Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada – Future-Oriented Statements of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2017

Table of contents

Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars) Forecast Results
2016
Planned Results
2017
Expenses
People
3,445,706 3,634,071
Government
2,563,853 1,251,647
Land and Economy
1,699,184 1,498,860
North
597,321 116,033
Internal Services
322,878 253,041
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government
8,173 6,394
Total expenses
8,637,115 6,760,046
Revenues
Norman Wells project profits
74,961 67,465
Resource royalties
16,588 2,000
Interest on loans
6,034 5,845
Finance and administrative services
3,394 1,654
Miscellaneous
3,282 4,152
Leases and rentals
535 537
Revenues earned on behalf of Government
(101,326) (79,428)
Total revenues
3,468 2,225
Net cost of operations 8,633,647 6,757,821
  • The accompanying notes form an integral part of the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

  1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

    The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the department as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

    The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2015-16 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2015 and forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

    The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:
    1. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada's (INAC) activities will remain substantially the same as the previous year.
    2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
    3. Accruals for new contingent liabilities and new environmental liabilities cannot be reasonably foreseen or quantified and have therefore been excluded from the forecast.
    4. Allowances for uncollectibles are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

    These assumptions are adopted as of December 31, 2015.
  2. Variations and changes to the forecast financial information

    In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, INAC has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

    Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:
    1. The timing and amount of acquisitions and disposals of tangible capital assets, which may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
    2. The implementation of new collective agreements, which may affect salaries and employee future benefits.
    3. Interest rates, which may affect the net present value of settled claims.
    4. Economic conditions, which may affect the amount of revenue earned and the collectability of loan receivables.
    5. Further changes to the operating budget through the addition of new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year, which may affect forecasted expenditures.

    Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, INAC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.
  3. Summary of significant accounting policies

    The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011-12 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

    Significant accounting policies are as follows:

    1. Expenses – Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charge for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

      Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when authorization for the payment exists and the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or the entitlements established for the transfer payment program. In situations where payments do not form part of an existing program, transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statements. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

      Expenses include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable and provisions for valuation of loans and advances, or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent that the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

      Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

    2. Revenues – Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenues takes place.

      Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge INAC's liabilities. While the Deputy Minister is expected to maintain accounting control, she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented as a reduction of INAC's gross revenues.
  4. Parliamentary authorities

    INAC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to INAC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Department has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:
a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2016
Planned Results
2017
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 8,633,647 6,757,821
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets
(7,992) (7,909)
Gain (loss) on disposal of tangible capital assets
1,017 1,515
Contingent liability expense for guaranteed Loans
(140)  
Transfer of land held for future claims settlements
(804) (457)
Services provided without charge by other government departments
(78,821) (67,772)
Bad debt expense (not incurred on behalf of government)
(4,183) (4,510)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave
1,096 1,400
Decrease (increase) in provision for claims and litigation
(1,022,315) 0
Decrease (increase) in environmental liabilities
(413,079) (35,512)
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits
1,206 4,510
Refunds/adjustments to prior years' expenditures
52,521 58,706
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (1,471,494) (50,029)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets
57,703 41,432
Acquisition of land held for future claims settlements
967  
Expenditures related to settled claims
56,943 68,672
Expenditures related to claims and litigation
625,023 533,100
Expenditures reducing environmental liabilities
170,188 154,556
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 910,824 797,760
Requested authorities 8,072,977 7,505,552
b. Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2016
Planned Results
2017
Authorities requested:
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 1,369,373 658,201
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 57,703 41,432
Vote 10 – Grants and contributions 6,489,458 6,652,766
Statutory amounts 156,443 153,153
Requested authorities 8,072,977 7,505,552

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2017 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2016-17 RPP. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2016 include amounts presented in the 2015-16 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) and (B), planned for presentation in Supplementary Estimates (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada : États des résultats prospectifs pour l'exercice terminant le 31 mars 2017

Table des matières

État des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars) Résultats projetés de
2016
Résultats prévus de
2017
Charges
Les gens
3 445 706 3 634 071
Le gouvernement
2 563 853 1 251 647
L’économie et les terres
1 699 184 1 498 860
Le Nord
597 321 116 033
Services internes
322 878 253 041
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement
8 173 6 394
Total des charges
8 637 115 6 760 046
Revenus
Bénéfices du projet de Norman Wells
74 961 67 465
Redevances sur les ressources
16 588 2 000
Intérêts sur les prêts
6 034 5 845
Services administratifs et financiers
3 394 1 654
Divers
3 282 4 152
Baux et location
535 537
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement
(101 326) (79 428)
Total des revenus
3 468 2 225
Coût de fonctionnement net 8 633 647 6 757 821
  • Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l’état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

  1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

    L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

    Les renseignements figurant dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2015-2016 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’année financière. Les prévisions ont été effectuées pour les résultats prévus pour cet exercice. Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :
    1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l'essentiel, pareilles à celles de l'exercice précédent;
    2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l'expérience  acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre;
    3. Les nouveaux passifs éventuels et les nouveaux passifs environnementaux ne peuvent pas être raisonnablement anticipés ou évalués quantitativement, alors ils ont été exclus de la prévision;
    4. L'estimation des provisions irrécouvrables est basée sur l'expérience acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

    Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2015.
  2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

    Lors de la préparation de cet état des résultats prospectif, le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relatives aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

    Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique sont notamment :
    1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations corporelles qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou les pertes et les charges d'amortissement;
    2. La mise en application de nouvelles conventions collectives pourrait avoir une incidence sur les salaires et les avantages sociaux futurs;
    3. Les taux d'intérêt en vigueur au moment de la présentation du rapport qui auront un effet sur la valeur actualisée nette des revendications réglées;
    4. La conjoncture économique peut avoir un effet à la fois sur le montant du revenu gagné et l'encaissement des prêts à recevoir;
    5. Les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l'exercice.

    Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, AANC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.
  3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

    L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement entrées en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2011-2012, lesquelles s'appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

    Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

    1. Charges - Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du gouvernement sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

      Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d’admissibilité ou qu’il a rempli les conditions de l’accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d’opérations qui ne font pas partie d’un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d’effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l’autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l’achèvement de l’état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l’entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l’accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de paiement de transfert et comme montant à recevoir. .

      Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur des actifs ou des passifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts ou de placements ainsi que les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

      Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

    2. Revenus – Les revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

      Les revenus non disponibles ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs des AANC. Bien qu’on s’attende à ce que l’administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.
  4. Autorisations parlementaires

    AANC est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties aux AANC ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent suivant qu’ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :
a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés de
2016
Résultats prévus de
2017
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 8 633 647 6 757 821
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles
(7 992) (7 909)
Gain (perte) sur aliénation d'immobilisations corporelles
1 017 1 515
Provision de passif éventuel pour les prêts garantis
(140)  
Transfert des terres conservées pour le règlement futur de revendications
(804) (457)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères
(78 821) (67 772)
Créances douteuses (non engagées au nom du gouvernement)
(4 183) (4 510)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires
1 096 1 400
Diminution (augmentation) de la réserve pour les réclamations et les litiges
(1 022 315) 0
Diminution (augmentation) des passifs environnementaux
(413 079) (35 512)
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs
1 206 4 510
Remboursements / ajustements aux dépenses des années précédentes
52 521 58 706
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (1 471 494) (50 029)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles
57 703 41 432
Acquisition des terres conservées pour le règlement futur de revendications
967  
Versements des revendications réglées
56 943 68 672
Déboursés pour les réclamations et les litiges
625 023 533 100
Dépenses pour les passifs environnementaux
170 188 154 556
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 910 824 797 760
Autorisations demandées 8 072 977 7 505 552
b) Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés de
2016
Résultats prévus de
2017
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 1 369 373 658 201
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 57 703 41 432
Crédit 10 – Subventions et Contributions 6 489 458 6 652 766
Montants législatifs 156 443 153 153
Autorisations demandées 8 072 977 7 505 552

Les autorités présentées reflètent les prévisions actuelles pour les postes législatifs et les initiatives approuvées qui sont et qui devraient être inclus dans le budget principal et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. De plus, lorsque des prévisions raisonnables peuvent être faites, les montants estimatifs à être répartis des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor ont été inclus.

Les autorisations fournies prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2016-2017. Les autorisations prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 inclus les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2015-2016, et ceux qui doivent être présentés dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l'exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :