National Aboriginal Day 2016 – Minister’s Video Message

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Download: MP4 format (23 Mb)

Transcript

Boozhoo and greetings from the traditional territories of the Algonquin people!

On June 21st we celebrate National Aboriginal Day.

Over this weekend many communities from across Canada will be celebrating with special ceremonies, commemorations and educational presentations we will acknowledge the outstanding contributions of Indigenous people in Canada. As a special milestone this year, National Aboriginal Day has now been celebrated for 20 years in Canada!

As Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, I am very proud of the nation to nation building that has taken place over the last several months, in renewing Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples.

We cannot undo history, but as Canadians, we can all learn from it.

And as we do so, we can celebrate all that First Nations, Inuit and Metis voices contribute to our rich and vibrant tapestry.

From Newfoundland to Vancouver Island and north beyond the Arctic Circle, Indigenous peoples and communities have persevered, locally, and are coming forward with their own success stories to share globally. To fully appreciate their stories that may deal with a variety of economic development ventures, a new school program or a successful housing program, I encourage you to visit our website under Success Stories to view their stories first hand and understand the diversity of Indigenous peoples.

Indigenous peoples have demonstrated, from their ancestries to present-day role models and extraordinary citizens, a strong desire to survive and contribute to the growth and prosperity of this great nation - Canada.

As a government, we share that commitment. We have accepted and embraced the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's calls to action towards reconciliation. Those Calls to Action provide a renewed path forward for Canada's unfinished journey of healing and reconciliation - a path I am grateful and proud to walk with Indigenous communities.

All Canadians share in this journey.

As a country, we will celebrate Canada's 150th Anniversary as a confederation on July 1, 2017 - Canada Day!

And let us use the momentum and energy from this year's 20th anniversary celebration to begin planning toward this wonderful milestone as a nation.

Happy National Aboriginal Day everyone!

Date modified:

La Journée nationale des Autochtones de 2016 – Un message vidéo de la ministre

Téléchargement : format MP4 (23 Mo)

Transcription

Boozhoo et bonjour des territoires traditionnels du peuple algonquin!

Ce sera bientôt le 21 juin, Journée nationale des Autochtones!

Au cours de cette fin de semaine, partout au Canada, de nombreuses collectivités célébreront la Journée nationale des Autochtones. Des cérémonies culturelles spéciales, des commémorations et des présentations éducatives souligneront les contributions exceptionnelles des peuples autochtones. Et cette année est toute particulière puisqu'elle marque les 20 ans de la Journée nationale des Autochtones au Canada!

En tant que ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, je suis très fière que l'ont a entreprit au cours des derniers mois, de partir des nouvelles relations de nation à nation entre le Canada et les peuples autochtones.

Nous ne pouvons pas refaire l'histoire mais, en tant que Canadiens, nous pouvons en tirer des leçons.

C'est ce que nous faisons, tout en célébrant toutes les voix des Premières Nations, Métis et Inuits qui contribuent à la mosaïque riche et vivante qu'est notre pays.

De Terre-Neuve à Vancouver et au cercle polaire, les citoyens et les collectivités autochtones ont persévéré, à l'échelle locale, et ils nous présentent à présent leurs histoires de réussite afin que nous les relayions au monde entier. Pour apprécier pleinement ces histoires, dont certaines ont trait à des initiatives de développement économique, à un nouveau programme scolaire ou à un programme de logement couronné de succès, je vous encourage à visiter la page Histoire de réussite sur notre site Web afin de découvrir vous-mêmes ces récits et de mieux saisir la diversité des peuples autochtones.

Les Autochtones, qu'il s'agisse de leurs ancêtres ou des citoyens extraordinaires et des modèles d'identification d'aujourd'hui, ont démontré un fort désir de survivre et de contribuer à la croissance et à la prospérité de notre formidable pays, le Canada.

Notre gouvernement partage cet engagement. Nous avons accepté les appels à l'action de la Commission de réconciliation. Ces appels offrent une nouvelle voie sur la route inachevée du Canada vers la guérison et la réconciliation - une voie que j'emprunterai avec fierté et reconnaissance avec les communautés autochtones.

Tous les Canadiens avancent sur cette route.

Le 1er juillet 2017, la fête du Canada, nous célébrerons le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada!

Profitons de l'élan et de l'énergie des célébrations du 20e anniversaire de cette année pour commencer à planifier ce jalon important pour notre pays.

Je souhaite à tous une très joyeuse Journée nationale des Autochtones!

Date de modification :