Inquiry design meeting #16: February 10-11, 2016, Edmonton, Alberta

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held its sixteenth engagement meeting in Edmonton, on Wednesday and Thursday, February 10-11, 2016. This pre-inquiry meeting included survivors, families and loved ones. Their experiences, views and contributions will contribute to the design of the Inquiry.

A summary of the meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting. Read a copy of the discussion guide used at this meeting.

Choose a topic:

Overview

The engagement meeting was held over two days. The first day was a preparation day for participants with an orientation session and a sharing circle where survivors, families and loved ones shared their personal stories associated with violence against Indigenous women and girls.

The second day was dedicated to how the Inquiry should be designed. The day opened with a prayer from an Elder followed by a prayer song. A welcoming speech from the Minister followed. Participants acknowledged and honoured the women and girls who were murdered and who are still missing.

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs heard directly from participants about the effects of violence on the survivors, the families of victims and their communities.

Participants in the Edmonton session discussed their desire for those most directly impacted by violence to play a key role in an inquiry and to have their needs met throughout the process.

The day closed with a prayer from an Elder and words of hope from the other officiating elders. A presentation of a gifts to the Elders occurred and a gifting of moccasins to the Minister. A thank-you and closing speech from the Minister followed and an honour song closed the meeting.

Who attended

Survivors, families and loved ones of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls attended the pre-Inquiry meeting. There were also representatives of front-line organizations. Also in attendance:

Officials from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and Status of Women Canada were present throughout the day.

The Edmonton meeting was attended by over 240 survivors, family members and loved ones from Indigenous communities in the province. Four Elders were present to provide a safe and supportive environment for discussions. To ensure the well-being of participants, health support workers, including Indigenous elders, from Health Canada were available at the meetings and over-night to provide additional cultural and emotional support.

Leadership and participation

Two questions were asked about who should lead and who should take part in the inquiry. The views on leadership included the need to have:

Participants also identified which groups should have a chance to take part in the Inquiry:

Participants stressed the importance of involving survivors, families and loved ones in all aspects of the inquiry.

Priorities and key issues

Participants identified the issues the Inquiry must address if it is to produce recommendations for specific actions. These issues include:

Participants want the inquiry's final report to include recommendations for specific actions including:

In general, the participants agreed that solving the problem of violence will be a long-term process and will require building trust among Indigenous communities and the police and justice systems. As time passes, attention should continue to focus on the needs and concerns of survivors, families and loved ones.

Support and cultural practices

Participants outlined the need to include traditional practices and ceremonies in the inquiry process. The inquiry must also include healing processes to acknowledge and address the trauma felt by those affected.

Recommendations about how to include cultural practices and ceremony include:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions listed in the discussion guide, participants were invited to share other comments and views on the design of the Inquiry. These include:

Date modified:

Seizième rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête : 10 et 11 février 2016, à Edmonton (Alberta)

Dans le cadre de de l'enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu sa seizième rencontre de mobilisation à Edmonton, en Alberta, le mercredi 10 et le jeudi 11 février 2016. Des survivantes ainsi que des membres des familles des victimes et certains de leurs proches ont participé à cette rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Leur expérience, leurs perspectives et leurs contributions serviront à définir les paramètres de l'enquête nationale.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la rencontre. Il ne s'agit pas d'un compte rendu exhaustif des discussions. On y expose plutôt les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis de cette rencontre de mobilisation. Vous pouvez également consulter le guide de discussion utilisé lors de cette rencontre.

Choisir un sujet :

Aperçu

La séance de mobilisation s'est déroulée sur deux jours. La première journée a été consacrée à des séances d'orientation et à un cercle de partage où les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes pouvaient échanger leurs récits personnels liés la violence à l'endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones.

La deuxième journée a porté sur la façon dont l'enquête devrait être définie. La séance s'est ouverte par une prière d'un aîné suivie par un chant de prière. La ministre a ensuite prononcé une allocution de bienvenue. Les participants ont honoré les femmes et les filles qui ont été assassinées et qui sont toujours portées disparues.

La ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord a entendu de vive voix les participants parler des effets de cette violence sur les survivantes, les familles des victimes et leurs collectivités.

Les personnes qui assistaient à la rencontre d'Edmonton ont fait part de leur désir de voir les victimes directes de la violence jouer un rôle prépondérant dans l'enquête nationale et qu'on tienne compte de leurs besoins tout au long du processus.

La journée s'est terminée sur une prière d'un aîné et des paroles d'espoir des autres aînés qui assistaient à la rencontre à titre officiel. Des cadeaux ont été remis aux aînés, et la ministre a reçu des mocassins. Elle a ensuite prononcé un discours de remerciement et de clôture, et la rencontre a pris fin sur un chant d'honneur.

Les participants

Des survivantes ainsi que des familles et des proches de femmes et de filles autochtones disparues et assassinées ont pris part à la rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Des représentants des organisations de première ligne y ont également participé. Notons également la présence de :

Des responsables d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada et de Condition féminine Canada étaient présents tout au long de la journée.

Plus de 240 survivantes, membres des familles et proches des victimes provenant des collectivités autochtones de la province ont assisté à la rencontre d'Edmonton. Quatre aînés étaient sur place afin de créer un milieu sûr et propice aux discussions. Pour assurer le bien-être des participants, des intervenants de soutien en santé de Santé Canada, y compris des aînés autochtones, étaient disponibles au cours des séances et pendant la nuit pour dispenser un soutien culturel et émotionnel supplémentaire.

Leadership et participation

Deux questions ont porté sur qui doit diriger l'enquête et qui doit y participer. Selon les participants à la rencontre, la direction de l'enquête doit être assurée par :

Les participants ont aussi ciblé les groupes qui devraient avoir l'occasion de participer à l'enquête :

Les participants ont insisté sur l'importance de la participation des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes à tous les aspects de l'enquête.

Priorités et questions clés

Les participants ont déterminé les questions auxquelles l'enquête doit répondre en vue de formuler des recommandations pour la prise de mesures concrètes. Parmi ces questions, mentionnons les suivantes :

Les participants veulent que le rapport final de l'enquête présente des recommandations concernant la prise de mesures concrètes, notamment :

De manière générale, les participants conviennent qu'il faudra du temps pour éliminer la violence et que ce processus nécessitera l'établissement de relations de confiance entre les collectivités autochtones, les corps policiers et le système judiciaire. On devrait continuer de mettre l'accent sur les besoins et les préoccupations des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes.

Soutien et pratiques culturelles

Les participants ont souligné la nécessité d'intégrer des pratiques et des cérémonies traditionnelles au processus d'enquête. L'enquête doit aussi comprendre des processus de guérison afin de reconnaître le traumatisme subi par les personnes touchées et de le surmonter.

Parmi les recommandations sur la façon d'inclure les pratiques et les cérémonies culturelles, notons :

Autres commentaires

Les participants ont été invités à fournir leurs commentaires et leurs opinions sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête et à discuter de questions autres que celles énumérées dans le guide de discussion. Les voici :

Date de modification :