Engagement Overview: Working together, building a new approach for mutual transparency and accountability between First Nations and the Government of Canada

Choose a topic:

Preamble

The Government of Canada is working to renew the nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous peoples based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership.

A number of engagement initiatives with First Nations, Inuit, Métis communities and other Canadians are already planned or underway to achieve this goal. Engaging on the way forward with First Nations on mutual financial transparency and accountability is one of these initiatives.

Accountability and transparency are key tenets of any government – whether federal, provincial, municipal or First Nations. Good governance is vital in ensuring the delivery of the historic investments to Indigenous and Northern communities through Budget 2016. However, this will only truly be achieved by working in full partnership with First Nations leadership, communities and organizations to create a new approach and establish mutual transparency and accountability.

To develop a new nation-to-nation approach, the Government of Canada is seeking the views and ideas of First Nations on how to best create and support mutual transparency and accountability.

Purpose and overview of the engagement

On December 18, 2015, the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs issued a statement in which she committed to work with First Nations leadership and organizations on the way forward on mutual transparency and accountability.

As a starting point for this engagement, the Government of Canada is inviting First Nations leadership and First Nations community members to participate in engagement sessions and / or complete this online survey to share their perspectives and ideas on mutual transparency and accountability.

Engagement sessions with First Nations are scheduled from coast-to-coast-to-coast this winter. The dialogue and outcomes will be guided by recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership with First Nations.

Frequently asked questions

What is the First Nations Financial Transparency Act?

The First Nations Financial Transparency Act (FNFTA) came into force March 27, 2013 and requires First Nations to provide audited consolidated financial statements and an audited schedule of remuneration and expenses for Chief and Councillors to their membership, and to publish these documents on a website. The act also provides additional authorities with respect to the application of administrative measures and court remedies for failure to comply with these requirements. 

The FNFTA is still in place and First Nations governments continue their long-standing practice of reporting on their financial program performance both to their members and to the department.

Prior to the passing of the First Nations Financial Transparency Act, 2013, how did First Nations disclose financial information to INAC and their membership?

First Nations have had a long-standing requirement to provide financial and non-financial information including plans, reports and financial documents to the department and to their memberships. Provisions within funding agreements allow the department to share financial information (specifically the audited consolidated financial statements and other required statements and schedules) with First Nations members when requested.

Have First Nations communities and organizations been calling for measures to demonstrate financial transparency and accountability?

In December 2010, at a Special Chiefs Assembly, the Assembly of First Nations passed Resolution 50 First Nation Governments Demonstrating Accountability. The Resolution reaffirmed First Nations' commitment to accountability and transparency and reiterated their primary responsibility to their own First Nations citizens. Furthermore, it sought collaboration with the Government of Canada "in the genuine interest of accountability" and "joint efforts towards the development of specific First Nations governance institutional capacity such as a First Nations ombudsperson and / or Auditor-General function as mandated and advanced by the Assembly of First Nations and Chiefs-in-Assembly in 2006."(Assembly of First Nations 2010).Footnote 1

The Government of Canada is committed to engaging in a respectful dialogue with First Nations on Resolution 50 and other ideas that are consistent with a nation-to-nation relationship.

How is the First Nations Financial Transparency Act, 2013, currently being enforced?

On December 18, 2015, the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs announced the suspension of Federal Government initiated court actions against First Nations that have not complied with the FNFTA, directed the cessation of other discretionary compliance measures related to the FNFTA, reinstated funding withheld from First Nations under the compliance measures, and committed to a dialogue with First Nations on transparency and accountability more broadly, in order to move forward in a way that respects the nation-to-nation relationship.

How to participate and next steps

The Government of Canada is seeking to engage with First Nations leaders and membership to identify a way forward that is based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. Engagement sessions will be held across the country with First Nations leadership and organizations.

Please take some time now to respond to the online survey and share your thoughts on transparency and accountability. The survey should take about 10 to 15 minutes to complete but may take longer if you want to provide more feedback.

If you are not able to respond to the survey online or would prefer to complete a paper copy, or if you would like to share a general comment, you can contact us in one of the following ways:

All contributions received through this engagement will be carefully considered. Your input will be used to inform options for consideration and decision, in collaboration with First Nations leadership and members. Results of this engagement will be shared publicly (no identifying information will be shared publicly).

Please visit INAC's engagement web page regularly for updates, further details on planned engagement activities and to find other key documents on the First Nations Financial Transparency Act and its implementation to date.

Additional Related Links

Annex A: definitions

Accountability: Accountability is a duty to demonstrate, review and take responsibility for performance results.

Consolidated financial statements: The financial statements of a First Nation — prepared according to generally accepted accounting principles — in which the assets, liabilities, equity, income, expenses and cash flows of the First Nation and related entities are presented as those of a single economic entity or government, reporting on its financial information.

First Nations Auditor General: An auditor general helps to hold a government accountable for the use of public funds. A First Nations Auditor General would primarily support accountability between First Nations and their citizens.

Ombudsperson / Ombudsman: usually appointed by the government to assist with the fair and expeditious resolution of complaints in an impartial, confidential and independent manner. Services are free of charge and the Ombudsperson / Ombudsman is not a representative of the person raising the complaint or the organization being complained about.

Publish: Publishing documents, or causing those documents to be published on an Internet site.

Remuneration: Any salaries, wages, commissions, bonuses, fees, honoraria and dividends and any other monetary benefits — other than the reimbursement of expenses — and non-monetary benefits.

Transparency: Making sure that relevant information is reported reliably and clearly, and is on time and accessible.

Value-for-money: A fair return on an investment.

Date modified:

Aperçu du processus de mobilisation : collaborer à la mise en place d’une nouvelle approche axée sur la transparence et la reddition de comptes mutuelles entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada

Choisir un sujet :

Préambule

Le gouvernement du Canada s'efforce de renouveler la relation de nation à nation avec les peuples autochtones, afin qu'elle soit fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat.

Un certain nombre d’initiatives de mobilisation auprès de collectivités inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations et d’autres Canadiens sont déjà prévues ou en cours en vue d’atteindre cet objectif. La mobilisation des Premières Nations à propos de la voie à suivre concernant la transparence financière et la reddition de comptes mutuelles fait partie de ces initiatives.

La reddition de comptes et la transparence sont les principes fondamentaux de toute administration – qu’il s’agisse du gouvernement fédéral, d’un gouvernement provincial, d’une administration municipale ou d’une Première Nation. La bonne gouvernance est essentielle à la réalisation des investissements historiques consacrés aux collectivités autochtones et nordiques aux termes du budget de 2016. Cependant, pour y arriver, il est essentiel d’établir une relation de nation à nation, en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les dirigeants, les collectivités et les organisations des Premières Nations pour mettre en place une nouvelle approche axée sur la transparence et la reddition de comptes mutuelles.

Pour établir une nouvelle relation de nation à nation, le gouvernement du Canada veut obtenir les points de vue et les idées des Premières Nations sur les meilleurs moyens d’en arriver à une transparence et à une reddition de comptes mutuelles.

Objet et aperçu du processus de mobilisation

Le 18 décembre 2015, la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord a publié une déclaration dans laquelle elle s'est engagée à collaborer avec les dirigeants et les organisations des Premières Nations à propos de la voie à suivre à l'égard de la transparence et de la reddition de comptes mutuelles.

Comme point de départ de cette mobilisation, le gouvernement du Canada invite les dirigeants des Premières Nations et les membres de leurs collectivités à participer aux séances de discussion ou à répondre au sondage en ligne afin de faire connaître leurs idées et leurs opinions sur la transparence et la reddition de comptes mutuelles.

Des séances de mobilisation avec les Premières Nations sont prévues à la grandeur du pays cet hiver. Le dialogue et les résultats seront orientés par les principes de reconnaissance des droits, de respect, de coopération et de partenariat avec les Premières Nations.

Foire aux questions

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations?

La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations (LTFPN), en vigueur depuis le 27 mars 2013, exige que les Premières Nations présentent à leurs membres des états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi que l'annexe vérifiée de la rémunération et des dépenses du chef et des conseillers. Elles sont aussi tenues de publier ces documents sur un site Web. La Loi prévoit également l'application de mesures administratives et de recours judiciaires en cas de non-respect de ces exigences.

La LTFPN est toujours en vigueur. Les gouvernements des Premières Nations poursuivent leur pratique de longue date consistant à rendre compte du rendement des programmes financiers aussi bien au Ministère qu'à leurs membres.

Avant l'adoption de la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations, en 2013, comment les Premières Nations communiquaient-elles les renseignements financiers à leurs membres et à AANC?

Les Premières Nations sont tenues depuis de nombreuses années de fournir des renseignements financiers et non financiers, y compris des plans, des rapports et des documents financiers, à leurs membres et au Ministère. Les dispositions des ententes de financement permettaient au Ministère de communiquer des renseignements financiers (plus précisément, les états financiers consolidés vérifiés et d’autres états et annexes) aux membres d’une Première Nation qui en faisaient la demande.

Les collectivités et les organisations des Premières Nations demandent-elles que des mesures soient prises pour assurer la reddition de comptes et de la transparence en matière financière?

En décembre 2010, lors d'une assemblée extraordinaire des chefs, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations a adopté la résolution no 50, Les gouvernements des Premières Nations font preuve de responsabilisation. La résolution confirme l'engagement des Premières Nations à l'égard de la reddition de comptes et de la transparence, et réitère leur responsabilité première envers leurs propres citoyens. Par ailleurs, elle vise la collaboration avec le gouvernement du Canada « dans l'intérêt réel de la reddition de comptes » et dans l'effort commun consistant à développer des moyens de gouvernance institutionnelle propres aux Premières Nations, notamment une fonction d'ombudsman et/ou de vérificateur général, tel que cela a été proposé et conféré par voie de mandat par l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et les Chefs en assemblée en 2006 (Assemblée des Premières Nations, 2010).Note de bas de page 1

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à amorcer un dialogue respectueux avec les Premières Nations concernant la résolution no 50 et d'autres propositions qui cadrent avec la relation de nation à nation.

Dans quelle mesure la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations de 2013 est-elle appliquée?

Le 18 décembre 2015, la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord a annoncé la suspension de tous les recours judiciaires intentés par le gouvernement fédéral contre les Premières Nations qui ne se sont pas conformées à la LTFPN, a demandé de cesser toute autre mesure administrative de nature discrétionnaire liée à la LTFPN, a rétabli le financement destiné aux Premières Nations qui était retenu en raison de ces mesures et s'est engagée à entamer un dialogue avec les Premières Nations sur la transparence et la reddition de comptes en général afin d'aller de l'avant d'une manière qui respecte la relation de nation à nation.

Comment participer et prochaines étapes

Le gouvernement du Canada souhaite connaître l’avis des dirigeants et des membres des Premières Nations afin de définir la voie à suivre en se fondant sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Des séances de mobilisation auront lieu partout au pays avec les dirigeants et les organisations des Premières Nations.

Veuillez prendre quelques instants pour répondre au sondage en ligne et exprimer vos idées concernant la transparence et la reddition de comptes. Vous devez prévoir de 10 à 15 minutes pour répondre au sondage, ou davantage si vous souhaitez formuler des observations détaillées.

Si vous n'êtes pas en mesure de répondre au sondage en ligne, si vous préférez remplir la version papier, ou encore si vous souhaitez formuler un commentaire général, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous de l'une des façons suivantes :

Tous les commentaires recueillis dans le cadre de cette activité de mobilisation seront examinés attentivement. Vos observations serviront à définir les options à examiner et les décisions à prendre, en collaboration avec les dirigeants et les membres des Premières Nations. Les résultats de cette activité de mobilisation seront affichés publiquement (seuls des renseignements anonymes seront publiés).

Veuillez consulter régulièrement la page Web sur le processus de mobilisation d'AANC pour obtenir des mises à jour et des précisions sur les activités de mobilisation prévues et pour consulter d'autres documents clés touchant la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations et son application jusqu'à maintenant.

Liens connexes

Annexe A : définitions

États financiers consolidés : états financiers d'une Première Nation préparés selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, dans lesquels ses actifs, passifs, capitaux propres, produits, charges et flux de trésorerie et ceux des entités connexes sont présentés comme ceux d'une entité économique unique ou d'un gouvernement présentant l'information financière.

Ombudsman : l'ombudsman est habituellement nommé par le gouvernement pour aider à résoudre les plaintes le plus efficacement possible en poursuivant ce qui est juste; il respecte la confidentialité de toutes les personnes qui le consultent, et il agit de manière impartiale et indépendante. Ses services sont offerts gratuitement. L'ombudsman n'agit pas comme un représentant du plaignant ni de l'organisation qui est visée par la plainte.

Optimisation des ressources : juste rendement d'un investissement.

Publier : publier ou faire publier des documents sur un site Internet.

Reddition de comptes : obligation de faire la preuve du rendement, de l'examiner et d'en assumer la responsabilité.

Rémunération : les salaires, traitements, commissions, bonis, droits, honoraires et dividendes, tout autre avantage pécuniaire – exception faite des remboursements de dépenses – et les avantages non pécuniaires.

Transparence : veiller à ce que les renseignements pertinents soient rapportés de façon fiable et claire et produits en temps opportun, en plus d'être accessibles.

Vérificateur général des Premières Nations : un vérificateur général contribue à tenir un gouvernement responsable de l'utilisation des fonds publics. Le vérificateur général des Premières Nations aurait principalement pour objectif d'appuyer la reddition de comptes entre les Premières Nations et leurs membres.

Date de modification :