First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan

Name of lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

Federal partner organization: Health Canada

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: April 1, 2008

End date: March 31, 2016

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $3,096,509,744
In Budget 2008, the Government of Canada provided $330,639,806 over two years to support on-reserve water/wastewater infrastructure and complementary activities through the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan. Budgets 2010, 2012 and 2014 each extended the program for an additional two years, with total new funding of $985,015,644 over the six-year period. Budget 2009: Canada's Economic Action Plan announced another $165,000,000 over two years for the completion of drinking water and wastewater infrastructure projects. Existing departmental reference levels of funding allocated for First Nations water and wastewater activities from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and Health Canada provide another $1,615,830,668. In Budget 2016, the Government of Canada committed $1.8 billion over five years for investments in water and wastewater to address health and safety needs, ensure proper facility operation and maintenance, and end long-term drinking water advisories on reserve.

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description: The prime objective of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan is to support First Nation communities on reserves in bringing their drinking water and wastewater services to a level and quality of service comparable to those enjoyed by Canadians living in communities of similar size and location. The initiative has five key areas of activity: infrastructure investments; operations and maintenance; training; monitoring and awareness; and standards.

To meet the objectives of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan, several program enhancements have been introduced, including a national engineering assessment of existing water and wastewater facilities; increased training through the Circuit Rider Training Program; modification of existing policies related to small water and septic systems and agreements for water and wastewater services; investment in a National Wastewater Program; and development of waterborne illness procedures.

The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan was implemented as part of government commitments made in the 2007 Speech from the Throne, Budget 2008, Budget 2009, Budget 2010, Budget 2012, and Budget 2014 to support First Nations' access to safe drinking water. The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan supported INAC's Strategic Outcome, The Land and Economy: Full participation of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals and communities in the economy. The initiative also supports the strategic outcome of Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Programming and Services: Better health outcomes and reduction of health inequalities between First Nations and Inuit and other Canadians.

More information is available at these websites:

Shared outcome: The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan worked towards the achievement of four outcomes:

Governance structure: The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan is the successor to the joint First Nations Water Management Strategy (2003–2008) and the INAC Plan of Action for Drinking Water (2006–2008). A memorandum of understanding regarding data sharing related to drinking water has been in place between INAC and Health Canada since 2005. INAC shares information regarding proposed water and wastewater infrastructure investments; the annual inspections of water and wastewater treatment plants; and action related to drinking water advisories. Similarly, Health Canada shares information such as drinking water sample results that do not meet the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality and reasons for recommending drinking water advisories. At the working level, the Strategic Water Management on Reserve Committee, which includes representatives from Health Canada, INAC, Environment and Climate Change Canada and the Assembly of First Nations, provides a forum for discussion to share information and coordinate joint action, although this is not a formal decision-making body. It also provides integrated and coordinated leadership to ensure safe drinking water for First Nation communities and to implement the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan.

Directors General and Assistant Deputy Ministers from Health Canada and INAC meet when needed to exchange and coordinate action on all relevant issues related to the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan.

Performance Highlights: Access to safe drinking water, the effective treatment of wastewater and the protection of sources of drinking water on First Nation lands are priorities for the Government of Canada. From 2006 to 2015, the Government of Canada has invested approximately $3.1 billion to support First Nation communities in managing their water and wastewater infrastructure and in related public health activities.

Under the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan, efforts to support First Nation communities in the improvement of their water and wastewater services are based on a comprehensive strategic approach founded on four pillars:

The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan Funding was allocated based upon priorities identified by First Nations in their community First Nation Infrastructure Investment Plan according to the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program’s National Priority Ranking Framework and the Priority Ranking Framework for water and wastewater projects. Capital investments have been prioritized to address highest risk systems and to address factors that are the greatest contributors to risk, such as capacity, training, operations and maintenance.

Under the long-term strategy, positive results continue to emerge as measured by the Annual Performance Inspections conducted by certified professionals in each region:

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to the organization’s program Contributing programs and activities Total allocationa (from start to end date) (dollars) 2015–2016 Planned spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Actual spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Actual results against targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Community Infrastructure and Internal Services Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program – First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan funding $1,104,000,000 $136,600,000 $170,798,568 ER1.1
a) Increase in percent of First Nation drinking water systems with low-risk ratings
b) Increase in percent of First Nation wastewater systems with low-risk ratings
T1.1
AR1.1
See following table
Canada's Economic Action Plan funding $165,000,000 Not applicable  
Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program — A base funding $1,576,500,000 $193,100,000 $196,485,956
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care — Environmental Public Health Drinking Water Safety Program – FNWWAP funding $211,655,644 $23,535,902 $15,409,862 ER1.2 T1.2 and 1.3
AR1.2 and 1.3
See following table
Drinking Water Safety Program – A based funding $39,354,100 $4,283,300 $4,283,328 ER1.2
Total for all federal organizations $3,096,509,744 $357,519,202 $386,977,714  
a INAC total allocation includes internal services, whereas the Planned and Actual Spending is for sub-program 3.3.1 Water and Wastewater Infrastructure only, and excludes internal services and accommodation costs.
2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Targets 2015–2016 Actual results against targetsa
ER1.1
a) Increase in percent of First Nation drinking water systems with low-risk ratings.
b) Increase in percent of First Nation wastewater systems with low-risk ratings.
T1.1
a) 54% low risk by 2019
b) 65% low risk by 2019
AR1.1
a) The low risk ratings for drinking water systems decreased slightly from 57% in 2014–2015 to 56% in 2015–2016. The target was still exceeded by two percentage points.
b) The low risk ratings for wastewater systems decreased slightly from 48% in 2014–2015 to 45% in 2015–2016.
ER1.2
Support all First Nations communities in ensuring ongoing access to a trained Community-Based Water Monitor (CBWM) or Environmental Health Officer
T1.2
100% of First Nations communities will have full access to a trained CBWM or Environmental Health Officers to monitor their drinking water quality.
Date to achieve target: March 31, 2016
AR1.2 and 1.3
All First Nations communities had access to trained personnel (Community-Based Drinking Water Quality Monitor or Environmental Health Officer) to sample and test drinking water quality at the tap.
48% of public water systems in First Nations communities were monitored as per the frequency recommended in the GCDWQb, an increase from 42% in 2014–2015. Currently this indicator only captures public water systems that were monitored at 100% of the compliance rate. To address this limitation, Health Canada has developed, in consultation with Statistics Canada, an indicator measuring the average sample frequency of all public water systemsc.
In 2015–2016, public water systems in First Nations communities were sampled on average 80% of the recommended frequency in the GCDWQ.
All regions have an early warning water database in place for the management of drinking water monitoring results and drinking water advisory information.
There were no instances where gastrointestinal illness was identified as a possible waterborne disease outbreak. Twelve wastewater and solid waste project proposals were received and reviewed from a public health perspective and recommendations were provided to Health Canada Environmental Health Officers, INAC, and the respective First Nation Community.
ER1.3
Continue to support all First Nations communities in ongoing monitoring of drinking water quality as per the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality (GCDWQ).
T1.3
Over 50% of on-reserve public distribution systems will meet weekly national testing guidelines for bacteriological parameters (e.g. based on testing frequency recommended in the GCDWQ).
Date to achieve target: March 31, 2016
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.
b Results exclude communities in British Columbia transferred to the First Nations Health Authority in late 2013.
c Health Canada will report on this new indicator starting in 2016–2017 for the next five years (as approved in the latest First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan Treasury Board attestation.)

Comments on variances:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
The difference between Planned Spending and Total Authorities primarily reflects funding provided through Supplementary Estimates for Operation Return Home: Manitoba Interlake Flood Remediation and Settlement.

Health Canada
The variance between planned and actual spending is mainly due to the reallocation of funds to address key pressures in Primary Care, such as Communicable Disease Control and Management to respond to urgent communicable disease outbreaks.

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Contact information:
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
David Smith
Senior Director
Program Design and Partnerships Directorate, Community Infrastructure Branch
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819-292-1938
david.smith@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Health Canada
Jennifer Mercer
Acting Director
Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Health Canada
Telephone: 613-790-0657
jennifer.mercer@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Santé Canada

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er avril 2008

Date d'achèvement : 31 mars 2016

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 3 096 509 744 $
Dans le budget de 2008, le gouvernement du Canada a accordé un budget de 330 639 806 $ sur deux ans pour soutenir l'installation de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations, ainsi que des activités complémentaires au sein des réserves, par l'entremise du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations. Les budgets de 2010, de 2012 et de 2014 ont respectivement permis la reconduction du programme pour deux ans. Le financement total ainsi accordé sur six ans s'élève à 985 015 644 $. Par l'entremise du budget de 2009 lié au Plan d'action économique du Canada, un financement additionnel de 165 000 000 $ sur deux ans a été annoncé pour mener à terme les projets d'infrastructures d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées. Les niveaux de référence actuels en ce qui a trait au financement, par AANC et Santé Canada, des activités d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées prévoient une somme supplémentaire de 1 615 830 668 $. Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à investir une somme supplémentaire de 1,8 milliard $ sur cinq ans pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de sécurité, veiller à l'exploitation et à l'entretien adéquats des installations et mettre fin aux avis d'ébullition de l'eau à long terme dans les réserves.

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description : Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations a principalement pour objectif d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves à avoir accès à des services d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées d'une qualité et d'un niveau comparables à ceux dont bénéficient les autres collectivités canadiennes dont la taille et la localisation sont semblables. L'initiative se concentre sur cinq secteurs prioritaires : l'investissement dans les infrastructures; le fonctionnement et l'entretien; la formation; la surveillance et la sensibilisation; et les normes.

Une série d'améliorations ont été apportées dans le but d'atteindre les objectifs de cette initiative, notamment une évaluation technique nationale de toutes les installations existantes d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées; une amélioration de la formation grâce au programme de formation itinérante; le remaniement des politiques existantes régissant les petits systèmes d'alimentation en eau et les fosses septiques; la modification des ententes sur la prestation des services d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées; l'investissement dans un programme national de gestion des eaux usées; et l'établissement de nouvelles procédures afin de mieux dépister les maladies d'origine hydrique.

Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations a été établi en vue de permettre au gouvernement du Canada de s'acquitter de l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le discours du Trône de 2007 et dans les budgets de 2008, de 2009, de 2010, de 2012 et de 2014 d'aider les Premières Nations à avoir accès à une eau potable sécuritaire. Le Plan d'action a soutenu le résultat stratégique d'AANC, Les terres et l'économie : participation entière des personnes et des collectivités des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis à l'économie. L'initiative soutient également le résultat stratégique des programmes et services de Santé Canada destinés aux Inuits et aux Premières Nations au chapitre de la santé, soit l'obtention de meilleurs résultats en matière de santé et la réduction des inégalités entre l'état de santé des Inuits et des Premières Nations et celui des autres Canadiens.

Les sites suivants contiennent de plus amples renseignements :

Résultats partagés : Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations visait l'atteinte de quatre résultats :

Structures de gouvernance : Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations remplace la Stratégie conjointe de gestion de l'eau des Premières Nations (2003-2008) et le Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable (2006-2008). Un protocole d'entente concernant la communication des données relatives à l'eau potable est conclu entre AANC et Santé Canada depuis 2005. AANC communique les renseignements sur les investissements proposés pour les infrastructures de l'eau potable et des eaux usées; les inspections annuelles des usines d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées; et les mesures prises à la suite d'avis relatifs à l'eau potable. De même, Santé Canada communique des renseignements comme les résultats sur les échantillons d'eau potable qui ne respectent pas les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada et les raisons pour recommander la publication d'avis sur l'eau potable. Par ailleurs, le Comité de gestion stratégique de l'eau dans les réserves, qui regroupe des représentants de Santé Canada, d'AANC, d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, fournit un forum de discussion permettant d'échanger de l'information et de coordonner des actions conjointes, bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'un organe officiel de prise de décisions. Il assure également un leadership intégré et coordonné pour assurer de l'eau potable aux collectivités des Premières Nations et mettre en œuvre le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées.

Les directeurs généraux et les sous-ministres adjoints de Santé Canada et d'AANC se réunissent au besoin pour échanger et coordonner leurs actions concernant les questions pertinentes relatives au Plan d'action.

Faits saillants du rendement : L'accès à de l'eau potable, le traitement efficace des eaux usées et la protection des sources d'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations sont les priorités du gouvernement du Canada. De 2006 à 2015, celui-ci a investi environ 3,1 milliards $ afin d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à gérer leurs infrastructures d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées et des activités connexes en santé publique.

Selon le Plan d'action, les efforts déployés pour aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à améliorer leurs services d'eau potable et d'eaux usées sont fondés sur une approche stratégique complète qui comporte quatre piliers :

Le financement du Plan d'action a été alloué en fonction des priorités déterminées par les Premières Nations dans leurs plans d'investissement concernant leurs infrastructures selon le Système national de classement des priorités du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien et le cadre d'établissement des priorités pour les projets d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. Les investissements en immobilisations ont été classés prioritaires pour s'occuper des systèmes à très haut risque et des questions qui influent le plus sur les risques, à savoir la capacité, la formation, l'exploitation et l'entretien.

Grâce à la stratégie à long terme, des résultats positifs continuent d'être enregistrés selon les inspections annuelles de rendement menées par des professionnels accrédités dans chaque région :

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien avec les programmes de l'organisation Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totalesa (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Infrastructure communautaire et Services internes Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien – financement du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations 1 104 000 000 136 600 000 170 798 568 RA1.1
a) Augmentation du pourcentage de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable des Premières Nations dont la cote d'évaluation du risque est faible
b) Augmentation du pourcentage de systèmes de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations dont la cote d'évaluation du risque est faible
C1.1
RR1.1
Voir le tableau suivant
Fonds du Plan d'action économique du Canada 165 000 000 Sans objet  
Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien — financement de base 1 576 500 000 193 100 000 196 485 956
Santé Canada Santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits — Santé publique environnementale Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — financement du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations 211 655 644 23 535 902 15 409 862 RA1.2 C1.2 et 1.3
RR1.2 et 1.3
Voir le tableau suivant
Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — financement de base 39 354 100 4 283 300 4 283 328 RA1.2
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 3 096 509 744 357 519 202 386 977 714  
a Les affectations totales d'AANC incluent les services internes, alors que les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles se rapportent strictement au sous-programme 3.3.1 Infrastructure pour l'eau et les eaux usées, et excluent les services internes et les frais d'hébergement.
Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016a
RA1.1
a) Augmentation du pourcentage de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable des Premières Nations dont la cote d'évaluation du risque est faible
b) Augmentation du pourcentage de systèmes de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations dont la cote d'évaluation du risque est faible
C1.1
a) 54 % de faible risque d'ici 2019
b) 65 % de faible risque d'ici 2019
RR1.1
a) Le coefficient de risque faible des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable a légèrement diminué pour passer de 57 % en 2014-2015 à 56 % en 2015-2016. La cible est encore dépassée de deux points de pourcentage.
b) Le coefficient de risque faible des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées a légèrement diminué pour passer de 48 % en 2014-2015 à 45 % en 2015-2016.
RA1.2
Appuyer toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations afin d'assurer un accès continu à un contrôleur communautaire de la qualité de l'eau potable ou à un agent qualifié d'hygiène du milieu, qui sont dûment formés
C1.2
100 % des collectivités des Premières Nations auront un accès complet à un contrôleur communautaire de la qualité de l'eau potable ou à un agent d'hygiène du milieu, dûment formé pour assurer un suivi continu de la qualité de leur eau potable
Date pour atteindre la cible : 31 mars 2016
RR1.2 et 1.3
Toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations ont eu accès à du personnel dûment formé (contrôleur communautaire de la qualité de l'eau potable ou agent d'hygiène du milieu) pour le prélèvement d'échantillons et les tests de qualité de l'eau potable au robinet.
48 % des systèmes publics de distribution d'eau dans les collectivités des Premières Nations ont fait l'objet d'une surveillance à la fréquence prescrite dans les Recommandationsb, soit une augmentation de 42 % en 2014-2015. Actuellement, cet indicateur ne tient compte que des systèmes publics de distribution d'eau qui respectent le taux de conformité. Afin de remédier à cette lacune, Santé Canada a mis au point, de concert avec Statistique Canada, un indicateur mesurant la fréquence d'échantillonnage moyenne de tous les systèmes publics de distribution d'eauc.
En 2015-2016, les systèmes publics de distribution d'eau dans les collectivités des Premières Nations ont fait l'objet d'un échantillonnage en moyenne à 80 % de la fréquence prescrite dans les Recommandations.
Toutes les régions disposent d'une base de données d'alerte rapide pour gérer les résultats des échantillons d'eau potable et les renseignements sur les avis d'eau potable.
Aucun cas de maladie gastro-intestinale n'a été associé à une possible éclosion de maladie d'origine hydrique.
Douze propositions de projets de traitement des eaux usées et des déchets solides ont été reçues et examinées du point de vue de la santé publique et des recommandations ont été fournies aux agents d'hygiène du milieu de Santé Canada, à AANC et aux collectivités des Premières Nations concernées.
RA1.3
Continuer à appuyer toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations afin d'assurer un suivi continu de la qualité de l'eau potable selon les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada
C1.3
Plus de 50 % des systèmes publics de distribution d'eau dans les réserves se conformeront aux recommandations nationales d'analyse hebdomadaire des paramètres bactériologiques (p. ex., en fonction de la fréquence des analyses énoncée dans les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada)
Date pour atteindre la cible : 31 mars 2016
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont déterminés dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.
b Les résultats excluent les collectivités de la Colombie-Britannique qui ont été transférées à l'autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations à la fin de 2013.
c Santé Canada fera rapport sur ce nouvel indicateur à compter de 2016-2017 pour les cinq prochaines années (tel qu'approuvé dans la dernière attestation du Conseil du Trésor du Plan d'action pour l'eau et les eaux usées des Premières Nations.)

Commentaires sur les écarts :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable aux fonds accordés par l'entremise du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l'Opération retour au foyer : assainissement et règlement relatif à l'inondation de la région d'Interlake au Manitoba.

Santé Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable à la réaffectation de fonds en vue de répondre à des besoins urgents en soins primaires, comme la gestion et le contrôle de maladies transmissibles.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
David Smith
Directeur principal
Direction de la conception des programmes et des partenariats, Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-292-1938
david.smith@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Jennifer Mercer
Directrice par interim
Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-790-0657
jennifer.mercer@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :