About the commissioners

Learn about the commissioners leading the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls and how they were chosen.

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls is independent from the federal government. The inquiry will establish its own office and website. Contact information for the inquiry will be posted as soon as it is available. Contact the inquiry directly to learn how to participate in or work for the inquiry.

Choose a topic:

Selection process

The five commissioners appointed to lead the independent inquiry represent the background, characteristics and experience that we heard about in the pre-inquiry design phase that will be necessary to lead this inquiry.

To learn more about what these commissioners will do during the independent inquiry, visit About the independent inquiry.

Chief Commissioner, the Honourable Marion Buller

Provincial Court Judge, British Columbia
Mistawasis First Nation, Saskatchewan

The Honourable Judge Marion Buller was appointed the first female First Nations judge in British Columbia in 1994. Prior to being appointed to the Provincial Court bench, Judge Buller worked as a civil and criminal lawyer (1988-1994). Judge Buller served as both a director and president of Canada's Indigenous Bar Association and has been a member of the B.C. Police Commission and the Law Court Education Society. She was the Commission Counsel for the Caribou-Chilcotin Justice Inquiry and published reports and articles dealing with Aboriginal rights and legal services for First Nations in British Columbia. Judge Buller was instrumental in starting the First Nations Court of British Columbia in 2006.

Judge Buller received her bachelor's degree in anthropology from the University of Victoria, and went on to study law there as well. Judge Buller is currently resident in Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, where she sits on the Provincial Court Bench, but maintains band membership with the Mistawasis First Nation in Saskatchewan.

Commissioner Michèle Audette

Former President of Femmes autochtones du Québec (Québec Native Women's Association)
Mani Utenam, Québec

Born to a French father and Innu mother, in the Innu community of Mani Utenam in Québec, Michèle Audette is a native long-time Innu speaker. She began her political career very early having been elected one of the youngest-ever Presidents of the Québec Native Women's Association (QNWA), a Native Women's Association of Canada member organization, where she has advocated actively to support women's issues. She was instrumental in helping Ecole Nationale D'Administration Publique create an innovative program in the field of Aboriginal public policy. Additionally, from 2004-2009, Ms. Audette served as Deputy Minister at the provincial Secretariat of the Status of Women in Québec. She was the recipient of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Commissioner Qajaq Robinson

Associate, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Iqaluit, Nunavut

Qajaq Robinson is a graduate of the Akitsiraq Law Program – a partnership between the University of Victoria and Nunavut Arctic College. Born in Iqaluit and raised in Igloolik, Ms. Robinson is a strong Northern advocate, who is fluent in Inuktitut and English . She articled at Maliiganik Tukisiiniakvik, clerked with judges of the Nunavut Court of Justice under the Chief Justice at the time, Beverley Browne, and then became a Crown prosecutor who worked the circuit court in Nunavut for four years.

Ms. Robinson is presently an Associate with Borden Ladner Gervais LLP in Ottawa, Ontario, where she works on Team North, a multi-disciplinary team of 70 lawyers who do a variety of work for First Nation communities in the northern parts of central and western provinces and the territories. She has worked on a wide range of issues affecting Indigenous rights. Most recently, Ms. Robinson worked as legal counsel at the Specific Claims Tribunal, travelling to First Nations communities across Canada. In addition, Ms. Robinson is the Vice President of Tungasuvvingat Inuit, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to providing cultural and wellness programs to Inuit in Ottawa

Commissioner Marilyn Poitras

Assistant Professor
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Marilyn Poitras was appointed Assistant Professor in the College of Law, at University of Saskatchewan in 2009. She obtained her LL.M from Harvard and her LL.B from the University of Saskatchewan.

Prior to being appointed Assistant Professor, her professional life was a fusion of law, governance, community and institutional education. Her expertise and passion is around constitutional/Aboriginal law with a life study of customary laws. Ms. Poitras was a Native Court Worker and moved into the area of constitutional law after articling with the Saskatchewan Department of Justice. She has developed a number of legal education initiatives, including the precursor to the Akitsiraq Law School in Nunavut, where she has been a professor, and the Indigenous People's Resource Management Program at the University of Saskatchewan.

Ms. Poitras has worked in private practice and litigated in every level of court in Canada. She has significant experience in the development of self government with the Beaufort Delta Agreement, treaty implementation with the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Treaty Table Justice Portfolio as well as the revisions to the Saskatchewan Métis Election Process. Ms. Poitras also works on CIDA funded research on ancestral domain and land conflict in Central Mindanao. Ms. Poitras is also the film producer of 7 Minutes, a film about an Indigenous woman from Saskatchewan who was stalked and chased. She is also the editor of numerous Elder's books for various First Nations in Saskatchewan who tell their own stories of life, residential school and traditional teachings.

Commissioner Brian Eyolfson

Acting Deputy Director, Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs, Legal Services
Couchiching First Nation, Ontario

Brian Eyolfson holds a B.Sc. in psychology, an LL.B from Queen's University and an LL.M, specializing in administrative law, from Osgoode Hall Law School.

Mr. Eyolfson was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1994 and has served as a Senior Staff Lawyer with Aboriginal Legal Services in Toronto and as Counsel to the Ontario Human Rights Commission. He was Counsel to Aboriginal Legal Services of Toronto at the Ipperwash Inquiry, and practiced human rights, Aboriginal and administrative law before a variety of tribunals and courts. He is a Vice Chair with the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario, where he adjudicated and mediated human rights applications, from 2007 to 2016. Mr. Eyolfson is currently acting as the Deputy Director in the Legal Services Branch of the Ontario Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation.

Date modified:

À propos des commissaires

Apprenez-en plus sur les commissaires qui dirigeront l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, et sur la façon dont ils ont été choisis.

L'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées est indépendante du gouvernement fédéral. Un bureau sera spécialement créé pour ses besoins, et un site Web lui sera consacré. Les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l'enquête seront affichées dès qu'elles seront disponibles. Communiquez directement avec les responsables de l'enquête si vous souhaitez participer à l'enquête ou contribuer à ses travaux.

Choisir un sujet :

Processus de sélection

Les cinq commissaires chargés de diriger l'enquête indépendante possèdent les acquis, les caractéristiques et l'expérience nécessaires pour diriger le processus tel qu'établi par les participants lors de l'étape de définition des paramètres de l'Enquête.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le rôle des commissaires dans le cadre de l'enquête indépendante, consultez la section À propos de l'enquête indépendante.

Commissaire en chef, l’honorable Marion Buller

Juge de la Cour provinciale, Colombie-Britannique
Première Nation de Mistawasis, Saskatchewan

En 1994, l'honorable juge Marion Buller est devenue la première femme membre des Premières Nations à être nommée juge en Colombie-Britannique. Avant sa nomination à la Cour provinciale, la juge Buller a travaillé à titre d'avocate spécialisée en droit civil et en droit criminel (1988-1994). Elle a siégé en tant que directrice et présidente de l'Association du Barreau autochtone du Canada et a été membre de la Commission de police de la Colombie-Britannique et de la BC Law Court Education Society. Elle a agi en qualité d'avocate de la Commission dans le cadre de l'enquête judiciaire sur les Chilcotins de Cariboo et a publié différents rapports et articles traitant des droits des Autochtones et des services juridiques à l'égard des Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique. La juge Buller a joué un rôle essentiel dans la fondation de la First Nations Court en Colombie-Britannique en 2006.

La juge Buller a obtenu un baccalauréat en anthropologie de l'Université de Victoria, avant d'y entreprendre des études de droit. La juge Buller habite actuellement Port Coquitlam, en Colombie-Britannique, où elle siège à la Cour provinciale. Elle est membre de la Première Nation de Mistawasis en Saskatchewan.

Commissaire Michèle Audette

Ancienne présidente des femmes autochtones du Québec
Mani Utenam, Québec

Née d'un père français et d'une mère innue et originaire de la communauté innue de Mani Utenam au Québec, Michèle Audette a pour langue maternelle l'innu. Elle a commencé sa carrière politique très jeune, puisqu'elle est devenue l'une des plus jeunes présidentes élues à l'Association des femmes autochtones du Québec (AFAQ), une organisation membre de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada. Au sein de cette organisation, elle a milité pour soutenir les causes des femmes autochtones. Elle a joué un rôle déterminant en aidant l'École nationale de l'administration publique à mettre en œuvre un programme novateur dans le domaine des politiques publiques autochtones. En outre, de 2004 à 2009, Mme Audette a occupé le poste de sous-ministre chargée du Secrétariat à la condition féminine du Québec. Elle a été lauréate de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine en 2012.

Commissaire Qajaq Robinson

Avocate associée, Borden Ladner Gervais s.r.l.
Iqualuit, Nunavut

Qajaq Robinson est diplômée du Programme de droit Akitsiraq – un partenariat entre l'Université de Victoria et le Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut. Mme Robinson, ardente porte-parole des intérêts du Nord, est née à Iqaluit et a grandi à Igloolik. Elle maîtrise l'inuktitut et l'anglais. Après un stage au sein de Maliiganik Tukisiiniakvik, elle a assumé les fonctions de greffière auprès de juges de la Cour de justice du Nunavut, relevant alors de la juge en chef Beverley Browne. Elle est devenue ensuite procureure de la Couronne et a travaillé à la cour de circuit au Nunavut pendant quatre ans.

Mme Robinson est actuellement avocate au cabinet de Borden Ladner Gervais s.r.l. à Ottawa (Ontario), où elle travaille au sein de Team North, une équipe multidisciplinaire composée de 70 avocats qui s'occupent d'un éventail de dossiers pour les collectivités des Premières Nations dans les régions nord des provinces du Centre et de l'Ouest et des territoires. Elle a travaillé à divers dossiers ayant une incidence sur les droits des Autochtones.. Récemment, Mme Robinson a travaillé à titre de conseillère juridique au Tribunal des revendications particulières, ce qui l'a menée à visiter plusieurs collectivités autochtones partout au Canada. De plus, Mme Robinson est vice-présidente de Tungasuvvingat Inuit, une organisation à but non lucratif voué à offrir des programmes culturels et de mieux-être aux Inuit d'Ottawa.

Commissaire Marilyn Poitras

Professeure adjointe
Métisse, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Marilyn Poitras s'est jointe à la faculté de droit de l'Université de la Saskatchewan à titre de professeure adjointe en 2009. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit de l'Université Harvard et un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de la Saskatchewan.

Avant sa nomination à titre de professeure adjointe, elle a cumulé des fonctions dans différents domaines, notamment le droit, la gouvernance et l'éducation communautaire et institutionnelle. En plus de se consacrer à l'étude des règles de droit coutumier, elle se passionne pour le droit constitutionnel et le droit autochtone, dans lesquels elle se spécialise. Ancienne travailleuse parajudiciaire autochtone, Mme Poitras est passée au droit constitutionnel après s'est jointe au ministère de la Justice de la Saskatchewan à titre de stagiaire. Elle a élaboré plusieurs projets d'éducation juridique, dont le précurseur du Programme de droit Akitsiraq au Nunavut, où elle a enseigné, et le Programme de gestion des ressources des Autochtones offert par l'Université de la Saskatchewan.

Mme Poitras a pratiqué le droit dans le secteur privé et a plaidé à tous les échelons du système judiciaire au Canada. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine de l'autonomie gouvernementale acquise dans le cadre de l'élaboration de l'entente du Delta de Beaufort, de la mise en œuvre de traités avec la table de discussion sur les traités de la Fédération des Nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan (portefeuille de la justice), ainsi que des révisions au processus électoral des Métis en Saskatchewan. Mme Poitras travaille également à la recherche financée par l'ACDI sur le domaine ancestral et le conflit territorial dans le centre de Mindanao. Mme Poitras est aussi la productrice du film 7 minutes, un film qui met en vedette une femme autochtone de Saskatchewan qui a été poursuivie et harcelée. Elle est également la réviseure de nombreux livres biographiques d'aînés provenant de collectivités des Premières Nations en Saskatchewan. On peut y lire des récits de vie, des histoires sur les pensionnats indiens et des enseignements traditionnels.

Commissaire Brian Eyolfson

Directeur adjoint par intérim, ministère des Affaires autochtones, Services juridiques
Première Nation de Couchiching, Ontario

Brian Eyolfson est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en psychologie de l'Université Queen's et d'une maîtrise en droit avec spécialisation en droit administratif de la Faculté de droit Osgoode Hall.

M. Eyolfson a été reçu au Barreau de l'Ontario en 1994 et a agi à titre d'avocat-conseil à l'interne principal auprès des Services juridiques pour les Autochtones à Toronto, et à titre de conseiller juridique auprès de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne. Il a assumé les fonctions de conseiller juridique pour les Services juridiques pour les Autochtones dans le cadre de l'enquête judiciaire sur l'affaire Ipperwash en Ontario. Il a aussi pratiqué dans les domaines des droits de la personne, du droit autochtone et du droit administratif. Il occupe un siège de vice-président du Tribunal des droits de la personne de l'Ontario, où il a assumé les fonctions d'arbitre et de médiateur dans les requêtes de droits de la personne de2007 à 2016. M. Eyolfson occupe actuellement le poste de directeur adjoint par intérim à la direction générale des services juridique au ministère des Relations avec les Affaires autochtones et de la Réconciliation.

Date de modification :