On-Reserve Housing Immediate Needs Fund Guidelines

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) seeks to support First Nation communities in high immediate needs for housing on-reserve. The Immediate Needs Fund will provide construction, renovation and lot servicing funding for First Nation communities located south of 60 and in Yukon territory, including self-governing First Nations and First Nations under modern treaties.

Parameters

  1. The funding is a non-renewable and available for 2016-2018 only.
  2. For the Immediate Needs Fund, the eligible recipients include First Nations beneficiaries such as First Nation/Innu/Inuit governments; Bands/Settlements (lands, reserves, trusts); District Councils/Chiefs Councils; and, Tribal Councils.
  3. The funding levels by dwelling unit below are for reference only and include the costs of material delivery and construction for 3-bedroom row homes of 1,200 sq. ft.

    Province/Territory 3-Bedroom Row-Type Housing Unit*
    Zone 1, 2 Zone 3 Zone 4
      $/housing unit $/housing unit $/housing unit
    Newfoundland & Labrador 151,600 166,760 181,920
    Nova Scotia 147,200 161,920 176,640
    New Brunswick 136,200 149,820 163,440
    Atlantic 151,600 166,760 181,920
    Quebec 148,300 163,130 177,960
    Ontario 146,100 160,710 175,320
    Manitoba 180,200 198,220 216,240
    Saskatchewan 197,800 217,580 237,360
    Alberta 191,200 210,320 229,440
    British Columbia 220,800 242,880 264,960
    Yukon 247,200 271,920 296,640
    *Assumes wood construction, 1- or 2-storey, with slab on grade foundation system.
     
    Additional Costs*
    Foundation systems      
    Upgrade slab on grade to crawl space 19,000 20,900 22,800
    Upgrade slab on grade to full basement 25,000 27,500 30,000
    Upgrade slab on grade to flood-proof stilt system 25,000 27,500 30,000
    Bedrooms      
    Fourth 10,000 11,000 12,000
    Fifth 10,000 11,000 12,000
    Sixth 10,000 11,000 12,000
    Bathrooms      
    Second 12,000 13,200 14,400
    *For 4+ Bedrooms; assumes 4-piece bath with additional 60 sq. ft.
  4. A First Nation community is eligible for a maximum of 6 new multi-units to be constructed, varying number of renovations for a maximum of 10 renovation projects and 10 lots serviced.
  5. Each project has to be implemented as approved by INAC. Any changes to the project scope and location must be approved by INAC officials. Change without INAC's authorization may lead to funding being revoked and a full refund of the funds allocated. Compliance will be done via inspection reports submitted and random progress inspections conducted by INAC HQ and regional officials.
  6. Projects will be ranked using an On-Reserve Housing National Priority Ranking Framework.
  7. Stacking limits: The total maximum government assistance is 100% of eligible costs. Recipients are required to declare prospective sources of funding for the project, inclusive of all federal, provincial, territorial or municipal governments (total government assistance), and any other anticipated sources of funding.
  8. The Data Collection Instrument (DCI) or "Special Initiatives Report" must show all sources of funding received for the project.

Eligible Investment Categories

  1. Construction of multi-unit housing for social needs

    This funding is targeted to the construction of affordable multi-units (more than one attached unit in row) targeted to support the social needs of the community (i.e. vulnerable populationgroups such as the elderly, disabled, single parents and their children, families dependent on social assistance). 

    The construction of these multi-units must meet the national or provincial building codes applicable to the regional location of the First Nation community, and inspection certificates will be required upon completion.

    Funding is not intended for the following:
    • Housing that is not designated as units to support social needs;
    • Housing that exceeds the maximum funding approved by dwelling unit; and,
    • Reimbursement of any construction (including Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) Section 95 loans and defaults)completed in previous years that was not approved under this program.
  2. Renovation of Band Owned (rental) Housing and Additions for vulnerable groups

    This stream is intended to fund eligible renovations that include:
    • Addressing overcrowding and high occupancy rates through additions to existing units;
    • Improving energy-efficiency; and,
    • Rehabilitation of housing units that do not meet basic health and safety standards, such as units with excessive mould growth or asbestos issues, high detected levels of radon,   inadequate plumbing or other sanitation facilities.

    Projects addressing other health and safety issues would also be eligible. Health and safety issues will be considered as the first priority.

    The following criteria must be met for renovation funding:
    • Renovations will extend the structural or mechanical (e.g. heating and ventilation systems) life expectancy of approximately 10 years of the home, address overcrowding and high occupancy rates, or make the home habitable;
    • When any renovations are completed, areas renovated  will be brought up to the NRCan energy efficiency standards (e.g.. when windows are being replaced because of mould or rot, they should be replaced by ones meeting the NRCan standard) - Information on energy efficiency renovations can be found at:
      http://www.nrcan.gc.ca/energy/efficiency/housing; and,
    • Work will meet or exceed the national or provincial building codes applicable to the regional location of the First Nation community.

    The following are not eligible for renovation funding:
    • Individually owned homes;
    • Cosmetic repair (such as interior flooring, moulding, cabinets, fixtures and painting) and other non-structural or mechanical items, except when the structural and mechanical repairs result in damage to the cosmetic items, in which case these cosmetic repairs would be eligible (e.g. if repairing a window damages a wall, the room could be repainted);
    • Homes under agreement for CMHC's Section 95 Non-Profit Housing Program. The Section 95 Program provides for a maintenance and repair Replacement Reserves that the First Nation must manage throughout the life of the loan agreement; and
    • Pre-renovation energy-efficiency tests.

    Homes receiving funding under RRAP are eligible for renovation funding if they are not under CMHC's Section 95 agreement.

    If recent health and safety inspection reports (dated from 2012 and onwards) supporting the renovation are available, please attach them to the needs identification form. However, new inspections are not required for this needs identification form. Energy efficiency needs will be considered on a case-by-case basis subject to scope of work, the degree of energy savings and the availability of funding.

    Maximum eligible funding for renovations is $25,000/unit.

    The maximum funding can be increased to $50,000 for additions (extension or second story) of bedrooms and bathrooms, upon demonstration of current state of high occupancy or overcrowding in the unit. Basement bedroom addition is eligible only if radon test has been done and proves that radon level is under 200Bq.

    First Nations can use their INAC annual housing allocation or program subsidies as delivered in British Columbia and in some communities in Ontario to fund additional project costs.
  3. Lot Servicing

    This funding applies to: INAC-funded housing projects and First Nation-funded housing projects, and can include social/affordable housing; market-based housing; rental units; and high-density energy-efficient housing developments.

    Lot servicing is defined as providing water, wastewater collection, power and other utilities, and access to roads. Water may be provided through individual wells, or local or community-wide piped systems. Sewer may be provided through on-site septic systems, or local or community-wide piped systems. Electrification is usually available through community-wide systems. Electrification from the road to the house is eligible.

    Needs identification forms for projects that have their own water source and septic system, or for those that require new or repaired water and septic systems, must include the following Health Canada reports that meet or exceed the standards of the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program and meet all applicable codes and regulations:
    • water systems pump tests to verify quantity;
    • verification that potable (drinking) water meets health standards; and
    • approval of septic systems construction and operation.
    Maximum eligible funding for lot servicing will be based on flat rates of $25,000/lot.

    The following is not eligible for lot servicing:
    • CMHC non-profit social housing (as it is already included as part of their process); and
    • Road construction and grid connections.
Date modified:

Lignes directrices : Fonds pour les besoins immédiats de logements dans les réserves

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) cherche à aider les collectivités des Premières Nations ayant d'importants besoins immédiats de logements dans les réserves. Le Fonds pour les besoins immédiats accordera un financement pour la construction, la rénovation et la viabilisation de lots pour les collectivités des Premières Nations situées au sud du 60e parallèle et dans le territoire du Yukon, y compris les Premières Nations autonomes et les celles régies par les traités modernes.

Paramètres

  1. Il s'agit d'un financement non renouvelable et disponible uniquement pour 2016-2018.
  2. Pour obtenir un financement du Fonds pour les besoins immédiats, différents bénéficiaires sont admissibles, notamment les gouvernements des Premières Nations/Innus/Inuits; les bandes/établissements (terres, réserves, fiducies); conseils de district/conseils de chefs et conseils tribaux.
  3. Les niveaux de financement par unité d'habitation ci-dessous sont pour référence seulement et comprennent le coût de livraison et de construction pour des unités de logement en rangées de 3 chambres à coucher d'une superficie de 1 200 pieds carrés.

    Province/Territoire 3 Chambres à coucher Unité de type maison en rangée*
    Zone 1, 2 Zone 3 Zone 4
      $/unité de logement $/unité de logement $/unité de logement
    Terre-Neuve & Labrador 151 600 166 760 181 920
    Nouvelle-Écosse 147 200 161 920 176 640
    Nouveau-Brunswick 136 200 149 820 163 440
    Atlantique 151 600 166 760 181 920
    Québec 148 300 163 130 177 960
    Ontario 146 100 160 710 175 320
    Manitoba 180 200 198 220 216 240
    Saskatchewan 197 800 217 580 237 360
    Alberta 191 200 210 320 229 440
    Colombie-Britannique 220 800 242 880 264 960
    Yukon 247 200 271 920 296 640
    * Supposant une construction en bois, un ou deux étages, avec une fondation de dalle sur terre-plein.
     
    Indemnités des sommes forfaitaires*
    Systèmes de fondation      
    Surclassement de dalle sur terre-plein à vide sanitaire 19 000 20 900 22 800
    Surclassement de dalle sur terre-plein à sous-sol pleine hauteur 25 000 27 500 30 000
    Surclassement de dalle sur terre-plein à système sur pilotis à l’épreuve des inondations 25 000 27 500 30 000
    Chambres à coucher      
    Quatrième 10 000 11 000 12 000
    Cinquième 10 000 11 000 12 000
    Sixième 10 000 11 000 12 000
    Salles de bain      
    Deuxième 12 000 13 200 14 400
    *Pour les 4 chambres et plus, suppose une salle de bain 4 pièces avec 60 pieds carrés additionnels.
  4. Une collectivité des Premières Nations est admissible à la construction d'un maximum de six nouvelles unités multiples, à un nombre de rénovations variable pour un coût maximal de 250,000$ par communauté et à la viabilisation de 10 lots.
  5. Chaque projet doit être mis en œuvre selon l'approbation d'AANC. Une fois l'approbation d'AANC obtenue, tout changement à la portée et à l'emplacement du projet sans l'autorisation du ministère peut mener à la révocation des fonds alloués. Des fonctionnaires régionaux et de l'AC d'AANC mèneront des inspections régulières et aléatoires pour vérifier la progression et des rapports seront présentés pour assurer la conformité.
  6. Les projets seront classés à l'aide d'un système national de classement des priorités en matière de logement dans les réserves pour le Fonds pour les besoins immédiats et d'une grille du Système de points pour le Fonds pour le développement des capacités et le Fonds pour l'innovation.
  7. Limitation du cumul : le montant total maximal de l'aide gouvernementale est établi à 100 % des coûts admissibles. Les bénéficiaires doivent déclarer toutes les sources éventuelles de financement pour le projet, y compris toute l'aide provenant des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, ou des administrations municipales (aide gouvernementale totale), et les autres sources attendues.
  8. L'instrument de collecte de données (ICD) ou le « rapport d'initiatives spéciales » doit montrer toutes les sources de financement reçues pour le projet.

Catégories d’investissement admissibles

  1. Construction de logements à unités multiples pour répondre aux besoins sociaux

    Ce financement cible la construction d’unités multiples abordables (plus d’une unité en rangée) pouvant soutenir les besoins sociaux de la collectivité (c.-à-d. des groupes de population vulnérable, comme les personnes âgées ou handicapées, les familles monoparentales, les familles sur l’aide sociale).

    La construction de ces unités multiples doit respecter les codes de la construction provincial et national en vigueur dans la région de la collectivité des Premières Nations, et les certificats d’inspection seront requis à l’achèvement des travaux.

    Le fonds ne vise pas ce qui suit :
    • Logement qui n'est pas désigné comme unité pour soutenir les besoins sociaux;
    • Logement qui dépassent le niveau de financement maximal approuvé par unité d'habitation;
    • Remboursement de toute construction (incluant des prêts et défauts de remboursement sous l'article 95 de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL)) achevée dans les années précédentes n’ayant pas été approuvée dans le cadre de ce programme.
  2. Rénovation de logement (location) appartenant à la bande et agrandissements pour les groupes vulnérables

    Ce volet vise à financer les rénovations admissibles, notamment :
    • Le traitement du problème de surpeuplement et de taux d'occupation élevés grâce à des agrandissements sur des unités existantes;
    • l'amélioration en matière d'efficacité énergétique;
    • la mise à niveau de logements qui ne respectent pas les normes de base en matière de santé et sécurité; p. ex. des unités avec des problèmes de moisissures ou d'amiante, des niveaux élevés de radon, une plomberie ou d'autres installations sanitaires inadéquates.

    Des projets pour s’occuper d’autres préoccupations en matière de santé et sécurité peuvent également être admissibles. Les questions concernant la santé et sécurité doivent être examinées en priorité.

    Les critères suivants doivent être respectés pour le financement des rénovations :
    • Rénovations qui prolongent la durée de vie structurelle ou mécanique (p. ex. des systèmes de chauffage et d'aération) de la maison d'environ 10 ans, qui règlent le problème de surpeuplement ou de taux d'occupation élevé ou qui rendent la maison habitable;
    • Une fois les rénovations achevées, les aires rénovées seront mises à niveau selon les normes d'efficacité énergétique de RNCan (p. ex. lorsque les fenêtres sont remplacées en raison de problème de moisissure ou de pourriture, elles doivent être remplacées par d'autres respectant la norme de RNCan).
      Les renseignements sur les rénovations pour l'efficacité énergétique se trouvent à l'adresse :
      http://www.rncan.gc.ca/energie/efficacite/habitation;
    • Travaux qui respectent ou dépassent les codes de la construction provincial et national en vigueur dans la région de la collectivité des Premières Nations.

    Ce qui suit n'est pas admissible à l'aide financière :
    • Maisons de propriété individuelle;
    • Réparation cosmétique (comme les planchers, les moulures, les armoires, la peinture) et d'autres éléments non structuraux ou mécaniques, à l'exception de réparations mécaniques ou structurelles qui pourraient se traduire par des dommages aux éléments cosmétiques, qui pourraient alors être admissibles (p. ex. si la réparation d'une fenêtre endommage un mur, la pièce peut être repeinte);
    • Maisons régies par un accord en vertu du Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves de la SCHL (article 95). L'article 95 du programme comprend des réserves de remplacement pour l'entretien et la réparation que les Premières Nations doivent gérer tout au long de la durée de l'hypothèque;
    • Test d'efficacité énergétique préalables aux rénovations.

    Les maisons recevant un financement en vertu du PAREL sont admissibles si elles ne sont pas régies par un accord en vertu de l’article 95 de la SCHL.

    Si des rapports d’inspection de santé et sécurité récents (en date de 2012 ou plus récents) appuyant les rénovations sont disponibles, veuillez les mettre en pièce jointe au formulaire d’identification des besoins. Toutefois, de nouvelles inspections ne sont pas requises. Les besoins relatifs à l’efficacité énergétique seront examinés au cas par cas selon la portée des travaux, le niveau d’économies énergétiques et la disponibilité du financement.

    Le financement maximal admissible pour les rénovations est de 25 000 $ par unité.

    Le financement maximal peut être augmenté jusqu’à 50 000 $ pour des agrandissements (extension ou deuxième étage) de chambres à coucher et de salles de bain, en fonction de la preuve démontrée de l’état actuel de surpeuplement ou de niveau d’occupation élevé de l’unité. L’ajout d’une chambre au sous-sol est admissible uniquement si des tests pour vérifier la présence de radon ont été réalisés et montre que le niveau de radon est inférieur à 200 Bq.

    Les Premières Nations peuvent utiliser l’allocation pour le logement annuel ou des subventions de programme qui sont fournies en Colombie-Britannique et dans certaines collectivités en Ontario pour financer les coûts de projet additionnels.
  3. Viabilisation de lots

    Ce financement s’applique : aux projets de logements financés par AANC et aux projets de logement financés par les Premières Nations, ce qui peut inclure les logements sociaux ou à loyer modique; aux logements du marché; aux unités locatives et aux développements de logements écoénergétiques à densité élevée.

    La viabilisation de lots consiste à raccorder un logement à la canalisation d’eau et d’égout, à l’électricité et aux autres services publics ainsi qu’au réseau routier. L’eau peut provenir d’un puits individuel ou du système de canalisation d’eau de la collectivité ou local. Les eaux usées peuvent être évacuées dans une fosse septique, ou dans le système de canalisation d’égout de la collectivité ou local. L’électricité est habituellement fournie par les systèmes de la collectivité. Le raccordement de la ligne électrique entre la route et la maison est également inclus.

    Les formulaires d’identification des besoins pour des projets ayant leur propre source d’alimentation en eau et leur propre fosse septique ou pour ceux qui prévoient la réparation de ces systèmes ou l’installation de nouveaux doivent inclurent les rapports suivants de Santé Canada indiquant que ces projets respectent ou dépassent les normes du Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien et qu’ils respectent les codes et les règlements en vigueur :
    • Essais des pompes du système d'eau pour assurer la qualité;
    • Vérification de l'eau potable pour s'assurer qu'elle respecte les normes de santé;
    • Approbation de la construction et du fonctionnement des systèmes de fosse septique.
    Financement maximal admissible pour la viabilisation en fonction des taux forfaitaires de 25 000 $ par lot.

    La viabilisation de lots n’inclut pas ce qui suit :
    • Logement social sans but lucratif de la SCHL (déjà compris dans leur processus).
    • Construction de routes et de raccordement au réseau électrique
Date de modification :