First Nations Enhanced Education Infrastructure Fund

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) works with First Nations through the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program to provide financial and advisory assistance to First Nations in the development of their basic public infrastructure, including education facilities. The Enhanced Education Infrastructure Fund is part of the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program.

Budget 2016 proposes an investment of $969.4 million over five years, starting in 2016-2017, for the construction, repair and maintenance of First Nations education facilities.

This commitment enhances the existing Education Infrastructure Fund by increasing its available funding and is part of a long-term strategy to improve First Nations education infrastructure.

Choose a topic:

About education infrastructure

First Nations own and operate education facilities on reserve and are responsible for managing projects to renovate or build new facilities. The Government of Canada provides funding to First Nations to build new schools, renovate and expand existing facilities, and operate and maintain existing education infrastructure. Education infrastructure can include school facilities such as classrooms, gyms, science labs, sports fields, home economics and shop facilities.

Between 2008 and 2014, the Government of Canada invested some $1.7 billion in school infrastructure including building new schools, major additions, renovations and the operation and maintenance of existing facilities.

As part of the $1.7 billion investment in school infrastructure, INAC has invested $175 million in the initial Education Infrastructure Fund (EIF) towards 15 projects across the country between 2012 and 2015 (projects are in various stages of completion).

Beginning in 2015-2016, INAC has also committed an additional $500 million into the initial EIF over seven years for education facilities, plus $175 million in additional departmental funding.

As part of the Enhanced Education Infrastructure Fund, INAC has also established an Innovation Fund to provide funding to First Nations communities to build school facilities that are innovative, promote education reform or achieve cost savings.

Who can apply?

First Nation communities


To be eligible to receive funding, First Nation communities must submit their First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan every year to their INAC regional office by the following deadlines:

How to apply?

There is no application. Funding is determined based on information provided in the mandatory annual First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan. This report details the First Nation's infrastructure plans over the next five years and alerts INAC of any proposed capital projects the community may require, including education facilities projects. An updated report must be provided each year before capital funds are released to First Nations. This report should only include eligible projects under the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program.

Proposed projects are assessed by INAC regional officials and prioritized according to the School Priority Ranking Framework (SPRF). The results guide INAC's investment decisions about education facilities. The SPRF uses nationally established criteria that consider:

Other factors taken into account include:

For more information, contact INAC by email at or by telephone at 1-800-567-9604.


Date modified:

Fonds accru pour l’infrastructure scolaire des Premières Nations

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) collabore avec les Premières Nations dans le cadre du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien afin d'offrir une aide financière et des services de consultation aux Premières Nations pour le développement de leurs infrastructures publiques de base, y compris les établissements d'enseignement. Le Fonds accru pour l'infrastructure scolaire fait partie du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien.

Dans le cadre du budget de 2016, une somme de 969,4 millions de dollars sera versée, sur une période de cinq ans, à compter de 2016-2017 pour construire, réparer et assurer l’entretien des établissements d’enseignement des Premières Nations.

Cet engagement accroît l'actuel Fonds pour l'infrastructure scolaire des Premières Nations en augmentant le financement disponible, et fait partie d'une stratégie à long terme pour améliorer l'infrastructure scolaire des Premières Nations.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos de l'infrastructure scolaire

Les Premières Nations détiennent et administrent des établissements d'enseignement dans les réserves et sont responsables de la gestion des projets de rénovation ou de construction de nouveaux établissements. Le gouvernement du Canada accorde du financement aux Premières Nations pour la construction de nouvelles écoles, la rénovation ou l'agrandissement des installations existantes, ainsi que pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien des infrastructures scolaires en place. L'infrastructure scolaire peut comprendre des installations scolaires comme des salles de classe, des gymnases, des laboratoires de science, des terrains de sport, ainsi que des ateliers d'entretien et des locaux pour l'économie domestique.

Entre 2010 et 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a investi environ 1,5 milliard de dollars dans l’infrastructure scolaire, notamment pour la construction de nouvelles écoles, d’ajouts importants, de travaux de rénovation, ainsi que pour le fonctionnement et l’entretien des installations existantes.

Le budget de 2014 a accordé 500 millions de dollars sur sept ans (à partir de 2015-2016) pour les établissements d’enseignement, ainsi que 175 millions de dollars en fonds supplémentaires.

Dans le cadre du Fonds accru pour l'infrastructure scolaire, AANC a également établi un Fonds d'innovation afin d'accorder un financement aux collectivités des Premières Nations pour construire des installations scolaires qui sont novatrices, qui font la promotion de la réforme pédagogique et qui se traduisent par des économies.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les collectivités des Premières Nations

Échéances

Pour être admissibles à du financement, les collectivités des Premières Nations doivent soumettre annuellement leur Plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières Nations, à leur bureau régional d'AANC, au plus tard le 30 septembre

Comment présenter une demande?

Il n'y a aucun processus de demande. Le montant du financement est déterminé en fonction de l'information fournie dans le Plan d'investissement dans les infrastructures des Premières Nations annuel obligatoire. Ce rapport présente en détail les plans d'infrastructure des Premières Nations pour les cinq prochaines années et informe AANC des projets d'immobilisations qui pourraient être nécessaires dans la collectivité, notamment les projets d'installations scolaires. Une mise à jour annuelle de ce rapport doit être produite chaque année avant que des fonds en immobilisations ne soient affectés aux Premières Nations. Il ne vise que les projets admissibles du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien.

Les projets proposés sont évalués par les fonctionnaires des bureaux régionaux d'AANC en fonction du Cadre de classement des priorités pour les écoles. Les résultats guident les décisions d'investissement d'AANC liées aux établissements d'enseignement. Le Cadre se fonde sur des critères nationaux établis qui tiennent compte des facteurs suivants :

D'autres facteurs peuvent entrer en ligne de compte, comme :

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec AANC par l’intermédiaire notre Centre de contacts de renseignements du public d’AANC.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :