Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement — Health Support component

Name of lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

Federal partner organizations: Health Canada

Start date: September 2003 (Resolution Health Support Program), July 2004 (Crisis Line).

End date: March 31, 2016 (Resolution Health Support Program), March 31, 2016 (Crisis Line)

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $480,690,019

Description: INAC's Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector supports former students in crisis by funding the National Indian Residential School Crisis Line, a national, 24-hour toll-free support service (1-866-925-4419) operated by trained crisis counselors, including Indigenous counselors. INAC is also responsible for coordinating the verification of program eligibility, and ensuring that Health Canada is aware of dates for Independent Assessment Process hearings and Truth and Reconciliation and Commemoration events as they arise, so that health supports can be provided to former students in a seamless fashion.

Health Canada's Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program (IRS RHSP), a component of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA) ensures that former students of Indian residential schools and their families can safely address a broad spectrum of mental wellness issues related to the disclosure of childhood abuse through all phases of the IRSSA. The RHSP components include: cultural support services provided by Elders; emotional support services provided by Resolution Health Support Workers; professional counseling; and assistance with the cost of transportation to access counseling, Elder, and/or Traditional Healer services.

Shared outcome: The IRSSA Health Supports component works toward the achievement of two outcomes:

Governance structure: INAC is responsible for the overall implementation of the IRSSA and is working in partnership with Health Canada to coordinate and provide services for former Indian residential school students throughout all phases of the IRSSA.

Performance highlights: Demand-driven health supports have been provided to former Indian residential school students, their families and persons of interest, through all phases of the IRSSA. The Indian Residential School Crisis Line continues to provide critical and culturally appropriate support to former Indian residential school students, their families and persons of interest, from all areas of the country (including many isolated regions where alternate services are very limited). The results were as expected and within service levels for 2015–2016 (financially, slightly below total obligations; operationally, consistently exceeding the 95% service agreement level). In 2015–2016, a total of 7,968 calls for support were responded to by the team of crisis counselors, compared to 6,083 calls received in 2014–2015, providing a wide range of services including suicide intervention on 31 calls. In addition, the mandate of the Crisis Line was expanded to provide similar services for callers affected by the pre-inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to the organization’s program Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2015–2016 Planned spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Actual spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Actual results against targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Residential Schools Resolution Indian Residential Schools Crisis Line $38,900,000 $3,800,000 $3,389,330 ER1.1 T1.1
AR1.1
Health Canada Mental Wellness Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program (IRS RHSP) $441,800,000 $56,900,000 $59,981,089 ER1.2 T1.2
AR1.2
Total for all federal organizations $480,700,000 $60,700,000 $63,370,419  
2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Targets 2015–2016 Actual results against targetsa
ER1.1
Former Indian residential school students and their families have access to a 24-hour, national crisis line operated by trained crisis counselors
T1.1
Maximum of 5% busy signal 95% of calls answered within 120 seconds as per contract
AR1.1
In 2015–2016, a total of 7,968 calls for support were responded to by the team of crisis counselors, compared to 6,083 calls received in 2014–2015. A wide range of services were provided, including suicide intervention on 31 calls. The results were as expected and within service levels for 2015–2016, with an average annual service level of 97.84% and a percentage of calls unanswered during the year of 3.11%.
ER1.2
Demand-driven health support services will be accessible to former Indian residential school students and their families throughout all phases of the IRSSA
T1.2
90% of Contribution Agreement funded services will be in place by the end of Q1 (June)
AR1.2
100% of services funded through contribution agreements (i.e. emotional and cultural support services) were in place by the end of Q1 (June 2015).
Health support services provided by the IRS RHSP included mental health services (from professional mental health counsellors) and emotional and cultural support services (from resolution health support workers and cultural support providers).
Health supports were provided to 1,823 former Indian residential school students who requested support at their Independent Assessment Process hearings. The IRS RHSP also provided mental health counselling services for 47,043 requests (does not include Q4 data from the British Columbia First Nations Health Authority, expected in July 2016).
100% of counselling requests will be processed within 2 weeks of receipt. Statistical information for this target was not available; however, substantial efforts were made to process all requests for counselling in a timely manner.
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances: The variance between planned and actual spending is mainly due to the demand for services being higher than anticipated for the year. Funds were reallocated internally to meet the program needs.

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Contact information:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Denis Bouthillette
Information Manager
Settlement Agreement Operations
Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 613-894-2823
denis.bouthillette@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Health Canada
Mathieu Larose
Acting Manager
Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Health Canada
Telephone: 613-796-3546
mathieu.larose@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens - volet Soutien en santé

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Santé Canada

Date de mise en œuvre : Septembre 2003 (Programme de soutien en santé), juillet 2004 (ligne d'écoute téléphonique).

Date d'achèvement : 31 mars 2016 (Programme de soutien en santé), 31 mars 2016 (ligne d'écoute téléphonique)

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 480 690 019 $

Description : Le Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles d'AANC soutient les anciens élèves en situation de crise par le financement de la ligne d'écoute téléphonique (1-866-925-4419) du programme Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens, un service national de soutien sans frais offert 24 heures sur 24 par des conseillers autochtones qualifiés en intervention d'urgence. AANC coordonne également la vérification de l'admissibilité au programme. Le Ministère veille à ce que Santé Canada soit au courant des dates auxquelles auront lieu les audiences sur le Processus d'évaluation indépendant, celles de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation et les activités commémoratives, au fur et à mesure qu'elles se présentent, de manière à ce que les anciens élèves puissent recevoir de façon homogène du soutien en santé.

Le Programme de soutien en santé — résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens (PSS RQPI) de Santé Canada est une composante de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI). Le PSS RQPI vise à aider les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille à régler un large éventail de problèmes de santé mentale associés à la divulgation de la violence faite aux enfants, et ce, dans le cadre de toutes les phases de la CRRPI. Les éléments du PSSR comprennent : des services de soutien culturel offerts par des aînés; des services de soutien émotionnel dispensés par des travailleurs du PSS RQPI; des services de consultation professionnelle; et de l'aide financière pour le transport afin de permettre l'accès aux services de consultation ainsi qu'aux services offerts par un aîné ou un guérisseur traditionnel.

Résultats partagés : Le volet Soutien en santé de la CRRPI vise l'atteinte de deux résultats :

Structures de gouvernance : AANC assure la mise en œuvre générale de la CRRPI et s'occupe de coordonner et de fournir, en collaboration avec Santé Canada, les services destinés aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, et ce, tout au long du processus établi par la CRRPI.

Faits saillants du rendement : Un soutien à la santé a été fourni en fonction de la demande aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à leur famille et aux personnes touchées, pendant toutes les phases de la CRRPI. La ligne d'écoute téléphonique continue d'offrir un soutien essentiel et adapté à la culture aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à leur famille et aux personnes touchées, de toutes les régions du pays (y compris plusieurs régions isolées où les services sont très limités). Les résultats sont ceux qui étaient prévus et correspondent aux niveaux de service établis pour 2015-2016 (sur le plan financier, légèrement au-dessous des obligations totales; sur le plan opérationnel, dépassant le niveau de service qui avait été fixé à 95 %). En 2015-2016, les conseillers de l'équipe de crise ont répondu à 7 968 appels, comparativement aux 6 083 appels reçus en 2014-2015, et offert un vaste éventail de services dont des interventions contre le suicide lors de 31 appels. De plus, le mandat de la ligne d'écoute téléphonique a été élargi en vue de fournir des services similaires aux appelants touchés par l'enquête préalable concernant les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien avec les programmes de l'organisation Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Ligne d'écoute téléphonique — pensionnats indiens 38 900 000 3 800 000 3 389 330 RA1.1 C1.1
RR1.1
Santé Canada Bien-être mental Programme de soutien en santé – résolutions des questions des pensionnats indiens (PSS RQPI) 441 800 000 56 900 000 59 981 089 RA1.2 C1.2
RR1.2
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 480 700 000 60 700 000 63 370 419  
Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016a
RA1.1
Les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leurs familles ont accès en tout temps à une ligne d'écoute téléphonique nationale où ils peuvent se confier à des conseillers qualifiés en intervention d'urgence
C1.1
Maximum de 5 % de tonalité occupée 95 % des appels répondus dans les 120 secondes conformément au contrat
RR1.1
En 2015-2016, les conseillers de l'équipe de crise ont répondu à 7 968 appels, comparativement à 6 083 appels en 2014-2015. Un vaste éventail de services a été fourni, y compris des interventions contre le suicide lors de 31 appels. Les résultats correspondent aux résultats et aux niveaux de service qui avaient été prévus en 2015-2016, avec un niveau de service annuel moyen de 97,84 % et un pourcentage d'appels non répondus durant l'année de 3,11 %.
RA1.2
Les services de soutien en santé seront offerts aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens pendant toutes les phases de la CRRPI
C1.2
90 % des services financés par la Convention seront en place d'ici la fin du premier trimestre (juin)
RR1.2
100 % des services financés par les accords de contribution (à savoir les services de soutien culturels et émotionnels) étaient en place à la fin du premier trimestre (juin 2015).
Les services de soutien en santé sont fournis par le PSS RQPI, y compris les services en santé mentale (par des professionnels en santé mentale) et les services de soutien culturels et émotionnels (par des travailleurs en santé communautaire, résolution, et des fournisseurs de soutien culturel).
Un soutien en santé a été fourni à 1 823 anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens qui ont demandé de l'aide lors de leurs audiences dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant. Le PSS RQPI a également offert des services de consultation en santé mentale à 47 043 demandeurs (ne comprend pas les données du quatrième trimestre de l'autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique, attendues en juillet 2016).
100 % des demandes de consultation seront traitées dans les 2 semaines suivant leur réception Les renseignements statistiques pour cette cible ne sont pas disponibles; toutefois, des efforts considérables ont été déployés afin de traiter rapidement toutes les demandes de consultation.
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont déterminés dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement et les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts : L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable à la demande de services plus élevée que prévu pour l'année. Des fonds ont été réaffectés à l'interne afin de satisfaire aux besoins du programme.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Denis Bouthillette
Gestionnaire de l'information
Opérations de la convention de règlement
Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 613-894-2823
denis.bouthillette@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Mathieu Larose
Gestionnaire par intérim
Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-796-3546
mathieu.larose@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :