legal obligations.

2. Coordination committee

The Parties agree to establish a coordination committee whose role will be to ensure that the framework for collaboration is respected.

Each Party shall appoint a representative to the Coordination Committee for the implementation of this agreement and will be responsible for financing the participation of its representative. The person appointed by lnstitut Tshakapesh will chair the Committee.

The Coordination Committee must hold its first meeting no later than two months following the signing of this Agreement. At its first meeting, the Coordination Committee will adopt its operating rules and procedures.

3. Dispute settlement procedure

The members of the Coordination Committee will do their best to resolve, by consensus, all disputes that could arise from the interpretation or application of this Agreement. Where it is not possible to reach a consensus, the dispute will be referred to an appeals committee comprised of three (3) senior-level managers representing each of the Parties. At the request of one of the Parties, the Committee shall have recourse to an independent mediator, and the choice being made with the consent of all Parties.

Each Party shall have the opportunity to send any relevant documents to the mediator and to argue their position in an individual meeting. Once all the Parties have had a chance to meet, the independent mediator will have thirty (30) days to prepare a settlement scenario, the acceptance of which remains the prerogative of the Parties in accordance with their respective responsibilities. The fees of the independent mediator will be shared equally among the Parties.

4. Joint action plan

4.1 Preamble

This collaboration complements the various efforts and programs implemented to promote the academic success of Aboriginal students on reserve by the Government of Canada and in the Quebec school system by the Government of Quebec.

It’s within the context of:

  • lnstitut Tshakapesh’s Strategic Plan (Web site not available in English)
  • The study on the intercultural relations training needs of teachers and professionals working at Innu schools (study conducted by Pierre Lepage, anthropologist, October 2009).
  • The objectives of the MEES’ Strategic Plan in relation to supporting educational services adapted to the needs of the regions and communities that are focused on working with aboriginal education organizations and to foster emerging partnerships.

4.2 Guiding principles

  • Schools in Innu communities reserve the right to withdraw from any partnership education initiatives that concern them.
  • This Agreement does not constitute a treaty within the meaning of Section 35 of the Constitutional Act of 1982, and should not be interpreted in any way as having the effect of a repeal, a denial or a recognition of an existing ancestral right, treaty right or other right.
  • Any activity must be unanimously approved by the three (3) members of the Coordination Committee.
  • The expertise, knowledge and wisdom of Innu Elders will be used to support and strengthen the Innu language and culture in schools.

4.3 Priority areas and strategies being considered

This action plan is founded on five priority areas, described below, based on which strategies will later be developed. With the written consent of all the Parties, other strategies may be established throughout the duration of this agreement. The communities will also be able to develop partnerships or courses of action at the local level, according to the specific needs of their respective communities.

Area 1

Develop strategies to improve programs and services provided to Innu students enrolled in Innu and provincial schools.

Strategies being considered:

  • enhance and consolidate the services currently provided by lnstitut Tshakapesh;
  • use distance education models that promote student retention at the school in their community;
  • develop support and training tools for parents whose children are attending provincial schools.

Area 2

Share expertise and service delivery.

Strategies being considered:

  • formalize and ensure the continued existence of the informal partnerships that lnstitut Tshakapesh has developed with educational organizations at the national, provincial, regional and local levels;
  • look for distance training models and develop reference tools to support staff at Innu schools in their continuous learning plans.

Area 3

Improve coordination between Innu and provincial schools to aid in student transition.

Strategies being considered:

  • facilitate collaboration and information sharing between the two systems;
  • Raise awareness amongst teachers in the provincial school system about the reality of Innu students and the obstacles they face in their schooling;
  • share knowledge about the characteristics of Innu students;
  • develop mechanisms to compile the results of Innu students who attend school off reserve.

Area 4

Aim to improve linkages and coordination between programs for all levels of schooling, from early childhood to the post-secondary level, as well as between labour market training programs and community needs.

Strategies being considered:

  • ensure that existing mechanisms are working properly;
  • establish national, regional and local partnerships that involve other federal and provincial departments.

Area 5

Support lnstitut Tshakapesh in its research to develop an education services model in partnership with their member community schools

Strategies being considered:

  • Use lnstitut Tshakapesh’s 2015-2020 Strategic Plan from a partnership perspective and taking into account laws that are applicable to First Nations;
  • Conduct, if needed, a feasibility analysis of the proposed partnership projects.

5. Funding

The Parties agree to work collaboratively to ensure the effective use of available resources, including existing funding and additional strategic funding from the Government of Canada, from time to time, or funding from the private sector or non-profits sectors, to support the academic success of Innu students.

The Government of Quebec contribution, in the context of this collaboration, is limited to activities offered in institutions within the Quebec school system and funded through its regular budgets. As such, the signing of this agreement has no financial implications for the Government of Quebec.

6. Termination of the agreement

Each Party may terminate this Agreement by giving at least sixty (60) days written notice and stating its reasons, after consultation with the other Parties.

7. Term of the agreement

This Agreement will come into effect upon signature and will remain in effect for three (3) years. Six (6) months prior to the expiration of this Agreement, the Parties may agree to the renewal of this Agreement in accordance with applicable legislation.

8. Public communications

Any public communications related to the implementation of this agreement must be agreed upon by the Parties.

In witness whereof, the parties have signed five copies:

FOR INSTITUT TSHAKAPESH:

_______________________________________
Ms. Julie Basile
Chair, Board of Directors, Institut Tshakapesh
_____________
Date

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF QUEBEC:

_______________________________________
The Honourable Sébastien Proulx
Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports
_____________
Date
_______________________________________
The Honourable Geoffrey Kelley
Minister responsible for Native Affairs
_____________
Date
_______________________________________
The Honourable Jean-Marc Fournier
Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie
_____________
Date

FOR HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA:

_______________________________________
The Honourable Carolyn Bennett
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
_____________
Date
Date modified:

Entente pour favoriser la persévérance et la réussite scolaires des jeunes Innus

Conclue entre :

L’Institut Tshakapesh, représenté par Julie Basile, présidente

et

Le gouvernement du Québec, représenté par
le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport,
le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones
et le ministre responsable des Relations canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne

et

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par
la ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien

Ci-après appelés « les Parties »

Table of contents

Préambule

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh est une personne morale constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les Corporations canadiennes (S.R.C., 1970, c. C-35) le 16 mai 1978;

ATTENDU QUE les communautés innues membres de l'Institut Tshakapesh sont issues d'une Première Nation qui a, notamment, fait l'objet d'une résolution de l'Assemblée nationale, le 20 mars 1985;

ATTENDU QUE le gouvernement du Canada appuie, dans le cadre de la Constitution et des lois du Canada, la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, tel que spécifié dans son énoncé d'appui du 12 novembre 2010;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh, le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada désirent coopérer pour favoriser la persévérance et la réussite scolaires des élèves des communautés innues desservies par l'Institut Tshakapesh, tant pour les élèves scolarisés dans les communautés que hors communautés;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh est un organisme régional représentant les communautés innues de la Côte-Nord du Québec ;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh est mandaté par les conseils de bande des communautés innues membres de l'Institut Tshakapesh suivantes pour les représenter dans le cadre du Programme de partenariat en éducation du gouvernement fédéral;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh possède l'expertise requise tant par sa structure, sa santé financière, sa réputation, que par son soutien constant à l'éducation primaire et secondaire des écoles de ses communautés membres;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh développe déjà des indicateurs de réussite quantitatifs dans le cadre du Programme de réussite scolaire des étudiants des Premières Nations (PRSEPN) du gouvernement fédéral et que ces données seront directement utilisables dans les activités qui découleront de la présente entente;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh, le ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur (MEES) et le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) visent à mettre en place des mesures concrètes et des indicateurs mesurables pour favoriser la réussite scolaire des élèves innus;

ATTENDU QUE ce partenariat fait appel à la collaboration du personnel des écoles innues, de l'Institut Tshakapesh, du ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieu et du MAINC;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh offre une gamme relativement complète de services aux écoles des communautés membres, notamment en assumant un rôle de mobilisation, d'encadrement, de soutien, d'évaluation et de reddition de comptes auprès de ses partenaires; en fournissant des services de soutien au personnel scolaire, en supportant l'ensemble des programmes en adaptation scolaire et en contribuant à la mise en œuvre du renouveau pédagogique du Québec;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh planifie, gère et met en œuvre depuis plus de trente(30) ans, les divers programmes fédéraux dans le respect des normes exigées, tout en s'assurant que les projets présentés par les écoles répondent aux objectifs de réussite scolaire des jeunes innus, en privilégiant la participation active des parents;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh fait la promotion de la langue et la culture innues;

ATTENDU QUE la Table régionale de gestion, qui regroupe les gestionnaires de l'Institut Tshakapesh et les directions de toutes les écoles des communautés membres, a développé des modèles diversifiés de services adaptés aux divers milieux, a mis en place des comités régionaux pour uniformiser les pratiques en évaluation des apprentissages et a développé des mécanismes efficaces de reddition de comptes;

ATTENDU QUE l'Institut Tshakapesh met en œuvre le Plan stratégique 2015-2020 élaboré dans un processus de consultations et approuvé par l'Assemblée générale de l'Institut Tshakapesh;

ATTENDU QUE la direction générale de l'Institut Tshakapesh, accompagnée de trois (3) directions de services (éducation, langue et culture et finances), assume la responsabilité de l'application de la politique de gestion du personnel, de la livraison des divers programmes et services du MAINC, du cahier de gestion financière et des différentes ententes financières impliquant divers ministères fédéraux et provinciaux, plusieurs universités et des organisations des Premières Nations;

ATTENDU QUE le MAINC accepte, notamment la responsabilité de financer les services éducatifs des niveaux préscolaire (maternelle), primaire et secondaire pour les élèves des Premières Nations inscrits qui résident habituellement sur réserve et d'octroyer de l'aide financière, et ce, à l'intérieur des limites budgétaires du MAINC, pour les étudiants éligibles en vertu des critères établis dans le cadre du sous-programme d'enseignement postsecondaire;

ATTENDU QUE la compétence du Québec en éducation est notamment exercée par le ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieu, par l'entremise de sa mission, de ses activités et du réseau scolaire québécois.

Les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

1. L’objet de l’entente

La présente entente vise à initier une collaboration entre l'Institut Tshakapesh, le MAINC et le ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieu dans l'objectif d'améliorer la persévérance et la réussite scolaires des élèves innus des communautés membres de l'Institut Tshakapesh, et ce, dans une perspective de préservation, de valorisation et de transmission de la langue et de la culture innues. Cette entente vise, en outre, à établir le cadre de collaboration, incluant les domaines prioritaires et les stratégies d'action à privilégier pour atteindre cet objectif. Elle est une déclaration d'intention de la part des Parties et ne crée aucune obligation juridique.

2. Le comité de coordination

Les Parties conviennent de créer le comité de coordination dont le rôle sera d'assurer le respect du cadre de collaboration.

Chaque Partie nommera un représentant au sein du comité de coordination et en assumera les frais de participation. La personne nommée par l'Institut Tshakapesh assumera la présidence du comité.

Le comité de coordination devra tenir sa première rencontre dans les deux mois suivant la signature de la présente entente. Lors de sa première rencontre, le comité de coordination adoptera ses règles de fonctionnement et de procédures.

3. Le règlement des différends

Les membres du comité de coordination s'efforceront de résoudre par décision consensuelle tout désaccord qui pourrait découler de l'interprétation ou de l'application de la présente entente. Advenant l'impossibilité d'une décision consensuelle, le différend sera référé à un comité de trois (3) cadres supérieurs représentant chacune des Parties. À la demande de l'une des Parties, le comité aura recours à un médiateur indépendant, dont le choix se fera avec l'accord de toutes les Parties.

Chacune des Parties aura la possibilité de transmettre tout document pertinent au médiateur ainsi que de faire valoir ses positions lors d'une rencontre individuelle. Une fois toutes les Parties rencontrées, le médiateur indépendant disposera de trente (30) jours pour élaborer un scénario de règlement, l'acceptation de celui-ci demeurant la prérogative des Parties conformément à leurs responsabilités respectives. Les honoraires du médiateur indépendant seront assumés à parts égales entre les Parties.

4. Le cadre de collaboration

4.1 Préambule

Cette collaboration s'inscrit en complémentarité des efforts consentis et des programmes mis en place concernant diverses mesures de promotion de la réussite scolaire des élèves autochtones en milieu autochtone par le gouvernement du Canada, et dans le réseau scolaire québécois par le gouvernement du Québec.

Elle s’inscrit dans le contexte suivant :

  • Le Plan stratégique de l’Institut Tshakapesh
  • L'étude sur les besoins de formation en relations interculturelles des enseignants et professionnels travaillant au sein des écoles innues (étude réalisée par M. Pierre Lepage, anthropologue, octobre 2009).
  • L'enjeu du plan stratégique du ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieu concernant le soutien à l'offre de services éducatifs adaptée aux besoins des régions et des communautés qui a, notamment pour objectif, d'accompagner les organismes éducatifs autochtones et de favoriser les partenariats émergents.

4.2 Principes directeurs

  • Les écoles des communautés innues conservent leur droit de retrait sur toute initiative de partenariat en éducation les concernant.
  • La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral existant, d'un droit issu de traités ou d'un autre droit.
  • Toute activité doit être approuvée unanimement par les trois (3) membres du comité de coordination.
  • L'expertise, les connaissances et le savoir des aîné(e)s innu(e)s seront mis à contribution afin de soutenir et renforcer la langue et la culture innues dans les milieux scolaires.

4.3 Domaines prioritaires

La collaboration vise cinq (5) domaines prioritaires, ci-dessous décrits, dont découleront un certain nombre de stratégies. Avec le consentement écrit de toutes les Parties, d'autres stratégies pourront être établies pendant la durée de la présente entente. Les communautés pourront également développer des partenariats ou des modes d'action à l'échelle locale, selon les besoins spécifiques de leur milieu respectif.

1er domaine

Développer des stratégies d'amélioration des programmes et des services offerts aux élèves innus inscrits dans les écoles innues et les établissements du réseau scolaire québécois.

Stratégies envisagées :

  • bonifier et consolider les services actuellement offerts par l'Institut Tshakapesh;
  • utiliser des modèles d'enseignement à distance favorisant le maintien des élèves dans l'école de leur communauté;
  • élaborer des outils de soutien et de formation destinés aux parents dont les enfants fréquentent les écoles du système provincial.

2e domaine

Mettre en commun les expertises et la prestation de services.

  • officialiser et pérenniser les partenariats informels que l’Institut Tshakapesh a développés avec des organismes éducatifs pancanadiens, provinciaux, régionaux et locaux;
  • rechercher des modèles de formation à distance et développer des outils de référence pour soutenir le personnel des écoles innues dans leur plan de formation continue.

3e domaine

Améliorer la coordination entre les écoles innues et les établissements du réseau scolaire québécois afin de faciliter la transition des élèves entre celles-ci.

Stratégies envisagées :

  • faciliter la collaboration et l’échange de renseignements entre les deux systèmes;
  • sensibiliser les enseignants du réseau québécois à la réalité des élèves innus et aux obstacles qu’ils rencontrent dans leur parcours scolaire;
  • partager les connaissances relatives aux caractéristiques des élèves innus;
  • élaborer des mécanismes pour colliger les résultats des élèves innus scolarisés hors réserves.

4e domaine

Viser l'amélioration des liens et la coordination entre les programmes du parcours scolaire, de la petite enfance jusqu'à l'enseignement postsecondaire, ainsi qu'entre les programmes de formation au marché du travail et les besoins des communautés.

Stratégies envisagées :

  • s'assurer du bon fonctionnement des mécanismes existants;
  • établir des partenariats pancanadiens, régionaux et locaux qui mettent à contribution d'autres ministères fédéraux et provinciaux.

5e domaine

Soutenir l'Institut Tshakapesh dans sa recherche d'élaboration d'un modèle d'offre de services en partenariat avec les écoles des communautés membres.

Stratégies envisagées :

  • utiliser le Plan stratégique 2015-2020 de l'Institut Tshakapesh dans une perspective de partenariat en tenant compte du droit applicable aux Premières Nations;
  • effectuer, au besoin, une analyse de faisabilité des projets de partenariat envisagés.

5. Le financement

Les Partiesconviennent de travailler en collaboration pour s'assurer d'utiliser efficacement les ressources disponibles, dont le financement actuel et stratégique supplémentaire du gouvernement du Canada, lorsque cela est possible, ou le financement provenant du secteur privé ou du secteur des organismes sans but lucratif, afin de soutenir la réussite des élèves innus.

La contribution du gouvernement du Québec, dans le cadre de cette collaboration, se limite aux activités offertes dans les établissements du réseau scolaire québécois et financées à même ses budgets réguliers. Ainsi, la signature de la présente entente n'a aucune répercussion financière pour le gouvernement du Québec.

6. Résiliation de l’entente

Chacune des Parties peut, moyennant un préavis écrit d'au moins soixante (60) jours, en indiquant ses motifs et après consultation des autres Parties, mettre fin à la présente entente.

7. Durée de l’entente

La présente entente prend effet au moment de sa signature et est d'une durée de trois (3) ans. Six (6) mois avant l'échéance de celle-ci, les Parties pourront convenir de son renouvellement conformément aux lois applicables.

8. Communications publiques

Toute communication publique relative à la mise en œuvre de la présente entente devra faire consensus auprès des Parties.

En foi de quoi, les parties ont signé en cinq exemplaires :

POUR L'INSTITUT TSHAKAPESH :

_______________________________________
Madame Julie Basile
Présidente du C.A. de l’Institut Tshakapesh
_____________
Date

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC :

_______________________________________
Monsieur Sébastien Proulx
Ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport
_____________
Date
_______________________________________
Monsieur Geoffrey Kelley
Ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones
_____________
Date
_______________________________________
Monsieur Jean-Marc Fournier
Ministre responsable des Relations canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne
_____________
Date

POUR SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA :

_______________________________________
Madame Carolyn Bennett
Ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
_____________
Date
Date de modification :