Report on the Review of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Introduction

The Government of Canada is committed to building a renewed Nation-to-Nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples, one based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. Indeed, the Prime Minister has made this my overarching goal as Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs.

Central to achieving this objective is supporting the work of reconciliation. A key aspect of reconciliation is the resolution of historical grievances. The fulfilment of treaty and other obligations to First Nations is necessary to repair relations between First Nations and the Government of Canada.

Specific claims are claims made by First Nations against the Government of Canada which relate to the administration of land or other First Nation assets and to the fulfilment of pre-1975 treaties.

Since 1973, the Government of Canada has made available to First Nations, on a voluntary basis, an alternative dispute resolution process in which outstanding lawful obligations of the Government of Canada can be resolved through negotiated settlement agreements rather than litigation. Negotiated settlement agreements promote justice, certainty and reconciliation between First Nations and the Crown. Negotiated settlement agreements also support the development and self-sufficiency of First Nations.

In December 2006, the Senate Standing Committee on Aboriginal Peoples concluded its special study of the specific claims process. The Committee's final report, entitled Negotiation or Confrontation: It's Canada's Choice, identified a number of long-standing deficiencies with the specific claims process. In particular, the Committee found that confidence in the process was significantly undermined by the perceived conflict of interest of the Government of Canada in both assessing the merits of claims and deciding on compensation. The Committee recommended the creation of an independent body with the mandate and power to resolve specific claims.

In 2007, in response to the Committee's report, a fundamental reform of the specific claims process was undertaken to address process deficiencies and promote the Government of Canada's continued commitment to achieving the fair and timely resolution of specific claims through negotiated settlement agreements. The centrepiece of the initiative was the enactment of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act (the Act), which was jointly developed with the Assembly of First Nations. The Act established the Specific Claims Tribunal, an independent adjudicative body with the authority to make binding decisions as to the validity of specific claims and to award monetary compensation to a maximum value of $150 million per claim.

The Act came into force on October 16, 2008. The Specific Claims Tribunal became fully operational in June 2011, when it published its Rules of Practice and Procedure. The first claim was also submitted to the Tribunal in that month. The Tribunal rendered its first decision in June 2012. To date, the Tribunal has rendered 15 decisions regarding the validity of claims, and no final decisions awarding compensation.

Review of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act

In accordance with section 41 of the Act, in October of 2014, a review of the mandate and structure of the Specific Claims Tribunal, of its efficiency and effectiveness of operation, and of other matters related to the Act was undertaken.

Also in accordance with the Act, First Nations were given the opportunity to make representations. The Assembly of First Nations participated in the review in accordance with the terms of a Political Agreement that was concluded between the Assembly of First Nations and Canada in 2007. This Agreement was established in recognition of the fact that not all matters related to the resolution of specific claims could be addressed in the Act and committed both parties to continue to work together to improve the specific claims process. It was also agreed that the Assembly of First Nations would participate in the review of the Act.

In November 2014, Mr. Benoît Pelletier was engaged as the Minister's Special Representative to oversee and facilitate the review required by the Act. Letters and e-mails were sent to the chiefs of First Nations with claims before the Tribunal and other parties, advising them of the approach being taken to the review, informing them of material that was available on the departmental webpage and providing contact information should they wish to make written submissions or arrange in-person meetings with Mr. Pelletier.

Between mid-February and mid-May 2015, Mr. Pelletier met with First Nations from across the country, the Assembly of First Nations, and other interested parties, including the Chairperson of the Specific Claims Tribunal, to gather comments, suggestions and proposals with respect to the Act, the Specific Claims Tribunal and the specific claims process. Mr. Pelletier's findings and recommendations are set out in his final report entitled Re-Engaging: Five-Year Review of the Act, which is now publicly available.

A parallel examination of the Act was undertaken by the Assembly of First Nations. The Assembly of First Nations established a panel to hold hearings and receive contributions for the development of recommendations to improve the specific claims process. The Assembly of First Nations' panel convened two hearings in March 2015: one in Toronto and one in Vancouver. It heard a total of 23 oral presentations and received seven written submissions. The observations, conclusions and recommendations of the Assembly of First Nations' panel were published by the Assembly of First Nations in May 2015 in a report entitled Specific Claims Review: Expert Based – Peoples Driven and were considered by the Minister's Special Representative during the course of his review.

What Was Heard

The Act requires that the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs submit to each House of Parliament a report concerning the findings and conclusions of the review of the Act. On behalf of the Government of Canada, I am submitting this report to Parliament in fulfilment of that requirement. It reflects what was heard during the Minister's Special Representative's engagement process. It also reflects the insights and recommendations set out by the Assembly of First Nations' panel in Specific Claims Review: Expert Based – Peoples Driven.

With respect to the Act and the operation of the Specific Claims Tribunal, it is clear that First Nations are, generally, satisfied with the Tribunal. First Nations are particularly appreciative of the cultural sensitivity of proceedings. However, the very formal and onerous process for advancing claims before the Tribunal has increased claimants' burdens in terms of time and expense. It is reassuring that Tribunal members are encouraging parties to employ more creativity in the advancement of claims and it is hoped that the Tribunal will find flexibility within its Rules of Practice and Procedure to allow for simplified and more expedited procedures.

The overwhelming focus of representations made by First Nations during the Minister's Special Representative's engagement process as well as during the Assembly of First Nations' panel reflected concerns about the specific claims process rather than the Act or the Tribunal. First Nations and others are concerned that the Government of Canada's approach to the resolution of specific claims has become arbitrary and is not supportive of reconciliation, an objective clearly identified in the preamble of the Act. In particular, concerns were raised with respect to: the administration of research and negotiation funding; the adequacy of funding to support First Nations' participation in all stages of the specific claims process, including at the Specific Claims Tribunal; practices with respect to the assessment and acceptance of claims for negotiation; the availability of mediation; and the Government of Canada's failure to engage in meaningful negotiation.

First Nations believe the promise of partnership and co-operation that helped create the Specific Claims Tribunal has been lost and that the only constructive way forward is to begin anew a process of collaborative discussion through which an approach to the resolution of specific claims can be developed in partnership and with mutual respect.

Moving Forward

I understand from the Minister's Special Representative's report that First Nations are, in general, satisfied with the Specific Claims Tribunal. It is also clear to me that the best way forward is to establish an ongoing joint discussion on how to improve the manner in which specific claims are resolved, as stated by the Assembly of First Nations' panel.

The Government of Canada believes that no changes should be made to the Act at this time. Indeed, changes regarding the Tribunal without the appropriate level of discussion with key interested parties would be ill-advised.

Rather, it is time for the Government of Canada to re-engage in a constructive dialogue regarding the specific claims process. While many thoughtful and creative measures were recommended to address the concerns identified, it is my belief that it would be premature to adopt any of those recommendations at this time. I have heard, clearly, that additional discussion and joint assessment is necessary.

Early in the summer, discussions were started between Government of Canada officials and the Assembly of First Nations. Four key issues requiring priority consideration were identified: 1) funding to support the research and development of claims; 2) the process to resolve claims with a value greater than $150 million; 3) the use of mediation in negotiation processes; and 4) clarity with respect to the public reporting of specific claims-related activities. Over the coming months, discussions will continue to finalize a joint work plan to examine these issues and to identify fair and practical measures to improve the operation of the specific claims process.

While the Assembly of First Nations will have a central role in the work ahead, the contributions of First Nations, other First Nation organizations, and other interested parties will also be sought.

The Prime Minister promised Canadians a government that will bring real change. Renewing the dialogue between the Government of Canada and First Nations about specific claims is the first step to ensuring their resolution in a fair, expeditious, and respectful manner. We commit to continuing the dialogue that has begun, and will re-establish a co-operative and respectful partnership for the resolution of specific claims.

Date modified:

Rapport sur l’examen de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières

Introduction

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à établir une relation renouvelée de nation à nation entre le Canada et les peuples autochtones, une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Le premier ministre en a d'ailleurs fait mon principal objectif en tant que ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord.

Pour réaliser cet objectif, il est essentiel d'appuyer les efforts de réconciliation. Le règlement de griefs historiques constitue un aspect clé de la réconciliation. Le respect des obligations issues de traités et autres envers les Premières Nations est nécessaire pour rétablir les relations entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada.

Les revendications particulières sont des réclamations faites par des Premières Nations à l'endroit du gouvernement du Canada relativement à l'administration des terres et d'autres biens des Premières Nations et au respect des traités conclus avant 1975.

Depuis 1973, le gouvernement du Canada met à la disposition des Premières Nations qui le désirent un processus alternatif de règlement des différends dans le cadre duquel les obligations légales en souffrance du gouvernement du Canada sont résolues par le biais d'ententes de règlement négociées, plutôt que la voie de litiges. Ces ententes favorisent la justice, la certitude et la réconciliation entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne. Elles appuient aussi le développement et l'autosuffisance des Premières Nations.

En décembre 2006, le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones a terminé son étude spéciale sur le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Le rapport final du Comité, intitulé Négociations ou affrontements : le Canada a un choix à faire a relevé un certain nombre de lacunes qui existaient depuis longtemps à l'égard du processus de règlement des revendications particulières. En particulier, le Comité a conclu que la confiance à l'égard du processus avait été sérieusement minée par l'apparence de conflit d'intérêt du gouvernement du Canada aussi bien dans l'évaluation du bien-fondé des revendications que dans la détermination des indemnités à accorder. Le Comité a recommandé la création d'un organisme indépendant ayant le mandat et les pouvoirs nécessaires pour régler les revendications particulières.

En 2007, en réponse au rapport du Comité, une réforme fondamentale du processus de règlement des revendications particulières a été entreprise afin de corriger les lacunes du processus et de promouvoir l'engagement continu du gouvernement du Canada de réaliser le règlement équitable et rapide des revendications particulières par l'entremise d'ententes de règlement négociées. La pièce maîtresse de l'initiative était l'édiction de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières (la Loi), qui a été élaborée conjointement avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. La Loi a créé le Tribunal des revendications particulières (le Tribunal) en tant qu'organisme d'arbitrage indépendant qui a le pouvoir de rendre des décisions exécutoires quant au bien‑fondé des revendications particulières et d'accorder des indemnités maximales de 150 millions de dollars par revendication.

La Loi est entrée en vigueur le 16 octobre 2008. Le Tribunal a été pleinement opérationnel en juin 2011, lorsqu'il a publié ses Règles de procédure. Il a été saisi de la première revendication le même mois. Le Tribunal a rendu sa première décision en juin 2012. À ce jour, le Tribunal a rendu 15 décisions concernant le bien‑fondé des revendications, mais n'a rendu aucune décision définitive accordant des indemnités.

Examen de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières

Conformément à l'article 41 de la Loi, en octobre 2014, un examen du mandat et de la structure du Tribunal, de l'efficacité de son fonctionnement et d'autres questions liées à la Loi a été mené.

Aussi, conformément à la Loi, les Premières Nations ont eu la possibilité de présenter des observations. L'Assemblée des Premières Nations a participé à l'examen selon les modalités d'un Accord politique qui avait été conclu entre l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et le Canada en 2007. Cet Accord a été établi pour reconnaître le fait que toutes les questions liées au règlement des revendications particulières ne pouvaient pas être abordées dans la Loi et engageait les deux parties à continuer à travailler ensemble à améliorer le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Il a également été convenu que l'Assemblée des Premières Nations participerait à l'examen de la Loi.

En novembre 2014, M. Benoît Pelletier a été nommé représentant spécial du ministre chargé de superviser et de faciliter l'examen exigé par la Loi. Des lettres et des courriels ont été envoyés aux chefs des Premières Nations qui avaient des revendications dont le Tribunal était saisi et à d'autres parties, les avisant de la démarche qui était adoptée à l'égard de l'examen, les informant de la documentation qui se trouvait sur le site Web ministériel et leur donnant les coordonnées pour présenter des observations écrites ou pour pouvoir obtenir un entretien en personne avec M. Pelletier.

Entre la mi-février et la mi‑mai 2015, M. Pelletier a rencontré des membres des Premières Nations de tout le pays, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ainsi que d'autres parties intéressées, y compris le président du Tribunal, pour recueillir des commentaires et des propositions en ce qui concerne la Loi, le Tribunal et le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Les conclusions et les recommandations de M. Pelletier sont formulées dans son rapport final intitulé Renouveler l'engagement : Examen quinquennal de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, qui est actuellement accessible au public.

Parallèlement, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations a entrepris un examen de la Loi. Elle a constitué un groupe d'experts chargé de tenir des audiences et de recevoir des contributions pour l'élaboration de recommandations visant à améliorer le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Les experts de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont tenu deux audiences en mars 2015 : une à Toronto et une autre à Vancouver. Au total, il y a eu 23 présentations de vive voix et sept observations écrites. Les observations, les conclusions et les recommandations des experts de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont été publiées par l'Assemblée des Premières Nations en mai 2015 dans un rapport intitulé Examen des revendications particulières : par des experts – avec les peuples et ont été prises en compte par le représentant spécial du ministre dans le cadre de son examen.

Ce qui a été dit

Selon la Loi, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord dépose devant chaque chambre du Parlement un rapport sur les constatations et les conclusions relatives à l'examen de la Loi. Au nom du gouvernement du Canada, je dépose le présent rapport devant le Parlement pour répondre à cette exigence. Il rend compte de ce qui a été dit au cours du processus de consultation du représentant spécial du ministre. Il révèle également les points de vue et les recommandations formulés par les experts de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations dans le rapport intitulé Examen des revendications particulières : par des experts – avec les peuples.

En ce qui concerne la Loi et le fonctionnement du Tribunal, il est manifeste que les Premières Nations sont, dans l'ensemble, satisfaites du travail accompli par le Tribunal. Elles sont particulièrement reconnaissantes pour la prise en compte des réalités culturelles dans les instances. Toutefois, le processus très formel et très onéreux de présentation des revendications devant le Tribunal a augmenté le fardeau des demandeurs en ce qui concerne le temps et les dépenses. C'est rassurant de voir que les membres du Tribunal encouragent les parties à faire davantage preuve de créativité pour la présentation des revendications et il y a lieu d'espérer que le Tribunal trouvera de la souplesse dans ses Règles de procédure afin de permettre l'adoption de procédures simplifiées et plus expéditives.

La très grande proportion des représentations faites par les Premières Nations au cours du processus de consultation du représentant spécial du ministre ainsi qu'à l'égard des experts de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations traduit l'existence de préoccupations au sujet du processus de règlement des revendications particulières plutôt qu'au sujet de la Loi ou du Tribunal. Les Premières Nations et d'autres s'inquiètent du fait que la démarche adoptée par le gouvernement du Canada pour le règlement des revendications particulières est devenue arbitraire et qu'elle ne favorise pas la réconciliation, un objectif qui est clairement énoncé dans le préambule de la Loi. En particulier, des préoccupations ont été soulevées en ce qui concerne les aspects suivants : l'administration du financement de la recherche et des négociations, le caractère adéquat du financement visant à appuyer la participation des Premières Nations à toutes les étapes du processus de règlement des revendications particulières, y compris au Tribunal; les pratiques relatives à l'évaluation et à l'acceptation des revendications aux fins de négociation; la disponibilité des services de médiation et le défaut du gouvernement du Canada de mener des négociations sérieuses.

Les Premières Nations croient que la promesse de partenariat et de coopération qui a permis de créer le Tribunal s'est envolée et que la seule manière constructive pour aller de l'avant est de reprendre le processus d'une discussion concertée au moyen duquel une démarche relative au règlement des revendications particulières peut être adoptée ensemble et dans le respect mutuel.

Prochaines étapes

Je crois comprendre, selon le rapport du représentant spécial du ministre, que les Premières Nations sont, en général, satisfaites au sujet du Tribunal. Il me semble évident que la meilleure façon d'aller de l'avant est d'engager de manière continue une discussion commune pour améliorer la façon dont les revendications particulières sont réglées, comme l'ont affirmé les experts de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations.

Le gouvernement du Canada croit qu'aucune modification ne devrait être apportée à la Loi en ce moment. En effet, des modifications effectuées au sujet du Tribunal en l'absence de discussions appropriées avec les principales parties intéressées seraient mal avisées.

Au contraire, il est temps que le gouvernement du Canada engage de nouveau un dialogue constructif en ce qui concerne le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Bien que de nombreuses mesures significatives et innovatrices aient été recommandées en vue de répondre aux préoccupations soulevées, je crois qu'il serait prématuré d'adopter l'une ou l'autre recommandation à ce moment‑ci. J'ai entendu, manifestement, que d'autres discussions et une évaluation conjointe sont nécessaires.

Au début de l'été, des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont entamé des discussions. Quatre questions principales qui doivent être examinées en priorité ont été relevées : 1) le financement pour appuyer la recherche et l'élaboration des revendications, 2) le processus de règlement des revendications de plus de 150 millions de dollars, 3) le recours à la médiation dans le processus de négociation et 4) la clarté des rapports publics concernant les activités liées aux revendications particulières. Au cours des prochains mois, des discussions se poursuivront en vue de mettre la touche finale à un plan de travail commun visant à examiner ces questions et à déterminer des mesures équitables et pratiques en vue d'améliorer le fonctionnement du processus de règlement des revendications particulières.

Bien que l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ait un rôle crucial à jouer dans les travaux à venir, les Premières Nations, d'autres organisations des Premières Nations et d'autres parties intéressées seront également mises à contribution.

Le premier ministre a promis aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens un gouvernement qui sera porteur de changements concrets. Le dialogue renouvelé entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations au sujet des revendications particulières constitue la première étape permettant d'assurer le règlement de celles‑ci de manière équitable, rapide et respectueuse. Nous nous engageons à poursuivre le dialogue qui a été engagé, et nous rétablirons un partenariat coopératif et respectueux en vue du règlement des revendications particulières.

Date de modification :