Housing Subsidy Program in British Columbia

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada's (INAC) Housing Subsidy Program in British Columbia  provides housing subsidies to assist First Nations with the construction and purchase of new housing, and for renovations that address structural and health and safety concerns.

As part of the investments in First Nations housing made by Budget 2016, the On-Reserve Housing Funds call for proposals has been launched.

Choose a topic:

About the program

In British Columbia region, the key to accessing housing subsidies for both short and long-term housing goals is planning. Housing is planned and delivered in a continuous cycle, where each phase is essential to the next. Funding support in British Columbia region is also available through the New Approach for Housing Support. Both programs are part of INAC's support for First Nations on-reserve housing, but not part of the national First Nations On-Reserve Housing Program which does not effectively support many of the smaller First Nations in British Columbia.

Housing subsidy amounts are based on the particular geographic and economic characteristics of a First Nation community. There are four different kinds of INAC subsidies available through the Housing Subsidy Program:

  1. New home construction or purchase subsidies provided for the construction or purchase of permanent homes located on-reserve.
  2. Renovation subsidies for renovations that extend the structural and/or mechanical life expectancy of the home by at least fifteen (15) years. The maximum allowable renovation subsidy is fifty per cent (50 per cent) of a new home subsidy
  3. Mould renovation subsidies assist First Nations with mold remediation which can be more complicated, and can be more costly than regular renovation. The maximum allowable subsidy for mould renovation is up to the full new home subsidy amount.
  4. Building inspection subsidies assist with building inspection costs incurred during construction, purchase or renovation

For more information about the suite of housing subsidies available under the program, consult A Practical Guide to Housing.

Who can apply?

First Nation Councils, or delegated authorities such as tribal councils and other eligible organizations that have funding agreements with INAC BC Region.

Housing Managers are encouraged to contact INAC BC Region to confirm eligibility and current subsidy amounts available for your community.

Deadline

There is no deadline to apply. INAC accepts applications for housing subsidies year round.

How to apply?

Housing Managers are encouraged to contact INAC BC Region to help identify how much funding is available for their community and which forms to use for their housing project.

Date modified:

Programme de subventions au logement en Colombie-Britannique

Le Programme de subventions au en Colombie-Britannique d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) offre des subventions au logement afin d'aider les Premières Nations à construire et à acheter de nouveaux logements ainsi qu'à rénover des logements existants afin d'éliminer les problèmes relatifs à la structure et ceux liés à la santé et à la sécurité.

Dans le cadre des investissements prévus dans le Budget de 2016 en matière de logement pour les Premières Nations, un appel de propositions a été lancé pour les fonds destinés au logement dans les réserves.

Choisir un sujet :

Au sujet du programme

En Colombie-Britannique, la planification est l'élément clé pour avoir accès à des subventions au logement, tant pour les objectifs à court que les objectifs à long terme en matière de logement. Les logements sont planifiés et construits selon un cycle continu où chaque étape est essentielle à l'étape suivante. En Colombie-Britannique, des subventions sont aussi disponibles par l'intermédiaire du programme Nouvelle approche en matière de logement. Les deux programmes font partie des mesures de soutien au logement dans les réserves qu'a mis en place AANC, mais ils ne font pas partie du Programme de logement dans les réserves (national), qui n'appuie pas efficacement de nombreuses Premières Nations de petite taille en Colombie-Britannique.

Les montants des subventions au logement sont fondés sur les caractéristiques géographiques et économiques particulières des collectivités autochtones. AANC offre quatre types de subventions dans le cadre du Programme de subventions au logement :

  1. La Subvention à la construction ou à l'achat d'un domicile est accordée pour la construction ou l'achat d'un domicile permanent sur la réserve;
  2. La Subvention à la rénovation doit prolonger la durée de vie utile de la structure ou de la mécanique du logement d'au moins quinze (15) ans. La subvention maximale à la rénovation est de cinquante pour cent (50 %) de la subvention pour une nouvelle maison;
  3. La Subvention à l'élimination des moisissures offre une subvention pour aider les Premières nations à éliminer les moisissures. Ces travaux sont plus complexes et peuvent être plus coûteux qu'une rénovation normale. La Subvention à l'élimination des moisissures peut accorder un montant allant jusqu'au montant total de la subvention pour un nouveau logement;
  4. Les subventions à l'inspection des bâtiments aident à assumer les frais de construction, d'achat ou de rénovation.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'ensemble des subventions de logement disponibles dans le cadre du programme, consultez le Guide pratique du logement.

Qui est admissible?

Les conseils des Premières Nations ou leurs fondés de pouvoir, comme les conseils tribaux ou autres organismes admissibles qui ont des ententes de financement avec le bureau régional de la C.-B. pour AANC.

Les gestionnaires du logement sont encouragés à communiquer avec le bureau régional de la C.-B. pour AANC afin de confirmer leur admissibilité et les montants des subventions actuelles pour leur collectivité.

Date limite

Il n'y a pas de date limite pour présenter une demande. AANC accepte les demandes de subventions au logement à tout moment de l'année.

Comment présenter une demande?

Les gestionnaires du logement sont invités à communiquer avec le bureau régional de la C.-B. pour AANC afin d'aider à déterminer quel sera le montant du financement disponible pour leur collectivité et de savoir quels formulaires utiliser pour leur projet de logement.

Date de modification :