Audit of Information Technology Security

April 2015

PDF Version (72 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

Table of contents

Acronyms

AANDC

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

DSO

Departmental Security Officer

DSP

Departmental Security Plan

IT

Information Technology

ITSC

Information Technology Security Coordinator

MITS

Operational Security Standard: Management of Information Technology Security

 

 

Background

As a federal government department, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is governed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's (TBS's) Policy on Government Security. Government security, in this overarching policy, refers to the assurance that information, assets and services are protected against compromise and individuals are protected against workplace violence. Elaborating on the information and information technology (IT) security aspect is the Treasury Board's Operational Security Standard: Management of Information Technology Security (MITS), which defines the baseline security requirements that federal departments must fulfill to ensure the security of information and information technology assets under their control.

According to MITS, IT security is defined as the "safeguards to preserve the confidentiality, integrity, availability, intended use and value of electronically stored, processed or transmitted information" and, for the purposes of the standard, the "safeguards applied to the assets used to gather, process, receive, display, transmit, reconfigure, scan, store or destroy information electronically." 

An effective security program combines tools and technologies to protect information and systems, and the coordination of a variety of stakeholders. At AANDC, two key roles  with responsibility for IT security are the Departmental Security Officer (DSO), a Director of Security and Occupational Health and Safety, within the Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch, and the IT Security Coordinator (ITSC), a Manager of IT Security, within the Information Management Branch headed by the Chief Information Officer. The ITSC reports functionally to the DSO on security-related matters.

In 2011, Shared Services Canada was established and has assumed responsibility for the delivery, and related security, of some IT services – including email, data centres (with related hardware and systems software), telecommunication networks services and aspects of cyber security – formerly provided by AANDC.

The risks associated with the use of information technologies evolve as technologies continue to become more interconnected. AANDC's reliance on IT to process, store and transmit information in support of continuous program delivery combined with the Department's need to safeguard that information underscore the necessity of sound IT security controls and practices.

This audit was added to the Department's 2014-15 to 2016-17 Risk-Based Audit Plan at the request of the Deputy Minister of AANDC.

 

 

Audit Objective

The objective of the audit was to determine the adequacy and effectiveness of:

 

 

Audit Scope

The scope included an examination of governance, risk management and key IT security controls designed to protect the security of information and information assets, and to help ensure compliance with the Policy on Government Security and the Operational Security Standard: Management of Information Technology Security.    

In addition to the governance framework for all aspects of IT security, specific testing considered IT security controls over a selection of applications and network folders, as well as the controls implemented to protect desktops/laptops and removable media.

In particular, the audit work included:

The period from July 2013 to December 2014 was included in scope, with most emphasis on more recent activities.

The audit excluded the assessment of business continuity planning and IT security activities under the responsibility of Shared Services Canada. 

Audit fieldwork was mostly conducted at Headquarters but regional input was obtained with the help of a questionnaire sent to all regions.

 

 

Observed Strengths

The following strengths were identified during the audit:

 

 

Findings

Based on a combination of the evidence gathered through the examination of documentation, analysis, interviews and process walk-throughs, each audit criterion was assessed. Where a significant difference between the audit criterion and the observed practice was found, the risk of the gap was evaluated and used to develop a conclusion and to document recommendations for improvement.

Observations were noted in the following areas during the audit:

 

 

Conclusion

The audit found that, while some of the elements that would be expected of an IT security program are in place, opportunities to improve the governance framework exist in the areas of IT security policy requirements, responsibility for IT security in the regions, risk management and proactive planning, on-going monitoring of compliance with federal government requirements. Opportunities also exist to improve some access controls relating to applications and data. The audit resulted in seven recommendations.

 

 

Statement of Conformance

The Audit of Information Technology Security conforms with the Internal Auditing Standards for the Government of Canada, as supported by the results of the quality assurance and improvement program.

 

 

Summary of Audit Criteria

Summary of Audit Criteria
1 Governance over IT Security
1.1 IT security policies aligned with the government’s IT security policy framework have been developed and communicated across the Department.
1.2 Departmental oversight bodies for the management of IT security have been established.
1.3 A current IT security plan exists and is aligned with government-wide priorities.
1.4 An HR Plan for IT security staff exists and is aligned with priorities and plans.
1.5 A Departmental approach to managing IT security risks has been implemented.
1.6 Reporting on compliance and IT Security performance informs decision-making.
2 IT Security Practices over Departmental Data
2.1 Controls are in place to restrict access to applications and network shares.
2.2 Controls are in place to restrict access to privileged accounts.
2.3 A security awareness program is in place.
2.4 A process exists to effectively manage IT security incidents that includes identification, detection, response and recovery procedures.
 
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la sécurité des technologies de l’information

Avril 2015

Format PDF (74 Ko, 7 pages)

 

Table des matières

Acronymes

AADNC

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

ASM

Agent de sécurité du ministère

CSTI

Coordonnateur de la sécurité des technologies de l’information

GSTI

Norme opérationnelle de sécurité : Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l’information

PSM

Plan de sécurité ministérielle

TI

Technologies de l’information

 

 

Contexte

En tant que ministère du gouvernement fédéral, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est gouverné par la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT). La sécurité du gouvernement, selon cette politique générale, fait référence à l'assurance que l'information, les biens et les services ne sont pas compromis et que les personnes sont protégées contre la violence en milieu de travail. En ce qui concerne la sécurité de l'information et des technologies de l'information (TI), il y a la Norme opérationnelle de sécurité : Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (GSTI) du Conseil du Trésor, qui définit les exigences sécuritaires de base auxquelles les ministères et les organismes fédéraux doivent satisfaire pour assurer la sécurité de l'information et des biens de technologie de l'information placés sous leur contrôle.

Selon la GSTI, la sécurité des TI se définit comme étant les « mesures de sauvegarde visant à préserver la confidentialité, l'intégrité, la disponibilité, l'utilisation prévue et la valeur des renseignements conservés, traités ou transmis par voie électronique », et, aux fins de la norme, « les mesures de protection appliquées aux biens utilisés pour recueillir, traiter, recevoir, afficher, transmettre, reconfigurer, numériser, entreposer ou détruire l'information par voie électronique ». 

Un programme de sécurité efficace réunit les outils et les technologies afin de protéger l'information et les systèmes, et assure la coordination d'une variété d'intervenants. À AADNC, les deux postes essentiels chargés de la sécurité des TI sont l'agent de sécurité du ministère (ASM), un directeur de la Sûreté et de la santé et sécurité au travail, de la Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu du travail, et le coordonnateur de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (CSTI), un gestionnaire de la sécurité des TI, de la Direction générale de la gestion de l'information dirigée par le dirigeant principal de l'information. Le CSTI relève, sur le plan fonctionnel, de l'ASM en ce qui a trait aux questions relatives à la sécurité.

En 2011, Services partagés Canada a été mis sur pied et chargé de la prestation de certains services des TI, ainsi que de la sécurité connexe, notamment des courriels, des centres de données (matériel informatique et logiciels d'exploitation connexes), des réseaux de télécommunications et des aspects liés à la cybersécurité, qui étaient anciennement fournis par AADNC.

Les risques associés à l'utilisation des TI évoluent au fur et à mesure que les technologies sont de plus en plus interdépendantes. Le fait qu'AADNC compte sur les TI pour traiter, stocker et transmettre l'information à l'appui de l'exécution continue de programmes, combiné à la nécessité du Ministère de protéger cette information, met en lumière le besoin de mettre en pratique des contrôles et des pratiques de sécurité rigoureuses en matière de TI.

Cette vérification a été ajoutée au plan de vérification axé sur les risques de 2014-2015 à 2016-2017 du Ministère, à la demande de la sous-ministre d'AADNC.

 

 

Objectif de la vérification

L'objectif de la vérification était de déterminer la pertinence et l'efficacité de ce qui suit :

 

 

Portée de la vérification

La portée comprend un examen de la gouvernance, de la gestion du risque et des principaux contrôles de sécurité des TI conçus pour protéger la sécurité de l'information et les actifs en matière d'information, ainsi que pour aider à assurer la conformité à la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement et à la Norme opérationnelle de sécurité : Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information.

Outre le cadre de gouvernance visant tous les aspects de la sécurité des TI, des tests précis ont été menés sur les contrôles de sécurité des TI pour un éventail d'applications et de dossiers de réseau, ainsi que sur les contrôles mis en place pour protéger les ordinateurs de bureau, les ordinateurs portables et les supports amovibles.

Plus précisément, le travail de vérification comportait ce qui suit.

La portée comprenait la période allant de juillet 2013 à décembre 2014, mais on insiste davantage sur les éléments plus récents.

La vérification excluait l'évaluation de la planification de la continuité des activités et les activités liées à la sécurité des TI relevant de Services partagés Canada. 

Le travail de vérification sur le terrain s'est principalement déroulé à l'administration centrale, mais les régions ont pu y contribuer au moyen d'un questionnaire qui leur a été envoyé.

 

 

Forces observées

Les forces suivantes ont été cernées durant la vérification :

 

 

Constatations

Chacun des critères de vérification a été évalué selon une combinaison de preuves recueillies au cours de l'examen de documentation, d'analyses, d'entrevues et de révisions des processus. Lorsqu'un écart important a été observé entre un critère de vérification et les pratiques courantes, le risque associé à cet écart a été évalué afin d'élaborer une conclusion et de formuler des recommandations en vue d'apporter des améliorations.

Des observations ont été notées dans les domaines suivants pendant la vérification :

 

 

Conclusion

La vérification a révélé que, bien que certains éléments que l'on pourrait espérer d'un programme de sécurité des TI sont en place, il est possible d'améliorer le cadre de gouvernance en ce qui concerne les exigences de la politique sur la sécurité des TI, la responsabilité relative à la sécurité des TI dans les régions, la gestion des risques et la planification proactive, ainsi que la vérification continue de la conformité aux exigences du gouvernement fédéral. Il est également possible d'améliorer certains contrôles de l'accès liés aux applications et aux données. Le travail de vérification a donné lieu à sept recommandations.

 

 

Énoncé de conformité

La vérification de la sécurité des technologies de l'information est conforme aux Normes de vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada, comme en témoignent les résultats du programme d'assurance et d'amélioration de la qualité.

 

 

Résumé des critères de vérification

Résumé des critères de vérification
1 Gouvernance relative à la sécurité des TI
1.1 Des politiques sur la sécurité des TI harmonisées avec le cadre stratégique du gouvernement en matière de sécurité des TI ont été élaborées et communiquées au sein du Ministère.
1.2 Des organismes ministériels de surveillance pour la gestion de la sécurité des TI ont été créés.
1.3 Un plan courant de la sécurité des TI existe et cadre avec les priorités pangouvernementales.
1.4 Un plan des ressources humaines pour le personnel de la sécurité des TI existe et cadre avec les priorités et les plans.
1.5 Une approche ministérielle de gestion des risques liés à la sécurité des TI a été mise en œuvre.
1.6 La production de rapports sur la conformité et le rendement associé à la sécurité des TI contribue à la prise de décision.
2 Pratiques relatives à la sécurité des TI concernant les données ministérielles
2.1 Des contrôles sont en place pour restreindre l’accès aux applications et aux partages réseau.
2.2 Des contrôles sont en place pour restreindre l’accès aux comptes privilégiés.
2.3 Un nouveau programme de sensibilisation à la sécurité est en vigueur.
2.4 Il existe un processus pour gérer efficacement les incidents liés à la sécurité des TI qui comprend l’identification, la détection et les procédures en matière de réponse et récupération.
 
 
 
Date de modification :