Inquiry design meeting #8: January 19-20, 2016, Halifax, Nova Scotia

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held its eighth engagement meeting in Halifax, Nova Scotia, on Tuesday and Wednesday, January 19-20, 2016. This pre-inquiry meeting included survivors, families and loved ones. Their experiences, views and contributions will help design the inquiry.

A summary of the meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting. Read a copy of the discussion guide used at this meeting or complete the on-line survey to share your own views.

Choose a topic:

Overview

The engagement session in Halifax took place over two days. The first day was reserved for registration and orientation, while on the second day participants took part in a sharing circle with the Ministers and discussed how best to design an Inquiry into missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls.

After participants raised the importance of commencing the orientation with ceremonies, the first day was opened by a grandmother and both a smudge and several powerful drum songs were performed for participants. Participants then took part in an orientation session where survivors, families and loved ones were invited to share their experiences and personal accounts associated with violence against Indigenous women and girls. Participants talked about the long-term effects of these experiences on themselves, their families and their communities. They also discussed their journeys towards reconciliation and healing, and what supports they would need to help them along this path.

The second day was dedicated to how the inquiry should be designed. At the start of the day, the room was blessed and traditional ceremonies were performed by Inuit and Mi'kmaw Elders, who also explained the signification of these ceremonies for the Indigenous peoples of the east coast. Drumming was performed by a group of strong, courageous women and welcoming speeches were held by the Elders, Minister, facilitator and support workers. A powerful banner displaying faceless dolls, representing those women who were murdered or are still missing, was on display for participants. There was also a display of traditional Mi'kmaw clothing.

The importance of involving survivors, families and loved ones in all stages of the Inquiry process was reiterated throughout both days, as was the need to examine the origins of violence in many communities.

Who attended

Survivors, families and loved ones of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls attended the pre-inquiry meeting. Representatives of front-line organizations were also in attendance. Other participants included:

Officials from both departments were present throughout the day.

The Ministers stressed the need to engage first with survivors, family and loved ones to "get it right".

Nearly 90 family members and loved ones participated from several Indigenous communities. Three Elders as well as health support workers were also present to provide support and create a safe space for pre-inquiry discussions.

Leadership and participation

Participants were asked who should lead the Inquiry and provided some of the following feedback:

Participants also identified which groups should have a chance to take part in the inquiry:

Participants stressed the importance of involving survivors, families and loved ones. To make this possible, participants said the inquiry must:

Priorities and key issues

Participants identified the issues the inquiry must address if it is to produce recommendations for specific actions. These issues include:

Participants want the inquiry's final report to include recommendations for specific actions including:

Support and cultural practices

Participants outlined the need to include traditional practices and ceremonies in the inquiry process. The inquiry must also include healing processes to acknowledge and address the trauma felt by those affected.

Recommendations about how to include cultural practices and ceremony include:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions listed in the discussion guide, participants were invited to share other comments and views on the design of the inquiry.  These include:

Date modified:

Huitième rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l’enquête : les 19 et 20 janvier 2016, Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Dans le cadre de l'enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu sa huitième rencontre de mobilisation à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, les mardi et mercredi 19 et 20 janvier 2016. Des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes ont participé à cette rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Leur expérience, leurs opinions et leurs contributions serviront à définir les paramètres de l'enquête.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la rencontre. Ce résumé ne consiste pas en un compte rendu exhaustif des discussions. Il met plutôt en relief les principaux thèmes abordés lors de la rencontre. Vous pouvez également consulter le guide de discussion utilisé pour la rencontre ou remplir le sondage en ligne pour faire part de vos propres commentaires.

Choisir un sujet :

Aperçu

Tenue à Halifax, la rencontre de mobilisation s'est étalée sur deux jours. La première journée a été consacrée à l'inscription et à l'orientation des participants. Au cours de la seconde journée, les participants ont formé un cercle de partage avec les ministres pour discuter de la forme que devrait prendre une enquête sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Comme les participants ont souligné l'importance de commencer l'orientation par des cérémonies, la première journée de discussion a été ouverte par une grand-mère, puis on a tenu une cérémonie de purification et on a joué, au tambour, des pièces musicales puissantes. Les participants ont ensuite pris part à une séance d'orientation lors de laquelle les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes ont été invités à parler de leur expérience et des situations vécues en lien avec la violence à l'endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones. Les participants ont parlé des effets à long terme de cette expérience, sur eux-mêmes, leurs familles et leurs collectivités. Ils ont aussi discuté de leur cheminement vers la réconciliation et la guérison ainsi que du soutien qui leur serait nécessaire dans ce processus.

La seconde journée a été consacrée à la définition des paramètres de l'enquête. Au début de la journée, la salle a été bénie et des cérémonies traditionnelles ont été exécutées par des aînées inuites et micmaques, qui ont aussi expliqué le sens de ces cérémonies pour les Autochtones de la côte est. Un groupe de femmes fortes et courageuses a joué une pièce au tambour. Les aînées, la ministre, l'animateur et des travailleurs de soutien ont prononcé des mots de bienvenue. Une bannière montrant des poupées sans visage représentait de manière saisissante les femmes assassinées ou disparues. Des vêtements traditionnels micmacs étaient aussi exposés.

Pendant ces deux jours, on a rappelé l'importance de faire participer les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes à chaque étape du processus d'enquête, et on a souligné la nécessité d'étudier les origines de la violence dans de nombreuses collectivités.

Les participants

Des survivantes, des membres des familles et des proches des femmes et des filles autochtones assassinées et disparues ont assisté à la rencontre préalable à l'enquête, ainsi que des représentants des organisations de première ligne. D'autres personnes étaient présentes :

Des fonctionnaires des deux ministères étaient sur place tout au long de la journée.

Les ministres ont souligné la nécessité de consulter d'abord les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes afin de « bien faire les choses ».

Près de 90 membres des familles et proches des victimes de plusieurs collectivités autochtones ont participé à la rencontre. Trois aînées et des travailleurs de soutien en santé étaient présents pour fournir de l'aide et créer un espace sécuritaire pour les discussions préalables à l'enquête.

Leadership et participation

Invités à se prononcer sur le choix des personnes qui devraient diriger l'enquête, les participants ont répondu ce qui suit :

Les participants ont aussi indiqué quels sont les groupes qui devraient avoir l'occasion de participer à l'enquête :

Les participants ont insisté sur l'importance de la participation des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes. À cette fin, ils ont formulé les propositions suivantes :

Priorités et questions clés

Les participants ont déterminé les questions que devrait aborder l'enquête pour mener à la recommandation de mesures concrètes.

Les participants veulent que le rapport final de l'enquête recommande des mesures concrètes, notamment :

Soutien et pratiques culturelles

Les participants ont souligné la nécessité d'intégrer des pratiques et des cérémonies traditionnelles au processus d'enquête L'enquête doit aussi comprendre des processus de guérison afin de reconnaître le traumatisme subi par les personnes touchées et de le surmonter.

Les participants ont recommandé les mesures suivantes pour favoriser l'inclusion des pratiques et des cérémonies culturelles :

Autres commentaires

Les participants ont été invités à formuler d'autres commentaires et opinions sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête, outre les questions énumérées dans le guide de discussion. Les voici :

Date de modification :