Saskatoon Tribal Council Video - PSAB

Established in 1982, the Saskatoon Tribal Council (STC) has become a successful tribal region located in Treaty 6 territory. Through excellence in service and program delivery, the STC has developed community and business partnerships that have become significant contributors to within Saskatoon and the region. Find out more in this video where we sit down with the STC to talk about their success.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript for: Saskatoon Tribal Council Video – PSAB

Text

Saskatoon Tribal Council (STC)

Treaty 6

Narrator

Established in 1982, the Saskatoon Tribal Council has become a successful tribal region located in treaty six territory. With over 250 employees, the Saskatoon Tribal Council is recognized as a major employment contributor within Saskatoon and the surrounding area. The STC represents approximately 11,000 First Nations people from the STC region.

Text

STC represents 11,000 First Nations

Mark Arcand, Vice Chief, Saskatoon Tribal Council

The Saskatoon Tribal Council is an organization that works for seven member bands which are Muskeg Lake, Mistawasis First Nation, One Arrow First Nation, Whitecap Dakota/Sioux, Yellow Quill First Nation, Kinistin First Nation and Muskoday First Nation.

Text

Muskeg Lake
Mistawasis First Nation
One Arrow First Nation
Whitecap Dakota/Sioux
Yellow Quill First Nation
Kinistin First Nation
Muskoday First Nation

Narrator

STC works collaboratively with its seven member bands, the City of Saskatoon, Federal and Provincial Governments, school boards and private industry to offer numerous programs and services to First Nations people, on and off reserve.

Mark Arcand

We are an organization that develops services for communities; we work with them, we want to help them build some capacities within their communities and we also work for the urban City of Saskatoon where we have a protocol with all of our other tribal councils and First Nations.

Narrator

STC is comprised of five corporations that deliver services in the areas of children; family and community programs; education; health and wellness services; environmental and engineering services; affordable housing; labour force development; and technical and business advisory.

Text

Saskatoon Tribal Council Inc.
Cress Housing
STC Urban First Nations Services Inc.
STC Health & Family Services Inc.
Dakota Dunes Community Development Corporation (DDCDC)

Mark Arcand

Our role is basically just to help them build capacity, not tell them what to do that's best for their community, but to help them along their path of what they need.

Felix Thomas, Chief, Saskatoon Tribal Council

I guess the biggest positive is being self-reliant and being able to provide for your family and being able to provide infrastructure for your nation in terms of water, schools…and those infrastructures, even something as simple and essential as sidewalks in our First Nations.

Narrator

Over the years, STC has partnered with numerous industry leaders to create business entities and initiatives in construction management, potash, real estate, gaming industries and continues to make contributions in the Saskatoon community through community development philanthropy.

Felix Thomas

We got into the partnerships early in the game and early on in our tribal council. My predecessor thought it was important too, because we didn't have the resources to do a lot of the work.

Gillis Lavalley, Manager Aboriginal Relations, SaskEnergy

The partnership with Saskatoon Tribal Council basically sets up economic development.

We provide resources to help STC develop and capitalize on procurement and initiatives that are being set up, not necessarily with SaskEnergy, but with other crown corporations and industry players as well.

Lawerence Courtoreille, CEO, Mikisew Energy Service Group

I think a lot of value we bring to this partnership is our experience in dealing with industry. We've been dealing with them for the last 30 years, we went through all the stages of every possibility of trying to be successful and we saw a lot of the mistakes that happened.

Narrator

These partnerships also foster Aboriginal inclusion which is a critical component in the Canadian workplace.

Doug Golosky, Director, Lynco Eagle

We would like to have an aboriginal company that can do great from start to finish, any major project using aboriginal people. And we have a tremendous amount of talent in the aboriginal communities so it just - I think it's a tremendous opportunity for all of us.

Jerry Cole, Vice President, Lynco Eagle

The industry we're in is heavy industrial mainly with fabrication and stuff and Saskatoon Tribal Council with the seven nations brings us more of a footprint in Saskatchewan.

Leanne Bellegarde, Director Aboriginal Strategy, PotashCorp

PotashCorp was really committed to trying to figure out how to ensure aboriginal inclusion in our Saskatchewan operations in particular. It made sense when we started out on our efforts to include aboriginal people and the economic participation opportunities; we had to start out by looking at the Saskatoon Tribal Council and its member nations because of their proximity to our corporate office and to at least four or our mines in this area. And, you know, they're a well-established organization with a lot of credibility, strong infrastructure and stable leadership and those are all good qualities in a partner.

Text

Aboriginal partnerships
Investing in the future
Finding success through partnership
First Nations and Métis presence growing at PotashCorp

As PotashCorp grows, so does our need to establish strong working relationships with people and suppliers in First Nations and Métis communities.

"It is vitally important to our future to engage the Aboriginal community," says Bill Doyle, PotashCorp's President and Chief Executive Officer. "When we go to events at the White Buffalo Youth Lodge and see that energy the young people bring, we know they can do great things for our community and for our company."

Narrator

STC is committed to providing excellence in program and service delivery and continues to place a priority on economic development.

Text

Committed to providing excellence in program and service delivery

And

Priority on economic development

Mark Arcand

Our vision for the Saskatoon Tribal Council is to be a catalyst of success.

Felix Thomas

What we see is our people being more reliant and healthy and safe and secure, also educated and economically successful. I have always said there is nothing wrong with a successful Indian.

Mark Arcand

When we talk about the quality of life of our people, we want them to be better educated, better in the workforce, be better citizens and have a better understanding to be part of a bigger picture which is the Province of Saskatchewan and Canada.

Canada Wordmark

Date modified:

Vidéo sur le Saskatoon Tribal Council - SAEA

Établi en 1982, le Conseil tribal de Saskatoon est devenu un conseil performant réunissant des groupes tribaux situés sur le territoire du Traité no 6. En assurant une prestation de services et de programmes axée sur l'excellence, le Conseil tribal de Saskatoon a développé des partenariats avec des collectivités et des entreprises qui sont devenus d'importants contributeurs à Saskatoon et sa région. Cette vidéo vous permettra d'en apprendre davantage au sujet des réalisations du Conseil tribal de Saskatoon.

Téléchargement : Format MP4

 

Transcription : Vidéo sur le Saskatoon Tribal CouncilSAEA

Texte

Saskatoon Tribal Council (STC)

Traité no 6

Narrateur

Créé en 1982, le Saskatoon Tribal Council est devenu une région tribale florissante située dans le territoire visé par le Traité no 6. Avec plus de 250 employés, le Saskatoon Tribal Council est reconnu comme un employeur majeur de Saskatoon et des environs. Le STC représente environ 11 000 membres des Premières Nations de la région du STC.

Texte

Le STC représente 11 000 membres des Premières Nations.

Mark Arcand, sous-chef, Saskatoon Tribal Council

Le Saskatoon Tribal Council est une organisation qui œuvre au nom des sept bandes membres : Première Nation de Muskeg Lake, Première Nation de Mistawasis, Première Nation One Arrow, Première Nation dakota de Whitecap/Sioux, Première Nation Yellow Quill, Première Nation de Kinistin et Première Nation de Muskoday.

Texte

Première Nation de Muskeg Lake
Première Nation de Mistawasis
Première Nation One Arrow
Première Nation dakota de Whitecap/Sioux
Première Nation Yellow Quill
Première Nation de Kinistin
Première Nation de Muskoday

Narrateur

Le STC collabore avec les sept bandes membres, la Ville de Saskatoon, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial, les conseils scolaires et le secteur privé en vue d'offrir de nombreux programmes et services aux peuples des Premières Nations, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur des réserves.

Mark Arcand

Notre organisation élabore des services pour les collectivités. Nous travaillons avec elles, nous voulons les aider à acquérir de nouvelles capacités et nous travaillons aussi en milieu urbain pour la Ville de Saskatoon, où nous avons établi un protocole avec tous nos autres conseils tribaux et les Premières Nations.

Narrateur

Le STC regroupe cinq sociétés offrant des services dans les domaines suivants : soins aux enfants, programmes familiaux et communautaires, éducation, services de santé et de bien-être, services environnementaux et techniques, logement abordable, développement de la main-d'œuvre, avis techniques et services-conseils aux entreprises.

Texte

Saskatoon Tribal Council Inc.
Cress Housing
STC Firt Nations Services Inc.
STC Health & Family Services Inc.
Dakota Dunes Community Development Corporation (DDCDC)

Mark Arcand

Notre rôle est essentiellement de les aider à acquérir des capacités ‒ pas de leur dire ce qui est le mieux pour leur collectivité, mais plutôt de les soutenir dans la voie qu'ils ont choisie pour répondre à leurs besoins.

Felix Thomas, chef, Saskatoon Tribal Council

Je pense que l'élément le plus positif est d'être autonome et capable de répondre aux besoins de notre famille et de fournir à notre nation l'infrastructure ‒ l'eau, les écoles, toute cette infrastructure ‒, même quelque chose d'aussi simple et essentiel que des trottoirs dans nos Premières Nations.

Narrateur

Au fil des ans, le STC a fait équipe avec de nombreux chefs de file de l'industrie pour créer des entreprises et des initiatives, que ce soit pour la gestion de la construction, la mise en valeur de la potasse, l'immobilier et les jeux de hasard, et continue de soutenir la collectivité de Saskatoon par une action philanthropique axée sur le développement communautaire.

Felix Thomas

Nous avons formé des partenariats tôt dans le processus et au sein de notre conseil tribal. Mon prédécesseur pensait aussi que c'était important, car nous n'avions pas les ressources pour accomplir une grande partie du travail.

Gillis Lavalley, directeur, Relations avec les Autochtones, SaskEnergy

Le partenariat avec le Saskatoon Tribal Council jette essentiellement les bases du développement économique.

Nous fournissons des ressources pour aider le STC à développer et à exploiter les possibilités d'approvisionnement et les initiatives mises en place, pas nécessairement avec SaskEnergy, mais aussi avec d'autres sociétés d'État et des intervenants de l'industrie.

Lawerence Courtoreille, directeur général, Mikisew Energy Service Group

Je pense que notre expérience dans les échanges avec le secteur privé constitue notre principal apport à ce partenariat. Nous avons eu des échanges avec l'industrie depuis plus de 30 ans, nous avons connu tous les stades de chacun des efforts de réussite et nous avons observé un grand nombre d'erreurs.

Narrateur

Ces partenariats favorisent aussi l'inclusion des Autochtones, qui constituent un élément essentiel du milieu du travail canadien.

Doug Golosky, directeur, Lynco Eagle

Nous aimerions avoir une compagnie autochtone qui obtiendrait de bons résultats du début à la fin, n'importe quel grand projet recourant à des Autochtones. Il y a des talents incroyables dans les collectivités autochtones, et je pense que cela représente une possibilité fantastique pout tout le monde.

Jerry Cole, vice-président, Lynco Eagle

Nous travaillons dans le secteur de l'industrie lourde ‒ principalement dans la fabrication, ce genre de chose ‒, et le Saskatoon Tribal Council, avec les sept nations, nous aide à nous développer en Saskatchewan.

Leanne Bellegarde, directrice, Stratégie autochtone, PotashCorp

PotashCorp voulait réellement découvrir comment inclure les Autochtones dans ses activités en Saskatchewan, en particulier. Il était logique au départ d'inclure les Autochtones et les possibilités de participation économique. Nous devions commencer en communiquant avec le Saskatoon Tribal Council et ses nations membres en raison de leur proximité de notre siège social et d'au moins quatre de nos mines dans la région. Et, vous savez, c'est une organisation bien établie, qui jouit d'une grande crédibilité, d'une solide infrastructure et d'une direction stable : ce sont toutes de bonnes qualités chez un partenaire.

Texte

Partenariats autochtones
Investir dans l'avenir
La réussite par le partenariat
Présence grandissante des Premières Nations et des Métis chez PotashCorp

À mesure que se développe PotashCorp, nous avons besoin d'établir des liens solides avec les gens et les fournisseurs des collectivités des Premières Nations et des Métis.

« Il est crucial pour notre avenir de mobiliser la communauté autochtone, déclare Bill Doyle, président et chef de la direction de PotashCorp. Lorsque nous assistons à des événements au White Buffalo Youth Lodge et que nous voyons l'énergie de ces jeunes, nous savons qu'ils peuvent accomplir de grandes choses pour notre collectivité et notre compagnie. »

Narrateur

Le STC est voué à l'excellence dans la prestation de programmes et de services et continue d'accorder la priorité au développement économique.

Texte

Voué à l'excellence dans la prestation de programmes et de services

et

Priorité au développement économique

Mark Arcand

Nous voyons le Saskatoon Tribal Council comme un catalyseur de réussite.

Felix Thomas

Nous constatons que notre peuple devient plus confiant, en santé et en sécurité, plus instruit et prospère. J'ai toujours dit qu'il n'y avait rien de mal à ce qu'un Indien soit prospère.

Mark Arcand

La qualité de vie de nos gens signifie que nous voulons qu'ils soient plus instruits, qu'ils occupent une meilleure position dans la main-d'œuvre, qu'ils soient de meilleurs citoyens et aient une meilleure perspective, pour pouvoir prendre leur place dans l'ensemble de la Saskatchewan et du Canada.

Mot symbole « Canada »

Date de modification :