Co-op Student Experience Video

Watch this video about Co-op students who share their experiences working with Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and learn about the opportunities available through the student Co-op Program. For more information, visit the Public Service Commission of Canada's website.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Co-op students share their experiences working at INAC

Anna Clement, Communications Branch

Hi, my name is Anna, and I'm studying Sociology and Communication at the University of Ottawa, and I'm currently doing a placement with Indigenous and Northern Affairs in the Internal Communications Branch.

We've invited a few co-op students to share their experiences within INAC. Let's hear what they have to say.

Melody Thai, Yukon Region, Environment Directorate – Type II Mines

I decided to pursue a co-op placement with INAC because I'd never experienced Canada's "Great White North", and I thought it would be an amazing experience.

Philipp Sparvier, Communications Branch

The reason I took this internship, is I thought it would be great experience, not only for my career aspirations, but, you know, for the personal life experience itself.

Anna Clement, Communications Branch

I decided to pursue my placement with Indigenous and Northern Affairs for a number of reasons, but primarily because I thought it would be a unique opportunity to learn a little bit more about my heritage as a Mohawk from the Bay of Quinte.

Taylor McKinney, Yukon Region, Communications Branch

I chose to pursue a placement with INAC because I was interested in First Nations culture and history, and I really wanted to come to the Yukon and see how the self-government model works here.

Nicole Welsh, Claims Assessment and Treaty Mechanisms Directorate

One of my favourite parts of my placement here at INAC is working in the archives. It's really interesting being able to look at Indigenous experiences from decades and centuries ago, as well as experiences of past INAC employees.

Jocelyne Maisonneuve Alie, Environment and Renewable Resources – Climate Change Division

My favourite part of my placement is my Inuktitut class. It's a language and culture class, so we learn as much about the Inuit language as we do about the culture. So it's an experience that is quite unique and I don't believe that I could have it anywhere else, but here.

Manuela Haemmerli, Yukon Region, Governance Directorate

By far, my favourite part of this placement is being able to actually meet people who are working in First Nation governments and get to learn a little bit more about the real challenges that they face and the real successes that they are accomplishing.

Hameet Singh, Environment and Business, Land and Water Grou

p

My placement with INAC has helped me in my professional development and education, because it's one thing to learn about something in the classroom, but it's another thing to actually see it play out in actuality.

Emily Galvao, Communications Branch

My placement at INAC has allowed me to discover what I really want to do after school: working in social media. I really didn't give it much thought before, and I think following this co-op term, I'd like to pursue that further.

Erica Bergado, Northern Governance Branch

As an International Development Student, working at INAC has helped me put what I've been reading into a real life setting and it's helped me understand how these theories and ideas work in real life; what it takes to create a project proposal, or any kind of development project; the trial and error that goes into that.

Tyler Hart, Kumik

I recommend new students to take advantage of all the valuable resources offered at INAC.  As well, to talk to as many people as possible because you never want to close any doors.

Celena Bedford, Communications Branch

What I would recommend to students doing a placement here is really to just get involved.  Go to the student information sessions, make friends with other students, say yes to every opportunity.

Miriam Moore, Implementation-Consultation and Accommodation Unit

As someone who's not from Ottawa, my recommendation for new students would be to take advantage of all the training and information sessions that you possibly can.  It's a super amazing opportunity to get to live and work in the National Capital region, so make the most of it.

Date modified:

Vidéo sur le programme alternance travail-études (Coop)

Regardez cette vidéo sur des étudiants du programme alternance travail-études (Coop) qui partagent leur expérience de travail à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada et informez-vous sur les possibilités d'emploi offertes par l'entremise du programme alternance travail-études (Coop). Pour plus d'information, visitez le site Web de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada.

Téléchargement : MP4 format

Transcription: Des étudiants du programme alternance travail-études (Coop) partagent leur expérience vécue à AANC

Anna Clement, Direction générale des communications

Bonjour, je m'appelle Anna et j'étudie la sociologie et les communications à l'Université d'Ottawa. Je suis présentement en train de compléter mon stage aux Affaires autochtones et du Nord dans le groupe des communications internes.

Nous avons invité quelques étudiants du programme Coop afin qu'ils nous fassent part de leur expérience à AANC. Écoutons ce qu'ils ont à nous dire.

Melody Thai, région du Yukon,Direction de l'environnement – Mines de type II

J'ai décidé de faire un stage du programme Coop à AANC, parce que je n'étais jamais allée au pays du froid et j'ai pensé que ce serait une expérience extraordinaire.

Philipp Sparvier, Direction générale des communications

Voici la raison pour laquelle j'ai entrepris ce stage : j'estimais que cela représentait une expérience enrichissante, pas seulement sur le plan professionnel, mais, vous savez, sur le plan personnel également.

Anna Clement, Direction générale des communications

J'ai décidé de faire mon stage à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada pour un certain nombre de raisons, mais principalement parce que j'ai pensé que ce stage me donnerait l'occasion d'en apprendre un peu plus sur mon héritage comme Mohawk de la baie de Quinte.

Taylor McKinney, région du Yukon, Direction générale des communications

J'ai choisi de faire un stage à AANC, parce que la culture et l'histoire des Premières Nations m'intéressaient et que je désirais vraiment venir au Yukon et voir comment le modèle de l'autonomie gouvernementale fonctionne ici.

Nicole Welsh, Direction des relations découlant des traités

L'un des volets que je préfère à AANC est le travail dans les archives. Il est réellement intéressant de prendre connaissance des expériences vécues par des Autochtones il y a des décennies et des siècles, ainsi que les expériences d'anciens employés d'AANC.

Jocelyne Maisonneuve Alie, Direction de l'environnement etdesressources renouvelables – Division du changement climatique

La partie préférée de mon stage, je devrais dire que ce serait mon cours de langue inuktitut; c'est un cours de langue et de culture, donc on y apprend autant la langue que la culture des Inuit du Nord. C'est donc une expérience unique en son genre, puisque je ne crois pas que je pourrais la vivre ailleurs qu'ici.

Manuela Haemmerli, région du Yukon,Direction de la gouvernance Mon élément préféré de ce stage est de loin la possibilité de rencontrer en face à face des personnes qui travaillent dans un gouvernement de Première Nation et d'en apprendre un peu plus au sujet des véritables enjeux auxquels elles doivent faire face et au sujet de leurs réussites concrètes.

Hameet Singh, Environnement et Affaires – Groupe des terres et des eaux

Mon stage à AANC m'a été utile dans mes études et mon perfectionnement professionnel, parce que c'est une chose d'apprendre une notion en classe, mais c'est une toute autre chose que de la voir en réalité, inscrite dans l'actualité.

Emily Galvao, Direction générale des communications

Mon stage à AANC m'a permis de découvrir ce que je désire réellement faire après mes études : travailler dans les médias sociaux. Je n'y avais jamais vraiment réfléchi auparavant, et je pense qu'après la présente session de stage Coop, j'aimerais poursuivre dans cette avenue.

Erica Bergado, Direction de la gouvernance du Nord

À titre d'étudiante en développement international, le fait de travailler à AANC m'a aidée à transposer ce que j'ai lu dans un contexte de vie concrète et m'a aidée à comprendre comment ces théories et idées fonctionnent dans la vraie vie, ce qu'il faut pour créer une proposition de projet ou tout genre de projet de développement, les essais et erreurs qui se rattachent à ce processus.

Tyler Hart, Kumik

Je recommande aux nouveaux étudiants de tirer avantage de toutes les précieuses ressources offertes. De plus, ils devraient s'entretenir avec le plus grand nombre de personnes possible.

Celena Bedford, Direction générale des communications

Je recommanderais aux nouveaux étudiants qui font un stage ici de tout simplement faire montre de dynamisme. Assistez aux séances d'information pour les étudiants, nouez des liens d'amitié avec d'autres étudiants et dites oui à toutes les occasions.

Miriam Moore, Unité de la consultation et de l'accommodement

Je recommanderais aux nouveaux étudiants de tirer avantage du plus grand nombre possible de séances de formation et d'information qui leur sont offertes. C'est une occasion exceptionnelle, il faut donc en profiter le plus possible.

Date de modification :