Inquiry design meeting #9: January 20-21, 2016, Quebec, Quebec

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held its ninth engagement meeting in Quebec City, on Wednesday and Thursday, January 20-21, 2016. This pre-inquiry meeting included survivors, families and loved ones. Their experiences, views and contributions will contribute to the design of the Inquiry.

A summary of the meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting. Read a copy of the discussion guide used at this meeting or complete the on-line survey to share your own views.

Choose a topic:

Overview

The engagement meeting was held over two days. The first day was a preparation day for participants with an orientation session and a sharing circle where survivors, families and loved ones shared their personal stories associated with violence against Indigenous women and girls.

The second day was dedicated to how the inquiry should be designed. The day opened with wise words from an Elder and a traditional Wendat song to honour women was sung. Welcoming speeches from the Ministers followed. Participants acknowledged and honoured the women and girls who were murdered and who are still missing. Prayers were also offered for those most affected by these tragedies.

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs and the Minister of Canadian Heritage heard about the effects of violence on the survivors, the families of victims and their communities.

Participants in the Quebec session discussed their desire for those most directly impacted by violence to play a key role in an Inquiry and to have their needs met throughout the process.

The day closed with words of hope and a traditional Huron-Wendat round dance song.

Who attended

Survivors, families and loved ones of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls attended he pre-inquiry meeting. There were also representatives of front-line organizations. Also in attendance were:

Officials from both departments were present throughout the day.

The Quebec City meeting was attended by about 30 survivors, family members and loved ones from Indigenous communities in the province. An Elder and health support workers were also present to provide a safe and supportive environment for discussions.

Leadership and participation

Two questions were asked about who should lead and who should take part in the inquiry. The views on leadership included the need to have:

Participants also identified which groups should have a chance to take part in the inquiry:

Participants stressed the importance of involving survivors, families and loved ones. To make this possible, participants said the inquiry must:

Priorities and key issues

Participants identified the issues the inquiry must address if it is to produce recommendations for specific actions. These issues include:

Participants want the inquiry's final report to include recommendations for specific actions including:

In general, the participants agreed that solving the problem of violence will be a long-term process and will require building trust among Indigenous communities and the police and justice systems. As time passes, attention should continue to focus on the needs and concerns of survivors, families and loved ones.

Support and cultural practices

Participants outlined the need to include traditional practices and ceremonies in the inquiry process. The inquiry must also include healing processes to acknowledge and address the trauma felt by those affected.

Recommendations about how to include cultural practices and ceremony include:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions listed in the discussion guide, participants were invited to share other comments and views on the design of the inquiry. These include:

Date modified:

Neuvième rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l’enquête, 20 et 21 janvier 2016, à Québec (Québec)

Dans le cadre de l'enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu sa neuvième rencontre de mobilisation à Québec les mercredi et jeudi 20 et 21 janvier 2016. Des survivantes ainsi que des membres des familles des victimes et certains de leurs proches participaient à cette rencontre. Leur expérience, leurs opinions et leurs contributions serviront à définir les paramètres de l'enquête.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la rencontre. Ce résumé ne consiste pas en un compte rendu complet des discussions. Il met plutôt en relief les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis de cette rencontre de mobilisation. Vous pouvez également consulter le guide de discussion ou remplir le sondage en ligne pour faire part de vos commentaires.

Choisir un sujet :

Aperçu

La séance de mobilisation s'est déroulée sur deux jours. La première journée a été consacrée à des séances d'orientation et à un cercle de partage où les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes pouvaient échanger leurs récits personnels concernant la violence à l'endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones.

La deuxième journée a été consacrée à la façon dont l'enquête devrait être conçue. La séance s'est ouverte sur les paroles empreintes de sagesse d'un aîné suivie d'une chanson wendate traditionnelle honorant les femmes. Les ministres ont ensuite prononcé des allocutions, puis les participants ont rendu hommage aux femmes et aux filles assassinées et à celles qui manquent toujours à l'appel. Des prières ont aussi été adressées aux personnes les plus touchées par ces tragédies.

La ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord et la ministre du Patrimoine ont écouté les participants parler des effets de la violence sur les familles des victimes et sur leur collectivité.

Les personnes qui assistaient à la rencontre de Québec ont fait part de leur désir de voir les victimes directes de la violence jouer un rôle prépondérant dans l'enquête et qu'on tienne compte de leurs besoins tout au long du processus.

La journée s'est terminée sur des paroles d'espoir et avec une chanson huronne-wendate traditionnellement chantée pour les danses en cercle.

Les participants

Les survivantes, les membres des familles et les proches des femmes et des filles autochtones assassinées et disparues ont assisté à la rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Des représentants des organisations de première ligne ont aussi participé à cette rencontre. Soulignons également la présence de :

Des fonctionnaires de ces deux ministères ont assisté à la rencontre.

Environ 30 survivantes, membres des familles et proches des victimes provenant des collectivités autochtones de la province ont assisté à la rencontre de Québec. Un aîné et des travailleurs en santé communautaire étaient aussi sur place afin de créer un milieu sain et propice aux discussions.

Leadership et participation

Deux questions ont été posées afin de déterminer qui doit diriger l'enquête et qui doit y participer. Selon les participants à la rencontre, la direction de l'enquête doit être assurée par :

Les participants ont aussi ciblé les groupes qui devraient avoir l'occasion de participer à l'enquête :

Les participants ont insisté sur l'importance de faire participer les survivantes, les membres des familles et les proches de victimes. Pour ce faire, ils ont indiqué qu'il faudra :

Priorités et questions clés

Les participants ont déterminé les sujets qui doivent être abordés au cours de l'enquête afin qu'on formule des recommandations concrètes, notamment :

Les participants veulent que le rapport final de l'enquête présente des recommandations concernant la prise de mesures concrètes, notamment :

De manière générale, les participants conviennent qu'il faudra du temps pour éliminer la violence et que ce processus nécessitera l'établissement de relations de confiance entre les collectivités autochtones, les corps policiers et le système judiciaire. Entre-temps, on devrait continuer de mettre l'accent sur les besoins et les préoccupations des survivantes, des membres des familles et des proches.

Services de soutien et pratiques culturelles

Les participants ont souligné la nécessité d'intégrer des pratiques et des cérémonies traditionnelles au processus d'enquête. L'enquête doit aussi comprendre des processus de guérison afin de reconnaître le traumatisme subi par les personnes touchées et de le surmonter.

Parmi les recommandations sur la façon d'inclure les pratiques et les cérémonies culturelles, notons :

Autres commentaires

Les participants ont été invités à fournir leurs commentaires et leurs opinions sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête et à discuter des questions autres que celles énumérées dans le guide de discussion. Les voici :

Date de modification :