Follow-up Audit of Capacity Development - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (28 Kb, 6 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2014

PSD, RO, NAO, CFO

Follow-up Audit of Capacity Development
Approval Date: 20-09-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program Response   
1. AANDC should strengthen the focus on capacity development in its proposed policies and program activities through the following actions:

i. The Senior ADM PSD, with the support of the Senior ADM RO, the CFO, and the ADM NAO, should work with all ADMs to establish departmental capacity development priorities and/or principles to guide the Department in making improvements to its capacity development policies and program activities. Due consideration should be given to opportunities for each program to enforce synergies with other programs and support the broader capacity development needs of First Nations communities, people, institutions and professional organizations.
i. Coordinate the development and approval through the Operations Committee of core principles to guide the department in establishing key priorities for capacity development programming. Spring 2014

i. Ongoing
As of 30/09/2014: Following an extensive internal departmental consultation process, four proposed principles were developed to guide internal priority setting and decision-making. Operations Committee's review of the principles has been scheduled for Wednesday, October 1, 2014. 

ii.The Senior ADM PSD, with the support of the Senior ADM RO, the CFO, and the ADM NAO, should work with all ADMs to ensure that the policy development and program design and approval functions of the Department include an appropriate process and challenge function to ensure that the Department's capacity development principles and/or priorities are considered and reflected in all policy and program proposals, and that planned capacity development activities are sufficient to achieve the Department's capacity development priorities. ii. Following approval of the key principles related to capacity development, work to align implementation with existing strategic investment planning and policy approval processes. Fall 2014

ii. Ongoing
As of 30/09/2014: Initial recommendations for implementation mechanisms and processes have been developed for Operations Committee's information on October 1, 2014. Target date for their finalization is December 31, 2014.

AES: Underway
2. The Senior ADM PSD, with support of all AANDC senior executives, should:

i. Facilitate the establishment of research and data analysis priorities to support the Government of Canada in improving First Nations capacity development approaches and programming; and,
i. Develop options for the development of a strategic research plan that will outline research priorities. Spring 2014

i(a) Complete
As of 30/09/2014: After completing the report in Spring 2014, AANDC's Strategic Research Directorate was asked to undertake a second round of consultations on the options paper, which took place over the course of June-August 2014 using GCconnex and GCpedia. New commentary was integrated and the paper finalized in early September. Consideration of options to collect information on departmental investments in research are part of the above mentioned options paper.

i(b) Complete
As of 30/09/2014: The Community Wellbeing Index was completed in spring 2014. Public release is pending.

i(c) Complete
The Committee's final December 2013 briefing included AANDC perspectives on the limitations of using administrative data to support performance measurement and evidence-based decision-making as it relates to Aboriginal people.

Lead on production of the 2011 Community Well-Being Index based on data from the NHS. Spring 2014
As a member of the interdepartmental ADM committee on the use of administrative data, promote the need for and the use of data related to Aboriginal peoples. Fall 2014
ii. Review and clarify the department's role as a coordinator and facilitator of research and programming focused on First Nations capacity development, with other Government departments, academia and other stakeholders interested in researching and investing in First Nations capacity development. ii. Facilitate discussions around aboriginal research, data collection and information management, including issues related to capacity development, thru the Aboriginal Information Management Committee, which meets periodically. The committee includes representatives of federal departments with aboriginal mandates and NAOs. Winter 2014

ii. Ongoing
As of 30-09-14: Two AIMC meetings have taken place in 2014 (on February 19, 2014, and on October 1, 2014). The latter meeting has focused on four topics: 1) Inuit health: Selected findings from the 2012 APS, 2) Update on the First Nations Regional Early Childhood Education and Employment Survey, 3) Update on Phase III of the First Nations Regional Health Survey, and 4) Aboriginal Data Framework. The meeting concluded with a round table updates from participating departments and organizations. The next meeting is planned around February 2015 and will be hosted and chaired by Public Safety Canada.

AES: Underway

Develop options to collect information on departmental investments in research. Fall 2014
3. The Chief Financial Officer, with support of the Senior ADM RO and ADM NAO, should review and improve linkages between the General Assessment, Default Prevention and Management regime and capacity development program activities to ensure that First Nations with the greatest capacity development needs and potential are given appropriate focus by regions and programs. The Chief Financial Officer (TPCOE), the Senior ADM RO Sector and the ADM NAO will work together to develop a national Case Management Approach including a template. This will be a formal, documented process to ensure that particular concerns and recipient capacity issues are brought to the attention of Senior Management at an overall national review at least twice a year, for information and decisions on actions required. November 2013

Status: Request to Close - Completed
Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

The Chief Financial Officer in working with the Senior ADM-RO and the ADM-NAO developed a national Case Management approach, including a template and tools to support implementation (e.g., bulletin and frequently asked questions).

Currently, each region implements its own version of a Case Management approach. The Chief Financial Officer sector has proposed a standard national Case Management approach to have a consistent national framework. We will learn from this experience through regions and refine it accordingly.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed. Closed.

4. The Senior ADM RO, with support of the Chief Financial Officer, Senior ADM PSD and program ADMs, should analyze the Department's capacity development investments across regions and programs to determine whether program and community-level approaches and funding allocations are informed by the capacity-related needs of communities, considerate of risk, and aligned with departmental priorities for capacity development.

Based on the results of analysis, and guided by AANDC's immediate capacity development priorities, the Senior ADM RO and program ADMs, with support of the Chief Financial Officer, should act upon opportunities to strengthen capacity development activities within each AANDC program.
The Senior ADM RO will lead an analysis of AANDC's investments in capacity development across regions. Results and recommendations will be presented to a senior governance committee for approval, with plan to better align spending with capacity development objectives and recipient need. December 2014  
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de suivi du développement des capacités - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2014

Format PDF (33 Ko, 7 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2014

POS, OR, OAN, DPF

Vérification de suivi du développement des capacités
Date d'approbation 2013-09-20
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. AADNC devrait e concentrer davantage sur le développement des capacités dans ses activités de programmes et politiques proposées et prendre les mesures suivantes :

i. Le sous ministre adjoint (SMA) principal, Politiques et orientation stratégique (POS), avec l'appui du SMA principal du SOR, du DPF ainsi que du SMA de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord (OAN), devrait travailler avec tous les SMA à définir des priorités ou des principes devant aider le Ministère à améliorer ses activités de programme et ses politiques liées au développement des capacités. Il conviendrait d'examiner les possibilités qu'offre chaque programme au chapitre du renforcement des synergies avec d'autres programmes ainsi que de la réponse aux besoins généraux en matière de développement des capacités des collectivités, des membres, des institutions et des organisations professionnelles des Premières nations.
i. Par l'entremise du Comité des opérations, coordonner l'élaboration et l'approbation des principes fondamentaux pour aider le Ministère à déterminer les principales priorités au chapitre des programmes de développement des capacités. Printemps 2014

i. En cours
En date du 30/09/2014 : 
A terme d'un processus interne de consultation ministérielle approfondi, quatre principes ont été élaborés en vue d'orienter l'établissement des priorités internes et la prise de décisions. Le Comité des opérations procédera à l'examen des principes le 1er octobre 2014.

ii. Le SMA principal, POS, de concert avec le SMA principal du SOR, le DPF et le SMA-OAN, devrait travailler avec tous les SMA à faire en sorte que l'élaboration des politiques ainsi que la conception et l'approbation des programmes prévoient un processus approprié et une fonction d'examen critique visant à ce que les principes ou priorités du Ministère en matière de développement des capacités soient clairement pris en compte dans l'ensemble des propositions de politiques et de programmes, et que les activités de développement des capacités prévues suffisent à la réalisation des priorités ministérielles en matière de développement des capacités. ii. Une fois que les principaux principes encadrant le développement des capacités auront été approuvés, collaborer pour harmoniser la mise en œuvre avec les processus existants de planification des investissements stratégiques et d'approbation des politiques. Automne 2014

ii. En cours
En date du 30/09/2014 : Les recommandations initiales à l'égard des mécanismes et des processus de mise en œuvre ont été élaborées le 1er octobre 2014 à l'attention du Comité des opérations. La date d'achèvement prévue est le 31 décembre 2014.

SVE : en cours

2. Le SMA principal, POS, avec l'appui de l'ensemble des cadres supérieurs d'AADNC, devrait :

i. faciliter l'établissement des priorités en recherche et en analyse de données afin d'aider le gouvernement du Canada à améliorer les approches et les programmes de développement des capacités des Premières nations;
i. Définir les options pour l'élaboration d'un plan de recherche stratégique qui décrira les priorités en matière de recherche. Printemps 2014

i(a) Terminée
En date du 30/09/2014 : Au terme de l'élaboration du rapport au printemps 2014, la Direction de la recherche stratégique d'AADNC a reçu pour mandat d'entreprendre une deuxième ronde de consultations à l'égard du document consacré aux options proposées. Ces consultations ont eu lieu de juin à août 2014 par le biais de GCconnex et de GCpedia. De nouveaux commentaires ont été intégrés et le document a été achevé début septembre. La définition des options pour recueillir l'information sur les investissements ministériels en recherche fait partie du document mentionné ci-dessus.

i(b) Terminée
En date du 30/09/2014 : l'indice du bien-être des collectivités a été établi au printemps 2014. Sa publication reste à venir.

i(c) Terminée
La dernière séance d'information du comité en décembre 2013 a inclus les perspectives d'AADNC quant aux limites liées à l'utilisation des données administratives pour appuyer les mesures de rendement et la prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes, dans la mesure où cela concerne les Autochtones.

Diriger la production de l'indice de bien-être des collectivités 2011 selon les données de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM). Printemps 2014
En tant que membre du comité interministériel des SMA sur l'utilisation des données administratives, promouvoir le besoin et l'utilité de données sur les Autochtones. Automne 2014
ii. examiner et clarifier le rôle du Ministère en tant que coordonnateur et facilitateur des travaux de recherche et des programmes axés sur le développement des capacités des Premières nations, en collaboration avec d'autres ministères, intervenants du milieu universitaire et autres qui désirent participer aux travaux de recherche et investir dans le développement des capacités des Premières nations. ii. Faciliter les discussions portant sur la recherche sur les Autochtones, la collecte de données et la gestion de l'information, notamment pour ce qui est des questions liées au développement des capacités par l'entremise du Comité de gestion de l'information sur les Autochtones qui se réunit périodiquement. Le Comité regroupe des représentants de ministères fédéraux dont le mandat touche les Autochtones et les organisations autochtones nationales. Hiver 2014

ii. En cours
En date du 30-09-14
 : Deux réunions du CGIA ont eu lieu en 2014 (le 19 février 2014 et le 1er octobre 2014). La dernière a porté sur quatre sujets : 1) la santé des Inuits : certains résultats de l'EAPA de 2012, 2) le point sur l'Enquête régionale sur la petite enfance, l'éducation et l'emploi dans les Premières Nations, 3) le point sur la Phase III de l'Enquête régionale sur la santé des Premières Nations; 4) le cadre des données sur les Autochtones. La réunion s'est terminée par une table ronde au cours de laquelle les organisations et les ministères participants ont fait part de leur actualité récente. La prochaine réunion est prévue pour le mois de février 2015 et sera organisée et présidée par Sécurité publique Canada.

SVE : en cours

Définir des options pour recueillir l'information sur les investissements ministériels en recherche. Automne 2014
3. Le dirigeant principal des finances, avec l'appui du SMA principal, SOR, et du SMA-OAN, devrait examiner et améliorer les liens entre l'évaluation générale, le régime de gestion et de prévention des manquements et les activités du programme de développement des capacités pour s'assurer que les Premières nations qui ont les besoins les plus criants en cette matière et le potentiel le plus prometteur reçoivent l'attention qu'elles méritent de la part des régions et des programmes. Le DPF (Centre d'expertise des paiements de transfert), le SMA principal du SOR et le SMA de l'OAN collaboreront pour élaborer une approche nationale en matière de gestion de cas, y compris un modèle. Il s'agira d'un processus officiel et documenté permettant de s'assurer que les préoccupations particulières et les problèmes liés à la capacité des bénéficiaires sont portés à l'attention de la haute direction dans le cadre d'un examen national global qui se tient au moins deux fois par année, à des fins d'information et de prise de décisions sur les mesures requises. Novembre 2013

État : Demande de clôture (terminé) Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

Le DPF a élaboré, en collaboration avec le SMA principal du SOR et le SMA de l'OAN, une approche nationale de la gestion des cas, y compris un modèle et des outils de soutien à la mise en œuvre (par exemple un bulletin et une foire aux questions).

Actuellement, chaque région met en œuvre sa propre version de l'approche de gestion des cas. Le Secteur du DPF a proposé une approche nationale normalisée de la gestion des cas en vue de créer un cadre national cohérent. Nous tirerons les leçons de cette expérience par l'entremise des régions, et nous la mettrons au point en conséquence.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée. Classée.

4. Le SMA principal, SOR, avec l'appui du DPF, du SMA principal, POS, et des SMA responsables des programmes, devrait analyser les investissements ministériels en matière de développement des capacités à l'échelle des régions et programmes pour déterminer si les approches au niveau des programmes et de la collectivité et les allocations de fonds sont orientées par les besoins des collectivités en matière de capacités; tiennent compte du risque et sont en harmonie avec les priorités ministérielles pour ce qui est du développement des capacités.

À la lumière des résultats de l'analyse ainsi que des priorités immédiates d'AADNC en matière de développement des capacités, le SMA principal, SOR, et les SMA responsables des programmes, avec l'appui du DPF, devraient saisir les occasions de renforcement des activités de développement des capacités dans chaque programme d'AADNC.
Le SMA principal du SOR dirigera une analyse des investissements réalisés par AADNC dans le développement des capacités dans les différentes régions. Les résultats et les recommandations seront présentés à un comité de la haute direction pour approbation, dans le but de mieux harmoniser les dépenses avec les objectifs en matière de développement des capacités et les besoins des bénéficiaires. Décembre 2014  
 
 
Date de modification :