Executive summary of what we heard: Final report of the pre-inquiry engagement process

On December 8, 2015, the Government of Canada launched a National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

As a first step, the government asked for ideas about the design and scope of the inquiry. It asked for the views of survivors, families and loved ones affected by the violence. It also asked for feedback from national Indigenous organizations and the provinces and territories.

This report summarizes what was heard during the pre-inquiry engagement process. It will also guide the government in developing the terms of reference for the inquiry.

Pre-inquiry design process

The Government of Canada received thousands of recommendations on how best to design the inquiry. The recommendations came through:

The face-to-face meetings provided the government a chance to hear directly from survivors, and families and loved ones of murdered or missing women and girls. Participants were provided with cultural, spiritual and religious support. Elders were also on hand to provide ceremony and counsel. Also, d health support workers were available to provide additional cultural and emotional support.

Summary of recommendations

The government asked specific questions about the goals, scope and format of the inquiry. The feedback is summarized here. For a detailed list of recommendations, consult Section 4, Summary of recommendations, in the full report.

1. Leadership, structure and scope of the inquiry

We heard that the inquiry should be independent, transparent and led by Indigenous women.  The leadership should represent Indigenous communities and regions. It should also have a timetable that is sensitive to the needs of survivors, families and loved ones. Efforts must be made to avoid a long, drawn-out and legal process.

2. Participation

We heard that the inquiry should include as many individuals and organizations as possible including survivors, families and loved ones, national Indigenous organizations, front-line workers, and Indigenous community leaders and organizations.  It should also respect different points of view.

3. Key issues and actions

We heard that the inquiry should take a broad approach to its analysis of the issues. It should look at the economic, cultural, political and social causes of violence against women, girls and trans and two-spirit people. It should also look at the causes of unequal and unjust treatment of Indigenous women, girls and trans and two-spirit people and recommend solutions to the causes of violence.

4. Cultural practices and supports

We heard that the inquiry should provide a variety of cultural, spiritual and religious supports and ceremonies. The ceremonies should reflect the diversity of all participants and regions and be supported by elders. As well, it will be critical to have professional mental health counselling and community-based health supports.  Professional and culturally-sensitive counselling will be needed if the inquiry is to be effective and avoid causing further trauma.

Conclusion

The pre-inquiry process has raised hopes for an inquiry that will recommend specific actions to end violence against Indigenous women, girls and trans and two-spirit people. It also offers an important step towards reconciliation, healing and addressing a long-standing national tragedy.

After hearing from so many, it is clear that Indigenous and non-Indigenous people and communities are looking for meaningful change and justice for victims and families.

As the Government of Canada, we share the commitment to making sure the inquiry gets all of this right, for the spirits and the memory of those we have lost, and to help prevent more tragedies.

Date modified:

Sommaire exécutif de ce que nous avons entendu : Rapport final sur le processus de mobilisation préalable à l’enquête

Le 8 décembre 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé une enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Dans un premier temps, le gouvernement a demandé des idées sur la définition des paramètres et la portée de l'enquête. Il a voulu connaître les points de vue des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes touchés par la violence. Il a également demandé des commentaires des organisations autochtones nationales et des provinces et les territoires  

Ce rapport résume ce qui a été entendu au cours du processus de mobilisation préalable à l'enquête. Il  guidera également guider le gouvernement dans l'élaboration du mandat de l'enquête.

Processus de définition des paramètres de l'enquête

Le gouvernement du Canada a reçu des milliers de recommandations sur la meilleure façon de définir les paramètres de l'enquête. Les recommandations ont été formulées par le biais de :  

Les rencontres en personne ont permis au gouvernement d'entendre de vive voix les survivantes, les familles et les proches des femmes et des jeunes filles disparues et assassinées. Les participants ont reçu un soutien culturel, spirituel et religieux. Des aînés étaient également sur place pour tenir des cérémonies et prodiguer des conseils. Les travailleurs de soutien en santé étaient présents pour fournir un soutien culturel et affectif additionnel.

Résumé des recommandations

Le gouvernement a posé des questions précises sur les objectifs, la portée et la forme de l'enquête. Voici la rétroaction reçue et résumée. Pour une liste détaillée des recommandations, voir la section 4, résumé des recommandations, dans le résumé final.

1. Leadership, structure et portée de l'enquête

On nous a dit que l'enquête devrait être indépendante, transparente et dirigé par des femmes autochtones. La direction devrait représenter les collectivités autochtones et les régions. Il devrait également avoir un calendrier qui est sensible aux besoins des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes. Des efforts doivent être faits pour éviter un long et complexe processus judiciaire.

2. Participants

On nous a mentionné que l'enquête devrait inclure autant de personnes et organisations que possible, y compris les survivantes, les familles, les proches des victimes, les organisations autochtones nationales, les travailleurs de première ligne, les dirigeants autochtones et les organisations communautaires. Il conviendrait également de respecter les divers points de vue.

3. Enjeux clés et actions requises

On a appris que l'enquête devrait tendre vers une approche globale de l'analyse des enjeux. Elle devrait se pencher sur les causes économiques, culturelles, politiques et sociales de la violence envers les femmes, les filles, les transgenres et les personnes bispirituelles autochtones. Elle devrait également se pencher sur les causes du traitement inégal et injuste de ces groupes énumérés et recommander des solutions aux causes de la violence.

4. Soutien et pratiques culturelles

On nous a dit que l'enquête devra fournir une variété de cérémonies et de soutien culturels, spirituels et religieux. Les cérémonies doivent refléter la diversité de l'ensemble des participants et des régions et être approuvées par les aînés. De plus, il sera essentiel d'avoir du soutien professionnel en santé mentale et du soutien communautaires en santé. Le soutien professionnel et culturellement adapté sera nécessaire si l'enquête veut être efficace et éviter de causer d'autres traumatismes.

Conclusions

Le processus préalable à l'enquête a suscité l'espoir d'une enquête qui recommandera des actions spécifiques pour mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes et les filles autochtones, et les transgenres et les personnes bi-spirituelles autochtones. Il a également constitué une étape importante vers la réconciliation, la guérison et le traitement d'une tragédie nationale de longue date.

Après avoir entendu autant de personnes, il est clair que les gens et les communautés autochtones et non autochtones sont à la recherche d'un changement significatif et d'une justice pour les victimes et les familles.

Au gouvernement du Canada, nous partageons l'engagement de faire en sorte que l'enquête réussisse sur tous ces fronts, à la mémoire de celles que nous avons perdues, et pour aider à prévenir d'autres tragédies.

Date de modification :