Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (29 Kb, 4 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2014

Regional Operations

Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the draft EMA Program Performance Measurement Strategy is finalized and that the final version is in alignment with approved program objectives and authorities. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister should also ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. PMS for EMAP is currently being drafted and will align with program objectives and authorities. 2013-2014 Q2

Status: Completed / Underway

Update/Rationale
As of 30/09/2014:

A performance measurement strategy for EMAP was approved by the AANDC Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee (EPMRC) in April 2014.

EMD is currently developing a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results and has aligned AANDC's business reporting products (quarterly reports, performance measurement framework, report on plans and priorities, and departmental performance report) with EMAP's performance measurement strategy. 

AES: Implementation ongoing.

Once the PMS is finalized, EMD will ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. 2014-2015 and ongoing
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that a risk-based all-hazards approach to the EMA Program, in accordance with the Emergency Management Act, is adopted. Sector Operations (SO) will conduct medium- and long-term all-hazards risk assessments for First Nations and use the results to inform AANDC’s emergency management program activities. This will involve steps such as:

  • consultation with relevant partners;
  • completing the risk assessments; and
  • incorporating the results into strategic decision making. 
Completing risk assessment: 2014-2015

Incorporating results into decision making:
2015-2016

Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

EMD continues to work with AANDC sectors and other partners, including Health Canada, to promote the completion of First Nation risk-based, all-hazard emergency management plans.

Directors General responsible for emergency management on reserve at AANDC and Health Canada have agreed to meet on a monthly basis to discuss items including emergency management planning. A path forward and objectives will be jointly developed for these meetings in the near future.

AANDC continues to participate in Public Safety Canada's national aggregate risk profile initiative to aid emergency management planning and priority setting and to better inform emergency management-related investments. AANDC will participate in Public Safety Canada's preliminary trials with federal partners in early December 2014.

EMD is leading efforts to enhance emergency preparedness at the community level and has designed and is implementing the proposal driven Emergency Preparedness Program Stream. In 2014-2015, EMAP funded approximately $2.5 million in non- structural mitigation and preparedness projects on reserve, which included initiatives such as community-level planning and emergency management training. In the coming years, this stream will promote further non-structural mitigation and preparedness investments on reserve.

AES:  Implementation ongoing.

3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the EMA Authority and supporting guidelines are reviewed and updated to promote a consistent understanding of eligible projects and expenditures. To ensure effective emergency management activities across AANDC regional offices, the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that standardized processes are developed and implemented so that expectations, objectives and priorities are clear with respect to emergency management plans, procedures for response activities, and after-action reports as well as the approval of emergency expenditures and the scrutiny of invoices. EMD will address these issues through reviewing EMAP terms and conditions and updating them where necessary. Review EMAP terms and conditions: 2013-2014 Q3

Status:

Update/Rationale: Underway
As of 30/09/2014:

The revised EMAP terms and conditions will be presented for approval in 2014-2015 (Q3) and finalized by 2014-2015 (Q4).

AANDC's revised National Emergency Management Plan has been shared with regional and other departmental counterparts for comment. A revised plan will be finalized by 2014-2015 (Q4).

AANDC's regional emergency management plans will be reviewed and updated by 2015-2016 (Q4).

AANDC has initiated discussions on bilateral agreements with all provinces and two territories.

AES:  Implementation ongoing.

EMAP will also review AANDC’s regional emergency management plans and update them where necessary. Regional emergency management plans: 2013-2014 Q4
EMD, in conjunction with regional offices, will negotiate bilateral arrangements with the provinces which will include approaches to emergency management plans, response activities, after action reports as well as spending and accountability provisions. Negotiation of  bilateral arrangements:

2014-2015
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2014

Format PDF (30 Ko, 4 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences
Date d'approbation 04-26-2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à faire parachever l’ébauche de la stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) et à harmoniser la version définitive avec les objectifs et autorisations approuvés du programme. Il devrait également mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d’élaboration de rapports. La stratégie de mesure du rendement du PAGU est en cours de rédaction; elle intègrera les objectifs et les autorisations du programme. T2 2013-2014

État : Terminé/En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2014 :

La stratégie de mesure du rendement du PAGU a été approuvée par le Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen (CEMRE), en avril 2014.

La DGU travaille actuellement à l'élaboration d'un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et de production de rapports et a harmonisé les différents documents administratifs d'AADNC (rapports trimestriels, cadre de mesure du rendement, rapports sur les plans et les priorités et rapports ministériels sur le rendement) avec la stratégie de mesure sur rendement du PAGU.

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.

Une fois que cette stratégie sera définitive, la Direction de la gestion des urgences (DGU) veillera à mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d’élaboration de rapports. À partir de 2014-2015
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à l'adoption d'une approche tous risques en ce qui concerne le PAGU, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences. Les Opérations du secteur effectueront des évaluations tous risques à moyen et à long terme pour les Premières Nations et en intégreront les résultats aux activités du PAGU d’AADNC. Elles prendront notamment les mesures suivantes :

  • consulter les partenaires concernés;
  • terminer l’évaluation des risques;
  • intégrer les résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions stratégiques.
 
Évaluation des risques : 2014-2015

Intégration des résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions :
2015-2016

État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2014 :

La DGU continue de travailler avec les secteurs d'AADNC et d'autres partenaires, y compris Santé Canada, pour promouvoir l'achèvement des plans de gestion des urgences tous risques des Premières Nations.

Les directeurs généraux d'AADNC et de Santé Canada responsables de la gestion des urgences dans les réserves ont convenu de se rencontrer chaque mois afin de discuter de divers enjeux, notamment la planification de la gestion des urgences. Une démarche et des objectifs concernant ces réunions seront établis conjointement dans un proche avenir.

AADNC poursuit sa participation à l'initiative de Sécurité publique Canada visant à élaborer un profil composite national des risques qui aidera à la planification de la gestion des urgences et à l'établissement des priorités, tout en permettant des investissements plus éclairés en matière de gestion des urgences. AADNC participera aux essais préliminaires, conjointement avec des partenaires fédéraux, au début de décembre 2014.

La DGU multiplie les efforts pour améliorer la préparation aux situations d'urgence dans les collectivités et procède actuellement à la mise en œuvre du Programme de préparation aux situations d'urgence, un volet fondé sur des propositions qu'elle a conçu. En 2014-2015, le PAGU a octroyé approximativement 2,5 millions de dollars de financement aux réserves, pour la réalisation de projets d'atténuation et de préparation non structurelles, lesquels comprennent des initiatives telles qu'une formation en planification et en gestion des urgences à l'échelle de la collectivité. Dans les années à venir, ce volet visera à promouvoir l'octroi d'investissements pour la réalisation de nouveaux projets d'atténuation et de préparation non structurelles, au sein des réserves

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.

3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait s'assurer que les autorisations et des lignes directrices du PAGU sont revues et mises à jour afin de favoriser une interprétation uniforme des projets et des dépenses admissibles. Dans le but d’assurer l’efficacité des activités de gestion des urgences dans l’ensemble des bureaux régionaux d’AADNC, le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait en outre veiller à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de processus normalisés qui établissent clairement les attentes, les objectifs et les priorités en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, de déroulement des activités d’intervention et de rapports après activités, ainsi que les processus d’approbation des dépenses liées aux urgences et d’examen détaillé des factures. La DGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les conditions du PAGU. Revue des conditions du PAGU
T3 2013-2014

État :

Mise à jour/Justification : En cours
En date du 30/09/2014 :

Les modalités et conditions révises du PAGU seront présentées pour approbation en 2014-2015 (T3) et finalisés la même année (T4).

Le Plan national de gestion des urgences actualisé d'AADNC a été communiqué aux régions et à d'autres homologues ministériels en vue d'obtenir leurs commentaires. Un plan révisé sera finalisé en 2014-2015 (T4).

Les plans de gestion des urgences des régions d'AADNC seront révisés et mis à jour d'ici 2015-2016 (T4).

AADNC a amorcé des discussions avec toutes les provinces et deux territoires sur les ententes bilatérales.

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
L’équipe du PAGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les plans de gestion des urgences des régions d’AADNC. Plans régionaux de gestion des urgences : T4 2013-2014
La DGU et les régions négocieront avec les provinces des ententes bilatérales qui préciseront leur approche en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, d’activités d’intervention, de rapports après activités, de dépenses et de reddition de comptes. Négociation des ententes bilatérales

2014-2015
 
 
Date de modification :