Inquiry design meeting #2: National Aboriginal Organizations, provinces and territories, Ottawa, December 16, 2015

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held a meeting on the design of the inquiry at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa on December 16, 2015. Their experiences, views and contributions will be used to help design the inquiry.

A summary of the meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting. Read a copy of the discussion guide or complete the on-line survey to share your own views.

 

Choose a topic:

Overview

This meeting provided the opportunity for the Ministers of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, of Department of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Status of Women, and the Deputy Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, to hear the views of National Aboriginal Organizations and provincial and territorial governments regarding the design of the inquiry.

The meeting began with National Aboriginal Organizations. Provincial and territorial government representatives joined in for the second part of the meeting.

All participants expressed strong support for, and commitment to, the inquiry and offered their assistance to the process. The focus on families as well as healing, education and the need to bridge social and economic gaps were strong themes throughout the meeting.

Who attended

This engagement meeting was intended for National Aboriginal Organizations, provinces and territories to share and discuss their views on the inquiry with the Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, the Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, and the Hon. Patty Hajdu, Minister of Status of Women.

Representatives from the following National Aboriginal Organizations were present and were given the opportunity to put forward their views on the design and scope of the national inquiry:

Representatives from the provincial and territorial governments included:

Elders and officials from federal departments were also in attendance.

Leadership and participation

In terms of leadership of the inquiry, participants voiced the need to ensure that First Nations, Inuit and Métis are each represented among commissioners. The importance of determining the mandate of the inquiry before selecting the commissioners was also noted.

Participants discussed which groups should be involved once the inquiry is underway. These included:

Priorities of the inquiry

Participants discussed what they see as priorities for the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. Key themes coming out of the discussion was the need for the inquiry to:

Key issues to address

Key issues participants want the inquiry to examine and address, include:

Support and cultural practices

The importance of providing appropriate resources and support to families and loved ones was evident throughout the meeting. The supports noted included:

Participants also expressed the need to ensure cultural practices and the context in small communities are recognized, respected and incorporated or taken into account in the inquiry process. For example, participants expressed the need to ensure that each Indigenous group (First Nations, Metis and Inuit) and their distinct culture and practices are considered and support. The presence of elders and caregivers was also considered important to an effective inquiry.

Format and timeline of the inquiry

Participants discussed the structure/format of the inquiry, as well as the length of the inquiry. Suggestions included:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions posed by the discussion guide, participants were invited to share any other comments on the design of the inquiry. Comments included the need for information to be shared as we progress in this journey towards an inquiry and link the inquiry to the reconciliation agenda.

Date modified:

Deuxième rencontre sur la conception de l’enquête publique : organisations autochtones nationales, provinces et territoires, Ottawa, le 16 décembre 2015

Dans le cadre de l’enquête nationale sur les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées, le gouvernement du Canada a tenu une rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l’enquête au Château Laurier, à Ottawa, le 16 décembre 2015. Les commentaires recueillis lors de cette séance et des autres séances de mobilisation serviront à définir les paramètres de l’enquête.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé de la rencontre. Ce résumé ne consiste pas en un compte rendu complet des discussions. Il met plutôt en relief les principaux thèmes ressortis de cette séance de mobilisation. Vous pouvez également consulter le guide de discussion ou remplir le sondage en ligne pour faire part de vos commentaires.

 

Choisir un sujet :

Aperçu

Lors de cette rencontre, les ministres d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, de la Condition féminine, ainsi que la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada ont écouté les points de vue des représentants d’organisations autochtones nationales et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux à propos de la définition de l’enquête.

La rencontre a débuté par une discussion avec des représentants d’organisations autochtones nationales. En deuxième partie de la rencontre, des représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux se sont joints à eux.

Tous les participants ont exprimé un grand appui à l’enquête, mentionnant qu’ils s’engagent à la soutenir. En outre, ils ont offert leur aide dans le cadre du processus. Tout au long de la rencontre, les thèmes des familles, du ressourcement, de l’éducation et du besoin de combler les écarts sociaux et économiques ont été fréquemment mentionnés.

Participants

Cette séance de mobilisation était réservée aux représentants d’organisations autochtones nationales et des provinces et territoires, afin de leur permettre de partager leurs opinions en ce qui a trait à l’enquête, et d’en discuter avec l’honorable Carolyn Bennett, ministre d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord, l’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, et l’honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de la Condition féminine.

Des représentants des organisations autochtones nationales suivantes étaient présents. Ils ont eu l’occasion de se prononcer sur la définition des paramètres et la portée de l’enquête nationale :

Parmi les représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, il y avait :

Des aînés et des hauts fonctionnaires de ministères fédéraux étaient aussi présents.

Leadership et participation

En ce qui a trait au leadership de l’enquête, les participants ont indiqué qu’il faut s’assurer que les commissaires représentent les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Ils ont aussi exprimé l’importance de déterminer le mandat de l’enquête avant la sélection des commissaires.

Les participants ont discuté des groupes qui devraient prendre part à l’enquête. Parmi les groupes mentionnés, il y avait :

Priorités de l’enquête

Les participants ont discuté des points qu’ils jugent prioritaires en ce qui a trait aux femmes et aux filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Parmi les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis de la discussion, il y avait le fait que l’enquête doit :

Questions clés à aborder

Parmi les questions clés que l’enquête devrait étudier et aborder selon les participants, il y a :

Soutien et pratiques culturelles

Tout au long de la rencontre, il est ressorti de façon évidente qu’il faut fournir des ressources et du soutien approprié aux familles et aux proches des victimes. Parmi les mesures de soutien mentionnées, il y avait :

Les participants ont aussi indiqué qu’il faut veiller à ce que les pratiques culturelles et la réalité des petites collectivités soient reconnues, respectées et intégrées, ou prises en considération lors du processus d’enquête. Par exemple, les participants ont mentionné qu’il faut veiller à ce que chaque groupe autochtone (Premières Nations, Métis et Inuit) et leur culture et pratiques distinctes soient prises en considération et soutenus. Pour assurer l’efficacité de l’enquête, la présence d’aînés et d’aidants était aussi jugée importante.

Forme et échéancier de l’enquête

Les participants ont discuté de la forme – ou structure – que devrait prendre l’enquête publique ainsi que de sa durée. Voici les suggestions qui ont été faites :

Commentaires additionnels

Les participants ont été invités à fournir leurs commentaires sur les questions autres que celles prévues dans le guide de discussion.

Les participants ont mentionné qu’il est nécessaire de communiquer l’information tout au long du processus menant à la tenue d’une enquête, et de faire des liens entre l’enquête et le programme de réconciliation.

Date de modification :