Income Assistance Reform: Enhanced Service Delivery

Name of lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

Federal partner organization: Employment and Social Development Canada: Skills and Employment

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: June 2013

End date: March 31, 2017

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $241,500,000

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description: This initiative to improve the on-reserve Income Assistance program, as announced in Budget Plan 2013, has two components: Enhanced Service Delivery, which is administered by INAC, and the First Nations Job Fund, which is administered by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC). The two departments allocate funding according to a proposal-based process. First Nation organizations that receive funding are required to implement mandatory participation in personalized case management. They serve clients using a case-management approach that includes: intake and triage; an employability assessment; a personalized action plan; and referral to training services. In order to be eligible to participate in the initiative, Income Assistance clients must be between the ages of 18 and 24 and must be employable subject to one year of training or less. The First Nations Job Fund is designed to provide training opportunities and supports to clients referred from First Nations using the Enhanced Service Delivery approach.

Shared outcome:

Governance structure: Enhanced Service Delivery is supported by an interdepartmental governance and oversight structure comprising headquarters and regional representatives from INAC and Employment and Social Development Canada. This governance structure includes Regional Implementation Teams, a Program Review and Advisory Committee and an Oversight Committee that also includes representatives from the Treasury Board Secretariat and Health Canada. Each of these governance bodies helps implement Enhanced Service Delivery and the First Nations Job Fund. They also work to ensure that the program meets targets, respects the objectives of the on-reserve Income Assistance reform policy, reduces duplication and works efficiently.

Performance highlights: The results as of the end of 2014–2015 indicate that over 8,800 First Nations youth between 18 and 24 years old have been case-managed since the inception of the Reform in 2013–2014. This number includes new clients as well as carry-over clients who may have started their employment action plan in the previous year. Approximately 3,500 youth have exited Income Assistance, transitioning either into employment or returning to school full time, which exceeds the target of 2,355 clients for 2015–2016. As well, 30% of communities are participating in the Income Assistance Reform Program, including Ontario. In Ontario, $8.5 million was allocated to the provincial Ontario Works Program, which delivers Enhanced Service Delivery on behalf of the Department. This increased allocation of resources in Ontario resulted in an increase in the number of First Nations communities delivering case management and pre-employment activities in this province.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to the organization’s program Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2015–2016 Planned spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Actual spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Actual results against targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada The People/Social Development/Income Assistance Income Assistance Program — Enhanced Service Delivery $132,500,000 $41,840,000 18,100,000 ER1.1 T1.1
AR1.1
Employment and Social Development Canada Skill and Employment Aboriginal Skills and Employment Training Strategy — First Nations Job Fund $109,000,000 $59,372,000 $9,030,024 ER1.2 T1.2
AR1.2
Total for all federal organizations $241,500,000 $101,210,000 $27,130,024  
2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Targets 2015–2016 Actual results against targetsa
ER1.1
Number of additional clients case managed
T1.1
4,976
AR1.1
2,704
Fewer Enhanced Service Delivery providers were ready to deliver services than anticipated. Several providers did not have sufficient human resources to leverage the provision of case management supports, and therefore could not deliver services to their clients until they built sufficient capacity within their organizations. As a result, time and program funds were directed to strengthening management capabilities, training staff, and networking to build service delivery infrastructure, rather than assessing and referring clients to services.
ER1.2
Number of additional clients for First Nations Job Fund
T1.2
5,988
AR1.2
916
Recent economic downturns likely played a role in the low referrals to the First Nations Job Fund in 2015–2016. The departments and communities are working together to enhance local capacity, strengthen local partnerships, and leverage opportunities in periods of economic downturn.
A second key reason for a low referral rate is that many clients require more pre-employment interventions than originally anticipated.
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
The variance between Planned and Actual Spending was due to the Income Assistance Reform Program starting later than anticipated.

Employment and Social Development Canada
Spending for First Nations Job Fund (FNJF) is based on cost per client. All clients served by FNJF must be referred by Enhanced Service Delivery.
In the first year of the program (2013–2014), $8.05 million was re-profiled equally to all remaining fiscal years. In 2014–2015, $11.9 million was re-profiled to 2015–2016 in anticipation of low referrals from Enhanced Service Delivery. This left planned spending for 2015–2016 at $59.4 million (including funds re-profiled from 2013–2014 to 2014–2015). Of this, actual spending was $9 million. Of the 5,988 clients expected to be referred to FNJF by Enhanced Service Delivery, 916 clients (approximately 15% of expected) were actually referred and served by FNJF, accounting for lower-than-planned spending.

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: In Ontario, the ESD component is implemented under the Ontario Works Employment Assistance program. Therefore, INAC actively pursued partnerships with First Nations and the province of Ontario to ensure First Nations in the province have access to employment opportunities.

Contact information:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Brenda Shestowsky
Director, Income Support Directorate
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819-997-8212
brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Employment and Social Development Canada
Althea Williams
Director
Program Policy Division
Aboriginal Affairs Directorate
Employment and Social Development Canada
Telephone: 819-654-3127
althea.williams@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Programme d'aide au revenu : prestation améliorée de services

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Emploi et Développement social Canada : compétences et emploi

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : Juin 2013

Date d'achèvement : 31 mars 2017

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 241 500 000 $

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description : Cette initiative visant à améliorer le Programme d'aide au revenu dans les réserves, annoncé dans le Plan budgétaire de 2013, comporte deux volets : la prestation améliorée des services, qui est administrée par AANC, et le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations, lequel est administré par Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC). Les deux ministères attribuent du financement selon un processus fondé sur des propositions. Les organisations des Premières Nations qui reçoivent du financement doivent mettre en œuvre un système de participation obligatoire en gestion personnalisée de cas. Elles offrent un service aux clients en adoptant une approche de gestion de cas qui comprend : la réception et le tri; l'évaluation de l'employabilité; un plan d'action personnalisé; et l'aiguillage vers des services de formation. Pour pouvoir participer à l'initiative, les clients doivent être âgés de 18 à 24 ans et employables à la suite d'une année ou moins de formation. Le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations a pour but d'offrir des occasions de formation et un soutien aux clients aiguillés par les Premières Nations en s'appuyant sur la prestation améliorée des services.

Résultats partagés :

Structures de gouvernance : La prestation améliorée des services est appuyée par une structure interministérielle de gouvernance et de supervision, composée d'employés de l'administration centrale et de représentants régionaux d'AANC et d'Emploi et Développement social Canada. Cette structure de gouvernance comprend des équipes régionales de mise en œuvre, un Comité consultatif et d'examen du Programme, ainsi qu'un Comité de surveillance, qui regroupe des représentants du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de Santé Canada. Chacun de ces organes de gouvernance contribue à la mise en œuvre de la prestation améliorée des services et du Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations. Ils veillent également à ce que le programme atteigne les cibles, qu'il respecte les objectifs de la politique de réforme de l'aide au revenu dans les réserves, qu'il réduise le chevauchement et qu'il fonctionne efficacement.

Faits saillants du rendement : À la fin de l'exercice de 2014-2015, les résultats indiquent que plus de 8 800 jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans ont été pris en charge depuis le début de la réforme en 2013-2014. Ce nombre comprend les nouveaux clients ainsi que les clients qui ont commencé leur plan d'action l'année précédente. Environ 3 500 jeunes ont abandonné l'aide au revenu, pour occuper un emploi ou retourner à l'école à temps plein, ce qui dépasse la cible de 2 355 clients pour 2015-2016. De même, 30 % des collectivités participent au programme d'aide au revenu, dont l'Ontario. Dans cette province, un montant de 8,5 millions $ a été attribué au programme Ontario au travail, qui offre une prestation améliorée des services au nom du Ministère. Ces ressources supplémentaires en Ontario ont donné lieu à une augmentation du nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations qui assurent la gestion de cas et des activités préalables à l'emploi dans cette province.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien avec les programmes de l'organisation Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Les gens/Développement social/Aide au revenu Programme d'aide au revenu — prestation améliorée des services 132 500 000 41 840 000 18 100 000 RA1.1 C1.1
RR1.1
Emploi et Développement social Canada Compétences et emploi Stratégie de formation pour les compétences et l'emploi destinée aux Autochtones — Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations 109 000 000 59 372 000 9 030 024 RA1.2 C1.2
RR1.2
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 241 500 000 101 210 000 27 130 024  
Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016a
RA1.1
Nombre de dossiers additionnels de clients qui ont été gérés
C1.1
4 976
RR1.1
2 704
Un moins grand nombre de fournisseurs que prévu du programme Prestation améliorée des services étaient prêts à offrir les services. Plusieurs d'entre eux ne disposaient pas de ressources humaines suffisantes pour assurer la gestion de cas, et n'ont donc pas été en mesure de dispenser de services à leurs clients tant que leur organisation n'avait pas une capacité suffisante. Par conséquent, le temps et le financement ont été consacrés au renforcement des capacités de gestion, à la formation du personnel et au réseautage en vue d'établir une infrastructure de prestation de services, plutôt qu'à l'évaluation et à l'aiguillage de clients vers les services.
RA1.2
Nombre de clients additionnels du Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations
C1.2
5 988
RR1.2
916
Les récents ralentissements économiques ont probablement joué un rôle dans le peu de clients aiguillés vers le Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations en 2015-2016. Les ministères et les collectivités collaborent pour améliorer les capacités locales, renforcer les partenariats locaux, et tirer profit des possibilités en période de ralentissement économique.
La deuxième raison qui explique le faible taux d'aiguillage est que de nombreux clients ont besoin de plus d'interventions que prévu initialement avant d'être employables.
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont déterminés dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement et les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est attribuable à la réforme de l'aide au revenu qui a commencé plus tard que prévu.

Emploi et Développement social Canada
Les dépenses liées au Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations sont fondées sur les coûts par client. Tous les clients du Fonds doivent être aiguillés par le programme de Prestation améliorée des services.
Au cours de la première année du programme (2013-2014), la somme de 8,05 millions $ a été reportée de manière égale entre les exercices suivants restants. En 2014-2015, la somme de 11,9 millions $ a été reportée en 2015-2016 en prévision du faible taux de personnes aiguillées par la Prestation améliorée des services. Par conséquent, les dépenses prévues pour 2015-2016 sont de 59,4 millions $ (comprend les fonds reportés de 2013-2014 à 2014-2015). Par ailleurs, les dépenses réelles ont été de 9 millions $. Des 5 988 clients prévus qui auraient dû être aiguillés par la Prestation améliorée des services vers le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations, seulement 916 clients (environ 15 % du nombre prévu) ont été aiguillés vers le Fonds, ce qui explique la diminution des dépenses prévues.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : En Ontario, le volet Prestation améliorée des services est mis en œuvre dans le cadre du programme Aide à l'emploi d'Ontario au Travail. Par conséquent, AANC a poursuivi ses partenariats avec les Premières Nations et la province de l'Ontario pour veiller à ce que les membres des Premières Nations vivant dans la province aient accès à des possibilités d'emploi.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Brenda Shestowsky
Directrice, Direction du soutien du revenu
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-997-8212
brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Emploi et Développement social Canada
Althea Williams
Directrice
Division des politiques de programme
Direction des affaires autochtones
Emploi et Développement social Canada
Téléphone : 819-654-3127
althea.williams@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date de modification :