Audit of Lands Management - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2014

PDF Version (29 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2014

LED & RO

Audit of Lands Management
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Regional Operations (RO) should work with the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development (LED) to develop a governance model that allows LED to define priorities and with the assistance of RO, assess operational performance in regional offices against these priorities, so that the Department can measure progress achieved towards policy objectives related to land management. Governance structures have been developed and will be implemented which clearly outline roles and responsibilities of LED and RO. September, 2013

Status: Completed - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 26/03/2014:

LED and RO governance structures were adapted to account for new roles and responsibilities associated with land registration and land submissions that were approved by the Deputy Minister's Office and operationalized in Q2. Ongoing implementation monitoring of the governance structures is achieved through existing mechanisms (i.e. the National Director's monthly call, and regular land manager calls).

LED and RO will work collaboratively to identify priorities, indicators, and targets, which will be integrated into the Regional Operations Corporate Business Plan and Program’s Performance Measurement Framework. March, 2014

Status: Completed - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 26/03/2014:

Indicators in the Performance Measurement Framework were updated in Summer 2013, and new targets were established based upon an analysis of existing data.  LED worked with RO on identifying appropriate indicators for inclusion into the Regional Operations Corporate Business Plan, resulting in the inclusion of performance targets associated with additions to reserve. Additionally, a new Performance Measurement Strategy (3.2.3) was developed with new performance measures, which were approved by the Audit and Evaluation Committee in March 2014. 

AES: Implementation complete. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations should work with the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development to conduct an analysis of transaction volume and complexity of lands transactions managed per resource. Roles and duties should be examined to ensure that responsibilities of Lands Officers are appropriate for their level. RO and LED will partner to analyze transaction complexity and volume to assist with the identification of opportunities for improved resource alignment and to ensure that Lands Officers responsibilities are appropriate for their level. March, 2014

Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

Regional volume and human resources data and contextual information was collected, analyzed and validated where possible. High level findings were presented to Regional Directors and at the Regional Operations Senior Management Committee in September 2014. A final draft roll-up report on the regional footprint will be completed in Q3.

AES: Implementation on-going.

3. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should work with The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations to develop and provide targeted training to Lands Officers responsible for registering more complex lands transactions. In addition, roles and responsibilities of the Support Centres should be clarified and communicated across all regions. Additional training should be provided to Support Centre staff to ensure they have the knowledge and expertise to fulfill the functions of a Support Centre. Prior to the Dec. 1st, 2012 transition, whereby regions assumed responsibility for registering land instruments, on-line and in-person training was facilitated by LED HQ personnel. To date, the need to deliver additional training has been identified for Alberta, Ontario, Atlantic, Quebec, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Training on complex transactions will be delivered by LED HQ personnel April – June, 2013. June, 2013

Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:

On-line and in-person training has been delivered to all regional offices, ahead of schedule. The LED Sector will be further seeking opportunity to implement on-line training for users. This activity is outside the scope of the action plan commitment but is an activity which will further respond to the recommendation long term. Additional training focussing on more complex land transactions has also been provided. Roles and responsibilities of the new support centres have been clarified and communicated to all regions.

AES: Implementation complete. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

4. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should update the Land Management Manual and separate lands policy from procedures. Procedures should include updated control checklists for each key transaction, which can be used by the Regions while processing files to ensure quality and completeness. Updating the Lands Management Manual is an ongoing activity involving consultations with First Nation land managers. Revisions to Chapters 5 (Designations) and 7 (Leasing) of the Lands Management Manual are currently underway. Checklists will also be developed to ensure quality and completeness. November, 2014  
5. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations should work with the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development to develop and implement a standardized indexing practice for the filing of electronic documents in order to ensure accessibility of the files, as well as implement a standardized practice to track the status of active files. LED in consultation with RO will develop a standardized indexing regime for electronic filing of land registration documents, and will develop a standardized practice to track the status of active files, which will be implemented by RO December, 2013

Status: Completed - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

A standardized indexing regime has been developed using the Comprehensive Integrated Document Management System.  Classification categories have been updated to create an inventory of items such as land administration documentation, evidence of title and land transfers. These changes have been communicated and adopted by HQ and regional staff, which will improve indexing and tracking of active files. 

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

6. The Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development should identify which user requirements now met by NetLands are critical and conduct a feasibility study to determine whether alternative systems or methods might better meet these requirements. A Business Opportunity Proposal will be developed to assess the viability of the NetLands system or consider a broader IM/IT strategy. March, 2014

Status: In progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 26/3/2014:

A land management systems integration initiative has been initiated in Q4 with specific focus on the Netlands system. The objective of this initiative is to assess efficiencies that might be realized by integrating Netlands with other land management systems including the Indian Land Registry System. Analyses will continue until Oct. 1/14.

AES: Feasibility study has been launched. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.

 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la gestion des terres - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2014

Format PDF (30 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2014

TDE et OR

Vérification de la gestion des terres
Date d'approbation 26 avril 2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal (SMAP) des Opérations régionales (OR) devrait collaborer avec le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) de Terres et développement économique (TDE) à la création d’un modèle de gouvernance qui permettrait à TDE d’établir les priorités et, avec l’aide des OR, d’évaluer le rendement opérationnel des bureaux régionaux à la lumière de ces priorités, de sorte que le Ministère puisse mesurer les progrès vers l’atteinte des objectifs des politiques concernant la gestion des terres. On a élaboré des structures de gouvernance délimitant clairement les rôles et responsabilités de TDE et des OR, et elles seront mises en application. septembre 2013

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 26 mars 2014 :

Les structures de gouvernance d'OR et du STDE ont été adaptées en fonction des nouveaux rôles et des nouvelles responsabilités rattachés à l'enregistrement foncier, et des demandes relatives aux terres qui ont été approuvés par le cabinet du sous-ministre et opérationnalisés au T2. La surveillance de la mise en œuvre continue des structures de gouvernance est exercée au moyen des mécanismes existants (c.-à-d., l'appel mensuel du directeur national et les appels réguliers des gestionnaires des terres).

TDE et les OR collaboreront à la détermination des priorités, indicateurs et cibles qui seront intégrés au plan d’activités ministériel des Opérations régionales et au cadre de mesure du rendement du Programme. mars 2014

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 26 mars 2014 :

Les indicateurs du Cadre de mesure du rendement ont été actualisés à l'été 2013 et de nouvelles cibles ont été fixées à la lumière d'une analyse des données existantes. Le STDE a collaboré avec OR en vue de cerner les indicateurs appropriés pour les intégrer au plan d'activités organisationnelles d'Opérations régionales, ce qui a abouti à l'inclusion des cibles de rendement liées au processus d'ajouts aux réserves. Par ailleurs, une nouvelle Stratégie de mesure du rendement (3.2.3) a été élaborée et assortie de nouvelles mesures du rendement qui ont été approuvées par le Comité de vérification et d'évaluation en mars 2014. 

SVE : La mise en œuvre est terminée. Le dossier doit être fermé. Classée.

2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait collaborer avec le sous-ministre adjoint de Terres et développement économique pour réaliser une analyse du volume et de la complexité des transactions foncières, qui sont gérées par type de ressource. Il faudrait examiner les rôles et fonctions pour veiller à ce que les responsabilités des agents des terres correspondent à leur niveau. Les OR et TDE s’associeront pour analyser la complexité et le volume des transactions, en vue de trouver des possibilités d’améliorer l’alignement des ressources et de veiller à ce que les responsabilités des agents des terres correspondent à leur niveau. mars 2014

État : en cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2014 :

Les données liées au volume régional et aux ressources humaines ainsi que l'information contextuelle ont été recueillies, analysées et validées, le cas échéant. Les conclusions de haut niveau ont été présentées aux directeurs régionaux et au Comité de la haute direction d'Opérations régionales en septembre 2014. Un rapport de synthèse provisoire sur la présence régionale sera achevé au troisième trimestre.

SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.

3. Le sous-ministre adjoint de Terres et développement économique devrait collaborer avec le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales en vue de créer une formation ciblée que pourront suivre les agents des terres responsables d’enregistrer les transactions foncières complexes. De plus, il faudrait clarifier les rôles et responsabilités des centres de soutien et les communiquer à toutes les régions. Il conviendrait de donner une formation plus poussée au personnel des centres de soutien, afin qu’il possède le savoir et l’expertise voulus pour exercer toutes les fonctions qu’on attend d’un centre de soutien. Avant la transition du 1er décembre 2012, qui a transmis aux régions la responsabilité d’enregistrer les instruments fonciers, la formation en ligne et en personne était administrée par le personnel de TDE à l’administration centrale. Jusqu’ici, une formation supplémentaire a été jugée nécessaire en Alberta, en Ontario, dans l’Atlantique, au Québec, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. D’avril à juin 2013, le personnel de TDE à l’administration centrale donnera une formation sur les transactions complexes. juin 2013

État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :

De la formation en ligne et en personne a été donnée à tous les bureaux régionaux, avant la date d'achèvement prévue. TDE cherchera d'autres possibilités de créer des formations en ligne pour les utilisateurs. Cette activité ne relève pas du plan d'action comme tel, mais correspond à l'esprit des recommandations à long terme. Une formation supplémentaire sur les transactions foncières plus complexes a également été offerte. Les rôles et responsabilités des nouveaux centres de soutien ont été précisés et communiqués à toutes les régions.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos. Classée.

4. Le sous-ministre adjoint de Terres et développement économique devrait mettre à jour le Guide de la gestion des terres, et séparer la politique foncière des procédures foncières. Les procédures devraient prévoir des listes de contrôle récentes pour chaque transaction importante, listes que les régions pourraient utiliser pour veiller à la qualité et à l’exhaustivité des dossiers en cours de traitement. Le Guide de la gestion des terres fait l’objet d’une mise à jour constante, en consultation avec les gestionnaires des terres des Premières Nations. On révise actuellement les chapitres 5 (Désignations) et 7 (Baux). Des listes de contrôle seront également mises au point pour assurer la qualité et à l’exhaustivité. novembre 2014  
5. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait collaborer avec le sous-ministre adjoint de Terres et développement économique pour l’élaboration et l’application d’un mode d’indexation normalisé aux fins du classement des documents électroniques, de manière à assurer l’accessibilité des fichiers et le recours à une méthode normalisée de suivi des dossiers actifs. En consultation avec les OR, TDE élaborera un mode d’indexation normalisé aux fins du classement électronique des documents d’enregistrement des terres, de même qu’une marche à suivre normalisée pour le suivi des dossiers actifs. Les OR veilleront à leur mise en oeuvre. décembre 2013

État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

Un mode d'indexation normalisé a été créé à l'aide du Système global de gestion intégrée des documents. Des catégories de classification ont été mises à jour en vue de créer un inventaire d'éléments comme la documentation sur l'administration foncière, la preuve de titre et les transferts de terres. Ces changements, communiqués et adoptés par le personnel de l'administration centrale et des régions, amélioreront l'indexation et le suivi des dossiers actifs.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Classée.

6. Le sous-ministre adjoint de Terres et développement économique devrait déterminer les besoins critiques des utilisateurs de NetLands, et réaliser une étude de faisabilité pour vérifier si d’autres systèmes ou méthodes pourraient mieux combler leurs besoins. On préparera une proposition de possibilité d’affaires pour évaluer si le système NetLands est viable ou s’il faut envisager une stratégie élargie de GI-TI. mars 2014

État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 26 mars 2014 :

Une initiative sur l'intégration des systèmes de gestion des terres a été amorcée au T4 avec un accent particulier sur le système Netlands. Elle a pour objet d'évaluer les gains d'efficacité qui pourraient être réalisés en intégrant Netlands avec d'autres systèmes de gestion des terres, notamment le Système de contrôle du registre des terres indiennes. Les analyses se poursuivront jusqu'au 1er octobre 2014.

SVE : l'étude de faisabilité a été amorcée. La recommandation sera classée.  Classée.

 
 
Date de modification :