Nutrition North Canada

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Lead department(s): Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Federal partner organization(s): Health Canada

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date of the horizontal initiative: April 1, 2011

End date of the horizontal initiative: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date) in dollars: $315,927,825 over five years

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description of the horizontal initiative: The objective of INAC's food subsidy program is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and affordable for residents of eligible isolated northern communities without year-round marine or road access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers in the South who supply small retailers, institutions and individuals in these eligible isolated communities, can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The Nutrition North Canada Program — National Manual will govern the terms of the funding agreements with INAC's subsidy recipients (northern and southern retailers/wholesalers).

Since price is not the only factor that influences purchasing patterns, the Program is supported by targeted Health Canada initiatives that encourage the purchase, preparation and consumption of healthy foods. Funding will flow to communities via contribution agreements with Indigenous communities and organizations, and/or territorial governments.

Shared outcome(s): The ultimate outcome of the Program is to strengthen the nutritional choices and overall health of isolated northern communities through the food subsidy delivered by INAC and the targeted nutrition education initiatives delivered by Health Canada.

Governance structure(s): The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed for a three-year term.

Planning highlights: The Nutrition North Canada Program supports access to perishable, nutritious foods by providing retailers and suppliers registered with the program a subsidy to alleviate the high cost of stocking and supplying eligible items in isolated communities. It supports the work of the Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board to ensure that the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities are considered in the management of the Program. In addition, the Program funds nutrition education activities in First Nations and Inuit communities eligible for the full retail subsidy under Nutrition North Canada, to increase knowledge of healthy eating and to develop skills to choose and prepare nutritious foods.

Results to be achieved by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not Applicable

Planning Information
Federal partners Link to department's Program Alignment Architecture Contributing activities/programs Total allocation (from start date to end date) (dollars) Planned Spending 2016–2017 (dollars) Expected Results (ER) including Performance Indicators (PI) and Targets (T) 2016–2017
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Program 4.1: Northern Governance and People
Sub-Program 4.1.2: Nutrition North
Nutrition North 301,427,825 57,151,800 ER1 — PI1.1 — T1.1.1

ER2 — PI2.1 — T2.1.1
PI2.2 — T2.2.1
PI2.3 — T2.3.1
See below
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care
(PAA 3.1.1.3 First Nations and Inuit Healthy Living)
Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives 14,500,000
(2011–2012 to 2015–2016, and ongoing annually at 2,900,000)
2,900,000 ER1 — PI1.1 — T1.1.1

ER2 — PI 2.1 — T2.1.1
PI 2.2 — T2.2.1
See below
Total for all federal organizations 315,927,825 60,051,800  
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
ER1: Affordability of perishable, nutritious food in eligible communities is strengthened. (PAA 4.1) PI1.1: Annual trend of the Revised Northern Food Basket T1.1.1: At or below the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index (CPI) basket for food by March 31, 2017
ER2: Residents in eligible communities have access to nutritious perishable food at a subsidized rate. (PAA 4.1.2) PI2.1: Percentage of compliance/audit reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers T2.1.1: 100% by March 31, 2017
PI2.2: Percentage implementation of the new requirement for major northern retailers to show subsidy saving at the till receipt T2.2.1: 100% by March 31, 2017
PI2.3: Annual percentage variation in the quantity of subsidized items shipped by air T2.3.1: 3 to 5% by March 31, 2017
Health Canada
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
ER1: Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills and are choosing and preparing healthy foods. PI1.1: Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities. T1.1.1: Target for knowledge and skills will be established after first data collection in 2016–2017.
ER2: Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community based nutrition education initiatives PI2.1: Number of communities promoting nutrition education activities T2.1.1: 100% of funding recipients are promoting and offering nutrition education activities by March 31, 2017
PI2.2: Number and types of activities (by target population groups, venues) T2.2.1:Funding recipients provide activities to 2 or more target populations (e.g. women, seniors, children, and youth) in 2 or more venues (e.g. grocery stores, schools, on the land).

Contact information

Diane Robinson
Director, Nutrition North Canada
Northern Affairs Organizations
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Michelle Mazerolle
Team Lead, Healthy Living/Healthy Child Development, Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Health Canada
Telephone: 613-859-5220
Michelle.Mazerolle@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Nutrition Nord Canada

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Nom du ou des organisations fédérales partenaires : Santé Canada

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) en dollars : 315 927 825 $ sur cinq ans

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'objectif du Programme de subvention alimentaire d'AANC est d'aider à rendre les aliments périssables et nutritifs plus accessibles et plus abordables pour les résidents des collectivités isolées admissibles du Nord qui ne sont pas accessibles toute l'année par voie maritime ou terrestre.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles ainsi que les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires du Sud qui assurent l'approvisionnement des petits détaillants, des institutions et des particuliers dans ces collectivités isolées peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord doivent profiter de ces subventions puisqu'elles permettent de réduire en conséquence le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme Nutrition Nord Canada régira les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention d'AANC (les détaillants et les grossistes du Nord et du Sud).

Comme le prix n'est pas le seul facteur influençant les habitudes d'achat, le programme est appuyé par plusieurs initiatives ciblées de Santé Canada qui visent à encourager l'achat, la préparation et la consommation d'aliments sains. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résultat(s) partagé(s) : Le résultat ultime du programme est de renforcer les choix nutritifs et la santé globale des collectivités isolées du Nord par l'entremise d'une subvention des aliments accordée par AANC et des initiatives ciblées d'éducation en matière de nutrition menées par Santé Canada.

Structure(s) de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada donne aux résidents du Nord une possibilité directe de s'exprimer au sujet du programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada afin de contribuer à l'orientation et aux activités du programme et de veiller à ce que les résidents du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier, et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans.

Faits saillants de la planification : Le programme Nutrition Nord Canada soutient l'accès à des denrées nutritives, périssables en subventionnant les détaillants et les fournisseurs inscrits au programme en vue d'alléger le coût élevé de l'entreposage et de l'approvisionnement dans les collectivités isolées. Il soutient le travail du Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada pour veiller à ce que les points de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités nordiques soient pris en considération dans la gestion du programme. De plus, le programme finance des activités d'éducation sur la nutrition dans les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations admissibles à la subvention complète des commerces de détail qui participent au programme Nutrition Nord Canada, en vue d'améliorer les connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et d'acquérir des compétences pour choisir et préparer des aliments nutritifs.

Résultats à atteindre par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes du Ministère Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2016-2017 (en dollars) Les résultats attendus (RA) incluant les indicateurs de rendement (IR) et les cibles (C) 2016-2017
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Programme 4.1 : Gouvernance et gens du Nord
Sous-Programme 4.1.2 : Nutrition Nord
Nutrition Nord 301 427 825 57 151 800 RA1 — IR1.1 — C1.1.1

RA2 — IR2.1 — C2.1.1
IR2.2 — C2.2.1
IR2.3 — C2.3.1
Voir ci-dessous
Santé Canada Soins de santé primaires des Premières Nations et des Inuits (AAP 3.1.1.3 Modes de vie sains pour les Inuits et les Premières Nations) Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 14 500 000
(2011–2012 à 2015–2016, et par la suite, 2 900 000 par année)
2 900 000 RA1 — IR1.1 — C1.1.1

RA2 — IR 2.1 — C2.1.1
IR 2.2 — C2.2.1
Voir ci-dessous
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 315 927 825 60 051 800  
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles
RA1 : L'accès à des aliments nutritifs et périssables dans les collectivités admissibles est renforcé. (AAP 4.1) IR1.1: Tendance annuelle du prix du Panier de provisions nordique révisé C1.1.1 : Équivalente ou en deçà de la tendance annuelle (augmentation ou réduction) de l'Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) du panier des provisions alimentaires d'ici le 31 mars 2017
RA2 : Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs à un taux subventionné. (AAP 4.1.2) IR2.1: Pourcentage des rapports de conformité ou de vérification démontrant que les contributions ont été entièrement transmises aux consommateurs C2.1.1 : 100 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
IR2.2: Pourcentage de mise en œuvre des nouvelles réglementations visant les détaillants du Nord démontrant des économies sur les reçus de vente résultant des subventions C2.2.1 : 100 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
IR2.3: Pourcentage annuel de variation de la quantité d'articles subventionnés expédiés par avion C2.3.1 : 3 à 5 % d'ici le 31 mars 2017
Santé Canada
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles
RA1 : Les résidents des collectivités admissibles connaissent les bonnes habitudes alimentaires et choisissent et préparent des aliments sains. IR1.1: Pourcentage de bénéficiaires qui indiquent avoir acquis des connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et des compétences chez les résidents des collectivités admissibles C1.1.1 : La cible pour les connaissances et les compétences sera établie après la première collecte de données en 2016-2017.
RA2 : Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès aux projets d'éducation nutritionnelle communautaires. IR 2.1 : Nombre de collectivités facilitant les activités d'éducation nutritionnelle C2.1.1 : 100 % des bénéficiaires de fonds font l'annonce et offrent des activités d'éducation nutritionnelle d'ici le 31 mars 2017.
IR 2.2 : Nombre et types d'activités (par groupe cible, lieux) C2.2.1 : Les bénéficiaires de fonds offrent des activités à deux ou plusieurs populations cibles (p. ex., femmes, aînés, enfants et jeunes) dans deux ou plusieurs sites (p. ex., épiceries, écoles, en plein air).

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources :

Diane Robinson
Directrice, Nutrition Nord Canada
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Michelle Mazerolle
Directrice, Vie saine/Direction des soins de santé primaires et de la santé publique
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-859-5220
Michelle.Mazerolle@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :