Nutrition North Canada

Name of lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

Federal partner organizations: Health Canada

Start date: April 1, 2011

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $327,234,325Footnote 1 over five years

Description: The objective of the Nutrition North Canada Program is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable than it otherwise would be to residents of eligible isolated northern communities without year-round surface (road, rail or marine) access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers in the South who supply small retailers, institutions and individuals in these isolated communities, can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The Nutrition North Canada Program — National Manual will govern the terms of the funding agreements with INAC's subsidy recipients (northern and southern retailers/wholesalers).

Since price is not the only factor that influences nutritious choices, the Program will also be supported by targeted Health Canada initiatives that encourage the purchase, preparation and consumption of healthy foods. Funding will flow to communities via contribution agreements with Indigenous communities and organizations, and/or territorial governments.

Shared outcome: By making perishable, nutritious foods more accessible and affordable than they otherwise would be, consumption of these foods in the North may increase, thereby contributing to better overall health of the population, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous. It is expected that the subsidy will help lower the prices of perishable, nutritious foods in the North. In combination with complementary health promotion activities, it is expected that consumption of these foods will increase in the short- and mid-term. In the longer term, more individuals living in eligible communities are expected to adopt healthier eating patterns, which will contribute to decreases in the rates of chronic and infectious diseases.

Governance structure: The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed to a three-year term.

Performance Highlights: In 2015–2016, INAC continued to address food insecurity in the North by supporting access to perishable, nutritious foods in Canada's isolated northern communities. The Department provided information to the public by posting compliance reviews, shipping data and price reports on the program website, and engaged Northern communities through social media and the program's Advisory Board. On January 9, 2016, the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs met with Northerners and stakeholders in Norman Wells, Northwest Territories to gather ideas on how to update the program and keep it on a sustainable path.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to the organization's program Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2015–2016 Planned spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Actual spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Actual results against targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Northern Governance and People Nutrition North Canada $301,427,825a $71,716,369b $70,497,736 ER1.1 T1.1
AR1.1
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care (PAA 3.1.1.3 First Nations and Inuit Healthy Living) Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives $14,500,000 (2011–2012 to 2015–2016, and ongoing annually at $2,900,000) $2,900,000 $2,707,115 ER1.2 T1.2
AR1.2
Total for all federal organizations $315,927,825 $74,616,369 $73,204,851  
a INAC funding $286,859,500 + $14,568,325 (escalator) = $301,427,825. The Vote 10 (escalator) is frozen, condition met in 2015–2016.
b $57,148,044 + $14,568,325 (escalator) = $71,716,369. The Vote 10 (escalator) is frozen, condition met in 2015–2016.
2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Targets 2015–2016 Actual results against targetsa
ER1.1
Residents in eligible communities have access to perishable, nutritious food at a subsidized rate.
T1.1
The annual average Revised Northern Food Basket is comparable to the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index basket of food.
100% of compliance reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers.
AR1.1
Between March 2015 and March 2016, the Revised Northern Food Basket for communities that were then eligible for a full subsidy increased by 2.04%, while "food purchased from stores" in the Consumer Price Index, as reported by Statistics Canada, increased by 4.16%, suggesting that the NNC subsidy had a positive impact on the cost of food in these communities.
In 2015–2016, 100% of the five compliance reviews found that the subsidy was fully passed on to northern consumers; further, three of the five compliance reviews clearly demonstrated that the profit margin has not eroded the subsidy. The remaining two compliance reviews (less than 0.01 percent of the $68.4 million in subsidies spent in 2015–2016) were not able to conclude whether or not the profit margin applied eroded the subsidy, requiring further investigation before providing a conclusive analysis.
ER1.2
Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills to choose and prepare nutritious foods.
T1.2
72 communities served by Nutrition North Canada nutrition education initiatives
1,300 Nutrition North Canada nutrition education activities supported at the community level
AR1.2
Health Canada achieved the following:
  • 76 communities received support for Nutrition North Canada nutrition education initiatives.
  • More than 1,500 Nutrition North Canada nutrition education activities were delivered, such as: the promotion of healthy food knowledge and skills among children, youth and adults in school and community settings; in-store taste tests and grocery store tours; and traditional food harvesting and preparation.
  • Outcomes observed by Nutrition North Canada community workers include increased:
    • awareness of healthy foods;
    • interest and skills in gardening, healthy eating and cooking;
    • children and youth preparing food for others;
    • demand for certain activities (e.g. community cooking);
    • partnerships in the community.
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
The difference between Planned Spending and Actual Spending primarily reflects the postponement of the engagement strategy during the election period.

Health Canada
The variance between Planned and Actual Spending is mainly due to efficiency realized through the sharing of program delivery costs, coordinating travel to communities, and offering training sessions jointly with Health Canada programs such as the Aboriginal Diabetes Initiative.

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: To support community consultation and engagement, the Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board held a face-to-face Advisory Board meeting in July 2015, including a public meeting with community members on July 27, 2015 in Kugluktuk, Nunavut.

Contact information:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Diane Robinson
Director, Nutrition North Canada
Northern Affairs Organization
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Health Canada
Mary Trifonopoulos
Acting Senior Manager, Healthy Living/Population Health and Wellness Division,
Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Health Canada
Telephone: 613-292-7518
mary.trifonopoulos@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Nutrition Nord Canada

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Santé Canada

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement : Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 327 234 325 $Note de bas de page 1 sur cinq ans

Description : L'objectif du programme Nutrition Nord Canada est de veiller à ce que les résidents des collectivités nordiques isolées privées d'une route, d'un chemin de fer ou d'un service maritime praticables toute l'année aient un meilleur accès à des alimentas périssables et nutritifs à un prix plus abordable.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles ainsi que les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires du Sud qui assurent l'approvisionnement des petits détaillants, des institutions et des particuliers dans ces collectivités isolées peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord doivent profiter de ces subventions puisqu'elles permettent de réduire en conséquence le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme Nutrition Nord Canada régira les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention d'AANC (les détaillants et les grossistes du Nord et du Sud).

Étant donné que le prix n'est pas le seul facteur qui influe sur des choix nutritifs, le Programme recevra un soutien par l'entremise d'initiatives ciblées de Santé Canada qui encouragent l'achat, la préparation et la consommation d'aliments sains. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résultats partagés : Grâce à ce Programme, les aliments périssables et nutritifs sont plus facilement accessibles et plus abordables qu'il ne le serait autrement, ce qui pourrait faire en sorte que la population autochtone et non autochtone du Nord en consomme davantage, et contribuer ainsi à l'amélioration de leur santé en général. La subvention devrait entraîner une baisse du prix des aliments périssables et nutritifs dans le Nord. Conjuguée à d'autres activités complémentaires de promotion de la santé, on pense que la consommation de ces aliments augmentera à court et à moyen terme. À plus long terme, on s'attend à ce que la population adopte des habitudes alimentaires plus saines, ce qui contribuera à la réduction des taux de maladies chroniques et infectieuses.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada donne aux résidents du Nord une possibilité directe de s'exprimer au sujet du Programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils à la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada afin de contribuer à l'orientation et aux activités du Programme et de veiller à ce que les résidents du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du Programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier, et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans.

Faits saillants du rendement : En 2015-2016, AANC a continué de s'occuper de l'insécurité alimentaire dans le Nord en appuyant l'accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs dans les collectivités nordiques isolées. Le Ministère a fourni de l'information au public en affichant sur le site Web les examens de conformité, les rapports sur les expéditions et les prix, et a mobilisé les collectivités nordiques par l'entremise des médias sociaux et le Conseil consultatif du programme. Le 9 janvier 2016, la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada a rencontré la population nordique et des intervenants à Norman Wells, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour recueillir des idées sur la façon d'améliorer le programme et de le maintenir en vie.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien avec les programmes de l'organisation Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Gouvernance et gens du Nord Nutrition Nord Canada 301 427 825a 71 716 369b 70 497 736 RA1.1 C1.1
RR1.1
Santé Canada Soins de santé primaires des Premières Nations et des Inuits (AAP 3.1.1.3 Modes de vie sains pour les Inuits et les Premières Nations) Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 14 500 000 (de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016, et par la suite, 2 900 000 par année) 2 900 000 2 707 115 RA1.2 C1.2
RR1.2
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 315 927 825 74 616 369 73 204 851  
a Financement d'AANC : 286 859 500 $ + 14 568 325 $ (indexation) = 301 427 825 $. Les crédits votés 10 (indexation) sont gelés, et les modalités respectées en 2015-2016.
b 57 148 044 $ + 14 568 325 $ (indexation) = 71 716 369 $. Les crédits votés 10 (indexation) sont gelés, et les modalités respectées en 2015-2016.
Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016a
RA1.1
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs à prix subventionné.
C1.1
La moyenne annuelle du panier de provisions nordique révisé est comparable à la tendance annuelle (à la hausse ou à la baisse) de l'indice des prix à la consommation pour le panier de provisions.
100 % des rapports de conformité indiquent que les subventions ont été entièrement transférées aux consommateurs.
RR1.1
Entre mars 2015 et mars 2016, le prix du panier de provisions nordique révisé, pour les collectivités admissibles à une subvention complète a augmenté de 2,04 %. Le panier des aliments achetés au magasin, quant à lui, a augmenté de 4,16 % selon l'indice des prix à la consommation, tel que rapporté par Statistique Canada. Cette subvention de la part de Nutrition Nord Canada semble démontrer, qu'il y a eu un effet positif sur le coût des aliments dans ces collectivités.
En 2015-2016, 100 % des cinq rapports de conformité ont conclu que les subventions ont été entièrement transférées aux consommateurs nordiques; de plus, trois des cinq rapports ont clairement montré que la marge de profit n'a pas érodé la subvention. Les deux rapports restants (moins de 0,01 pourcent des 68,4 millions de dollars en subventions dépensés en 2015-2016) n'ont pu conclure si la marge de profit a érodé la subvention, ce qui nécessite un examen plus poussé avant de pouvoir fournir des analyses concluantes.
RA1.2
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles sont au courant de la saine alimentation et des compétences en matière de choix et de préparation d'aliments nutritifs.
C1.2
72 collectivités profitent des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada
1 300 activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada, soutenues à l'échelle des collectivités
RR1.2
Santé Canada a obtenu les résultats suivants :
  • Quelque 76 collectivités ont reçu un soutien pour les initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada.
  • Plus de 1 500 activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada ont été organisées, comme la promotion de connaissances et de compétences en saine alimentation auprès des enfants, des jeunes et des adultes dans des établissements scolaires et communautaires, des dégustations en magasin et des visites d'épicerie, et la récolte et la préparation d'aliments traditionnels.
  • Les résultats observés par les travailleurs communautaires de Nutrition Nord Canada comprennent une augmentation :
    • de la sensibilisation à l'égard d'une saine alimentation;
    • des intérêts et des compétences en jardinage, en alimentation et en cuisine saines;
    • des enfants et des jeunes qui préparent des aliments pour d'autres personnes;
    • de la demande pour certaines activités (p. ex., cuisine communautaire);
    • de partenariats communautaires.
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont déterminés dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable au report de la stratégie de mobilisation pendant la période électorale.

Santé Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable au gain d'efficacité réalisée grâce au partage des coûts de prestation du programme, à la coordination des voyages dans les collectivités, et à l'offre de séances de formation de concert avec les programmes de Santé Canada comme l'initiative sur le diabète chez les Autochtones.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : En vue de soutenir les activités de consultation et de mobilisation des collectivités, le conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada a tenu une réunion en personne en juillet 2015, y compris une réunion publique avec les membres des collectivités le 27 juillet 2015 à Kugluktuk, au Nunavut.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Diane Robinson
Directrice, Nutrition Nord Canada
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Mary Trifonopoulos
Gestionnaire principale par intérim, Promotion de la santé/Division de la santé et du bien-être de la population
Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-292-7518
mary.trifonopoulos@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :