Inquiry design meeting #11: January 28-29, 2016, Iqaluit, Nunavut

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held its eleventh engagement meeting in Iqaluit, Nunavut, on Thursday and Friday, January 28-29, 2016. This pre-inquiry meeting included survivors, families and loved ones. Their experiences, views and contributions will contribute to the design of the inquiry.

A summary of the meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting. Read a copy of the discussion guide used at this meeting or complete the on-line survey to share your own views.

Choose a topic:

Overview

The Iqaluit engagement session took place over a two day period. On the first day, participants registered and were invited to attend an orientation session. On the second day, the Minister took part in a sharing circle with participants and engaged in discussions about how to best design an inquiry into missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls.

Ceremony and tradition are vital parts of Northern life and participants stressed the importance of including these practices at the beginning and end of every meeting. On the first day, an Inuit Elder was present at the sessions to offer spiritual counsel. On the second day, an Inuit Elder began the day in a healing way by lighting a qulliq lamp and explaining the history and significance of the qulliq as a source of heat and light, as well as a cooking implement, for the Inuit. This was followed by children from the community performing traditional Inuit throat singing. The day was then opened with a prayer. At the end of the day, a local children's choir performed traditional Inuit singing, dancing and drumming for the participants. This was seen as critical to the healing process, as it helped to lift the spirits of participants after a challenging day of sharing stories and recommendations.

The unique perspective and needs of Inuit in an inquiry was raised many times. Inuit have a culture and traditional way of life which is vastly different from other First Peoples in Canada and an inquiry must respect their differences and include their unique cultural elements as part of the process. In particular, remoteness, isolation, language, inter-generational trauma and harm were raised as issues which will impact an Inquiry differently. The small, remote nature of many Northern communities will require a greater focus on community support and healing, in order to stop the violence and disappearance in communities, heal and move forward from the past.

Who attended

Survivors, families and loved ones of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls attended the pre-Inquiry meeting. There were also representatives of front-line organizations. Also in attendance was:

Officials from the department were present throughout the day.

The Iqaluit meeting was attended by over 50 survivors, family members, and loved ones from Inuit communities from Nunavut and Nunavik (northern Quebec). Elders and health support workers were also present to provide counsel and create a supportive environment for discussions.

Leadership and participation

Participants were asked who should lead and participate in an Inquiry. Survivors, families and loved ones indicated that an inquiry should be led by:

Survivors, families and loved ones indicated that an inquiry should include participation from:

Participants described accessibility issues which must be addressed to ensure survivors, families and loved ones' participation in an inquiry, including:

Priorities and key issues

Participants identified issues the inquiry must address in order to achieve concrete recommendations, including:

In particular, participants stressed the need to formulate recommendations for specific action as part of an Inquiry which address:

Support and cultural practices

Participants stressed the need to include traditional Inuit practices and ceremony in the inquiry process. Recommendations for ceremonial and cultural practices included:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions listed in the discussion guide, participants were invited to share other comments and views on the design of the inquiry. These included:

Date modified:

Onzième rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l’enquête : 28 et 29 janvier 2016, à Iqaluit (Nunavut)

Dans le cadre de l'enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu sa onzième rencontre de mobilisation à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, le jeudi 28 et le vendredi 29 janvier 2016. Des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes ont participé à cette rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Leur expérience, leurs opinions et leurs contributions serviront à définir les paramètres de l'enquête.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la rencontre. Il ne s'agit pas d'un compte rendu exhaustif des discussions. On y expose plutôt les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis de cette rencontre de mobilisation. Vous pouvez également consulter le guide de discussion ou remplir le sondage en ligne pour transmettre vos commentaires.

Choisir un sujet :

Aperçu

La séance de mobilisation d'Iqaluit a été menée sur une période de deux jours. Le premier jour, les participants se sont inscrits et ont participé à une séance d'orientation, tandis que le deuxième jour la ministre a pris part à un cercle de partage avec les participants afin de discuter de la meilleure façon de définir les paramètres de l'enquête sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Les cérémonies et les traditions sont des éléments essentiels de la vie nordique et les participants ont souligné l'importance d'inclure ces pratiques au début et à la fin de chaque rencontre. Le premier jour, une aînée inuite était présente lors des séances afin d'offrir des conseils spirituels. Le deuxième jour, l'aînée a commencé la journée dans un esprit de guérison en allumant une lampe qulliq et en expliquant l'histoire et la signification du qulliq pour les Inuit comme source de chaleur et de lumière, ainsi que comme instrument de cuisine. Ensuite, les enfants de la collectivité ont effectué des chants traditionnels gutturaux inuits. Ensuite, on a entamé la journée avec une prière. À la fin de la journée, les participants ont pu apprécier un choeur d'enfants local qui a offert des chants traditionnels inuits, de la danse et des pièces au tambour. Cela a été considéré comme essentiel au processus de guérison, et a contribué à remonter le moral des participants après une journée difficile de partage d'histoires et de recommandations.

Les points de vue et besoins propres aux Inuit dans le cadre d'une enquête ont été soulevés à maintes reprises. Les Inuit ont une culture et un mode de vie traditionnel qui est très différent de ceux des autres premiers peuples du Canada et une enquête doit respecter leurs différences et inclure leurs éléments culturels uniques dans le cadre du processus. En particulier, l'éloignement, l'isolement, la langue, le traumatisme intergénérationnel et les dommages ont été soulevés comme autant de questions qui auront une conséquence sur l'enquête. En raison de la petite taille et l'éloignement géographique de nombreuses collectivités du Nord, une emphase particulière devra être mise sur le soutien communautaire et la guérison afin de prévenir la violence et les disparitions, de soutenir la guérison et de pouvoir aller vers l'avant.

Les participants

Des survivantes ainsi que des membres des familles et des proches de femmes et de filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées ont pris part à la rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Des représentants des organisations de première ligne y ont également participé. Notons aussi la présence de :

Des fonctionnaires du Ministère ont aussi été présents tout au long de la journée.

Plus de 50 survivantes, membres des familles et proches des victimes provenant de collectivités inuites du Nunavut et du Nunavik (Nord-du-Québec) ont participé à la rencontre d'Iqaluit. Des aînées et des travailleurs des services de soutien à la santé étaient également présents pour prodiguer des conseils et créer une atmosphère favorable aux discussions.

Leadership et participation

On a demandé aux participants qui, selon eux, doit diriger l'enquête et qui doit y participer. Selon les survivantes, les membres des familles et les proches des victimes, l'enquête devrait être menée par les intervenants suivants :

Selon les survivantes, les membres des familles et les proches des victimes, les participants devraient être les suivants :

Les participants ont discuté de mesures d'accessibilité sur lesquelles il faut se pencher pour s'assurer de la participation des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes à l'enquête :

Priorités et questions clés

Les participants ont déterminé les questions sur lesquelles l'enquête doit se pencher afin d'aboutir à la recommandation de mesures concrètes :

En particulier, les participants ont insisté sur l'importance de recommander la prise de mesures concrètes tenant compte des aspects suivants :

Soutien et pratiques culturelles

Selon les participants, il importe d'inclure les pratiques et cérémonies traditionnelles inuites au processus d'enquête :

Autres commentaires

Au-delà des questions figurant dans le guide de discussion, les participants ont été invités à fournir leurs commentaires et opinions sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête :

Date de modification :