Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Name of lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

Federal partner organizations: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada; Environment and Climate Change Canada; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency.

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: June 17, 2010

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $85.5 million over five years — total Grants and Contributions (G&C) and Operations & Maintenance (O&M). In addition, $61,000,000 was made available over five years commencing in 2014-15 in Grants and Contributions for West Coast Energy.

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description: With a focus on economic readiness, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) supports Indigenous participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on emerging opportunities in the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and environmental monitoring.

A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Indigenous economic development opportunities. The program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Indigenous communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Indigenous Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

The initiative also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Indigenous individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Indigenous communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

Shared outcome: SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engages in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Indigenous participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Governance structure: Central to the governance structure of SPI is the Director General Investment Committee (DGIC). The DGIC includes membership from all SPI member departments with a core voting membership to make final funding decisions on initiatives seeking funding. The DGIC validates and prioritizes opportunities, taking a whole-of-government approach to investments under the program. It also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative, and ensures that they work together with Indigenous groups to advance these opportunities. The DGIC completes a review of detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program.

Performance highlights: In fiscal 2015–2016, 41 partnerships were supported between all levels of government, Indigenous communities and organizations and with industry, generating $22.5 million in leveraged funding and exceeding the program’s established target (value of federal and non-federal funds leveraged under the SPI) by over $7 million. Working with partners, SPI continues to complete environmental scans and develop opportunity profiles on emerging economic development opportunities across the country that could potentially be supported under the program. Over the last year, 18 such profiles were completed, examining opportunities such as clean energy in British Columbia, mining developments in Voisey’s Bay, and support of a national Indigenous tourism strategy. SPI is also working with federal departments, such as Health Canada, to use the flexibility provided by its terms and conditions to establish a pilot project that enables a single-window approach to funding in the Ring of Fire in Northern Ontario.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to the organization’s program Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) (dollars) 2015–2016 Planned spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Actual spending (dollars) 2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Actual results against targets
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Aboriginal Economic Development Not applicable $85,500,000 (General SPI) $14,500,000 $14,963,742 ER1.1 T1.1
AR1.1
$61,000,000 (West Coast Energy Infrastructure) $17,250,000 $15,688,405
Total for all federal organizations $146,500,000 $31,750,000 $30,652,147  
2015–2016 Expected results 2015–2016 Targets 2015–2016 Actual results against targetsa
ER1.1
Investments are leveraged from other levels of government and the private sector
T1.1
$15,000,000
AR1.1
SPI supported 16 initiatives and leveraged $22.5 million in additional funding from other sources, exceeding SPI’s target by $7 million. Of the initiatives supported, nine were delivered by INAC regional offices, six by other government partners, and one by multiple federal partners. During 2015–2016, 41 partnerships were created or maintained, while 385 communities participated directly or indirectly in SPI-funded projects.
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances: Not applicable

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Contact information:
Gerry Huebner
Acting Director
Strategic Partnerships Initiative
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819–209-4064

Date modified:

Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et Développement social Canada; Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, incluant FedNor; Ressources naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada; Environnement et Changement climatique Canada; Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 17 juin 2010

Date d'achèvement : Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 85,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans — Subventions et contributions (G et C) et Fonctionnement et entretien (F et E). De plus, 61 millions de dollars seront versés sur une période de cinq ans ayant commencé en 2014-2015 en subventions et contributions pour l'infrastructure énergétique sur la côte ouest.

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description : Axée sur la préparation économique, l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) soutient la participation autochtone à l'économie, en particulier aux possibilités émergentes dans les secteurs d'exploitation des ressources, y compris la foresterie, les pêches, les mines, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le programme soutient également d'autres possibilités de développement économique clés dans les secteurs de la construction navale, du tourisme et de la surveillance de l'environnement.

Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Le programme permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les peuples autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels et émergents de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes auxquelles les programmes existants ne pourraient répondre.

L'initiative contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les cohortes non fédérales, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribuent à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Résultats partagés : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale en matière d'investissements fédéraux, ce qui permet de s'assurer que ces investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et qu'ils sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux placé pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS fait appel à une approche fondée sur un guichet unique (partage en matière de demande, de surveillance et de production de rapports) en ce qui a trait aux investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies, et elle comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités économiques. Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, en vue d'appuyer une initiative.

Structure(s) de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux constitue un élément essentiel de la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS. Le Comité réunit des représentants de tous les ministères membres de l'IPS et compte un noyau de membres votants en vue de prendre les décisions définitives quant aux initiatives qui bénéficieront d'un financement. Le Comité valide et classe en ordre de priorité les possibilités; pour ce faire, il adopte une démarche pangouvernementale en matière d'investissement dans le cadre du programme. Il répertorie également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent de concert avec les groupes autochtones en vue de faire progresser ces possibilités. Le Comité examine les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme.

Faits saillants du rendement : Au cours de l'exercice de 2015-2016, 41 partenariats ont reçu un soutien de tous les ordres de gouvernement, de collectivités et organisations autochtones et de l'industrie, générant 22,5 millions de dollars en financement complémentaire et dépassant la cible fixée pour le programme (valeur des fonds provenant du fédéral et d'autres sources en vertu de l'IPS) de plus de 7 millions de dollars. Travaillant avec des partenaires, l'IPS continue d'effectuer des analyses contextuelles et de préparer le profil de possibilités de développement économique partout au pays susceptibles de recevoir un soutien. Au cours de la dernière année, 18 profils ont été préparés, examinant diverses possibilités comme l'énergie propre en Colombie-Britannique, des projets de développement minier dans la baie Voisey, et l'appui d'une stratégie nationale en matière de tourisme autochtone. L'IPS a également travaillé avec des ministères fédéraux, comme Santé Canada, afin de profiter de la souplesse de ses conditions pour mettre sur pied un projet pilote qui permet une approche à guichet unique pour financer le Cercle de feu dans le nord de l'Ontario.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien avec les programmes de l'organisation Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2015-2016 (en dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Développement économique des Autochtones Sans objet 85 500 000 (IPS générale) 14 500 000 14 963 742 RA1.1 C1.1
RR1.1
61 000 000 (Infrastructure énergétique sur la côte Ouest) 17 250 000 15 688 405
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 146 500 000 31 750 000 30 652 147  
Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016 Résultats réels par rapport aux cibles pour 2015-2016a
RA1.1
Les investissements sont optimisés grâce à l'apport d'autres ordres de gouvernement et du secteur privé
C1.1
15 000 000
RR1.1
L'IPS a soutenu 16 initiatives et obtenu 22,5 millions de dollars en fonds supplémentaires provenant d'autres sources, dépassant sa cible de 7 millions de dollars. De ces initiatives, neuf ont été exécutées par les bureaux régionaux d'AANC, six par d'autres partenaires gouvernementaux, et une par plusieurs partenaires fédéraux. Au cours de 2015-2016, 41 partenariats ont été formés ou entretenus, tandis que 385 collectivités ont participé directement ou indirectement aux projets financés par l'IPS.
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont déterminés dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts : Sans objet

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Gerry Huebner
Gestionnaire
Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-209-4064

Date de modification :