Key Deliverables for the Inaugural Meeting of the North American Working Group on Violence against Indigenous Women and Girls, October 14, 2016

This joint fact sheet was released simultaneously by the Canadian, American and Mexican governments on October 14, 2016.

Indigenous women and girls across North America endure alarmingly high levels of marginalization, exclusion, discrimination, violence, exploitation, and abuse. At the North American Leaders Summit (NALS) in Ottawa on June 29, 2016, the governments of Mexico, Canada, and the United States decided to form a North American Working Group on Violence against Indigenous Women and Girls, as a commitment to coordinated action to address the disproportionate levels of violence faced by Indigenous women and girls.

These new opportunities for coordinated action symbolize today's convening of leaders from all three of our countries at the White House and reaffirm our respective national and regional commitments to: exchanging knowledge of policies, programs and best practices to prevent and respond to violence against Indigenous women and girls through increased access to justice and health services, with a human rights and culturally-responsive  approach; enhancing cooperation to address violent crimes against Indigenous women and girls, including human trafficking, within or outside of their communities and across our borders; and, enhancing the response of our justice, health, education, and child welfare systems to violence against Indigenous women and girls.

We are proud to announce that the next trilateral meeting of the working group will be hosted by Canada in 2017. Together, our three countries are committed to including full participation of Indigenous groups as part of the next meeting.

Criminal justice responses to violence against Indigenous women and girls, including regional coordination on law enforcement data

Social services & public health prevention and response to violence against Indigenous women and girls

Human rights, women, peace, and security: prioritizing Indigenous women and girls in multilateral affairs

Date modified:

Livrables clés pour la première réunion du groupe de travail nord-américain sur la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, le 14 octobre 2016

La fiche d’information ci-jointe a été diffusée simultanément par les gouvernements canadien, américain et mexicain le 14 octobre 2016.

Des taux inquiétants de marginalisation, d'exclusion, de discrimination, de violence, d'exploitation et de sévices sont observés chez les femmes et les filles autochtones de partout en Amérique du Nord. Lors du Sommet des leaders nord-américains (SLNA), qui s'est tenu à Ottawa le 29 juin 2016, les gouvernements du Mexique, du Canada et des États-Unis ont décidé de former un groupe de travail nord-américain sur la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, dans le but de mener une action concertée face aux taux disproportionnés de violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones.

Des leaders des trois pays se réunissent aujourd'hui à la Maison-Blanche pour discuter de ces nouvelles occasions d'intervention coordonnée et réitérer leurs engagements nationaux et régionaux respectifs en vue de : mettre en commun les connaissances à l'égard des politiques, des programmes et des pratiques exemplaires pour prévenir et combattre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones grâce à un accès accru aux services de justice et de santé, et au moyen d'une approche axée sur les droits de l'homme et adaptée à la culture; accroître la collaboration en vue de contrer les crimes violents, notamment la traite de personnes, à l'endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones qui résident à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur des réserves, sur des terres autochtones et de part et d'autre de nos frontières; améliorer la réponse de nos systèmes de justice, de santé, d'éducation et de protection de l'enfance à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones.

Nous sommes fiers d'annoncer que le Canada sera l'hôte de la prochaine réunion trilatérale du groupe de travail, en 2017. Ensemble, les trois pays sont déterminés à inclure les groupes autochtones comme participants à part entière à la prochaine réunion.

Interventions en matière de justice pénale pour lutter contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, y compris la coordination régionale des données sur l'application de la loi

Mesures de prévention et d'intervention en matière de services sociaux et de santé publique pour lutter contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones

Droits de l'homme, femmes, paix et sécurité : accorder la priorité aux femmes et aux filles autochtones dans les affaires multilatérales

Date de modification :